Official thread for W980i, A 8gb Walkman with style

Erickk
post May 22 2009, 02:53 PM

119 posts

QUOTE(li-ion65 @ May 20 2009, 09:26 AM)
i saw in garage sales,got ppl sell their violin red w980i fullset for rm1.2k... nod.gif
but sound xpensive lolx
oh.. then officially no yet?
neo_sharky
post May 23 2009, 01:19 PM

1,725 posts

QUOTE(Erickk @ May 22 2009, 03:53 PM)
oh.. then officially no yet?
yes2. officially launch already
choonming
post May 24 2009, 10:19 AM

check your stars!! are they enough??? collect more!
574 posts

anybody know where to get the screen protector for the flip cover? duwan to scratch it
neo_sharky
post May 24 2009, 10:45 AM

1,725 posts

try searching in the garage sales section
Erickk
post May 24 2009, 12:40 PM

119 posts

QUOTE(neo_sharky @ May 23 2009, 01:19 PM)
yes2. officially launch already
Does it means I can get a red version 980 in any SE shops?
But i've search some, none of them hv red 980..
krk24
post May 25 2009, 10:52 PM

277 posts

how much does ORI set cost for w980i?
s3iryu
post May 26 2009, 08:08 PM

158 posts

juz got my w980 today...tried to update the firmware coz mine is kinda old which is R3CA033, i tried to use SE's official update service but it says there's no new updates...what should i do?
neo_sharky
post May 26 2009, 09:48 PM

1,725 posts

QUOTE(Erickk @ May 24 2009, 01:40 PM)
Does it means I can get a red version 980 in any SE shops?
But i've search some, none of them hv red 980..
they should have it. dont think the red one is limited ed

QUOTE(krk24 @ May 25 2009, 11:52 PM)
last i checked, the price for Ori set is around RM1199

QUOTE(s3iryu @ May 26 2009, 09:08 PM)
juz got my w980 today...tried to update the firmware coz mine is kinda old which is R3CA033, i tried to use SE's official update service but it says there's no new updates...what should i do?
yours is AP set? got any Vodafone or Orange logo> if got, mybe u should debrand it first
s3iryu
post May 27 2009, 03:10 AM

158 posts

luckily mine is generic and i've already updated to r3da028 china using a2uploader which is a very easy tool to use for beginners! I juz flashed it with the same region firmware which is china and it works! no nid to flash custompacks as mentioned in the tutorial i read

for beginners who would like to flash their firmwares other den using SEUS(SE update service), here's the link to the tutorials :
http://forums.se-nse.net/index.php?showtopic=39748&hl=w980
http://www.akshayy.com/sonyericsson/tutori...-tutorialguide/
neo_sharky
post May 27 2009, 09:03 AM

1,725 posts

QUOTE(s3iryu @ May 27 2009, 04:10 AM)
luckily mine is generic and i've already updated to r3da028 china using a2uploader which is a very easy tool to use for beginners! I juz flashed it with the same region firmware which is china and it works! no nid to flash custompacks as mentioned in the tutorial i read

for beginners who would like to flash their firmwares other den using SEUS(SE update service), here's the link to the tutorials :
http://forums.se-nse.net/index.php?showtopic=39748&hl=w980
http://www.akshayy.com/sonyericsson/tutori...-tutorialguide/
yeah. gud for you then thumbup.gif
iRonTech
post May 27 2009, 12:35 PM

Access Denied
8,621 posts

QUOTE(krk24 @ May 25 2009, 10:52 PM)
less than Rm900, ap fall till Rm7xx.... sweat.gif bcoz of w980i's firmware flawed ?
mcchin
post May 27 2009, 12:53 PM

SLAVA UKRAINI !
3,902 posts

off topic for a while...

the title can not be any more misleading...

walkman first clamshell... what a doh.gif
s3iryu
post May 28 2009, 03:12 AM

158 posts

For those who fail to update their firmwares thru SEUS, its most likely u have a invalid CDA number (usually happens to AP sets)...u can correct it by changing it with a software called A2 CDA file generator which is 100% free, and there is a thorough guide to do it!

To check ur CDA code, go to the service menu by pressing >*<<*<*, den go to service info>software info...scroll down and find CUSTIMIZATION, there u will see the codes. Mine is 12345678-1234(which is wrong) before this, now its corrected to 1201-0176

Using SEUS to update is more secure and u can get latest firmwares, which is quite impossible to find them elsewhere.

i've tried it and it works perfectly, and i think the risk involved is minimum...

here's the guide and download page:
guide : http://forums.se-nse.net/index.php?showtopic=36503

download : http://thaproxinator.co.uk/index.php?optio...csson&Itemid=57

Also here's the list of supported phones of the CDA file generator

This post has been edited by s3iryu: May 28 2009, 12:45 PM
neo_sharky
post May 28 2009, 09:41 AM

1,725 posts

QUOTE(s3iryu @ May 28 2009, 04:12 AM)
For those who fail to update their firmwares thru SEUS, its most likely u have a invalid CDA number...u can correct it by changing it with a software called A2 CDA file generator which is 100% free, and there is a thorough guide to do it!

Using SEUS to update is more secure and u can get latest firmwares, which is very very hard to find them elsewhere.

i've tried it and it works perfectly, and i think the risk involved is minimum...

i also just know bout this sweat.gif
mcchin
post May 28 2009, 10:19 AM

SLAVA UKRAINI !
3,902 posts

QUOTE(s3iryu @ May 28 2009, 03:12 AM)
For those who fail to update their firmwares thru SEUS, its most likely u have a invalid CDA number...u can correct it by changing it with a software called A2 CDA file generator which is 100% free, and there is a thorough guide to do it!

Using SEUS to update is more secure and u can get latest firmwares, which is very very hard to find them elsewhere.

free ..yes..
but legal....a bit dubious
s3iryu
post May 28 2009, 12:30 PM

158 posts

The SEUS update problem mainly occurs to AP sets which have wrong CDA codes...this is the fastest and easiest way to fix it...

If u use services like davinci team who also can hack ur phone to change the CDA number or flash ur firmware, it will cost u money

Else if u send it back to ur AP company to reflash it, i think they'll oso charge u

This post has been edited by s3iryu: May 28 2009, 12:44 PM
neo_sharky
post May 28 2009, 02:58 PM

1,725 posts

QUOTE(s3iryu @ May 28 2009, 01:30 PM)
The SEUS update problem mainly occurs to AP sets which have wrong CDA codes...this is the fastest and easiest way to fix it...

If u use services like davinci team who also can hack ur phone to change the CDA number or flash ur firmware, it will cost u money

Else if u send it back to ur AP company to reflash it, i think they'll oso charge u
it didnt or did affect the warranty?
TheWandererX
post May 28 2009, 05:25 PM

1,862 posts

Hey guys, should I get this phone over the W890? Basically I don't really look for camera/music player as I already have a DSLR setup and iPods.

Also, how much can I get an AP W980 for?
s3iryu
post May 28 2009, 05:36 PM

158 posts

QUOTE(neo_sharky @ May 28 2009, 02:58 PM)
it didnt or did affect the warranty?
ermmm...not sure bout it coz it only changes the CDA code without changing any files...

u juz put the generated xml file into ur phone and it will do the trick.
limyusiong
post May 30 2009, 11:01 AM

2,815 posts

count me in...finally get myself a w980, thx for ap set price drop so much d...haha, damn cheap la...

29 Pages « < 19 20 21 22 23 > » Top

0.4707sec    0.45    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 10:00 AM