Working Life in Singapore V2, FAQs, experience sharing, meet-ups

seantang
post Oct 28 2008, 11:23 PM

With Adult Supervision Only
6,624 posts

QUOTE(crapp0 @ Oct 27 2008, 10:03 PM)
So am i to believe that the prices of new games are the same whether they are at Sim lim or funan digital? Coz i thought of going to challenger at funan digital to buy some new pc games like fallout 3 and red alert 3 coz i have pick up a laptop over there and buy some other stuff.

Or are they any stores which can give me a better price for new releases? How are the prices at cyberactive anyway coz near my place has a store?
Go to forums.gameaxis.com. This is a pretty active gaming forum, with lots of local discussions on new releases, favourite shops etc.

QUOTE(crapp0)
Btw, i have a fren who is interested in getting a job in the accounting sector, currently he's working in KPMG malaysia as an auditor but he graduated from shefield harlam under twinning program with TARC college with 2nd degree honour, has about 3 years exp as an auditor and has completed the ACCA course. Would it be unreasonable for him to expect a salary of around 3000-4000 sing?
Depends on the rank he's at, leaving KPMG. If he's still a junior after 3 years, then probably nothing more than 3000-3500. Leaving as a newly promoted senior (<1 year), 3500-4000. Leaving as an experienced senior (>1 year ie. promoted after 1-2 years as junior), 4000-4500 as clearly high performer. If leaving as a freshly promoted Asst Mgr, ask for 5000-7000 as he's obviously a high flyer (partner material).

Added on October 28, 2008, 11:27 pm
QUOTE(eggBoy @ Oct 28 2008, 07:05 PM)
hi all, would like some advise here regarding applying for PR. I have been working in Singapore for 3 months plus now and I have my 3 months pay slip already. I am wondering if this is sufficient to apply for Singapore PR, bcoz it was stated that u need 6 months pay slip. But when i used the eligibility tool at the ICA website, I got a green result. So is it advisable to apply now?
Just apply lah and see what happens. Worst come to worst, you get rejected and just reapply in a few months.

This post has been edited by seantang: Oct 28 2008, 11:30 PM
seantang
post Oct 29 2008, 02:32 PM

6,624 posts

Was it really necessary to cut & paste all the details?
seantang
post Oct 30 2008, 02:31 PM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(Joshua_0718 @ Oct 30 2008, 02:15 PM)
Malaysia currency drop already, it is time to change from SG to MY. Now S$1=RM2.426 biggrin.gif
Sg's MAS has stopped supporting the SGD. In fact, they are releasing more SGD into the system via banks. Seems that curbing inflation is not as important as increasing money supply.

Right now, it's a real gamble. The SGD will no longer rise consistently like before. Its strength or otherwise vs other currencies will really depend on the balance of payments between the 2 countries.

I'm not really bullish on SGD, although I am happy enough not to be holding any AUD or NZD. The MYR though still bears an extremely high political risk (as if the economic downturn was not bad enough).

This post has been edited by seantang: Oct 30 2008, 02:34 PM
seantang
post Oct 30 2008, 11:52 PM

6,624 posts

If you really want to, you can drive if you're willing to spare roughly S$1000-1500 per month. I can spend up to S$40 a day just to go to/from work in taxis (ERP and surcharges during peak kills!). With 20 working days a week, that's $800 a month already. So buying a car is really not much more than taking regular taxis, especially if you need to go longer distances or go places after work or during weekends.

This post has been edited by seantang: Oct 30 2008, 11:56 PM
seantang
post Nov 3 2008, 08:25 AM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(xcrue @ Nov 2 2008, 11:39 PM)
Hi all,

Anyone working in Accounting /Finance field in Spore now?
What's the pay rate for a degree holder?
Very wide question. Anything from $1500 to $150,000 or more, depending on experience and responsibilities.

This post has been edited by seantang: Nov 3 2008, 08:26 AM
seantang
post Nov 3 2008, 04:58 PM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(reign226 @ Nov 3 2008, 02:48 PM)
Anybody can confirm this? Let's say if you have a friend in Malaysia holding a Singtel SIM card and you sms him from Singapore, you get charged local rates and he will receive the sms for free. Is this true?

Before you ask me to go google it myself, I want to say that I have checked the website and it says sms is received for free, but it doesn't mention whether the local telco in Malaysia (eg Digi or Maxis) will charge money for delivering the sms.

So I want to c if anybody have tried something like this b4. Becos Digi say receive SMS while roaming in Sg is free, but my friend still get charged RM1 for every sms he receive.
Sending messages in Sg using a Sg number to another Sg number, or in Mys using a Mys number to another Mys number will always be a local SMS charge to the sender. Even if the receiver is in a foreign country. That's because the sender has no control over the whereabouts of the receiver.

Whether the receiver is charged anything when he receives a SMS while he is roaming is another matter.

Most postpaid numbers are not charged anything ie. free. I don't get charged to receive any SMS from anywhere on my Starhub number when I'm roaming.

