Putraskyline
post Apr 5 2011, 11:49 AM

Non-Regular
1,269 posts

QUOTE(munkeyflo @ Apr 4 2011, 08:35 PM)
Definitely will continue to get my DM license in the future. But not at the moment due to not enough time and I don't think I'm ready for DM yet, probably not enough experience. tongue.gif
I also plan on doing my DM course like at one of those dive centers on the island for 3 months long or something. I don't know what they call it. It's like I work for them but I don't get paid as much as other DMs or even no pay at all because I'll be getting my DM course for very much cheaper or free. Maybe next year after I finish my uni degree first. wink.gif

What about you? DM already?  laugh.gif
I do have slight sinus problem but have never experience nose bleed before. But I do have some difficulties in equalizing sometimes so have to just go slow and take it easy.
Yea, from what my instructor told me, sometimes the new open water divers will freak out because most of the time those that is having nose bleed doesn't know that their nose is bleeding and the mask will have lots of blood and all that. So others will be scared or may scare off others. lol. He said it's like a free sinus operation cause most of his students who have experience that, say that their sinus is pretty much cleared after that. Is yours like that too?
Not yet DM. Still saving some money before I fly either to Australia or Bali for DM Internship. Do you mean internship? Planning to take DM and Instructor maybe once in a go for around 6 month. I have talk to Annabel (Aquamarine Diving Bali) about the cost incurred and also some daily life experience while I'm taking this course.
munkeyflo
post Apr 5 2011, 12:25 PM

Blooop bloop bloop
2,797 posts

QUOTE(Putraskyline @ Apr 5 2011, 11:49 AM)
Not yet DM. Still saving some money before I fly either to Australia or Bali for DM Internship. Do you mean internship? Planning to take DM and Instructor maybe once in a go for around 6 month. I have talk to Annabel (Aquamarine Diving Bali) about the cost incurred and also some daily life experience while I'm taking this course.
Yea yea that's the term - DM internship.
I'll most likely just go to Redang for the internship. Furthest also Sipadan/Mabul maybe. But for Sipadan/Mabul would be more expensive than Redang. Basically cause I know the master diver in Redang Laguna and he's always looking for DM to go over. Even this year also. I wanted to go but too bad have to study first. sad.gif

I don't plan to go up to instructor though. Even though my instructor have always ask me to do so last time. Cause if I do, then I'll be the youngest female instructor in Malaysia or something. But now too old for that title edi. tongue.gif
Putraskyline
post Apr 5 2011, 12:40 PM

Non-Regular
1,269 posts

QUOTE(munkeyflo @ Apr 5 2011, 12:25 PM)
Yea yea that's the term - DM internship.
I'll most likely just go to Redang for the internship. Furthest also Sipadan/Mabul maybe. But for Sipadan/Mabul would be more expensive than Redang. Basically cause I know the master diver in Redang Laguna and he's always looking for DM to go over. Even this year also. I wanted to go but too bad have to study first. sad.gif

I don't plan to go up to instructor though. Even though my instructor have always ask me to do so last time. Cause if I do, then I'll be the youngest female instructor in Malaysia or something. But now too old for that title edi. tongue.gif
Laguna Redang would be great too. Why not consider Berjaya? I'm still thinking either to go Instructor or technical diving. To me technical are more fun and satisfied my adrenalin.
munkeyflo
post Apr 5 2011, 12:55 PM

Blooop bloop bloop
2,797 posts

QUOTE(Putraskyline @ Apr 5 2011, 12:40 PM)
Laguna Redang would be great too. Why not consider Berjaya? I'm still thinking either to go Instructor or technical diving. To me technical are more fun and satisfied my adrenalin.
Haven't thought about that yet. Cause all the while have already had contact in Laguna.
Will go enquire about Berjaya one, now that you said it. biggrin.gif But then again, I prefer Laguna's food. lol.
Go technical then! Its more expensive than instructor course?
deqna
post Apr 5 2011, 01:53 PM

QUOTE(munkeyflo @ Apr 4 2011, 08:35 PM)
Yea, from what my instructor told me, sometimes the new open water divers will freak out because most of the time those that is having nose bleed doesn't know that their nose is bleeding and the mask will have lots of blood and all that. So others will be scared or may scare off others. lol. He said it's like a free sinus operation cause most of his students who have experience that, say that their sinus is pretty much cleared after that. Is yours like that too?
i don't bleed that much until freak out other diver.. hehehe..
normally it only happened during my first dive.. and remaining dives ok already.. i do feel difference after the first dive as my sinus problem gone for few days.. hehehe

waahh.. munkeyflo and putra much more experience diver.. i wish to do that also.. huhuhu..
Putraskyline
post Apr 5 2011, 02:01 PM

