munkeyflo
post Feb 1 2013, 11:59 AM

Blooop bloop bloop
2,797 posts

QUOTE(b5n111 @ Jan 31 2013, 09:39 PM)
munkey dive centre  tongue.gif  rclxm9.gif
tongue.gif Not interested to open my own dive center heheh.
munkeyflo
post Feb 1 2013, 02:05 PM

Blooop bloop bloop
2,797 posts

QUOTE(Qess @ Feb 1 2013, 01:44 PM)
hi guys, wanna check where can i buy scuba pro twin jet fin in Malaysia?
it looks like scuba pro distributors are not many in Malaysia
Sealantis is the official dealer for scubapro. They should have the fins you are looking for.
If not mistaken, someone also mentioned scuba symphony carry scubapro jet fins. Try search this thread and see.
munkeyflo
post Feb 6 2013, 12:42 AM

Blooop bloop bloop
2,797 posts

QUOTE(pakutekan @ Feb 5 2013, 07:37 PM)
Anyone can share with me their UW camera setup? Want to change my dslr to smaller camera easy to bring anywhere .. Also UW casing for dslr was too expensive hehe..
For beginner, just get any compact and the ori housing. You'll have to have good buoyancy to take nice pictures. Don't think about taking the DSLR underwater, it's too much of a hassle. Damn heavy also. Unless you really into it next time, then invest in it. You can try borrow other ppl camera if they have and try it out.

My first camera was Canon G9 with Canon housing. Now using Canon S95 with Canon housing. Planning to get G15, maybe Ikelite housing.
No strobe yet but might get one for better photo quality.
munkeyflo
post Feb 7 2013, 03:02 PM

Blooop bloop bloop
2,797 posts

QUOTE(TAGreptiles @ Feb 6 2013, 11:50 PM)
Putra & munkey can advice if i got trolled? Seems to come with pretty good reviews all around despite being about 30 years old.  sweat.gif
Sorry, don't know much about regulators. My partner has replied to you either though. laugh.gif
Guess it's a good buy hehe.

QUOTE(Daqs @ Feb 7 2013, 01:12 AM)
I'm planning on taking a course in diving and also planning on making it a hobby as my intro dive was great! I'd like to ask where in KL can I find a good shop to buy equipments? I have seen in this thread that there was one in sungei wang..but wasn't able to find it. Any help is greatly appreciated.
Scubatex, as ericcc has already mentioned, is a good place to get scuba equipments at pretty reasonable prices. There are lots of shops in Klang Valley selling scuba equipments. 1Utama has 2, Mid Valley also got. I don't know about the one in Sungei Wang so can't help you out there. There are quite a few in PJ, Subang and Cheras area. Some even operate from their house, so ask around, there are a lot of them. biggrin.gif

Take up the course first, make more friends, try out different type of equipments first before you decide on investing into your own set. Most of us will get the mask, booties and fins first. Wetsuit not really necessary in our Malaysian water. Get a rashguard and a few beach pants and you're good to go.
munkeyflo
post Feb 13 2013, 12:12 PM

Blooop bloop bloop
2,797 posts

QUOTE(reef_d @ Feb 11 2013, 12:35 PM)
guys..

i'm looking for swimming goggles with power cos i am far sighted..
any place recommended which has a big selection to choose from?
last time i bump into a place on sunway pyramid new wing.. ogival i think..
looks decent and the price is about rm90 for a pair of goggles..

thanks!
Next to Ogival shop - Sun Paradise. They carry quite a range of swimming wear and accessories. Try checking out their prices.
You can also go to Jusco or Parkson swimming/sports section.

Remember to get slightly lower than your specs power, or you'll be floating and dizzy when you wear it. laugh.gif

QUOTE(pilotHans @ Feb 13 2013, 11:59 AM)
+1 .....normally i just rent it....

so far the sharkskin how much u get?

global scuba quoted me
Sharkskin promo b4 31jan:
2. Long sleeve (without zip): RM 500 (N/P: RM650)
3. Full suit: RM 1000 (N/P: RM1300)
4. Long pant: RM 500 (N/P: RM650)

but didnt take it during that period....thinking of getting it sometime in may..hope they will have another promo or other places sell cheaper then 500 ...plan to take 2pieces instead of a full suit..so i can mix match with others tongue.gif
I bought my full suit from Global Scuba. So far it's the only dive shop that brings the Sharkskin range into Malaysia. Got it for RM1000 as well, around August last year. That time already they told me promo price haha.

