Advice on Amplifier, I'm a noob :(

TSsilverbolt143
post Aug 6 2008, 03:50 PM

283 posts

QUOTE(athlonxp @ Aug 6 2008, 01:53 PM)
high perout voltage is better as this give bigger resolution to the amp and you do not need turn up much gain to get the same sound level, this reduce unwanted noise in the system

2ch amp you can use for front speaker..the rear just use player output also can

if you connect front and rear to 2ch..u cant control fad

some sq amp also have low rms output..not all have high power and high power doesn't always mean better
thank for info bro...that's really helpful notworthy.gif ....

QUOTE(athlonxp @ Aug 6 2008, 01:53 PM)
what's the different between good speaker and bad speaker? this is like asking what's the diffrent between kancil and bmw. both got 4 wheels and both can bring you to destination. it is the sound characteristic, tone balance, personality and built quality that matter..everyone got their preference of speaker brand..depend on your budget and liking
no offence bro, yes it's like comparing kancil and BMW but then technically on paper we can understand why BMW is much superior than kancil...
Kancil- 800cc engine, front disc brake only, no ABS + other safety features, lousy suspension & handling...
BMW- >1800cc engine, sum with v8,v10 engine summore, ABS & lots more safety features, superior suspension/handling and lots more technical spec we can understand..

i do agree we should consider sound characteristic, tone balance, personality and built quality in order to choose good speaker for our listening preference (most acc shop salesman also will say like that) but then for me these only applies if u wanna compare between several good or highend speaker (apple to apple comparison)....

the idea is to know what make good speaker sounds nice and balance as compared to cap ayam one? perhaps like apple-to-oren comparison which is objective and obvious...can we get nice tone from a plastic coned RMS20watt speaker? if the built-up quality, what sort of built-up quality we should look for? is it should be hand crafted from gold for example sweat.gif notworthy.gif..but then if it's still subjective matter, thank you so much for sharing bro notworthy.gif ....

This post has been edited by silverbolt143: Aug 6 2008, 03:54 PM
4g92tt
post Aug 6 2008, 04:53 PM

30 posts

jz sharing my opinion here.

i prefer component set speaker(6.5") for both front & rear speaker (it will produce clear tone on mid & treble without bass), a 12" subwoofer(for bass). 4 channel amp for those component set and a 2 channel monoblock for subwoofer. and of coz a pre-amp.

a 6x9 speaker(with 2 channel amp) on the rear is enough if sub woofer is out of ur budget but, those speaker wont last long if u wan more bass since it's producing mid and bass 2gether. too much vibration from bass produce will cut your speaker set life span, and u'll fell annoying with those 'over boost' sound produce and spoil the standard quality of music.

i agree with the BMW n Kancil comparison.. jz ask urself, u wana show of your ICE to ppl or jz to satisfy urself.
RM 1xxx with head unit and speaker set is a reasonable price becoz a component set will cost you RM 2xx to RM 3xx.
dun matter the size of amplifier, as long as enough to produce better sound compare to no amp...

honestly a RM 2xx 4 channel amp will do as well
thien211
post Aug 6 2008, 05:20 PM

45 posts

QUOTE(bafukie @ Aug 4 2008, 09:36 PM)
where got good home theather @ 1100??? hahahahaa....
hey hard to say 1, the cheap cheap those also got rm1100 ma.
but say sound quality, think again.
i had jbl home tr. and with a great acoustic sound. but a but lausi bcos 5 years ago 1. lol.

Added on August 6, 2008, 5:32 pm
QUOTE(athlonxp @ Aug 5 2008, 08:33 PM)
for wattage, only see the RMS power, peak power is just another marketing tools to sell product and too hype up

it is advisable to get amp of slightly more RMS than the speaker/woofer.

more rms wont blow speakers, underpower amp driven hard to clipping will blow speaker as it send dc voltage to speaker and overheat the voice coil

usually 6x9 and component is rated at 4ohm

for front component + 12" sub or component + 6x9, a decent 4ch amp which can get 200w rms bridged will do..

