45 Pages « < 21 22 23 24 25 > » Bottom

Hobbies BONSAI MALAYSIA, here we talk abt bonsai art

Bonsailelong
post Oct 17 2013, 03:49 PM

37 posts

QUOTE(zabel8484 @ Oct 17 2013, 10:27 AM)
As a Malaccan. I only knew min Ho Yuen. Where r the others?
thumbup.gif

Haha Haha Haha!!!
Bonsailelong
post Oct 18 2013, 05:02 PM

37 posts

QUOTE(zabel8484 @ Oct 18 2013, 02:23 PM)
wow, the bigger pines in the pokok mangga it's only RM90 per nos. Bonsailelong berjaya air layered it and now he have more from it...
anyway how's the 2 more new air layering on your blackpine bonsailelong?
thumbup.gif

Next change .... blush.gif
Looks like quite some kaki here got infected with black pine fever. blink.gif
If the black pine are new stock from China, better not to buy. Chances of surviving is low.

This post has been edited by Bonsailelong: Oct 18 2013, 05:06 PM
Bonsailelong
post Oct 19 2013, 01:15 PM

37 posts

thumbup.gif

Nice one Loo rclxms.gif
Bonsailelong
post Oct 19 2013, 02:12 PM

37 posts

thumbup.gif

Pinus thunbergii

Grow, cultivate and train black pine in climate like our country is no easy task.
Lots of try and errors, scarify (tree dead) etc etc etc..... rclxub.gif
I'm so happy that I've successfully multiplying the specie with air layering.
Here's something I wish to share with everyone.

Air-layered Black Pine No.1
My first try out in air layering sometime back in February this year.
In May, the result came out to a surprising sucess. rclxm9.gif

And today, this is how the lower portion of the tree looks like. Growing green and healthy.

For the upper portion of the tree, another air layering process has done aiming to get a broom style mane pine.

This post has been edited by Bonsailelong: Oct 19 2013, 02:54 PM
Bonsailelong
post Oct 19 2013, 02:50 PM

37 posts

thumbup.gif

Air Layered Black Pine No.2

Immediately after the first black pine, a second tree was air layered.

This is how the tree looks like when I first bought from Min Hoe Yuen Malacca for RM100.

About a month after the air layering process, I started adjusting and giving initial shape to the tree.
Although it's only 3 months after the tree was air layered, I just can't wait and decided to check out the result.

... "don't fail me please ....." sweat.gif

... wow! rclxm9.gif rclxm9.gif rclxm9.gif
strong healthy roots..... amazing !!! Just in 3 months....

Very careful planting and potting using Indonesian volcanic soil....

Upper portion.

Lower portion.

Thank you for viewing.

This post has been edited by Bonsailelong: Oct 19 2013, 02:54 PM
Bonsailelong
post Oct 19 2013, 09:00 PM

37 posts

QUOTE(Alvchin @ Oct 19 2013, 07:35 PM)
Cj & I r going to Melaka Monday. Hope to grab some pine to start.
thumbup.gif

Pine fever on..! rclxm9.gif
Bonsailelong
post Oct 20 2013, 02:06 PM

37 posts

thumbup.gif

Pot and Save a Chinese Juniper

This is a very old Chinese Juniper of unknown origin. It consists of both scale and needle foliage in a disorder manner.
From the front of the tree it might looks healthy and green due to good exposure to sunlight.

...and natural drift wood surface.

Digging up this Juniper is no easy task, its roots spread as for as 1 meter away from its stump.

The front of the tree.

The back is different. It's due to the back portion of the tree was shaded from sunlight for years.

The worst part.... a portion of the stem has started to rot. This could be a reason why this Juniper is not able to develop full mature scale needle foliage.

Will only be working on the shaping the tree when it has grown and gained back a balance of healthy green mature foliage.

This post has been edited by Bonsailelong: Oct 20 2013, 02:12 PM
Bonsailelong
post Oct 20 2013, 09:57 PM

37 posts

QUOTE(AZ bonsai @ Oct 20 2013, 09:38 PM)
Just to share.
thumbup.gif

Not bad. AZ

This post has been edited by Bonsailelong: Oct 20 2013, 09:59 PM
Bonsailelong
post Oct 23 2013, 02:19 PM

37 posts

QUOTE(Alvchin @ Oct 19 2013, 07:35 PM)
Cj & I r going to Melaka Monday. Hope to grab some pine to start. Hope can emulate Bonsailelong, slowly it become localised. Hahahaha
thumbup.gif

Hi Guys,

Got any good stuff?
Bonsailelong
post Oct 24 2013, 05:38 PM

37 posts

QUOTE(petbrat @ Oct 24 2013, 04:45 PM)
No wonder bonsai in Malaysia never make it big and youngster lose interest in the art of bonsai.

You all will say youngster have no patience and etc but the truth in this tread is, it is stingy, self obsessed and self proclaimed bonsai master who keep deleting people treads which prevent anyone to built interest in this hobby and keeping the art alive for more generations to come.
thumbup.gif

Let's look at some the international bonsai forum ... say ibonsaiforumotion.com
Bonsai enthusiasts over the world share their works and experiences.
Anybody putting up their trees for sale?

The above statement is a pretext.
We know the rules when we sign up and join this forum.
And most important the moderator knows exactly what he is doing.

