I will be updating mine tonight
This post has been edited by neekun: Aug 19 2008, 11:53 AM
iPhone Firmware 2.0.2 Is Released
Aug 19 2008, 07:57 AM, updated 18y ago
Show posts by this member only | Post
2,571 posts Joined: Jun 2006 |
Direct download link for 3G iPhone:
http://appldnld.apple.com.edgesuite.net/co...C1_Restore.ipsw Or connect to iTunes and download. Please share your experience. I will be updating mine tonight This post has been edited by neekun: Aug 19 2008, 11:53 AM |
Aug 19 2008, 08:08 AM
111 posts Joined: Dec 2007 From: Kuantan, Pahang |
I can confirmed that this firmware is not yet pwnable with latest Pwnage 2.0.2
Aug 19 2008, 08:26 AM
724 posts Joined: Jul 2007 From: Land Below The Wind... |
So basically Winpwn 2.0.0.4 also arent able to do the job lah ai?
Aug 19 2008, 08:50 AM
111 posts Joined: Dec 2007 From: Kuantan, Pahang |
Dont know about winpwn bcoz i'm using Mac. why don't you try pwning the firmware 2.0.2 and see if it works
Aug 19 2008, 08:50 AM
5,172 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Equine Park |
not until devteam do something abt it..
differences between 2.0.1? |
Aug 19 2008, 08:54 AM
1,540 posts Joined: Aug 2008 From: Your Dream |
im still on 1.1.4. = =
Aug 19 2008, 09:20 AM
388 posts Joined: Mar 2008 From: ☐ Singapork ☐ Tongsan ☐ Indon ☑ Malingsia |
Aug 19 2008, 09:42 AM
971 posts Joined: Nov 2005 From: Perth, Australia |
i'm going to upgrade it later in college...now using it to online....haha!!!will post feedback later.I'm currently in aus so no need jailbreak.
Aug 19 2008, 10:01 AM
heheheee... WinPwn 2.0.0.4 cant read this .ipsw.... Just a gila2 try tho. But even if it can build custom .ipsw, aint gonna flash it till devteam says so
Aug 19 2008, 10:09 AM
4,249 posts Joined: Mar 2006 |
haihz.. 1.1.4 user here
Aug 19 2008, 10:14 AM
5,786 posts Joined: Nov 2007 From: VIC - The Place To Be |
@ d3vilzzzz
apa yg u tunggu lagi? Added on August 19, 2008, 10:16 amneekun has no problem updating his Aifontrigi directly from itunes as opposed to the 'conventional' users for very obvious reasons. This post has been edited by nokia2003: Aug 19 2008, 10:17 AM |
Aug 19 2008, 10:18 AM
4,249 posts Joined: Mar 2006 |
hhahaha..no hurry oso...chilling
Aug 19 2008, 10:23 AM
bro he 1 u post here is for iPhone or iPhone 3g?
Aug 19 2008, 10:30 AM
1,361 posts Joined: Nov 2005 From: Melaka/Perth |
http://www.appleinsider.com/articles/08/08...0_2_update.html
hmmm.. updating mine now while i mandi.... |
Aug 19 2008, 10:36 AM
1,346 posts Joined: Dec 2005 |
Just updated mine to 2.0.1 few days ago now 2.0.2 is available
This post has been edited by c_calvin: Aug 19 2008, 10:52 AM |
Aug 19 2008, 10:37 AM
1,540 posts Joined: Aug 2008 From: Your Dream |
oh i thought only me still using 1.1.4.
Aug 19 2008, 10:38 AM
5,172 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Equine Park |
cant expect much... but it shud be good seeing apple updating their firmware...
Aug 19 2008, 10:45 AM
13,495 posts Joined: Dec 2006 From: KL, Malaysia |
QUOTE(Clarencerx @ Aug 19 2008, 09:42 AM) i'm going to upgrade it later in college...now using it to online....haha!!!will post feedback later.I'm currently in aus so no need jailbreak. Er.. but Jailbreak doesn't mean it will make ur phone work [assumption: phone is locked] - it onli makes ur phone useable with 3rd party apps, isn't it?neekun's on the iPhone 3G. @neekun/jakesean, Any updates on the new firmware? Perhaps I should update it now too since I brought connection cable with me *grins* |
Aug 19 2008, 11:05 AM
so u mean this link posted by neekun is for the 3g iphone?im currently in college....wanna download..