Prepaid... I only have Maxis prepaid and it is also free when I receive a SMS while roaming.

seantang
post Nov 4 2008, 01:53 PM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(ppppp @ Nov 4 2008, 01:29 PM)
now aday PR in sin nt much benefit ..
PR too easy apply aldy ..no value at all
Hmmm...i also M'sian PR
As compared to what? A citizen? Or a EP holder?

It's essentially a long term visa. Not a qualification or certification. You don't pay anything for it, and you can't sell it. What 'value' are you looking for, and how does the 'value' drop if it's easy to get?

seantang
post Nov 4 2008, 04:40 PM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(reign226 @ Nov 4 2008, 04:14 PM)
sorry guys, gotta post up an ad for awhile. I'm still looking for a roommate in Sg come Dec 1st...if anybody is interested let me know.
If you really look like your avatar, you should have no trouble finding a roomie.

seantang
post Nov 5 2008, 02:18 PM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(ppppp @ Nov 4 2008, 06:30 PM)
you r wrong .
I doubt it cool2.gif

QUOTE(ppppp)
when apply for PR u need to spent ard sin200-300 to apply it .
PR application fee is S$100. 5-year Malaysian driving licence is RM100. Is this what you call "paying" for the PR and you want to get "value" from this $100 payment?

QUOTE(ppppp)
when you get it only valid for 5 yrs then after need yr employer letter to renew to 5-10 yrs unless u converted to citizen..
Your PR is evergreen. Do they take away your blue IC after 5 years? No. It is your re-entry permit which needs to be renewed periodically. If you do not leave Singapore, you don't need a re-entry permit. And even if you do travel, you can get your Malaysian passport stamped just like any other tourist - if I'm not mistaken.

QUOTE(ppppp)
all step need paying $$$...sin eveything no free .
Fai wah (cantonese). Are these things (visas, PR applications etc) free in other countries?

QUOTE(ppppp)
last time children at childrecare - subsidy coming  yr onwards no
Citizen upgrading house paying few thousand .PR sin10-30K ++
children study U  -subsidy also withdrwal ...
Income tax paying same with citizen..
Why are you comparing PR to citizen? You only paid $100 for the PR and $10 a year for the re-entry permit. And you want the same rights and benefits as citizens for a 100 bucks?

I wonder what your feelings are (as a Malaysian) when Indonesians coming to Malaysia as adult migrants get blue ICs, land and bumiputra 'benefits' - when non-bumi Malaysians who have been in Malaysia for 5 generations cannot even get long term visas (much less PRs and work permits) for their foreign spouses.

If you are so concerned about paying the same tax and not getting the same benefits as a citizen... then become a citizen. That application is free (I think).

Otherwise, the real comparison is PR vs EP/WP.

This post has been edited by seantang: Nov 5 2008, 02:20 PM
seantang
post Nov 10 2008, 08:31 PM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(knighty @ Nov 10 2008, 07:28 PM)
What about the first question though, I'll just register as a Malaysian in Singapore job-seeking sites?
Try registering as a Jamaican. I hear they get the most favourable responses.

seantang
post Nov 10 2008, 09:08 PM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(knighty @ Nov 10 2008, 08:53 PM)
Thanks for the old-fashioned sarcasm though, thought it went extinct since the prehistoric era.
Nope, it's still alive and kicking, especially reserved for people who are unsure of their nationality.

Or would you prefer the more traditional Singaporean... "ah but then?"? Or the quintessential PCK... "use your blain"?

Me, I just found the Jamaican thing more amusing.

Anyway... what choice do you have if you're asked to state your nationality? Bluff that you're Singaporean... apply for the job first... and only tell them you're Malaysian after they interviewed & come to know the 'real' you?

This post has been edited by seantang: Nov 10 2008, 09:30 PM
seantang
post Nov 10 2008, 09:33 PM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(knighty @ Nov 10 2008, 09:27 PM)
The question was about whether it's feasible to register and apply in a Singapore site as a non-Singaporean, sorry if you failed to comprehend my question.
No worries. No need to apologise as it's obviously the school's fault for failing to teach how to properly frame questions. Nothing to do with you.
seantang
post Nov 10 2008, 10:23 PM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(nicvoo @ Nov 10 2008, 09:46 PM)
seantang love your sarcasm hahaha brightens up my mood
Just moody lah. Work's been tough. There's a real expectation right now of at best, haircuts and worse, rolling heads. And we in Singapore are under pressure from our China office folks, whom the bosses in Shanghai are already hinting that their people need 2 tea-ladies working 8 hour shifts each because they spend such long hours in the office.

Luckily most of them are new and need the old hands in Singapore to train them. Guess who's always too busy to conduct training?

Anyway, knighty, my apologies.

seantang
post Nov 11 2008, 02:04 AM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(WyjSwmW @ Nov 11 2008, 12:39 AM)
1) Companies normally won't tolerate Malays to go for Fridays prayers unless you are willing to skip ur lunch for prayers.
I don't think so. Most companies I know allow time for prayers.

