66 Pages « < 14 15 16 17 18 > » Bottom

Serious Talk Inspirational Stories, Pictures, Quotes...

TSMayAnne
post Jan 1 2009, 10:53 PM

Faith Hope Love
3,170 posts

Who Am I...

Your best friend or greatest enemy, I am your greatest companion. I am your greatest helper or your heaviest burden. I will push you onwards or drag you down to failure. I am completely at your command.

Half the things you do, you might as well turn over to me and I'll do them quickly and correctly. I'm easily managed, but you must be firm with me. Show me exactly how you want something done and, after a few lessons, I'll do it automatically. I'm the servant of all great men and, alas, of all failures as well.

Those who are great, I have made great. Those who are failures, I have made failures. I work with the precision of a scientist and the passion of a patriot. You many run me for profit or run me for ruin; it makes no difference to me. Take me, train me, be firm with me and I will put the world at your feet. But be easy with me and I'll destroy you.

Who am I?

This is to remind us that good habits elevate us, and bad habits bring us down. The trick is to know which is which, and for us to control them, not let them control us. On this New Years Day, it is time to review our habits, and to be honest with ourselves. Which of our habits are good, which need to be adjusted, and which are outright harmful. Knowing this is half the battle of moving forward. So let’s all start the process of evaluating our habits, and each day making progress towards serious personal growth. Then, we will have a truly "HAPPY" New Year.

MayAnne wishes all LYN forumers a BLESSED NEW YEAR!

TSMayAnne
post Jan 4 2009, 02:53 PM

Faith Hope Love
3,170 posts

obefiend
post Jan 5 2009, 10:40 AM

Selamat Hari Raya Aidilluminati
863 posts

lesson of the day is NEVER GIVE UP..............even dogs can do it!

Here's to Hobo! Neglected German Shepherd is nursed back to life from brink of death

By Daily Mail Reporter
Last updated at 1:06 PM on 02nd January 2009
Comments (25)
Add to My Stories

Covered in mange, suffering from severe malnutrition and with claws so long he couldn't walk Hobo was given just three days to live.

Weighing 40lb, the neglected German Shepherd was in such a bad condition vets could only guess what breed he was.

But Hobo has fought back and the 12-year-old now faces the new year with a spring in his paws happy in his new home with animal-lover owners Peter and Val Butcher.
Enlarge

This mange-riddled ball is Hobo after his arrival at the PDSA Pet Aid Hospital in Northampton. Weighing just 40lb, his condition was so bad vets could not tell what breed he was

This is Hobo now. His claws clipped, his coat groomed

How Hobo came to be dropped off at the PDSA Pet Aid Hospital in Northampton in such a terrible condition last summer remains unclear.

Vets there wanted to put him down straight away, but gave him three days to see if he improved.

Student vet nurse Ruth Bates, one of the first nurses to look after him, said: 'None of us thought he was going to make it but we thought we'd give him a few days.

'It was really bad, I had never seen anything like that before and I have been in the veterinary practice for about six years.'

She said the neglect must have been going on for months and months and months.

Ms Bates said: 'We started by feeding him up, he was always happy to eat and that's what gave us hope.

'We couldn't treat him for the mange straight away because he was just too weak for the chemicals but he soon got stronger.'

Hobo was treated at the hospital for several weeks, until he came to the attention of the Butchers in July through local media.

Mrs Butcher, a fan of the German Shepherd breed, said: 'I cried, his condition was so awful. For days I could only think of him.

'We both wanted him and knew we would have the time, patience and love to help him recover.'

Mr Butcher said: 'We do a lot of work with the RSPCA and we home dogs as well, so I phoned them up and arranged for us to take Hobo.

'We got him on August 29 and that's what we class as his birthday now.'

Hobo's new home on the couple's farm in Shillington, Bedfordshire, has seen him move in with an array of other animals including ten dogs, ten alpacas, seven goats, 17 ponies, and 240 parrots.

He has been on courses of antibiotics, skin treatments and painkillers and is now up to his maximum weight of 66lb.
Enlarge

This is Val Butcher who nursed Hobo back to health. At this point the German Shepherd was still in the process of recovering and had not yet reached the level of health he enjoys today

The average weight of a German Shepherd Hobo's age is between 57 and 66lb.