Non-Regular
1,269 posts

QUOTE(munkeyflo @ Apr 5 2011, 12:55 PM)
Haven't thought about that yet. Cause all the while have already had contact in Laguna.
Will go enquire about Berjaya one, now that you said it. biggrin.gif But then again, I prefer Laguna's food. lol.
Go technical then! Its more expensive than instructor course?
Yeah more expensive if calculated until Tec Trimix diver, don't know if I can afford till the end or not plus equipment for tec diving also shakehead.gif . Currently I'm already get my Tec 40 with BnJ. Laguna food better than Berjaya Redang? Ooh my, should try Laguna in the future trips.
kelvinftg
post Apr 5 2011, 03:13 PM

268 posts

I'm now officially a certified PADI diver! Did it in Redang and stayed in Coral Reef. The place quite basic, though comes with air conditioner, it's a family run business so everyone is friendly and the home cooked food which is included in the OW package is also nice.

Though I'm pretty damn sure for my next dive trip, I will want to stay in a nice 5 star hotel. Bad news is, my friends wanna go Pulau Dayang. The accomodation there is 'rustic' according to the divers I talked to. It also only has a shared toilet. >_<

Is it true that most divers generally don't care about how shitty the accomodation is when they go on diving trips?
Misteripunyaolang
post Apr 5 2011, 04:34 PM

73 posts

for myself, i would prefer to spend my money on additional dive rather than spending on nice and expensive accomodation. Accomodation for RM40-70 per night will suit me. The money i save will be for dive trip+beer.
etigge
post Apr 5 2011, 04:48 PM

295 posts

QUOTE(kelvinftg @ Apr 5 2011, 03:13 PM)
I'm now officially a certified PADI diver! Did it in Redang and stayed in Coral Reef. The place quite basic, though comes with air conditioner, it's a family run business so everyone is friendly and the home cooked food which is included in the OW package is also nice.

Though I'm pretty damn sure for my next dive trip, I will want to stay in a nice 5 star hotel. Bad news is, my friends wanna go Pulau Dayang. The accomodation there is 'rustic' according to the divers I talked to. It also only has a shared toilet. >_<

Is it true that most divers generally don't care about how shitty the accomodation is when they go on diving trips?
Usually divers don't look much at accomodations only honeymooners and tourist looks for 5 star facilities. It won't be bad if one can do both but priorities always goes to dives. After two or more dives a day, you will be so hungry and tired you can practically sleep anywhere even those live aboard dives. You won't even notice the sea sickness. tongue.gif Do you feel hungry after a dive? I do, all the time ,LOL. I dived in Koh Lipe before when the place was a fishing village, we seem to enjoy it too, it more of the dive experience even the corals were mostly dead. Best was the superman dive where we dive at a straits between two islands and current was strong. We jumped into the water at one end and the boat pick us up at the other end. No finning at all, just like superman, flow with the current. Visibility was good though. tongue.gif
asepa
post Apr 5 2011, 05:11 PM

380 posts

QUOTE(Misteripunyaolang @ Apr 4 2011, 11:18 PM)
Raja Farah? Actress? She's a dive master? which dive shop? brows.gif  brows.gif
fauna. this chalet got so many actress diver. fahrin ahmad, raja farah, ikram, and some other else. tongue.gif
Misteripunyaolang
post Apr 5 2011, 05:25 PM

73 posts

QUOTE(asepa @ Apr 5 2011, 05:11 PM)
fauna. this chalet got so many actress diver. fahrin ahmad, raja farah, ikram, and some other else. tongue.gif
Allright!!! my next dive trip will be with Fauna of Perhentian. Errr perhentian besar or kecil? hmm.gif
Putraskyline
post Apr 5 2011, 06:41 PM

Non-Regular
1,269 posts

Welcome aboard!! My personal view, I do care much on where I stay and with who I dived especially DC services towards customer. Normally I will choose my accomodation then DC as the 2nd criteria. Btw, most of diver that I know wouldnt care much about their bed tongue.gif

This post has been edited by Putraskyline: Apr 5 2011, 06:41 PM
munkeyflo
post Apr 5 2011, 07:31 PM

Blooop bloop bloop
2,797 posts

QUOTE(deqna @ Apr 5 2011, 01:53 PM)
i don't bleed that much until freak out other diver.. hehehe..
normally it only happened during my first dive.. and remaining dives ok already.. i do feel difference after the first dive as my sinus problem gone for few days.. hehehe

waahh.. munkeyflo and putra much more experience diver.. i wish to do that also.. huhuhu..
Haha. Guess my sinus not bad enough for me to feel the difference. Lol.

