Help with US Subwoofers and tranformer, velodyne spl 1200r
sunauto
Aug 8 2008, 08:26 PM
QUOTE(callmevil @ Aug 8 2008, 02:29 PM) Hi, can any sifus here advice me on my purchase of a velodyne spl 1200r from ebay (US)? specifically on the stepdown transformer issue. the woofer does a 1000w rms, therefore what kind of transformer should i be looking at? or.. would it even be a good idea for me to get the US model for this?? /ps. if im not making any sense with my question, its because i am a n00b with this things.. lost 1000w RMS is the power rating for the amplifier and it doesn't represent the actual power consumption of the unit itself. Some sites are saying that this Velodyne SPL-1200R consumes about 220w in power consumption but to play it safe, get a stepdown transformer with at least 500 watts, it should cost you around RM200 plus. I'm using EKK stepdown transformer and it has two inputs so you can connect two devices to it.
sunauto
Aug 10 2008, 12:41 AM
QUOTE(callmevil @ Aug 8 2008, 09:18 PM) ahh experience guy! any impact on sound using the transformer?? My hd-dvd player, game consoles are all on 110V so I'm just sharing what I know. Well, there are no side effects using a stepdown transformer but do take note cheapo stepdown transformers might run a little hot if you're using it continously so it's better to get an industrial grade stepdown transformer. I'm using EKK myself, switched on 24 hours everyday.
sunauto
Aug 12 2008, 01:05 AM
QUOTE(callmevil @ Aug 10 2008, 04:28 PM) htkaki, whats ur comment on this? how often do svs subs breakdown compared to velodyne? ive been reading all over the net that velodyne have poor customer support on this issue and their subs tend to just not work after some time.. but since ur an expert on this, what is ure perspective? Most subwoofers run pretty hot so make sure it is placed in a well ventilated place to avoid the risk of frying the internal amp. Class A rated amp in subs run even hotter so do take note on this.