16 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Bottom

YTL power, Well managed company

skiddtrader
post Nov 24 2008, 11:40 AM

Suspicious
3,037 posts

QUOTE(calmwater @ Nov 24 2008, 11:27 AM)
This raises some serious questions about YTLPOWR latest quarterly results. How can they claim to have suffered a drop in profits mainly attributable to Windfall levy when this news seems to indicate the IPP's have only made some limited payments todate and are trying to stretch payments over a two year period.

Who are they trying to hoodwink??

How much levy has been paid?? As share holders we should be informed!!
According to the quarterly report, they've already paid theirs. And no other payments required or expected throughout the year.

Don't forget the IPPs they are talking about also contains other IPP in the country, not only YTLPOWER.

skiddtrader
post Nov 26 2008, 05:33 PM

Suspicious
3,037 posts

QUOTE(yewkhian @ Nov 26 2008, 02:50 PM)
i am newbie here,

can anyone sifu here tell me why today the YTL Power Climb to RM 1.78 as at 2.30pm

but the WB still hanging around at the price of RM 0.50??

thanks and regards,
Like what Darkknight have pointed out, most likely it's due to the dividend in the coming weeks.

Since warrants don't receive dividend, the market will discount the potential adjustment from the mother share after the warrant ex-date.

skiddtrader
post Nov 26 2008, 05:47 PM

Suspicious
3,037 posts

Temasek Cancels Power Seraya Sale

http://www.bloomberg.com/apps/news?pid=new...id=aOklB_Wqi5t4

cry.gif cry.gif cry.gif
skiddtrader
post Nov 27 2008, 10:53 AM

Suspicious
3,037 posts

QUOTE(darkknight81 @ Nov 26 2008, 10:20 PM)
Don give up guys  biggrin.gif
A good acquisition is never an easy task
Be patient and we will get rewarded soon  smile.gif
Well I was hoping for a year end bonus, but it's ok I guess. As I didn't buy YTLPOWER for acquisition but for dividends, this news more or less don't affect me.

I noticed YTLPOWER share rising up steadily and holding, although no share buybacks. This is good.

skiddtrader
post Nov 27 2008, 01:47 PM

Suspicious
3,037 posts

QUOTE(darkknight81 @ Nov 27 2008, 11:45 AM)
You not holding any warrant?
I don concern much as i have more mother share compare to the warrant. But since the dividend is so attractive... thinking of selling off my warrant once any good news released and go for the mother instead
I hold some WBs that's why I said I was hoping for some year end bonus.

WB to mother share ratio is 1:3.

skiddtrader
post Nov 27 2008, 05:26 PM

Suspicious
3,037 posts

QUOTE(kmarc @ Nov 27 2008, 05:01 PM)
Mind explaining why having the YTLPOWER-WB is good when acquisition occurs?  hmm.gif
Holding the warrant is just to ride the uptrend of potential share price increase of a potential acquisition.

Since the warrant increase is same with the mother share increase, the required capital is less to ride the same amount of gains compared to the mother share.

So if you use let's say RM1k to buy the mothershare, the gains will be lesser that if you use the RM1k to buy WB warrants.

Be aware that while it can go up, it can also come down by similiar margin and warrants are not entitled to dividends.

This post has been edited by skiddtrader: Nov 27 2008, 05:27 PM
skiddtrader
post Nov 28 2008, 03:37 PM

Suspicious
3,037 posts

QUOTE(yewkhian @ Nov 28 2008, 02:57 PM)
now mother 1.87 but son only RM 0.57

RM1.87 - RM1.21 = RM 0.66

normally dividend time is like that ar??
Dividend expected by end of next month will total up to about 8.25 sens without tax.

So that would probably be discounted from the warrant price.

skiddtrader
post Dec 1 2008, 03:46 PM

Suspicious
3,037 posts

QUOTE(SKY 1809 @ Dec 1 2008, 02:16 PM)
By the time Resort falls below rm 2.

YTL Power above rm 2.

perfect timing. rclxms.gif
haha hmm although that doesn't make sense but it sounds good ^^.
skiddtrader
post Dec 2 2008, 09:11 AM

Suspicious
3,037 posts

I realized yesterday market closed with both YTLPOWER and the WB volume almost the same. Still no buyback this December.
skiddtrader
post Dec 2 2008, 12:45 PM

Suspicious
3,037 posts

QUOTE(calmwater @ Dec 2 2008, 09:37 AM)
No not yet.

YTLPOWR @ 1.92  warrant B @ 0.60

The gap is too wide.

I have a question, what is making this counter move when the whole world is collapsing. laugh.gif

Any news or rumours?

Added on December 2, 2008, 10:14 am
Maybe no more buybacks this coming year. Handing out share bonuses means people have to sell to convert to cash, this will cause selling pressure and bring the counter down. Better to just hand out cash dividends, during bad times.
They already issued share dividends this year. It was done earlier compared to past 2 years before.
skiddtrader
post Dec 2 2008, 09:08 PM

Suspicious
3,037 posts

QUOTE(htt @ Dec 2 2008, 08:07 PM)
I think this is what people are waiting for:

http://biz.thestar.com.my/news/story.asp?f...28&sec=business

YTL Power buying Singapore power plant for S$3.8b
OMGWTF!!

I thought it was Cancelled!!??? !!
skiddtrader
post Dec 2 2008, 09:21 PM

Suspicious
3,037 posts

I just read the announcement!!!

It's a hole in one!!

It's actually SGD3.6 billion.

Financed by SGD1.15 billion from their own funds and another SGD2.25 billion loan from banks. Another SGD200 mill is for Temasek to pay back Power Seraya.

