6 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 >Bottom

YTL power, Well managed company

htt
post Aug 12 2009, 08:22 AM

4,305 posts

QUOTE(simplesmile @ Aug 11 2009, 11:41 PM)
I read somewhere (possibly in The Edge) that the government is coming up with a scheme whereby houses can generate electricity and sell the excess capacity back to Tenaga. Will this have any impact on the future of YTLP?
They are exiting Malaysia anyway... shouldn't be tongue.gif
htt
post Aug 20 2009, 07:06 PM

4,305 posts

QUOTE(SKY 1809 @ Aug 20 2009, 06:15 PM)
Good meh, Deferred Tax  of M 442.50.

YTL Power’s net profit stood at RM625.8 million (US$178.8 mn) for the 2009 financial year over RM1,038.8 million (US$296.8 mn) for the same period last year. The decrease in net profit resulted from a one-off deferred tax charge of RM442.5 million relating to Wessex Water Limited (“Wessex Water”), the Group’s wholly-owned subsidiary in the UK, following the abolition of industrial building allowances under the UK Finance Act 2008. The said one-off deferred tax charge does not have an immediate effect on the Group’s cashflow and was recognised in compliance with the application of Accounting Standard FRS 112 Income Taxes.
Wah, means the lost of tax allowance not used. That's really a shock blink.gif They got so much IBA carry forward meh?
Btw, anyone has idea Malaysia got IBA or not?

Added on August 20, 2009, 7:12 pm
QUOTE(simplesmile @ Aug 20 2009, 06:45 PM)
Wow, Dividend paid per share for the whole year is higher than EPS. Sustainable? Look at the Net Asset Per Share drop from a year ago.
Yes, it is. The exercise just one off and not affecting cash position of the company (means tax authorities will collect more tax from Wessex in foture because abolition of previous tax allowance (I assumed), Wessex might need to pay higher tax rate indirectly). The NAV will definitely take a hit because lost of tax asset.

Is like that, some time company get a windfall when tax law change... cheers... that's not the end of the world...

This post has been edited by htt: Aug 20 2009, 07:12 PM
htt
post Aug 20 2009, 08:27 PM

4,305 posts

QUOTE(kchong @ Aug 20 2009, 07:38 PM)
NTA dropped by 16 cents  cry.gif Classic example of value destruction from the M&A activity. Revenue more than doubled but COS went up even more, causing the EPS to be diluted. All utility companies are reporting a lower COS due to lower oil prices but we went the other way round. If price of oil has not came down, I dare not imagine what would happen.

I don't like this creative accounting thingy. YTL Corp is reporting profit mainly because of the revaluation of its properties, not actual money received from doing business. Concern they are going down the destructive path Americans went thorough treating their houses as ATM machines. They have been doing this trick for the past 2 years and I got cheesed off and sold YTLCorp few weeks back. So far it has not happen to YTLP yet but you'll never know, since both belong to the same owner. Caveat emptor  hmm.gif

PS. Public bank and Topglove financial statements are very transparent and both won awards for transparency to investors. I think YTL should emulate them too, not just focus on CSR aka pet project of Ruth Yeoh
I don't like their FS too, especially cash flow statement...

But the tax charge has nothing to do with the M&A or valuation of future economic benefit inflow, the valuation of tax asset is perfectly all right, just too bad government change their tax law (guess they have to cut IBA so to be inline with other property type, IBA sometime too lenient tongue.gif ).
htt
post Aug 20 2009, 09:47 PM

4,305 posts

QUOTE(SKY 1809 @ Aug 20 2009, 08:41 PM)
Well, from the operating profit, no doubt Francis is doing a good job.

However, no matter how smart a person is, he cannot fight the Act of God,  like the Changes in Taxes  . Windfall Tax for example.

Frankly,  Francis is penalised for the Sub prime issue that is seriously affecting UK. So the withdrawals of incentives seem reasonable.

There is a market talk that UK is facing more problems than US, simply bocs UK does not have the luxury to print unlimited amount of pounds.

Correct me if I am wrong.
Even the IBA also not much disclosure... Then we also being penalized by sub-prime... cry.gif
If tomorrow kena hentam teruk, consider buy some hmm.gif
htt
post Aug 21 2009, 06:34 AM

4,305 posts

QUOTE(skiddtrader @ Aug 21 2009, 12:36 AM)
Yeah the IBA thing should have been communicated earlier. Was googling about the IBA and seems to affect a lot of businesses in UK including factories and such. If converted to pound sterling would amount to about 75 mil pounds of deferred taxes. I think it's that high due to the retrospective nature of the tax law.