Have to admit, it is super comfy. A little cold in the water sometimes but it's windproof, damn chun. After night dive come out, wind blow also not cold lol. tongue.gif

Most guys will prefer to get 2 pieces instead of the full suit. Can wear with surf pants if water not very cold. I check the prices if I buy online from Australia and get someone to bring or ship it back, it's not that much cheaper, maybe like RM30-50 like that cheaper for the full suit. If you do find someone that is able to get Sharkskin at lower price, let me know. I'm thinking of getting their booties.
munkeyflo
post Feb 13 2013, 12:32 PM

Blooop bloop bloop
2,797 posts

QUOTE(pilotHans @ Feb 13 2013, 12:20 PM)
Thanks for the review.

im a new diver maa.....so this will be my 1st wetsuit...already have a scuba Pro rashguard (or whatever u spell that) haha..... + 1 arena long sleve( doh.gif ) also comfy wear..haha..from pool to sea..haha.....sharkskin wetsuit simple looks/sounds tempting..sick of renting those wetsuits that i have to adjust my weights whenever i dive  sweat.gif
Sharkskin is my 4th wetsuit lol. I have tons of rashguard but usually just wear my short sleeve Ripcurl under my wetsuit. Scubapro rashguard quite thin, you can wear it under your sharkskin if you afraid of cold.

Why not get the top piece first, I doubt you'll need to wear the bottom piece unless you can't stand the cold. Most people just wear rashguard and shorts go dive anyway.
munkeyflo
post Feb 23 2013, 02:51 AM

Blooop bloop bloop
2,797 posts

QUOTE(tantalus @ Feb 22 2013, 03:03 PM)
Is there any good place to dive to go for weekend trip from KL?

I'd like to dive for 2 days in weekend, and now are living in KL. from what i read is we can go to pulau redang, lang tengah, or perhentian island. like going by night bus and then ferry to the island, is it feasible?

and which island is the best site to dive?
Tioman is most KL divers choice for a weekend getaway.
You can also try out pulau Sembilan. Nearer than Tioman but visibility not so good. I've done day trip to Pulau Sembilan before but very tiring.
munkeyflo
post Feb 23 2013, 02:53 AM

Blooop bloop bloop
2,797 posts

QUOTE(samlee860407 @ Feb 22 2013, 03:36 PM)
Guys, wana ask, can we go discover scuba diving less than 24 hours after my flight?

for example, I landed on 6.30pm on 1st March 2013, can i go discover scuba diving on 2nd march (before 6.30pm)??

I read that after dive, must wait 24 hours before the flight...how about flight before dive?
You can fly then dive, no rules about that.
But you can't dive then fly before 24 hours has pass.
munkeyflo
post Feb 23 2013, 02:56 AM

Blooop bloop bloop
2,797 posts

QUOTE(Misteripunyaolang @ Feb 22 2013, 11:39 PM)
Anybody know whether Tioman or Perhentian had already open for diving? planning to go this early March.
Usually by end Feb or beginning March already open to tourist.
Weather might not be as good as May though. But sometimes the weather may be very good.

Check with the hotel for the exact opening dates.
munkeyflo
post Feb 23 2013, 10:15 AM

Blooop bloop bloop
2,797 posts

QUOTE(lsk @ Feb 23 2013, 07:57 AM)
flying after diving reccommendations:-
1. single dive, min pre-flight surface interval 12 hours suggested
2. repetitive dives, min pre- flight surface interval 18 hours suggested but if can longer better
Yup. Most dive centers will make it 18-24 hours just to be safe. smile.gif
munkeyflo
post Feb 27 2013, 03:22 PM

Blooop bloop bloop
2,797 posts

QUOTE(samlee860407 @ Feb 27 2013, 03:17 PM)
thanks too. already booked for my Discover scuba diving liao...now persuading my gf to join haha
I think everyone should do it at least once in their lifetime. laugh.gif
It's a really awesome experience. Quite a number of girl divers these days edi haha.

Have fun!
munkeyflo
post Feb 28 2013, 01:17 AM

Blooop bloop bloop
2,797 posts

QUOTE(samlee860407 @ Feb 27 2013, 03:23 PM)
eh btw ask u a...do  you wear contact lens when diving?

i read that if learn diving, need to open eyes underwater without wearing mask, right? so if wear contact lens can a?

discover scuba diving need learn itu anot?
Yea I wear contacts but I have my own prescription mask also. You don't have to open eyes actually. Just have to remove and put back the mask. Can do it with your eyes close. I'm not sure if discovery will require you to remove mask underwater or not.