Power Seraya comes with no debts of it's own.

Last nett profit was SGD218 mil or close to RM500 mil or 50% of what YTLPOWER net profits are!

This is fantastic news! rclxms.gif rclxms.gif

Have to say Darkknights's strong suspicion is proven after all. thumbup.gif

I thought for sure it was already cancelled, damn sneaky these buggers.
skiddtrader
post Dec 3 2008, 01:40 AM

Suspicious
3,037 posts

QUOTE(darkknight81 @ Dec 2 2008, 10:26 PM)
i sold off my warrant at 14% gain to adjust my ratio of warrant to mother share to 1:3

I will sell my warrant between 90 sen to 1.00 depends on volume tomolo
if the mother share hit RM 2.8 I WILL SELL OFF all my mother share even  tongue.gif

Really reluctant to sell off the mother share actually unless it really overvalue as after sell off i don have any new target  sweat.gif

Added on December 2, 2008, 10:33 pm

Good info thanks Skidd  notworthy.gif

SGD 0.218 BILLION / SGD 3.6 = 6.5% Return on investment
Yeah I'm gonna see how the opening is, if still low, I'll grab some WBs and mothershares. If it shoots up, then I'll see if its worth selling the WB and mothershare as well.

Normally the reaction if its very good will go up until exceed the normal peak, then drop back. So hopefully there is some where in between I can get more WBs when it drops.

We've discussed before that the potential rise in profits will almost raise their EPS by 50% of the present value. If we calculate it by current PER, at present value, a 50% rise in EPS would actually mean an identical rise price as well. But we'll see how tomorrow, who knows the market might react differently and sell on News and drag it down instead.
skiddtrader
post Dec 3 2008, 08:43 AM

Suspicious
3,037 posts

QUOTE(darkknight81 @ Dec 3 2008, 07:49 AM)
Problem is i am concerning on is the buying of seraya too high? As the ROI is only 6.5% . There are potential that it may slide today
6.5% is assuming business is stagnant and doesn't move.

Looking back at Power Seraya past earnings, they have not yet faltered in their revenue growth.

But Singapore is now in recession, and so far the figures we've seen for Power Seraya is not during recession periods, so future profit might still be affected.

I'm itching to enter now, should I sweat.gif

This post has been edited by skiddtrader: Dec 3 2008, 08:45 AM
skiddtrader
post Dec 3 2008, 10:24 AM

Suspicious
3,037 posts

I actually expect the price to go up some more. wink.gif
skiddtrader
post Dec 3 2008, 12:40 PM

Suspicious
3,037 posts

QUOTE(darkknight81 @ Dec 3 2008, 11:42 AM)
Just enter 30 lots of mother  tongue.gif

Added on December 3, 2008, 11:44 am

As i mentioned due to the price of acquisition you canot expect big movement on that type of acquisition price ...Ppl will do judgement lol .... sweat.gif
Actually is good already not sliding too much... due to the dividend next two days...
Haiz, I thought for sure will have some surprise year-end bonus. Looks like market not interested. But definitely good for the company overall.
skiddtrader
post Dec 3 2008, 01:14 PM

Suspicious
3,037 posts

Yup, still holding hoping to add some, but with this news maybe it won't drop anymore after the dividend payout.

skiddtrader
post Dec 3 2008, 02:32 PM

Suspicious
3,037 posts

QUOTE(darkknight81 @ Dec 3 2008, 02:03 PM)
I cun see any point of holding warrant already.  sweat.gif
I hold warrant mainly for the capital appreciation leverage, on top of the dividends I get from the mother share.

skiddtrader
post Dec 4 2008, 01:46 AM

Suspicious
3,037 posts

I like to look at their investment this way.

If you look at Genting and how they invest, billions of money spent and no profit for the next 4 years from their Casino in Singapore.

Where as this investment, 1st year will have profit, predicted to be small. Following year will be more and more.

This is the best thing about buying something already making money and profitable. It's a sure winner. You won't worry about whether your investment costs will go up or down, how soon before you see your investment start making money or whatever else which is being started-up.

In Malaysia with 2 power plants build less than 20 years ago by this company now allows them to buy foreign companies which makes more than what the 2 power plants are making now.

With the 30 year license to operate the plants which is currently being upgraded as we speak to gas turbines. And estimated nett earnings to be 50% of what they are earning now. Even a conservative 30% additional earnings will eventually build their coffers again. It's a money printing machine, and you have to look at it long term. When additional capex is required to maintain the plant, they don't need to borrow anymore, because they have the money.

Additional income = additional financing abilities.

With a bigger income, you can apply for bigger loans for more acquisitions. This is how a company grow fast instead of relying to 5 - 8% a year growth.

skiddtrader
post Dec 4 2008, 06:04 PM

Suspicious
3,037 posts

Added on December 4, 2008, 6:04 pm
QUOTE(SKY 1809 @ Dec 4 2008, 05:18 PM)
Bursa is Powerless.

YTL Powerless too.

Maybe take a relook in Year 2010 when they announce the results.

Certainly his ( CEO ) investment  decision is not as good as W Buffet.
When Warren Buffet buy stuff, people tend to say he did a mistake at that time. After a while when he sells it, then the results will show he was right all along.

My point is, like you say it's best to judge it in 2010. No point trying to pass a judgement based on what little we know. Even research houses are giving guesstimations only based on 1 sentence of the CEO's statement.

Hopefully, in the near future the prospects of this company is clearer.

This post has been edited by skiddtrader: Dec 4 2008, 06:05 PM

16 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Top

0.0634sec    0.32    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 05:55 AM