Aug 19 2008, 11:09 AM
4,903 posts Joined: Jul 2008 |
His link is a 2G firmware. Here's the link to 3G firmware.
http://appldnld.apple.com.edgesuite.net/co...C1_Restore.ipsw |
Aug 19 2008, 11:11 AM
aiya...the link provided by neekun is for the 1st gen iphone....
im currently downloading the one for iphone 3G. u can get the link here http://appldnld.apple.com.edgesuite.net/co...C1_Restore.ipsw |
Aug 19 2008, 11:20 AM
56 posts Joined: Feb 2006 |
I also just pwned from 1.1.4 to 2.0.1 two days ago, now came out with 2.0.2
AIKS |
Aug 19 2008, 11:55 AM
QUOTE(davidgary73 @ Aug 19 2008, 11:09 AM) His link is a 2G firmware. Here's the link to 3G firmware. Hehe thanks a lot David http://appldnld.apple.com.edgesuite.net/co...C1_Restore.ipsw |
Aug 19 2008, 12:06 PM
10,688 posts Joined: Jan 2005 |
huhuu.. crazy apple
this is too fast man.. hmm wonder what the advanteages else?? |
Aug 19 2008, 12:07 PM
4,903 posts Joined: Jul 2008 |
Aug 19 2008, 12:08 PM
Not sure but new things always brings joy
Yet, im still hoping for A2DP.... *Sigh* |
Aug 19 2008, 01:41 PM
QUOTE(JasLyn @ Aug 19 2008, 12:08 PM) izzit? Most likely im staying with 2.0.1 for the time beingCould not allocate more time just to reinstall all of my apps Ps: online at a&w level g upper, 1U. Typing kinda slow.. Haihh |
Aug 19 2008, 01:45 PM
11,305 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
Updating now as we speak. Had a say of my mind in a post before this, so it felt good speaking my mind out.
Aug 19 2008, 02:38 PM
6,866 posts Joined: Feb 2005 |
Just install alot of apps into my phone and now new firmware? I'm not gonna rush to update as this update is specifically for iPhone 3G network glitch.
Aug 19 2008, 02:40 PM
QUOTE(Mike3300 @ Aug 19 2008, 02:38 PM) Just install alot of apps into my phone and now new firmware? I'm not gonna rush to update as this update is specifically for iPhone 3G network glitch. Where did it say it was specifically for the 3G network glitch? I read the README before installing and all it says was "bug fixes". |
Aug 19 2008, 03:03 PM
6,866 posts Joined: Feb 2005 |
Apparently someone in MacRumors.com sent a complaint email regarding 3G network woes and managed to get Steve Jobs's reply and this is what they get:
QUOTE We are working on some bugs which affect around 2% of the iPhones shipped, and hope to have a software update soon. Steve So I think this update is meant to that, also for iPhone 2G and iPod touch as well for bug fixes specifically. The thing is reported users claimed that this doesn't fix their 3G low coverage problem, drop bars and so on. Source - MacRumors.com |
Aug 19 2008, 03:09 PM
Yes, but would you trust surmisations on Macrumors, or the README when you install them? All I read when I clicked "Download and Install" was "bug fixes", and nothing to do with fixing the 3G problems that is haunting only 2% of the users. It would be more prudent to include the fix inside 2.1 rather than 2.0.2, seeing how 2.1 constitutes a major update, compared to 2.0.2,
Aug 19 2008, 03:25 PM
15,705 posts Joined: Mar 2005 From: Tg. Rambutan |
Haiyoh gila lar all these incremental firmwares. I'll just wait n skip another 2 releases like I did from 1.1.1 to 1.1.3 to 2.0.1. Then can really see n feel the diff in performance. Every new firmware change can vomit blood.
Aug 19 2008, 03:56 PM
I'm @ the office so I might as well download it now !! *grins*
Aug 19 2008, 03:59 PM
2,550 posts Joined: Dec 2006 |
Any improvement ah?....mind to share?
Aug 19 2008, 04:00 PM
Still in the process. The damned Backup is taking so long.
Aug 19 2008, 04:58 PM
6,496 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Kota Damansara |
I wonder why everyone having "slow" backup. While my backup merely took <2 minutes (even the first time backup). Have you guys try plugging in power (if you're using Mac laptop) while doing backup?
Aug 19 2008, 05:00 PM
Power plugged in on mine.
It's probably the apps, I have 6 pages of apps on my Aifontriji. |
Aug 19 2008, 05:10 PM
@wei,
Perhaps the more stuff U have on the thing, the longer it will take to back up? Mine didn't take too long; then again I don't have much stuff on mine YET! *grins* @stringfellow, 6 pages of apps?! This post has been edited by tinkerbel: Aug 19 2008, 05:11 PM |
Aug 19 2008, 05:16 PM
@Tink
Aug 19 2008, 05:20 PM
@stringfellow,
I haven't even gone to that YET! First thing I did was to streamline Contacts/Add Book. Then I moved on to learning how to work iCal on both my laptop & phone. Looks like d next thing would really be to streamline the apps and go through the available apps Phone is still 'naked' so I haven't quite started using it on my main line! *gulp* Now just when is that iShield I ordered gonna be delivered? *grins* [U wanna help me install it?! *grins*] |
Aug 19 2008, 05:26 PM
1,361 posts Joined: Nov 2005 From: Melaka/Perth |
hmm.. noticable imrpovementS? duno.. not sure.. maybe a lil bit faster while loading apps.. as far as typing goes, feels like its still the same.. #G connectivity, not sure, havent tested that yet.. will do that after my shower.. just got back from work..