you can control fad and balance from HU with 4ch

2ch amp for component + 6x9 will drive them at 2ohm per channel, you only get to control balance but not fad

bass boost function on both HU and amp should be turn off, it ruin sound quality and create fake bass. if your system if good enough, you dont need bass boost. bass boost might give you bass but it often drive the amp up to clipping point and create distortion
hmm... actually, ya, do not boost the bass. you now only got a 6x9, a little of bas. get a sub! why not, your car got a lot of space rite. is that you really get into ice? if you are still newbie, better try with normal brand 1st. next your jus try to upgrade. you can knw what is good brand and normal brand. of cos buy the quality product, dun buy for brand. i talking rubbish actually....
buy for the QUALITY! try JBL, sure quality. if you are rich, try on jbl 660gti..
i tell u some great brand: Focal, Morel, JBL, CDT......
as i knw those is top brand....

by Xe (boring day).

Added on August 6, 2008, 5:38 pm
QUOTE(silverbolt143 @ Aug 5 2008, 09:48 PM)
this are the answers that i'm looking for biggrin.gif  biggrin.gif ....thank you bro icon_rolleyes.gif  notworthy.gif

anyway, further noob question...
1) is bridge only meant for subs? bridge is by connecting positive/negative terminal of a speaker/subs to 2 different channel rite? sweat.gif
2) since my HU only have 1 Preout, so it's not possible for me to install more than one amp rite?
bridge is in amp normally. depend on the amp, some amp cannot bridge. bridge mean 2 channel connect together to become 1. also same thing with 4 channel, bridge then become 2 channel.
after that connect to the speaker.
2) you can get pre amp. to connect to your amp is the RCA, normally 3 rca is front rear and sub. the sound out is seperated well if u connect it correctly

by xe

This post has been edited by thien211: Aug 6 2008, 05:38 PM
TSsilverbolt143
post Aug 6 2008, 06:45 PM

283 posts

QUOTE(4g92tt @ Aug 6 2008, 04:53 PM)
a 6x9 speaker(with 2 channel amp) on the rear is enough if sub woofer is out of ur budget but, those speaker wont last long if u wan more bass since it's producing mid and bass 2gether. too much vibration from bass produce will cut your speaker set life span, and u'll fell annoying with those 'over boost' sound produce and spoil the standard quality of music.
actually i'm looking for this kind of answer, which is technical rationality. TQ notworthy.gif ...i guess i'll get myself a 4 channel amp first, see how whole speakers perform without sub. then later if not satisfy i'll get myself a subs and amplified it together with component oni...

QUOTE(4g92tt @ Aug 6 2008, 04:53 PM)
i agree with the BMW n Kancil comparison.. jz ask urself, u wana show of your ICE to ppl or jz to satisfy urself.
RM 1xxx with head unit and speaker set is a reasonable price becoz a component set will cost you RM 2xx to RM 3xx.
dun matter the size of amplifier, as long as enough to produce better sound compare to no amp...

honestly a RM 2xx 4 channel amp will do as well
just wanna satisfy my self oni...i love clear sound but with amount of bass too...

Added on August 6, 2008, 5:32 pm
hmm... actually, ya, do not boost the bass. you now only got a 6x9, a little of bas. get a sub! why not, your car got a lot of space rite. is that you really get into ice? if you are still newbie, better try with normal brand 1st. next your jus try to upgrade. you can knw what is good brand and normal brand. of cos buy the quality product, dun buy for brand. i talking rubbish actually....
buy for the QUALITY! try JBL, sure quality. if you are rich, try on jbl 660gti..
i tell u some great brand: Focal, Morel, JBL, CDT......
as i knw those is top brand....
by Xe (boring day).

Added on August 6, 2008, 5:38 pm
bridge is in amp normally. depend on the amp, some amp cannot bridge. bridge mean 2 channel connect together to become 1. also same thing with 4 channel, bridge then become 2 channel.
after that connect to the speaker.
2) you can get pre amp. to connect to your amp is the RCA, normally 3 rca is front rear and sub. the sound out is seperated well if u connect it correctly
by xe

i'm noobie bro sweat.gif....yup my car got lots of space but extra weight of twin subs plus amp maybe will raise my fuel consumption sweat.gif laugh.gif
anyway tq so much on the pre-amp advice notworthy.gif

This post has been edited by silverbolt143: Aug 6 2008, 06:49 PM

0.0196sec    1.48    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 23rd December 2025 - 11:32 PM