Help with US Subwoofers and tranformer, velodyne spl 1200r

aiman04
post Aug 8 2008, 02:37 PM

THX-Certified Geek
2,316 posts

Hi Callmevil, nice to see you here. I Sorry I'm not in the know about this stepdown transformer thing, but I'm also curious about it. Let's hope the sifus here can help. smile.gif
aiman04
post Aug 8 2008, 03:11 PM

THX-Certified Geek
2,316 posts

Which Aiman? tongue.gif

Of course he is. brows.gif
aiman04
post Aug 8 2008, 09:22 PM

THX-Certified Geek
2,316 posts

QUOTE(callmevil @ Aug 8 2008, 06:22 PM)
1. Money not an issue as all the cost related to this velodyne is still within my allocated budget. moving on to subs higher up the food-chain may not comply well with my budget

2. firstly, the pb13ultra is over 150pounds.. that is insane for my room.. and yes the svs pb13 ultra/pc-ultra are amazing subs. but I have no idea which online store ships it to Brunei at a reasonable price. if u can advice me on this?

3. Why want to pening? because no country with 220-240v current do international shipping for velodynes to Brunei. unless u can advice me with one?

4. Ebay does international shipping..
I have no idea, can anyone advice us on this?
You can order online directly from SVS. They have 220-240v versions. Write them an email to get shipping quotes.

http://www.svsound.com/

This post has been edited by aiman04: Aug 8 2008, 09:23 PM
aiman04
post Aug 10 2008, 08:36 AM

THX-Certified Geek
2,316 posts

SVS will reply to you very soon, Callmevil. I can imagine someone named Erik will reply to your email. He's the co-owner/director himself.

He replied to many times, without any hesitation at all. Really friendly guy and willing to help. I feel bad that I didn't proceed to order from SVS. blush.gif
aiman04
post Aug 10 2008, 08:35 PM

THX-Certified Geek
2,316 posts

For shipment, choose door-to-door, the sub will be delivered directly to your door. You'll just pay taxes/fees/etc at that time (if any).

About warranty, SVS is well-known for their excellent support and warranty. They will even pay for any shipping costs for you. But of course, all that shipping back and forth could be a real hassle.

I didn't buy it because it will be way out of my budget, considering taxes, etc.
aiman04
post Aug 12 2008, 07:35 PM

THX-Certified Geek
2,316 posts

Here's a shipping quote I got for PB10-NSD, which is 60lbs.

Door to door $250 Bax Quote Number 3239690
Door to airport $205 Bax Quote Number 3239692
aiman04
post Aug 12 2008, 08:23 PM

THX-Certified Geek
2,316 posts

15+10 bro. Meaning 15%, and then another 10% on top of that. sweat.gif

Example, for RM1000 value, 15% --> RM1150, then another 10% from that --> RM1265 #

This post has been edited by aiman04: Aug 12 2008, 08:25 PM
aiman04
post Aug 12 2008, 08:49 PM

THX-Certified Geek
2,316 posts

Told ya.. The SVS people are really friendly, I'm also impressed with their customer service. But I only dealt with Erik. Maybe he's too busy this time. biggrin.gif
aiman04
post Aug 12 2008, 09:02 PM

THX-Certified Geek
2,316 posts

QUOTE(callmevil @ Aug 12 2008, 08:52 PM)
Erik, Ron (Co-Founder, SVS), and Alex (Customer Service) attended to my cry this morning haha so good service, kena offer freebies by that alex guy
Erik is the co-owner/director right? Kinda strange that top management replies to your email. biggrin.gif

QUOTE(MYLordElrond @ Aug 12 2008, 08:55 PM)
and note that xx = purchase price + shipping cost = cif price
Yup. Must include shipping cost too. In other words, everything you paid for the thing. nod.gif
aiman04
post Aug 13 2008, 07:01 AM

THX-Certified Geek
2,316 posts

QUOTE(callmevil @ Aug 12 2008, 10:26 PM)
lol yah erik is co-owner/director from what his sig says.. i dunno why they replied, i was surpised too but.. all good~ haha

funniest testing pic i see for the svs (testing the 20hz)

This how the professional reviewers test the subs. That thing make the hair on my neck stands up. drool.gif laugh.gif

QUOTE(ongbs @ Aug 13 2008, 03:25 AM)
Walau 20Hz? What they wanna test? See can punch a hole on the floor?
Look like a piling machine to me tongue.gif jk

Just curious what they use as audio source, 20Hz...signal generator?  biggrin.gif
There are a lot of calibration discs with 20Hz test tones, my DVE HD Basic calibration disc also have it. biggrin.gif
aiman04
post Aug 13 2008, 08:35 PM

THX-Certified Geek
2,316 posts

Both Denon and Onkyo use Audissey ar?

