Hobbies World of Warcraft Miniatures Game, WoW Minis Battlegrounds - ev'ry Saturday

zio
post May 28 2009, 02:29 PM

RAWRR!
4,889 posts

Just got the core set starter, cant even find the deluxe starter in SG during DMF. I think I saw one but thought too long and it got snapped up.

@yitjuan I want your Chen! tongue.gif I got lots of PLanet Eaters stuff tongue.gif
zio
post May 28 2009, 05:15 PM

RAWRR!
4,889 posts

QUOTE(Tentris @ May 28 2009, 05:08 PM)
Interesting... WoW Minis is the #1 CMG in the US atm.

http://www.icv2.com/articles/news/14722.html

Monpoc is 2nd.

btw, i won the DMF Singapore Minis Spectral Safari! Lol, first time ever played, and won a Spectral Tiger! I beat ex-DMF champion, Corle Huffman in the Finals, and current DMF champion, Ben Isgur, in the semis!

beginner's luck, woot!
lol i know i know tongue.gif your picture already on our website ma tongue.gif
zio
post May 28 2009, 05:31 PM

RAWRR!
4,889 posts

QUOTE(Tentris @ May 28 2009, 05:28 PM)
Oh lol didn't notice! tongue.gif

Looking forward to some Minis Battleground action at TB soon.

To anyone else who hasn't explored this game - WHAT ARE YOU WAITING FOR?

Its freaking syiok... you won't regret it.
haha hope to bring some soon. Got to convince the rest tongue.gif

Got any extras to let go? I am looking mainly at Monsters/ Beasts. biggrin.gif And no, I don't have the Lady Vashj yet tongue.gif
zio
post May 28 2009, 05:39 PM

RAWRR!
4,889 posts

QUOTE(Tentris @ May 28 2009, 05:35 PM)
Nah no extras yet. But i ordered some goodies from the Internet already... should be arriving next week. Maybe hop over to cc and buy a few boosters this weekend... see lah how.

DMF SG weekend i was damn lucky, i got 3 boosters for winning the Spectral, and i opened 2 epics from them lol. Kael + Rexxar. I gave the Rexxar to Jade coz he was kind enough to lend me the Jaina that won the tournament.

So i'm building a Kael team atm, and also working on a Cairne Bloodhoof one as well. tongue.gif
Ooo Cairne. Lol you want to knock people off the board eh? tongue.gif

For reasons of looks alone, I want a Chen, Bear and Prowler team hahahaha
zio
post May 28 2009, 05:59 PM

RAWRR!
4,889 posts

Lol that is some crazy dice rolls. Hrmm Rethilgore + Chen. Interesting... Will have to explore builds involving beasts... and Chen..

Must have panda...
zio
post May 28 2009, 11:56 PM

RAWRR!
4,889 posts

There were 17 players, with one playoff match to cut into Top 16.

Then it was 16-8-4-2. So, with the playoff match, the total number of rounds were 5.
zio
post May 29 2009, 10:54 AM

RAWRR!
4,889 posts

Yep 17 players qualified for the DMF Minis. Oh, I assumed Stephen asked for the DMF Minis, not the qualifying round. tongue.gif

There were lots of qualifying rounds being played. But mostly 4-6 players. I think Jade got through from the last qualifying round tongue.gif
zio
post May 29 2009, 01:40 PM

RAWRR!
4,889 posts

We will be demoing the game this weekend at Thinkcon Sri Cempaka smile.gif Hopefully we will get some interest going on there.
zio
post May 29 2009, 04:57 PM

RAWRR!
4,889 posts

QUOTE(Tentris @ May 29 2009, 03:40 PM)
what minis will you be using for the demo?
Yet to figure it out but probably some easy commons. Nothing fancy, and nothing that needs to roll more than 6 dice tongue.gif Since I only have 6 HAHAHA
zio
post Jun 1 2009, 03:50 PM

RAWRR!
4,889 posts

QUOTE(spacelion @ May 29 2009, 08:03 PM)
OMG that is sick rolling. No wonder they never talked about it in the official forums
Haha yep.

Woot, demo went quite well. Got a few kids interested but then again, money lies with their parents tongue.gif And they weren't too thrilled to know that there were boosters and stuff.
zio
post Jun 1 2009, 05:33 PM

RAWRR!
4,889 posts

QUOTE(Tentris @ Jun 1 2009, 03:55 PM)
We should have a minis launch party at TB.

Do a 1-booster sealed event... everyone buys a booster, and builds a 2-figure party and we all play 2v2.

A 1-booster event will help keep the costs low for people who want to try the game for the first time...

Maybe i should apply to be take qualifications to be a minis judge...

Added on June 1, 2009, 3:57 pm

Much as i hate to say it... but here in Malaysia, TCG/CMG is not a kid's game... its just too pricey.

Different for the game in the US/EU... where boosters are literally just a few bucks each. But for us... RM50-60 a booster... that makes the hobby firmly an adult pastime... unless your dad is some rich dude. Better to focus on marketing the game to adults...
The sealed event should be good.

Well, catch them young tongue.gif But oh well, it was just good to showcase the game. Will try it again for an older crowd soon.
zio
post Jun 4 2009, 01:24 PM

RAWRR!
4,889 posts

QUOTE(Tentris @ Jun 4 2009, 12:34 PM)
The minis bug hit TB yesterday. A case of the minis were sold out within minutes... bring more lah... and go buy the uBases and dice from online, then resell to people lah.

http://www.warcraftgamingcenter.com sells the uBases and dice.

Added on June 4, 2009, 12:38 pmThis weekend, i think TB got 1-booster sealed event.