Aug 19 2008, 05:29 PM
@Tink
The very reason why I went the Contour iSee case and not the IS is because I couldnt bring myself to do it. It is complicated, and judging from what always happens, I would end up having to reapply the damned thing a few times. Firmware 2.0.2 is finally installing now, backup completed. |
Aug 19 2008, 05:44 PM
Okay , installed and updated Aifontriji to 2.0.2. Here are the results:-
1. 3G reception still is the same, not additional bars or signs of better reception. As I have figured, this update is not meant to address the 3G reception problem. 2. Tried SMS and typing text into Safari, for example posting in LYN. Almost nonexistant lag! :yay: God only know if the lag comes back once I install more and more apps. For the record, I have tried SMSing and typing text into Safari on both Wifi and 3G. They are both the same, very very little lag. 3. All apps running smooth and none spits me out to Homescreen. All in all, a minor update, but a welcomed one nonetheless. |
Aug 19 2008, 06:03 PM
QUOTE(ianho @ Aug 19 2008, 03:25 PM) Haiyoh gila lar all these incremental firmwares. I'll just wait n skip another 2 releases like I did from 1.1.1 to 1.1.3 to 2.0.1. Then can really see n feel the diff in performance. Every new firmware change can vomit blood. heh, unless we have the unlocked iphone |
Aug 19 2008, 06:04 PM
372 posts Joined: Dec 2007 |
i am sticking to 2.0.1 for a while. Very happy with it...anyway this new firmware only has some 3G bugfix.
Aug 19 2008, 06:06 PM
QUOTE(Dante18 @ Aug 19 2008, 06:04 PM) i am sticking to 2.0.1 for a while. Very happy with it...anyway this new firmware only has some 3G bugfix. No it is not. If you even do a little effort of downloading this firmware update and try and install it, the README just reads "bug fixes" , and nothing to do with 3G. I have personally installed this on my Aifontriji, and no such fix for 3G here, I still have the same signal reception and strength. |
Aug 19 2008, 07:25 PM
I just habis updated my iPhone 3G to 2.0.2..about 12 minutes taken As a precaution (or maybe i am paranoid hehe): 1. Switch to airplane mode (worry incoming call/sms during update might interrupt the process) 2. Restart the phone before updating (just to ensure the phone OS is in a "clean" state ) So far SMS and Contact i didn't see any improvement, cause on 2.0.1 also the lag is very minimal, no issue for me. |
Aug 19 2008, 07:32 PM
I've thought of switching it to Airplane mode too, but I was worried if the sim not longer recognized as the sim used during the initial unlock, and that would seriously complicate matter further. I left it on, and even when the backup was on, the screen and apps are still accessible, they are not written as "Syncing" and having to swipe left to right to cancel the backup/sync.
During the actual upgrade itself, the phone goes back to its locked state (Cable +iTunes), and this state alone disallow any calls in. Two firmware updates and still maintaining its unlocked status, I love my NZ Aifontriji! |
Aug 19 2008, 07:57 PM
Hehe a bit out of topic here...
String, hv u got yr MobileMe 30 days extension? I just got mine today. And another email from Apple stating that there will be another 60 days extension on the way. |
Aug 19 2008, 08:16 PM
The first 30 days was before I signed up, and the 60 days extension is only for those who had signed up. Got em both.