Mr Butcher said: 'At the moment he's in perfect health and perfect condition.

'To be honest now we class him as a perfect dog. It's very rare that he's in the house, he just wanders about on the farm.

'He is happy, perfect to train, all he wants to do is to please you.

'He had never been trained before he came to us and now he does a perfect sit, a stay, he walks on the lead properly. I only ever have to tell him off once.

'You would never know he's gone through everything that he has.'

Mrs Butcher said Hobo still took medication for pain caused by arthritis and antibiotics for his skin but has made 'wonderful' progress.

She said: 'Hobo enjoys life. He is so bright, he loves to help us and he loves to play.

'Hobo is a special dog who has gone through hell but still loves and trusts people.

'We love him to bits and know without a doubt that we are so lucky to have him.'

The couple have even funded a prosecution of Hobo's former owner who has pleaded guilty to causing unnecessary suffering to a dog.

Joy Battison, of Orchard Hill, Little Billing, Northants, is due to be sentenced in January at Northampton Magistrates Court.

l_h_mak
post Jan 6 2009, 02:38 AM

14 posts

MOMENTs IN LIFE
There are moments in life when you miss someone so much that you just want to pick them from your dreams and hug them for real!

When the door of happiness closes, another opens; But often times we look so long at the Closed door that we don't see the one, Which has been opened for us

Don't go for looks; they can deceive. Don't go for wealth; even that fades away. Go for someone who makes you smile, Because it takes only a smile to Make a dark day seem bright. Find the one that makes your heart smile.

Dream what you want to dream; Go where you want to go; Be what you want to be, Because you have only one life And one chance to do all the things You want to do.

May you have enough happiness to make you sweet Enough trials to make you strong, Enough sorrow to keep you human and Enough hope to make you happy.

The happiest of people don't necessarily Have the best of everything; They just make the most of Everything that comes along their way.

The brightest future will always Be based on a forgotten past; You can't go forward in life until You let go of your past failures and heartaches.

When you were born, you were crying And everyone around you was smiling. Live your life so at the end, You're the one who is smiling and everyone Around you is crying.

appreciate those people Who mean something to you; To those who have touched your life in one way or another; To those who make you smile when you really need it; To those who make you see the Brighter side of things when you are really down; To those whose friendship you appreciate; To those who are so meaningful in your life.

This is THE MOMENTS IN OUR LIFE.
xobiianca
post Jan 10 2009, 01:12 AM

here, i found this on the internet smile.gif

and i think this really helps and it tells us that there are two choices to be made in life, you either regret or rejoice. have a positve outlook in life, it'll do wonders biggrin.gif

http://www.deadlysolutions.com.au/admin/pr...al%20quotes.jpg
Joshua_0718
post Jan 14 2009, 08:53 PM

**Keep Walking 不停地走**
8,912 posts

This is the True Story
A son says to his father: 'Dad, would you be willingly to run a marathon with me?'
The father, despite his age and a heart disease, says 'YES'.
And they run that marathon, together.
The son asks: 'Dad, can you run another marathon with me?' Again father says 'YES'.
They run another marathon, together.
One day the son asks his father: ?Dad would please do the Iron Man with me?'
Now just in case you wouldn't know, 'The Iron Man' is the toughest triathlon in existence; 4km swimming, then 180 km by bike, and finally another 42 km running, in one stroke.
Again father says 'YES'
Maybe this doesn't 'touch' you yet by heart ... until you see this movie (put on sound!):

TSMayAnne
post Jan 16 2009, 10:33 PM

Faith Hope Love
3,170 posts

woopypooky
post Jan 17 2009, 12:03 PM

1,292 posts

KNOWLEDGE IS NOT POWER, IMPLEMENTATION IS
firedemon
post Jan 17 2009, 09:10 PM

235 posts

This is something i Learn Frm my own life.....