This will be a great place for people to try out the game... sealed is damn fun because you just focus on playing the game, rather than having to worry about constructing a party from scratch.
Haha yes, it was just part of the first shipment that came earlier tongue.gif Maybe TB should custom make TB d10 wahahaha, just like our D6 for FoW smile.gif

And yep, finalising the 1-booster sealed. Probably this Saturday.
zio
post Jun 4 2009, 02:56 PM

RAWRR!
4,889 posts

QUOTE(Tentris @ Jun 4 2009, 01:57 PM)
But i think you guys got stiffed as far as the initial shipment of boosters go.

16 boosters, 8 from Core and 8 from Spoils, and not a single Epic from either set?

wtf man. obviously whomever sold it to you gave you boosters from a case that they already had ravaged for the epics. Each case = 2 epics guaranteed. Its very common for some unscrupulous ppl to open boosters from that case until they hit the 2 epics, then resell off the remaining boosters. Its more profitable that way coz each epic can sell for 3x the price of a single booster! (unlike the TCG, all epics in minis are actually tournament worthy, therefore are in high demand). And if they get lucky and open the 2 epics from the case after just a few boosters cracked... gg.

Anyways, whomever your supplier is, demand the other half of the cases you bought, or ask for 2 epics outright to be given to you. Otherwise its not only TB that is being shafted, its also your customers who are being shafted.
I have no idea what happened there but since it was half and half, naturally, they would have to crack the case open and supply it to us. So it could have been an oversight from us. Unfortunately for us and the players, the epics weren't in the half they supplied to us. Not too sure if anyone was aware that they will be cracking loose boosters compared to "complete case boosters".

I believe the next shipment will be fresh cases. so whoever opens a new case, will definitely get the 2 epics.

My only gripe is that no one hit a Panda. tongue.gif
zio
post Jun 4 2009, 03:38 PM

RAWRR!
4,889 posts

QUOTE(Tentris @ Jun 4 2009, 03:26 PM)
Still... opening 16 boosters and not a single epic last night = me a sad panda. tongue.gif

thats why always buy full cases, don't settle for any of this "half" stuff. and see if you can get your hands on the other 2 "halves" of the cases you already received... there should be guaranteed 4 epics there from 16 boosters! 1/4 chance of hitting an epic? yes pls!
Lol I shall try. So you were part of the gang that cracked all of it. Left none for me. Sadness indeed. hahaha

I think one more case of Spoils came in today. But Panda is in core. Should I try for Vashj tongue.gif

We are planning to kick off Battlegrounds soon but we might not be able to get our hands on the kit. Will you all like to play for something liek this:

Or

zio
post Jun 5 2009, 10:12 AM

RAWRR!
4,889 posts

It was fun trading yesterday! tongue.gif And yes Tentris, we have standardised a fixed price for the minis:

Common - RM10
Rare - RM25
Epic - Market price

Only fluctuating point will be Epics. Decided not to fix them down.

I have also chosen to go the path that no one wants, I want to play Rogues only ahahahah and oh, Murlocs tongue.gif
zio
post Jun 5 2009, 03:21 PM

RAWRR!
4,889 posts

QUOTE(Tentris @ Jun 5 2009, 02:30 PM)
More boosters are available at TB now, a case of each Spoils and Core... hhhm... yummmmmy.

I'll be over for some games during the weekend.

Added on June 5, 2009, 2:34 pmbtw, what did you trade?

i've got my party of Cairne, Haruka and (a mage dunno which one yet) ready for some weekend action!
Traded for stuff people dont know what to do with. Like.. bunch of rogues..

And.. Marsh Murlocs LOL
zio
post Jun 5 2009, 03:33 PM

RAWRR!
4,889 posts

QUOTE(Tentris @ Jun 5 2009, 03:22 PM)
What rogues did you get? some are decent... especially if you get Expose Armor as an ABC.
I think Dralor, Kayleitha, Ji'Lan, Sha'do.. and pretty much every rogue and Murloc available. Yet to pick Timmo from Jade.

Made my choice to go Rogue and Murloc. So if they doom Rogue forever, then I'll be playing a nerf class hahahaha

Just wondering if a full rogue team can ever make it. Hrmmm..
zio
post Jun 5 2009, 04:36 PM

RAWRR!
4,889 posts

QUOTE(Tentris @ Jun 5 2009, 03:43 PM)
Try to get Nathressa too. She is quite deadly, unique secondary ability.

Rogues, the problem will be heavy armor matchups, thats why Expose Armor is valuable. Also, to better survive magical onslaughts, Dodge is very nice, and Kick is a must have.

Added on June 5, 2009, 4:19 pmjust too the Minis Level 1 Certification Judge test.... wasn't a very difficult test.

what does it take to become a TO for minis?
you need to take the TO test. The TO test should cover both TCG and Minis.

The Minis Level 1 should be quite simple, furthermore, its open book. Level 2 is the usually confusing one smile.gif

Probably go with Rogue and Hunter for now. Let the rogues get near, sap the enemies, and then move the hunters into range for some damage.
zio
post Jun 8 2009, 09:34 AM

RAWRR!
4,889 posts

I think we might have run out of everything. New stock should be in by this week.

I see a hunter I want!
zio
post Jun 9 2009, 03:55 PM

RAWRR!
4,889 posts

QUOTE(Tentris @ Jun 9 2009, 03:13 PM)
WTB or Trade

Vindicator Kaustron (Rare)
Magistrix Kiala (Rare)
Elizabetha Cairnwillow (Rare)
Bleakheart Hellcaller (Rare)
Amon Darkheart (Common)
Radak Doombringer (Common)
I have two Magistrix Kiala smile.gif Whats your trade list?

0.0174sec    0.47    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 07:18 PM