I do not dare to open eyes underwater when I'm wearing contacts. Usually if close eyes very tight also eyes will sting a little but it wouldn't affect my contacts. I use daily contacts when I dive for more moisture and easy to handle. Anything wrong just open another pair. Few dives a day in contacts can make the eyes very dry.

Best is to inform your instructor/dive master that you are wearing contacts when he briefs you about what you will be doing underwater. Tell him you are not comfortable with opening eyes underwater, they'll understand. smile.gif

QUOTE(zaff1984 @ Feb 27 2013, 09:00 PM)
guys.. anybody here apply for Astro Kasih... I still dont get the result. should be 15 feb right..?
I didn't receive anything either sad.gif
munkeyflo
post Feb 28 2013, 02:29 PM

Blooop bloop bloop
2,797 posts

QUOTE(imran85 @ Feb 28 2013, 12:48 PM)
Guys.. want to organise a dive trip? biggrin.gif I am looking for dive buddies for  Redang or Perhentian..
Going redang end of march with some friends. I wouldn't mind organizing perhentian trip. tongue.gif anyone else interested?

Has been so long since I went to perhentian.
munkeyflo
post Mar 1 2013, 02:38 AM

Blooop bloop bloop
2,797 posts

How bout September 14-16. 16th Malaysia day is a Monday. Perhentian, I'll try to find out which hotels to go to and get a quote. Or anyone has any recommendations? Who else interested to go?

1. imran85 (1 pax?)
2. munkeyflo (2 pax)
munkeyflo
post Mar 1 2013, 11:17 AM

Blooop bloop bloop
2,797 posts

QUOTE(pakutekan @ Mar 1 2013, 07:16 AM)
perhentian? i'll go for my OW course this April/May.. hehee
Dates confirm yet? If free can join also biggrin.gif

QUOTE(tantalus @ Mar 1 2013, 10:56 AM)
I'm interested, how about 24-26 may? 23 is wesak day national holiday.

anyone going from KL?
24th wesak day you mean. tongue.gif
Fine with me. Make it 24-26 may then.

I'll be going from klang/shah alam. If confirm, we should meet up few months before, get details and try arrange to carpool. smile.gif
munkeyflo
post Mar 1 2013, 01:43 PM

Blooop bloop bloop
2,797 posts

Since imram85 suggested it first, which dates would you prefer more? biggrin.gif

munkeyflo
post Mar 1 2013, 10:13 PM

Blooop bloop bloop
2,797 posts

QUOTE(b5n111 @ Mar 1 2013, 02:04 PM)
i use contacts too, opened eyes during pool n exam confined dives... no problem  rclxms.gif
anyhow, i use contacts during diving oni... so very clumsy wan
there s this shore dive being called last minute and rushing to put on my contacts,
briefing at outdoor while raining.....
after the dive n back to room.... i confirmed i lost both contatcts  hmm.gif  rclxub.gif  doh.gif
Hahaha. If I lose my contacts half way, confirm blind lol. That's why I always try to wake up earlier and put on my contacts before breakfast. laugh.gif
munkeyflo
post Mar 1 2013, 10:30 PM

Blooop bloop bloop
2,797 posts

Newbies are fine. It's good for newbies to mix around and gain more experience, you'll learn lots. Some just take up the course then never go diving again, don't be like that. tongue.gif

May 24-26 will be the start of school holidays. Gonna have a hard time with booking the rooms lol. Any hotel recommendations from you all? The last I went to perhentian was for my OW course, don't remember a thing. doh.gif
munkeyflo
post Mar 4 2013, 06:54 AM

Blooop bloop bloop
2,797 posts

QUOTE(pakutekan @ Mar 3 2013, 04:54 AM)
actually dive center will include the wetsuit with other equipment.. unfortunately, depeend on luck if u can get ur size there.. as for me, they dont have xs size for men wetsuit.
I've never seen XS size wetsuit for men, smallest also S size. Try female or children wetsuit. smile.gif

QUOTE(EvanSoon @ Mar 3 2013, 12:06 AM)
Question.. Do you need a wet suit actually? Would rash guard be sufficient for OW?

Also.. what is the first item that we should buy? what would be the 2nd and how do we determine which brand is better?
Like b5n111 said, some female divers just jump down in their bikinis. I've seen divers with a tshirt and surf pants on. Most of them would prefer a long or short sleeve rash guard with surf pants. Seldom see divers buy their own shortie here in our country. It all depends on your own body, some of us can tahan cold more than others. Then there's the expose skin to jellyfishes and other corals that burn. Wetsuit will give some protection to those underwater creatures. If you go to colder waters, then yes, a wetsuit or dry suit is needed, plus a hood, gloves and all that to keep you warm.

