I've had a pair of Platinum M2 before, any of you guys heard of one? Sold off eventually and switched brand.
Home Theatre PSB Speakers Owners Thread, The Canadian Speakers
May 18 2009, 07:29 PM
69 posts Joined: Jun 2008 |
I've had a pair of Platinum M2 before, any of you guys heard of one? Sold off eventually and switched brand.
May 18 2009, 08:33 PM
QUOTE(maskedchan @ May 18 2009, 08:08 PM) Ok, these bookshelfs are in fact very good. Fyi, normal stands are not suitable bcoz the base is slightly rounded.Positioning is very important and the height must be in the middle of the two drivers for optimum level. Sound? Good dynamics and great resolution and bandwith.Soundstaging is broad and excellent image placement. Midbass is very good and clean but the lower bass extension is where it starts to thin out....Now, this is why i changed to another brand which address this weakness. If you have a chance to test these speakers, make sure the amp is of enough power to drive it. A good 100watt amp could just barely bring out the full potential..... |
May 19 2009, 06:57 AM
QUOTE(eugenengkarmeng @ May 18 2009, 09:13 PM) hello buddy, if u r looking 4 good speaker better look for hifi4sale web now before somebody gasak now! I think that is the mother of ATOMIC BOMB, oh my puppy how i wanna to hug u! You or your father always shop there? Anyway, i'm not looking for any speakers as i am satisfied with what i have now. Thanks for your concern. |
May 19 2009, 05:26 PM
QUOTE(eugenengkarmeng @ May 19 2009, 12:47 PM) hello buddy, let me ask first when buy over the net the first thing you will ask, are they ok? good working condition?They will of course say in very good condition, excellent and blah blah this and that, money paid barang sudah tukar tangan if anything wrong i would say u kena pengsan! kena con. call no answer no reply than u lagi pengsan since lots of fake products esp. cables selling in the net, sometimes water liew liew but dare not buy , the best no choice hv to go thru dealers or close friends. VDL ORIGINAL OYADA OR OYADIE ALSO ORIGINAL, then u lagi pengsan, all made in CHINA! Well Mr17 yr old, Why must you buy online without checking carefully in the first place? You might be surprise how many establish brands are made in China now. Looks like you have a very long journey ahead.....Added on May 19, 2009, 5:37 pm QUOTE(megatron007 @ May 19 2009, 02:23 PM) As for me, it doesn't matter if its the Image or Alpha range, as long as it matches and sounds good to you in your system. Expensive higher end speakers are meaningless if your source and amp cannot bring out their true capabilities. Just my opinion... This post has been edited by cd930: May 19 2009, 05:37 PM |
May 20 2009, 07:10 AM
QUOTE(eugenengkarmeng @ May 19 2009, 11:13 PM) yeap.i might be only 17years old but i did learn quite some stuff form my dad and hi-fi shop professional staff. So, your dad bought the Pioneer SC-LX81 in hifi4sale website? Cheaper speakers do not mean its totally wasted on an expensive amp.If you manage to match it well, the sound will be an eye opener. You'll never believe a mid budget speakers can sound so good in a good setup!I agree i still got a long way to learn. Thats why im starting to learn it. but as everybody say,even u buy how expensive or how good your amp is but your speaker is cheap skate its totally wasted! a good and expensive amp deserve to amplify a good quality speaker. just like my dad,earlier this year he bought a Pioneer SC-LX81 which is a superb amplifier that get 5 star and good review but he bought the PSB Image T65 speaker. Even alot of Hi-Fi shops also told my dad and say"wah your amp so good but why choose cheap speaker?doesn't deserve and wasted.at least u buy a 8k speaker to match your set" Even my dad also think its correct. Good amp but speaker not as good. But that time the T65 sound is quite satisfy and recently my dad bought the Synchrony One the sound is awesome when being pushed by a good amp. Thats why if u had a good amp,try to spend a little bit more on speakers too. Its worth every penny of it. Won't get rugi Added on May 19, 2009, 11:17 pm yeap..amp mesti bagus also. must have enough power and capable to produce a great sound too. Retailers will surely recommend higher end speakers as profit margin will be very high.Btw, Synchrony One on a Pioneer av amp?Try it on a higher end integrated or a good pre power combination.Then you'll know what real hifi sound is like.... Just my view, anyway. What cheap skate speakers are you referring too? I have very good budget speakers (cheap skate, as you called it) performing very well on mid range amp and higher end pre power that cost 15 times the cost. I have friends who just cannot believe how good these 'cheap skates' perform.I am not comparing to the platinum m2 i've had b4 but it has its own merit and character. Now! thats what i call 'awesome' for a cheap skate speakers. This post has been edited by cd930: May 20 2009, 09:01 AM |
May 20 2009, 04:08 PM
QUOTE(s6xs9x @ May 20 2009, 01:10 PM) it's not all about equipments, most of the time. I've heard expensive setups and it didn't quite weigh the price. there are pretty much factors, well actually many that will contribute in making your system suit to your expectations, it also depends on what type of music you're listening to in this case. I disagree 'it's not all about equipments, most of the time'. Its about equipments most of the time. Why do you think people take the upgrade path? How do you judge an expensive setup by its value? Its more of a price vs satisfaction expectation and the pleasure it derives.You will only really appreciate higher end equipments' performance when you have the time and space in the comfort of your own listening area. I have encountered a few auditions where they will highlight to you that how brilliant the sound is till you are able to hear fine details so clearly, but somehow in my point of view, they are not meant to be that distinguished above the rest of the stage. . Certain setups will colorized 'em. In my view, perfect matching = a balanced tune, without needing an equalizer to make you love the sound of what's coming out from your system. higher end equipment will have a better upper hand, in this case. But good placements, room environment/sitting position, tweaks and cables can make entry level sound good if done properly. You might have encountered a few auditions, but true testing of equipments are with setups similar to your own or close to it. Then only can you really judge whether the tested piece is any better than your existing one.We don't really have that pleasure here as most people just audition in a totally different environment and different setups. Most setups will produce colorization to the sound, if not, that setup will be the most transparent and truthful sounding set! 