No la. I'm only at rescue. Putra tec diver edi leh! Nice! Hehe.
I still quite noon actually. Depend on my bf a lot. He doesn't let me dive without him.

QUOTE(Putraskyline @ Apr 5 2011, 02:01 PM)
Yeah more expensive if calculated until Tec Trimix diver, don't know if I can afford till the end or not plus equipment for tec diving also shakehead.gif . Currently I'm already get my Tec 40 with BnJ. Laguna food better than Berjaya Redang? Ooh my, should try Laguna in the future trips.
Omg how can you not know. Haha. Laguna is quite famous for their wide range of buffet. Berjaya the buffet not that nice and went I went there to stay, it was damn expensive also. But high end hotel la, expected la.

I went to pulau dayang last November and saw a baby whaleshark. It was very nice. But the weather and accommodation and the trip there was terrible. When I'm on the computer then only I share. Now using phone hard to type.

And yea. Usually dive motels are budget wan.
Putraskyline
post Apr 5 2011, 08:48 PM

Non-Regular
1,269 posts

QUOTE(munkeyflo @ Apr 5 2011, 07:31 PM)

I still quite noon actually. Depend on my bf a lot. He doesn't let me dive without him.
Omg how can you not know. Haha. Laguna is quite famous for their wide range of buffet. Berjaya the buffet not that nice and went I went there to stay, it was damn expensive also. But high end hotel la, expected la. 
I went to pulau dayang last November and saw a baby whaleshark. It was very nice. But the weather and accommodation and the trip there was terrible. When I'm on the computer then only I share. Now using phone hard to type.

Haha...I never stayed at any other hotel beside Berjaya in Redang. Actually, I have read Laguna review on the net but I'm not interested since the review was not good. Its crowded, less privacy which certainly turn me off beside Berjaya Beachfront suite or premier room doesnt let me think to change another hotel when I'm visiting Redang. Another hotel I wish to try was Sari Paicifica. My view, beside doing leisure dive, I'm also enjoyed having good food, great room and good relax atmosphere.
munkeyflo
post Apr 6 2011, 09:02 AM

Blooop bloop bloop
2,797 posts

QUOTE(Putraskyline @ Apr 5 2011, 08:48 PM)
Haha...I never stayed at any other hotel beside Berjaya in Redang. Actually, I have read Laguna review on the net but I'm not interested since the review was not good. Its crowded, less privacy which certainly turn me off beside Berjaya Beachfront suite or premier room doesnt let me think to change another hotel when I'm visiting Redang. Another hotel I wish to try was Sari Paicifica. My view, beside doing leisure dive, I'm also enjoyed having good food, great room and good relax atmosphere.
There's two Berjaya in Redang, one Spa and one Beach I think. I've stayed in the Spa before but that was a very long time ago so can't remember. But I remember the Beach one very well. Haha. And yea those beachfront suite is very nice.
Yea, there's not much privacy in Laguna compared to Berjaya. I'm the more budget type, don't really go for much privacy. Their rooms were comfortable when they first started, that was like 8 years ago I think. They have one big queen size bed and two single bed in each room. Rooms are almost the same size as Berjaya Beach I would say. Nowadays, the room are not as nice already. There was one time, there were ants crawling all over the toilet. Yuck!

Putraskyline
post Apr 6 2011, 10:31 AM

Non-Regular
1,269 posts

QUOTE(munkeyflo @ Apr 6 2011, 09:02 AM)
There's two Berjaya in Redang, one Spa and one Beach I think. I've stayed in the Spa before but that was a very long time ago so can't remember. But I remember the Beach one very well. Haha. And yea those beachfront suite is very nice.
Yea, there's not much privacy in Laguna compared to Berjaya. I'm the more budget type, don't really go for much privacy. Their rooms were comfortable when they first started, that was like 8 years ago I think. They have one big queen size bed and two single bed in each room. Rooms are almost the same size as Berjaya Beach I would say. Nowadays, the room are not as nice already. There was one time, there were ants crawling all over the toilet. Yuck!
Haha.... Nice experience ya? Nowadays the price for Berjaya beach already increased. With starting price for hillview room at 500++, I guess Berjaya Redang will be like Pangkor Laut in the future. Yet, I never try Berjaya beach dive centre, hopefully will be able to dive with them late in this year after great review by you 2-3 pages back.

