5 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Help with US Subwoofers and tranformer, velodyne spl 1200r

TScallmevil
post Aug 8 2008, 02:29 PM, updated 18y ago

80 Druid
798 posts

Hi, can any sifus here advice me on my purchase of a velodyne spl 1200r from ebay (US)? specifically on the stepdown transformer issue. the woofer does a 1000w rms, therefore what kind of transformer should i be looking at? or.. would it even be a good idea for me to get the US model for this??

/ps. if im not making any sense with my question, its because i am a n00b with this things.. lost

This post has been edited by callmevil: Aug 8 2008, 02:36 PM
aiman04
post Aug 8 2008, 02:37 PM

THX-Certified Geek
2,316 posts

Hi Callmevil, nice to see you here. I Sorry I'm not in the know about this stepdown transformer thing, but I'm also curious about it. Let's hope the sifus here can help. smile.gif
dirtrun
post Aug 8 2008, 02:39 PM

3,136 posts

Hv u really tot tis out?

First is like u say de step down transformer..

2nd is shippin for such a bulky/heavy object is not cheap, hv u calculated shippin yet?

3rd is our custom is not gonna be bothered tat its used(it is used, rite??)..

Regards
Dirtrun
TScallmevil
post Aug 8 2008, 02:44 PM

80 Druid
798 posts

QUOTE(dirtrun @ Aug 8 2008, 02:39 PM)

Hv u really tot tis out?

First is like u say de step down transformer..

2nd is shippin for such a bulky/heavy object is not cheap, hv u calculated shippin yet?

Regards
Dirtrun
haha spend 2 days thinking about this..

2nd shipment cost have all been calculated and + the cost of the item is still within my budget

3rd have considered this too and its still within my budget.

issue is not with money here. its just usability of it with our 220/240 current.. sad.gif

help~~

arj
post Aug 8 2008, 02:57 PM

RED DEVIL
4,896 posts

QUOTE(dirtrun @ Aug 8 2008, 02:39 PM)

He's in Brunei and apparently the tax rate there is very low brows.gif
TScallmevil
post Aug 8 2008, 03:03 PM

80 Druid
798 posts

QUOTE(arj @ Aug 8 2008, 02:57 PM)
He's in Brunei and apparently the tax rate there is very low brows.gif
whistling.gif ...

rolleyes.gif is aiman interested with subbies too? rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by callmevil: Aug 8 2008, 03:04 PM
aiman04
post Aug 8 2008, 03:11 PM

THX-Certified Geek
2,316 posts

Which Aiman? tongue.gif

Of course he is. brows.gif
pierreye
post Aug 8 2008, 03:28 PM

1,308 posts

first, I don't think there is any step down transformer that can sustain 1000w of power. Mostly I see in the range of 200-300w max. That's why I get the DD-12 locally although is bloody expensive. No choice. SPL-1200 should be around RM 5k locally.
TScallmevil
post Aug 8 2008, 03:30 PM

80 Druid
798 posts

QUOTE(pierreye @ Aug 8 2008, 03:28 PM)
first, I don't think there is any step down transformer that can sustain 1000w of power. Mostly I see in the range of 200-300w max. That's why I get the DD-12 locally although is bloody expensive. No choice. SPL-1200 should be around RM 5k locally.
this is 1 bad news.. oh noes.. anyone with any good news? the spl is 1000w rms, 2000w dynamic.. should my transformer be 1000 or 2000w ?

this link have a 2000w transformer.. is this what i need or??

This post has been edited by callmevil: Aug 8 2008, 03:37 PM
mpyw
post Aug 8 2008, 03:38 PM

3,603 posts

ask Velodyne directly sell it to you with factory setting at 220-240V....like what Hsu Research can do if buy from them direct....
dirtrun
post Aug 8 2008, 04:00 PM

3,136 posts

QUOTE(callmevil @ Aug 8 2008, 02:44 PM)
haha spend 2 days thinking about this..

2nd shipment cost have all been calculated and + the cost of the item is still within my budget

3rd have considered this too and its still within my budget.

issue is not with money here. its just usability of it with our 220/240 current.. sad.gif

help~~

Ok,

Noted.. Money not an issue..

I d get de svs pb13ultra (or cylinder if u prefer) if tat is de case.. summore can ask for 230v .. issue closed..

Why wanna pening kepala on transformers??
Dirtrun
PS why ebay??

arremie
post Aug 8 2008, 05:07 PM

hmm...
4,865 posts

Don't you guys think its unnecessary noise introduce into the system if we use these type of converters? ....or am I too paranoid hmm.gif
TScallmevil
post Aug 8 2008, 06:22 PM

80 Druid
798 posts

QUOTE(dirtrun @ Aug 8 2008, 04:00 PM)
Ok,

Noted.. Money not an issue..

I d get de svs pb13ultra (or cylinder if u prefer) if tat is de case.. summore can ask for 230v .. issue closed..

Why wanna pening kepala on transformers??
Dirtrun
PS why ebay??
1. Money not an issue as all the cost related to this velodyne is still within my allocated budget. moving on to subs higher up the food-chain may not comply well with my budget

2. firstly, the pb13ultra is over 150pounds.. that is insane for my room.. and yes the svs pb13 ultra/pc-ultra are amazing subs. but I have no idea which online store ships it to Brunei at a reasonable price. if u can advice me on this?