YPAO is Yamaha's own auto-calibration tool, same as Audissey. Quite accurate actually.

One note, make sure your AVR properly warmed up before doing calibration, this to make sure the AVR is in normal operating condition. And of course, be quiet! (I actually left the room once I clicked "Start").
aiman04
post Aug 14 2008, 08:33 AM

THX-Certified Geek
2,316 posts

QUOTE(arremie @ Aug 13 2008, 10:58 PM)
Aiman, I wonder if you don't leave the room but stay there quietly...the amp will notice you are there and give you different setting laugh.gif  laugh.gif

Anyway, as accurate as it can be, I always don't agree with ypao setting. Suka suka set my speakers to large, crossover at 160hz  rolleyes.gif
My YPAO is quite accurate, all speakers correctly set to small, distance, level, etc. Though the crossover was never right, I agree on that. It sets the crossover to be 100Hz. That's why I've been saying many times, use the YPAO first, then make changes where appropriate.

Maybe you should leave the room? Your breathing too loud! laugh.gif No really, I read somewhere that if possible, leave the room, not really sure why.
aiman04
post Aug 14 2008, 09:07 AM

THX-Certified Geek
2,316 posts

QUOTE(callmevil @ Aug 14 2008, 08:48 AM)
ok.. been meaning to ask.. what does "crossover" mean?? alot of speaker forum talks about setting crossover bla bla bla.. but i dont know what it means.. sad.gif

also.. what constitute as Large speakers?
This crossover thingy is most important if your speakers are not full range, and a sub is needed to do the low frequencies.

How is this possible? We put the speakers all around us, shouldn't the speakers be directional?

Yes, for frequencies higher than 80Hz (according to THX). Frequencies lower than that are not directional, so it can be taken to the sub instead. You won't hear those low frequencies coming from any speakers, if you set the phase right. Crossing it higher will only make the sub as directional, meaning our ears can pinpoint the location of the sub. That's not right because that frequencies are supposed to come from the directional speakers, not the sub.

So why we want to cross those low frequencies over to the sub? It's because most speakers, especially surrounds, can only go down to a certain frequencies only. Some of the speakers the lowest frequency they can only do 80 Hz, so if there's 50Hz signal being sent, you won't hear it, so you're not listening as the filmmaker intended. It could also hurt the speakers actually.

But what if you have a true full range speakers (can go down to 20Hz, or at least 30Hz)? Then, you don't even need a sub anymore. Just let the speakers do all the job! Though some would still use a sub, just to get more power to the low frequencies.

PS: The AVR bass management will only do this crossover for small speakers, so if you're speakers are not truely full range, set it to small. If set large, the AVR will assume your speakers can do all the frequencies.

This post has been edited by aiman04: Aug 14 2008, 09:11 AM
aiman04
post Aug 14 2008, 02:14 PM

THX-Certified Geek
2,316 posts

QUOTE(ronnt88 @ Aug 14 2008, 11:56 AM)
ic.... so is there any advantage in setting at amp level instead of at sub level? or either way is fine? excuse me again for noob question tongue.gif
I don't recommend doing that. Always set at maximum or direct/bypass.

If you set at the sub at 80Hz, but at the AVR at 100Hz, there'll be a 20Hz gap that non of your speakers or sub are producing. In other words, you'll not hear anything from 80-100Hz frequencies.

Easy to understand, your AVR will send everything below 100Hz, but your sub will reject everything above 80Hz.

This post has been edited by aiman04: Aug 14 2008, 02:15 PM
aiman04
post Aug 15 2008, 12:43 AM

THX-Certified Geek
2,316 posts

QUOTE(callmevil @ Aug 14 2008, 11:36 PM)
check ure pm.. hmm whats this brokerage fee all about??
It's the cost for negotiating and handling with the customs, clearance, speeding up processes, and for electrical stuffs, SIRIM (if Malaysia) approval, etc. They will also pay in advance for you any tax/fees. When they deliver to your door step, you'll have to pay it back to them.

The door to airport simply means they will only be responsible to bring your sub to the airport only, everything else, customs, etc, you have to do it yourself. You have to go to the airport to settle this.

Read this excellent report by mys_terious, who faced all the hassle and was kind enough to share with us:

http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/685346

This post has been edited by aiman04: Aug 15 2008, 12:44 AM

0.0185sec    0.47    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 08:38 AM