The difference with Malaysia is that prayer is OT (Own Time), not company time. So, if you take an hour off for prayers, you work an extra hour before or after that. And you're expected to plan your work or arrange backup with your colleagues if you have something to do exactly at that time.

QUOTE(WyjSwmW)
2) Very hard to find mosques to pray unlike in Malaysia unless you are so lucky able to find one just opposite ur office.
I don't know about you, but I work next to a big one right beside Orchard Road.

QUOTE(WyjSwmW)
3) For makan, it's a bit difficult for faithful Malys bcos normally food courts sells pork rice... the next stall can sell halal food.... and some of my frens even say SG got halal punya babi... hmm.gif  hmm.gif  On top of that, its extremely difficult to search for halal food... there are so little mamak stalls here...
Firstly, Singaporean Malays don't seem to mind eating in shared food courts as long as the food they eat is halal. Unlike Malaysia, they don't expect to protected from non-halal food or expect everyone else to go halal in their presence. You eat your halal food, the non-Muslims eat theirs. You don't pick food off their plates, and they don't touch yours. Still cannot share a table? Or even share a food court?

If the stall next to the halal stall is non-halal, is that wrong? They don't share utensils or kitchens etc. That's like saying that Muslims cannot have non-Muslim neighbours because the presence of kafirs in their proximity will adversely affect their piety.

QUOTE(WyjSwmW)
4) I have even heard bosses here in SG prefer more Chinese than Malays bcos they know Mandarin.... but the fact is many Malays dunno Mandarin....
Let me put it this way. There would be no discrimination against Malays for customer facing jobs, if they also speak Mandarin. 70% of the population speaks Mandarin, you can't just pass that off as having no business purpose.

For back office jobs, English is more than enough unless you want to join a small family business where the boss is still an old timer Chinaman.

Btw, Indians don't seem to have any issues securing jobs.

This post has been edited by seantang: Nov 11 2008, 02:15 AM
seantang
post Nov 17 2008, 09:24 PM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(Annie @ Nov 17 2008, 08:51 PM)
Helping someone to sell bus ticket :
Didn't you already post this earlier?

seantang
post Nov 19 2008, 08:29 AM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(bryon @ Nov 19 2008, 08:16 AM)
who wana go for buffett tonight 7pm @ parkroyal @ kitchener road
we will go for the chinese buffet(20+ nett)

for more details pls visit
http://cforum3.cari.com.my/viewthread.php?tid=1406736
Could you like stop repeating the same post?

seantang
post Nov 19 2008, 05:46 PM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(bryon @ Nov 19 2008, 10:02 AM)
can u pls ignore it
tq
No, I can't. Can you please not spam the thread? Tq.

seantang
post Nov 22 2008, 09:17 AM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(WyjSwmW @ Nov 22 2008, 12:40 AM)
1) Working in outskirts of SG usually pays more than working in the city. For eg: working in Tuas, Jurong can demand more salary than working in City Hall, Orchard or Marina Bay.
How can that be?

All the high paying jobs in high paying industries, HQs etc are in the CBD, Shenton Way, Orchard etc.

At the end of the day, I don't think it's "area" specific, but organisation specific. The best paying jobs in Sg are the global & regional responsibility ones at the MNC HQs. In terms of industry, it's the banks hands down... although that's a bit doubtful nowadays.

Added on November 22, 2008, 9:20 am
QUOTE(JuNz-V @ Nov 22 2008, 01:57 AM)
i've already been in Singapore for 1 month +.. as my visa expired for the first month, i went out to Johor n came back to renew my visa and prolong the staying period..
then i got an extension of another 1 month..

so question is, are there such rules or regulation stating that i cannot be in Singapore for 2 months, n that i have to go back for 1 month before coming back to sg again?
Obviously there's no such rule as you've already "i went out to Johor n came back to renew my visa and prolong the staying period.. then i got an extension of another 1 month.."

You've answered your own question.

This post has been edited by seantang: Nov 22 2008, 09:20 AM
seantang
post Dec 3 2008, 10:56 AM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(mahhiong @ Dec 3 2008, 10:49 AM)
Hi , anybody can advise how to take MRT or bus from Hougang street 22 to Ubi Crescent?
Aiyo... go bookstore and buy a street directory lah. Or log onto SMRT, SBStransit or StreetDirectory.com and use the journey planner.

seantang
post Dec 12 2008, 02:34 PM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(WyjSwmW @ Dec 12 2008, 12:45 AM)
I think many ppl want to work in SG is bcos of money only, whereby $1 = RM2.38.
No denying that. Absolutely true.

QUOTE(WyjSwmW)
I wonder if one day RM appreciates like mad until $1 = RM1, would there still be ppl wanna work in this crappy and non-entertainment SG?
The correct question to ask is if this "appreciation" will ever happen? If so, when? Within your lifetime, you reckon?

Another related but equally pertinent question to ask is 'why'? Why is the S$ worth 2.38 time the RM? Why do MNCs, investors, industry and professionals choose the little red dot when a whole sea of green is available both north and south? There's a little bit more to it than just the exchange rate, don't you think?

12 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0601sec    0.29    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 05:47 AM