'Mostly all recordings are made to give a natural sound'. Really? Different sound engineers in different studios will definitely produce different sound quality.How often do you find different albums on different labels with the same 'natural sound'? Audiophiles do hate equalizer and would much prefer a minimalist amp for a more direct path for the sound. They do prefer non tone,balance and loudness control. Granted. What if your favorite cd collection were to be recorded too flat for your liking?Live with it? Or adjust the tones to a more pleasurable level to your taste? Btw, everybody has their own listening differences and taste. Agree that good positioning will give you the sweet spot. Only certain tweaks do effect the sound performance. Cabling is rather subjective, i believe. |
May 20 2009, 06:57 PM
QUOTE(s6xs9x @ May 20 2009, 04:55 PM) recap- equipments, are always the key and main factors. but it doesn't mean by owning one will give you the best to suit your taste without considering other factors that will contribute to it's final result. sound engineers who does the mastering or remastering are listening, from perhaps 3 sets of speakers to find it's nominal boost in db's for certian freq. some cd's will sound good on setup A, but might not be the same from setup B. Where as, they might not actually be sounding either way in the first place. have you seen special demo recordings for certain pair of speakers? I guess u might think that by me saying natural = flat lifeless tune, what i meant was it should sound real like what an instrument should sound on different staging. For example, like the percussionist is standing beside you on your couch while the singer is on the stage and the bass player aligned with the singer. Something should be wrong with the CD, or it's been boost to suit other systems more. Well you're going to be able to hear very clearly on the details by this way, and the bass is strong. Equalizers are good to have when you're searching so something that suits to your liking, well pairing a perfect system might be hard. Anyway, I guess you won't know what you like best until you've heard all. Play around with the EQ and mark the tune that makes you melt, then go out trying to match the sound without EQ's. I didn't believe in cables too, but somehow got me changed my mind. I still believe that even entry setups can still sound good with adjustments. Well, it will never beat a better setup which also took the time to treat the room and positioning. Opinions are always subjective, that is why there's many brands and setups to choose from. Otherwise, where's the fun of it. Will you own or upgrade equipments without knowing the 'other factors' to best suit your taste? Definitely one that upgrades his set up would have already know his environment very well .Whatever factors would already been explored and tried!Maybe you are referring to new or ignorant users. Special demo recordings for certain speakers? Just test cds?Since it will definitely sound different on different set-ups even on same speakers so whats the point? 'Natural' does not mean necessary be flat or lifeless only.Natural means 'live' to me. And to achieve this is audio Nirvana.'Mostly all recordings are made to give a natural sound'. So, most recordings should sound of the same sound quality then?If this statement is true then, most cd recordings should be audiophile standard! If you are referring to soundstaging...that is totally different. 'pairing a perfect system might be hard'. Definitely! Everybody knows that but a system that brings pleasure and satisfaction within ones budget is already consider perfect for that individual.EQ is not the issue here but the recording imperfection. 'I still believe that even entry setups can still sound good with adjustments'.Well, you can only 'adjust' so much. The upgrade path is still the way beyond that and this only mean equipments! |
May 21 2009, 06:06 AM
QUOTE(s6xs9x @ May 20 2009, 08:35 PM) Natural could be live, Please do read what was written carefully....'Its about equipments most of the time'. When did i ever mention always?Natural could be flat, Natural could be real, Flat could be lifeless, Live could be ... I don't know, what's it to you. Natural? What's bright to you then? When a system sounded not as what you expected them to be, it is always due to the equipment? Not all the time, It might sounded perfect during auditions, but just didn't quite made it at home. Same equipments, it's just the room. Anyway, Did I gave you the impression that low end system will sound the same as higher ends? I guess even new and ignorant users would know that there will be differences. *like me* Didn't i made it crystal clear that auditions are usually not done properly due to difference in setups and environment? Do you really understand 'environment' ? When did i ever compare a low end and a high end? Fyi, i have both of these systems and i enjoy both forms. There is no point in twisting words here but be more positive and constructive in your approach in discussions. Sorry to the other forumners for the interruptions, i'll just stop here .Thank you. |
| Change to: | 0.0292sec
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 11:40 AM |