This post has been edited by Putraskyline: Apr 6 2011, 10:32 AM
kelvinftg
post Apr 6 2011, 11:21 AM

268 posts

QUOTE(etigge @ Apr 5 2011, 04:48 PM)
Usually divers don't look much at accomodations only honeymooners and tourist looks for 5 star facilities. It won't be bad if one can do both but priorities always goes to dives.  After two or more dives a day, you will be so hungry and tired you can practically sleep anywhere even those live aboard dives. You won't even notice the sea sickness. tongue.gif Do you feel hungry after a dive? I do, all the time ,LOL. I dived in Koh Lipe before when the place was a fishing village, we seem to enjoy it too, it more of the dive experience even the corals were mostly dead. Best was the superman dive where we dive at a straits between two islands and current was strong. We jumped into the water at one end and the boat pick us up at the other end. No finning at all, just like superman, flow with the current. Visibility was good though. tongue.gif
Yea man... Damn hungry after a dive, I can't count how many snickers bars and ice creams I ate as snacks pre AND post meals when I was in Tioman! It's true, after 2 beers (which our intructor allowed around 10pm), I literally slept the moment I laid on the bed. But what really grossed me out was the toilet la, really not comfortable at all for me.

QUOTE(Putraskyline @ Apr 5 2011, 06:41 PM)
Welcome aboard!! My personal view, I do care much on where I stay and with who I dived especially DC services towards customer. Normally I will choose my accomodation then DC as the 2nd criteria. Btw, most of diver that I know wouldnt care much about their bed tongue.gif
Yea, you sound like me! I'm damn sure I will choose accomodation over DC for my upcoming dive trips!

QUOTE(munkeyflo @ Apr 5 2011, 07:31 PM)

Yea, I've seen pictures from Pulau Dayang, it is GORGEOUS! But, just hearing descriptions of how 'rustic' the accomodation is was quite off putting to be honest.
Putraskyline
post Apr 6 2011, 11:50 AM

Non-Regular
1,269 posts

QUOTE(kelvinftg @ Apr 6 2011, 11:21 AM)
Yea man... Damn hungry after a dive, I can't count how many snickers bars and ice creams I ate as snacks pre AND post meals when I was in Tioman! It's true, after 2 beers (which our intructor allowed around 10pm), I literally slept the moment I laid on the bed. But what really grossed me out was the toilet la, really not comfortable at all for me.
Yea, you sound like me! I'm damn sure I will choose accomodation over DC for my upcoming dive trips!
Yea, I've seen pictures from Pulau Dayang, it is GORGEOUS! But, just hearing descriptions of how 'rustic' the accomodation is was quite off putting to be honest.
For me, Malaysia Dive Resort are far way behind international standard which turn me off to visit. Tourism Department should do something about this for example in term incentives and so on. In term of location for diving, I don't see much different if compared to Asean country but different is how they developed the places to international standard. When I dived with Aquamarine Diving Bali and also stay at Wakatobi Dive Resort, I speak to some of European diver which complaint of dive accommodation in Malaysia and tell me why they choose Indonesia and Thailand instead of Malaysia. Btw, some of them don't know where is Malaysia located tongue.gif
munkeyflo
post Apr 6 2011, 12:15 PM

Blooop bloop bloop
2,797 posts

QUOTE(Putraskyline @ Apr 6 2011, 10:31 AM)
Haha.... Nice experience ya? Nowadays the price for Berjaya beach already increased. With starting price for hillview room at 500++, I guess Berjaya Redang will be like Pangkor Laut in the future. Yet, I never try Berjaya beach dive centre, hopefully will be able to dive with them late in this year after great review by you 2-3 pages back.
Yup yup. The DC is not bad as they give good services unlike other DC around Malaysia.
Does the price include meal and all that? Because I use BVC membership to book the rooms so its not inclusive of meals and transport to the hotel. That's why the meals were considered pretty expensive for me. But if it's like Laguna, then the meals are all included.
kelvinftg
post Apr 6 2011, 12:26 PM

268 posts

QUOTE(Putraskyline @ Apr 6 2011, 11:50 AM)
For me, Malaysia Dive Resort are far way behind international standard which turn me off to visit. Tourism Department should do something about this for example in term incentives and so on. In term of location for diving, I don't see much different if compared to Asean country but different is how they developed the places to international standard. When I dived with Aquamarine Diving Bali and also stay at Wakatobi Dive Resort, I speak to some of European diver which complaint of dive accommodation in Malaysia and tell me why they choose Indonesia and Thailand instead of Malaysia. Btw, some of them don't know where is Malaysia located tongue.gif
Unless, of course, you talk about up-class resorts in the infamous Sipadan or whichever dive site in Sabah. It seems like those are really nice accomodations albeit comes with a high price!

116 Pages « < 24 25 26 27 28 > » Top

0.0213sec    0.22    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 03:05 PM