Aug 19 2008, 08:21 PM
160 posts Joined: Jul 2005 From: Penang |
QUOTE(stringfellow @ Aug 19 2008, 07:32 PM) I've thought of switching it to Airplane mode too, but I was worried if the sim not longer recognized as the sim used during the initial unlock, and that would seriously complicate matter further. I left it on, and even when the backup was on, the screen and apps are still accessible, they are not written as "Syncing" and having to swipe left to right to cancel the backup/sync. Bro String, thanks for the info. Will update it soon.During the actual upgrade itself, the phone goes back to its locked state (Cable +iTunes), and this state alone disallow any calls in. Two firmware updates and still maintaining its unlocked status, I love my NZ Aifontriji! |
Aug 19 2008, 08:28 PM
682 posts Joined: May 2007 From: from UBRS to Cold Northerand its a long journey |
great! 2.0.2 is out...so when is winpwn 2.0.0.5 is coming out
and yes today i realized something wrong with me notebook..hmm time to reformat it! |
Aug 19 2008, 09:22 PM
Aug 20 2008, 12:27 AM
Aug 20 2008, 11:05 PM
http://www.macworld.com/article/135102/200...l?lsrc=rss_main
QUOTE An update released for the iPhone two days ago is meant to deal with communication problems with the company’s 3G iPhone, an Apple spokeswoman said. Complaints from users have been on the rise recently about an inordinate amount of dropped calls when using the iPhone 3G. While Apple admits the software update was released to deal with this problem, the company was not forthcoming with specifics on the fix. Apple spokeswoman Jennifer Bowcock said iPhone software 2.0.2 provides “improved communication with 3G networks,” according to the Associated Press. Bowcock declined further comment on what improvements users could expect once the update was installed. Now that it is straight from the horse's mouth, we can now be certain that it is indeed targeted towards fixing the 3G network problem. Personally, I dont see any improvements. |
Aug 21 2008, 01:20 AM
102 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
I do find that my iPhone edge does dropped call occasionally (but much more than before) after I upgrade to 2.0.1 from 1.1.4. Even the SMS receiving is sometimes badly lag (2 to 3 hours). Hoping that this new update fixed that (not upgrading yet as I opt to wait for pwnage n the statement only mentioned aifontriji)
Sometimes I also do received error with 'kcfh' (or something like that) when I m unable to connect to the Internet. Nevertheless, no more hang-without-reason on 2.0.1 |
Aug 21 2008, 01:48 AM
37 posts Joined: Jan 2007 |
Hi folks,
I just got back from Bangkok, updating to the latest firmware now. While I was at MBK Mall, I saw like a majority of the stalls were selling the iphone 3G UNLOCKED with free apps and games! I didn't really ask where it came from since I was in a hurry but they had black and white there, selling for roughly RM 3400 (after conversion) on the floor where they sell phones. I got a clear case (like String's) and also a silicone one...both for RM 60... yeah, the quality's prob not super, but heck, for that price, what you pay is what you get... |
Aug 21 2008, 10:07 AM
262 posts Joined: Sep 2007 |
hey just wan to ask...
since the iphone from new zealand is unlock... so do u guys jailbreak it to install 3rd party application? |
Aug 21 2008, 11:17 AM
if any1 would like to update, follow this tread: http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic...
its works.. DISCLAIMER* Do It At Your Own Risk |
Aug 21 2008, 03:46 PM
3,657 posts Joined: May 2005 |
QUOTE(stringfellow @ Aug 20 2008, 11:05 PM) http://www.macworld.com/article/135102/200...l?lsrc=rss_main It's more to rectifying the problem faced by AT&T users where 3G implimentation is not like us here. I've read somewhere that their 3G UMTS also not as the same standard as ours coz of bandwidth thing or something (not feeling well thats why can't remember).Now that it is straight from the horse's mouth, we can now be certain that it is indeed targeted towards fixing the 3G network problem. Personally, I dont see any improvements. |
Aug 21 2008, 03:49 PM
Weird. If that is so, they could just release the update for the American iPhones only, instead of a blanket worldwide update. What rectification that may fix the American iPhones may not apply the same for the NZ iPhones, for example.
Aug 21 2008, 03:53 PM
3,657 posts Joined: May 2005 |
Its not only for the AT&T 3G fix but with other bug fixes bundle in. It would be a waste just to release a fw just for that one purpose only.
AT&T 3G fix + other bug fixes = fw2.0.2 Added on August 21, 2008, 3:54 pmSince we don't adopt the AT&T 3G standard, thats why u don't see any improvement in the 3G. Thats what i think la (more thinking of bantal n tilam right now). This post has been edited by frozzbyte: Aug 21 2008, 03:54 PM |
Aug 21 2008, 03:54 PM
Makes sense. Although right now, I dont see any difference on my Aifontriji.
Aug 21 2008, 04:19 PM
53 posts Joined: Apr 2006 |
hi all, recenty just purchase i phone 2g. so i try to upgrade the firmware for 1.1 to 2.1 i think suddenly the phone become "hang" n all the button seen cannot been use. how do i fix this...?? pls help...!!!
Aug 22 2008, 08:55 AM
Aug 22 2008, 05:36 PM
What about pressing and holding Power + Home button? When using Starmap, my Aifontriji hanged as well, forcing me to do this. You can force a reset by pressing and holding Power +Home, but once the screenis off, stop pressing them. You may accidentally go into recovery mode.
Once done, the iPhone will restart but if you have lots of apps, the restart may take a while. |
| Change to: | 0.0286sec
5 queries
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 10:35 AM |