First equipment to buy, I would say mask, fins, and booties. laugh.gif
After that, a dive comp.

Destination: Perhentian
Purpose: Diving
Date: May / Sept

1. imran85 (1 pax)
2. munkeyflo (2 pax)
3. b5n111 (1 pax) - confirm upon date s finalised
4. numblink (1 pax) - if date ngam
5. tantalus
6. EvanSoon

First off, I would prefer Perhentian Besar. laugh.gif Can take a watertaxi over to Kecil for those who want to party.
It's a public holiday + weekend, so there will be some surcharges. Here are some hotels. I was thinking Flora Bay, can always makan at other restaurants. tongue.gif

Bubbles Dive Resort http://www.bubblesdc.com/
High Season (Apr-Aug) 3D2N - RM430 AC Room, Triple
Dive Package Add On - RM450 for 5 dives with eq
Surcharge - RM60/room/night
*est. RM920/pax (Triple)

Arwana Resort http://www.arwanaperhentian.com.my/2012/main.php
3D2N Diving Package - RM678 AC Room, Quad for 4 dives
Surcharge - RM30/person
*est. RM708/pax (Quad)

Bayu Dive Logde http://www.bayudivelodge.com/
3D2N Diving Package - RM625 AC Room (Triple) for 4 dives with eq
3D2N Diving Package - RM590 Fan Room (Twin) for 4 dives with eq
*no surcharge
**Review says bad food but quite clean rooms. Fully booked for May according to their online reservation thingy.

Flora Bay Divers http://www.florabayresort.com/
AC Room - RM130 per room per night, stays up to 4 pax
Fan Room - RM60 per room per night, stays up to 4 pax *no hot shower*
Dives - RM85/dive with eq (min. 4-5 dives), RM75/dive without eq
Surcharge - 20%
Speedboat Transfer on our own - RM70/return
*est. RM573/pax for AC Room (Quad) 5 dives with eq; RM517/pax for Fan Room (Twin) 5 dives without eq
**Meals on our own**

Tuna Bay Resort http://www.tunabay.com.my/
3D2N Diving Package - RM729 AC Room, Triple for 4 dives without eq
Surcharge - RM100 per person
*est. RM829/pax (Triple)

New Cocohut Chalet (Dive with Universal Diver) http://www.perhentianislandcocohut.com/perhentianisland.html
3D2N Snorkeling Package - RM449 AC Room, Quad
Universal Divers (with eq) - RM85/dive (2-4 dives); RM80/dive (>4 dives)
Universal Divers (without eq) - RM65/dive
*est. RM849/pax (Quad) with 5 dives with eq

Coral View Island Resort http://www.coralviewislandresort.com/
3D2N Snorkeling Package - RM459 AC Room (Triple); RM454 Fan Room (Twin)
Diving Add On (min. 4 dives) - RM80/dive with eq; RM65/dive without eq
*est. RM859/pax AC Room (Triple), 5 dives with eq
munkeyflo
post Mar 4 2013, 01:58 PM

Blooop bloop bloop
2,797 posts

QUOTE(tantalus @ Mar 4 2013, 11:35 AM)
Thanks for looking for the info munkeyflo, Me too prefer flora bay based on the list, as it is cheaper also ^^. (cheaper means: more chance to dive more)
QUOTE(imran85 @ Mar 4 2013, 12:31 PM)
Sounds good for Flora Bay..  biggrin.gif yeah we can find our own food after..  biggrin.gif
Just realized Flora Bay is actually on the other side of the island, so maybe a bit hard to get food other than their own restaurant.
I'll try Abdul Chalet to see whether they still have rooms or not. Abdul Chalet is next to Tuna Bay.

Abdul Chalet is slightly more expensive. But the rooms look way better than Flora Bay, especially the toilets. rclxub.gif
Family Garden View AC (Triple) - RM195/night
Standard Garden Fan (Twin) - RM80/night
Speedboat by the hotel is RM70/return
Trying to find out which dive centers are nearby Abdul Chalet.

Edit: Ok, there are not much more expensive anyways.
Nearest dive center is Universal Diver:
Universal Divers (with eq) - RM85/dive (2-4 dives); RM80/dive (>4 dives)
Universal Divers (without eq) - RM65/dive
It's cheaper than Flora Bay Diver. 5 star dive center too.

This post has been edited by munkeyflo: Mar 4 2013, 02:23 PM

16 Pages « < 13 14 15 16 >Top

0.0230sec    0.55    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 10:08 PM