We have been working hard to bring this bonsai topic back to life.
Instead of giving such a dishonest and untrue comment, why not join in make this topic more lively.
Show the good things of yours, people will sure to approach you.

This post has been edited by Bonsailelong: Oct 24 2013, 05:41 PM
Bonsailelong
post Oct 24 2013, 05:56 PM

37 posts

thumbup.gif

Let trace back to Oct last year, when bro G400400 posted on this topic asking whether this forum is still alive or not , we then tried hard to keep the topic on. Then bro Zabel joined in .. and so on and so on...
Hope we can keep the bonsai spirit on this topic on and high....... not because other intention.
Thanks to all

Bonsailelong
post Oct 25 2013, 08:23 AM

37 posts

QUOTE(petbrat @ Oct 25 2013, 01:44 AM)
Wuah, indirectd marketing and advertisement.

Hmmm.... I wonder why it is still here? Moderator sleeping, I guess?

Anyway, as usual... this web moderator just keep doing what they do best which is buyers. Not the first and won't be last.

Ironically your boss even admit it. Go figure and it remind me why I left this website in the first place.

Good luck Bonsai Lelong.
Hi petbrat,

You're very welcome to join in to share your experience about the specie of plant that you are familiar to.
But of coarse the choice is yours. Let's have constructive inputs that can benefit all of us.

This post has been edited by Bonsailelong: Oct 25 2013, 08:34 AM
Bonsailelong
post Oct 25 2013, 08:33 AM

37 posts

QUOTE(cjloong @ Oct 23 2013, 03:33 PM)
Wah, this place... in a twinkling of an eye, zap... money gone... ha ha... Dangerous.

Myself, got 4 junipers (small ones). Didn't take picture yet (leaving it there to regain health)...

Alv got a few also (I'll leave it to him to explain)...

Overall nice trip, we got to "chit chat"/"yum cha" with owner and a few sifus who happen to be there. They gave us a couple of valuable tips about certain species... ;-)

Hey, Bonsailelong, the last time you went there? Sat right? Was the traffic bad?
Dangerous place eh?

The first time I went there, not only RM went into the nursery's boss pocket but also to the MBBM. (I got a parking summon)

Hi Alvchin ,mind to share your latest addition from MHY?

.....and I remember G400400 got to pull out his credit card from his pocket when he visited Sanfong. cry.gif

Anyway, let keep the bonsai spirit high.

Bonsailelong
post Oct 25 2013, 01:33 PM

37 posts

QUOTE(AZ bonsai @ Oct 25 2013, 10:35 AM)
IMO. I think is good that members update their finding (eg. new stock, etc..) during their visit to the nursery. This info is useful as we will not waste time going down to the nursery and cannot get anything at the end.
thumbup.gif

Agreed
Bonsailelong
post Oct 25 2013, 01:43 PM

37 posts

thumbup.gif

Hi Alvchin,

You got some good stuff.

Junipers with good trunk size and branches that can give many options as sari and foliage.
Bonsailelong
post Oct 27 2013, 03:15 PM

37 posts

thumbup.gif

Hi Zabel,

Your juniper is making good progress ! rclxms.gif
But that poor fellow under the tree seen to have lost his way among the bushes!? sad.gif

As for your "shui mui", I would like to suggest that you brush clean the trunk, re pot, let new branches grow freely for a couple of months and by then you should be able to figure out how to deal with them automatically.

This post has been edited by Bonsailelong: Oct 27 2013, 08:50 PM
Bonsailelong
post Oct 27 2013, 03:17 PM

37 posts

QUOTE(Alvchin @ Oct 27 2013, 12:29 AM)
Thank you. But this is my first on junipers. But Cj gave me lots of tips.
Hi CJ,

Mind to share your collection?
Bonsailelong
post Oct 27 2013, 03:55 PM

37 posts

thumbup.gif
"BOXWOOD MUSHROOM"

The following para is taken from Harris Harrington's Species Guide in his page Bonsai4me.com

"Boxwood have something of a poor image as bonsai, mainly due to the proliferation of poorly designed trees being styled with pom-pom foliage. Boxwood have a naturally multi-stemmed growth habit that lends them to being styled like large spreading park trees and it is with this style that they look their best when grown as bonsai."

I particularly like Boxwood, buxus harlandii of coarse. It's natural old cork bark texture trunk, small foliage and easy propaganda give me the reasons to grow and keep large nos of them. But what Mr Harrington said about boxwood wood styling is very correct. I got big majority of my buxus harlandii shaped like a mushroom. blush.gif
Here are some of my buxus photos for sharing.

Bonsailelong
post Oct 27 2013, 04:05 PM

37 posts

thumbup.gif

And now their sizes .....

Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image

Any sifu willing to share photos of their tree and experiences on how to shape buxus other than a "DOOM"?
Bonsailelong
post Oct 28 2013, 04:11 PM

37 posts

QUOTE(AZ bonsai @ Oct 28 2013, 02:26 PM)
Just to share

Not easy to grow. Leaves turn yellow... SAD cry.gif  cry.gif
AZ,

Your boxwood is actually not bad. It got a good nabris.
If you are willing to try, cut away all the branches as shown below and let new branches spore.
Buxus harlandii requires half sunshade condition to achieve good healthy grow, and frequently feed.

45 Pages « < 21 22 23 24 25 > » Top

0.0435sec    0.81    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 10:31 AM