1) Lie don't hurt you at all, but hurts the one you loved most
2) When u do things right, people won't sure u do anything at all
eXPeri3nc3
post Jan 19 2009, 09:32 PM

It's coming! 3ɔu3ıɹǝdxǝ ♥
9,257 posts

QUOTE(xobiianca @ Jan 10 2009, 01:12 AM)
here, i found this on the internet smile.gif

and i think this really helps and it tells us that there are two choices to be made in life, you either regret or rejoice. have a positve outlook in life, it'll do wonders biggrin.gif

http://www.deadlysolutions.com.au/admin/pr...al%20quotes.jpg
Quoted for easier reference:

gabandell
post Jan 19 2009, 11:31 PM

321 posts

Steve Jobs' 2005 Stanford Commencement Address

babysiiaozz
post Jan 25 2009, 04:43 PM

342 posts

=.= did my post (posted few day ago) got deleted? zzz. X.X
TSMayAnne
post Jan 25 2009, 05:14 PM

Faith Hope Love
3,170 posts

QUOTE(babysiiaozz @ Jan 25 2009, 04:43 PM)
=.= did my post (posted few day ago) got deleted? zzz. X.X
Yes, I set your post invisible. Please do not promote your blog here. If you have anything relevant to share, just post it here. Thank you.

TSMayAnne
post Feb 2 2009, 11:50 AM

Faith Hope Love
3,170 posts

Be HUMBLE, if thou would'st attain to WISDOM. Be HUMBLE still, when WISDOM thou hast mastered.
~ Helena Petrova Blavatsky ~

fir3f0x
post Feb 2 2009, 09:55 PM

447 posts

Maybe you can tell me what you feel after watching this.

This post has been edited by fir3f0x: Feb 2 2009, 10:00 PM
aida^146
post Feb 3 2009, 02:53 PM

208 posts

Just to share...

"We come to love not by finding a perfect person, but by
learning to see an imperfect person perfectly."

-- Sam Keen

Baronic
post Feb 4 2009, 12:12 AM

Problem?
7,533 posts

Just to inform

1) Just last week, while walking home from the park to my house in broad daylight around 6 pm, 5 minutes walk, i was listening to music with my headphones and holding my pda in my hand. I sorta heard a motor bike coming up from behind me, and i turned to look behind. Luckily i turned away from the main road, because as i did so, the motor bike sped just right past beside me, and the pillion rider's hands reached out and just missed snatching my PDA from me. Before i could get the number of the bike they sped away. They were wearing full face helmets.

2 )Tonight, a friend of mine was walking home from the university in Damansara Uptown not very far from TTDI, and she saw a bike coming towards her direction, and rather close to the curb, and her instincts kicked in. She started to move inwards and started to run, the area was dark and quiet. The bike stopped and the passenger got off and tried to snatch her handbag from her. She struggled for a bit and managed to get free and ran, and as she turned back for a bit, she saw the biker and the rider just standing there, selamba only. Shows that they're not newbies at this and have done this before and will probably strike again. She did not manage to get the number as it was dark and she was too busy running away.

I suspect it may be the same two people who attacked me earlier.

Have anyone had similar experiences around the same area, or close by? Do report in, seems to me like we have a local menace and pest. Should a police report be made?

Please be careful when you're alone and in a dark area, and do not hold handphones etc in your hands. Be extra careful when u see a bike especially from behind or if u notice its coming too close to the curb.

anyone else who had a similar experience also, dun take it for granted, please make a police report, so that they note that the crime rate in the area increase. At least there's a chance some actions would be taken

This post has been edited by Baronic: Jun 8 2009, 08:56 AM
SUSSeLrAhC
post Feb 4 2009, 12:14 AM

★★★7Star★General★★★
5,227 posts

ss2 also leh... cny week 17 ppl kena snatch thieve leh... damn scary

1 occur opposite road
skystrike
post Feb 4 2009, 12:15 AM

back to normal
1,279 posts

that must be snatching rempits....be careful to those who stay at that area.....shit..my office area at ttdi...gotta extra careful this time...
allornothing
post Feb 4 2009, 12:16 AM

Melancholic //
926 posts

SS2. Car window smashed.

66 Pages « < 14 15 16 17 18 > » Top

0.0286sec    0.52    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 08:09 AM