3. Why want to pening? because no country with 220-240v current do international shipping for velodynes to Brunei. unless u can advice me with one?

4. Ebay does international shipping..

QUOTE(arremie @ Aug 8 2008, 05:07 PM)
Don't you guys think its unnecessary noise introduce into the system if we use these type of converters? ....or am I too paranoid hmm.gif
I have no idea, can anyone advice us on this?

This post has been edited by callmevil: Aug 8 2008, 06:23 PM
sunauto
post Aug 8 2008, 08:26 PM

<< Blu-Ray Rocks >>
4,017 posts

QUOTE(callmevil @ Aug 8 2008, 02:29 PM)
Hi, can any sifus here advice me on my purchase of a velodyne spl 1200r from ebay (US)? specifically on the stepdown transformer issue. the woofer does a 1000w rms, therefore what kind of transformer should i be looking at? or.. would it even be a good idea for me to get the US model for this??

/ps. if im not making any sense with my question, its because i am a n00b with this things.. lost
1000w RMS is the power rating for the amplifier and it doesn't represent the actual power consumption of the unit itself. Some sites are saying that this Velodyne SPL-1200R consumes about 220w in power consumption but to play it safe, get a stepdown transformer with at least 500 watts, it should cost you around RM200 plus. I'm using EKK stepdown transformer and it has two inputs so you can connect two devices to it.
TScallmevil
post Aug 8 2008, 09:18 PM

80 Druid
798 posts

QUOTE(sunauto @ Aug 8 2008, 08:26 PM)
1000w RMS is the power rating for the amplifier and it doesn't represent the actual power consumption of the unit itself. Some sites are saying that this Velodyne SPL-1200R consumes about 220w in power consumption but to play it safe, get a stepdown transformer with at least 500 watts, it should cost you around RM200 plus. I'm using EKK stepdown transformer and it has two inputs so you can connect two devices to it.

ahh experience guy! any impact on sound using the transformer??
aiman04
post Aug 8 2008, 09:22 PM

THX-Certified Geek
2,316 posts

QUOTE(callmevil @ Aug 8 2008, 06:22 PM)
1. Money not an issue as all the cost related to this velodyne is still within my allocated budget. moving on to subs higher up the food-chain may not comply well with my budget

2. firstly, the pb13ultra is over 150pounds.. that is insane for my room.. and yes the svs pb13 ultra/pc-ultra are amazing subs. but I have no idea which online store ships it to Brunei at a reasonable price. if u can advice me on this?

3. Why want to pening? because no country with 220-240v current do international shipping for velodynes to Brunei. unless u can advice me with one?

4. Ebay does international shipping..
I have no idea, can anyone advice us on this?
You can order online directly from SVS. They have 220-240v versions. Write them an email to get shipping quotes.

http://www.svsound.com/

This post has been edited by aiman04: Aug 8 2008, 09:23 PM
TScallmevil
post Aug 8 2008, 09:55 PM

80 Druid
798 posts

QUOTE(aiman04 @ Aug 8 2008, 09:22 PM)
You can order online directly from SVS. They have 220-240v versions. Write them an email to get shipping quotes.

http://www.svsound.com/
thx for the advice aiman smile.gif i sent email to svs and hsu. also in the background im x-finger with htkaki's "member" hehe
sunauto
post Aug 10 2008, 12:41 AM

<< Blu-Ray Rocks >>
4,017 posts

QUOTE(callmevil @ Aug 8 2008, 09:18 PM)
ahh experience guy! any impact on sound using the transformer??
My hd-dvd player, game consoles are all on 110V so I'm just sharing what I know. Well, there are no side effects using a stepdown transformer but do take note cheapo stepdown transformers might run a little hot if you're using it continously so it's better to get an industrial grade stepdown transformer. I'm using EKK myself, switched on 24 hours everyday.
aiman04
post Aug 10 2008, 08:36 AM

THX-Certified Geek
2,316 posts

SVS will reply to you very soon, Callmevil. I can imagine someone named Erik will reply to your email. He's the co-owner/director himself.

He replied to many times, without any hesitation at all. Really friendly guy and willing to help. I feel bad that I didn't proceed to order from SVS. blush.gif
TScallmevil
post Aug 10 2008, 09:35 AM

80 Druid
798 posts

QUOTE(aiman04 @ Aug 10 2008, 08:36 AM)
SVS will reply to you very soon, Callmevil. I can imagine someone named Erik will reply to your email. He's the co-owner/director himself.

He replied to many times, without any hesitation at all. Really friendly guy and willing to help. I feel bad that I didn't proceed to order from SVS. blush.gif
I emailed HSU and SVS on friday, HSU replied that they dont ship to Brunei due to some complications with FedEX here,

but SVS ( ure right Erik) replied me with something very assuring (they going to ship a sub to some bugger in brunei on monday). He replied asking my room dimension, preferred volume db, budget, etc. well i replied to him yesterday morning (at the svs email and his personal svs email) and have been waiting for him to reply since. I guess they dont reply mail over the weekend. Hah, I cant stand the wait sad.gif

But if all goes well with this, then daddy is gonna bring home an SVS this month.. ooooo~~

/ps why didnt u proceed with the order?

This post has been edited by callmevil: Aug 10 2008, 12:53 PM

5 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0185sec    0.59    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 06:34 PM