Anyway wanted to ask htt, what do you mean by "FS" in your post?
Financial Statement... tongue.gif
htt
post Aug 21 2009, 08:37 AM

4,305 posts

QUOTE(simplesmile @ Aug 21 2009, 08:16 AM)
What else? SELL SELL SELL.
Mari mari... if the price low enough I consider buy some wait for recovery tongue.gif
htt
post Aug 21 2009, 08:43 AM

4,305 posts

QUOTE(SKY 1809 @ Aug 21 2009, 08:42 AM)
W Buffet  hmm.gif
I wish I am... but not even making enough to makan leh... cry.gif
htt
post Aug 21 2009, 01:15 PM

4,305 posts

QUOTE(SKY 1809 @ Aug 21 2009, 12:05 PM)
I do not think Tax law has the retrospective effect way back to Year 1986. It could create lots of havoc.
Maybe only restrict to year 2008 and forward.

The Deferred Tax comes about because you need to depreciate let say your Ind Plants at 4% a year under the accounting rule ( over the Lifespan of an asset let say over 25 years ), but disallowed as expense for TAx Computation ( allowance abolished in year 2008 )

Which means  the diff between the two ( timing difference ) would be created under the deferred tax under the requirement of FRS 112 accounting standard  ( deferred tax treatment ).

The RT (FRS  112 ) always relates to future FS , seldom applicable for past events ( IF ANY ).

let say you defer a project now meaning it is to be carried out in the future , not related to the past in that sense.

Just guessing only cos no access to their accounts.

Correct me if I am wrong.

Investopedia explains Deferred Tax Liability
Because there are differences between what a company can deduct for tax and accounting purposes, there will be a difference between a company's taxable income and income before tax. A deferred tax liability records the fact that the company will, in the future, pay more income tax because of a transaction that took place during the current period
Think only those familiar with UK tax law can advice (too bad I am not).
My guess, Wessex accumulated a lot of unabsorbed IBA (Industrial Building Allowance) for their plants (because their plant not come cheap), and for years they don't have enough profit to set off the allowance. Then the IBA brought forward if consider tax asset to be set off against future profit arise from operation. Then come the abolition, the tax asset become worthless overnight, thus they have to create a tax charge to set off the asset, resulting in massive increase of tax payable for the quarter (but no cash changed hands, rest assure), balance sheet take a beating because the tax asset impairment, but the damage is mostly on paper only.
Only those insider (HQ & Wessex finance department) know best, I can only make a wild guess tongue.gif
htt
post Aug 21 2009, 04:19 PM

4,305 posts

QUOTE(SKY 1809 @ Aug 21 2009, 01:23 PM)
You mean Wessex is losing money all this while ? How could it be ?

How can such allowances not claimed for written off in the accounts as deferred tax ?

How can liability increased by M442.50 by not claiming Tax allowances ?

Mind to share ?
Put in other words, not earning enough to set off (I don't know what they did in UK, but for some country, they have 25% of the cost of building as the first year's initial allowance (IA), at the same time 3% annual allowance (AA)going with the IA as well, means at the first year can claim 28% allowance and follow by 3% annually), not easy to find profit to set off the 28% allowance on the first year, so they just brought forward and roll over (but too bad all kena abolish liao). And Wessex is asset heavy company, so shouldn't come in surprise that they have that much of unabsorbed allowance.

I think they set off the tax asset against the tax liabilities, so there is net tax liabilities, if the tax asset value goes down, then the net tax liabilities go up to balance that tongue.gif

Deferred tax mainly attributable to unrealized position such as gain in value of asset etc, so the liability might be real and might be not, that's just to let stakeholder gauge the potential 'damage' to their wealth/ interest in the company, no worry (I still old thinking person, tax liability only arises when the profit is realized for me). tongue.gif

Disclaimer: My wild guess only...

This post has been edited by htt: Aug 21 2009, 04:32 PM
htt
post Aug 21 2009, 04:37 PM

4,305 posts

QUOTE(darkknight81 @ Aug 21 2009, 04:22 PM)
Look at the bright side....

Assuming total number of share to be 7 billion.....As i know total shares should be around 6.++ billion only...

442 million equal to EPS of 442 / 7000 = 6.3 sen + EPS of 0.13 So Eps for this quarter should be more than 6.43 sen per share!!! 6.43 x 4 = 25.7 sen per share annually ....

Current price RM 2.13 WHICH MEANS PER of 8.3 only !!! icon_question.gif  wink.gif
Got one question here again... where i can see the loan payment of power seraya acquisition??.... Profit before tax from power seraya 197.4 million....Is it after deducting the loan payment?
YTLP disclose only the bare minimum data in their financial statement, so don't think you can find it inside their FS.
Try their annual report, that have a bit more information than quarterly/ yearly FS. Good luck tongue.gif
htt
post Aug 28 2009, 08:48 AM

4,305 posts

QUOTE(calmwater @ Aug 28 2009, 02:23 AM)
Acquisition of power seraya not complete as yet. Loan agreement to be finalised in sept 2009. Consortium of banks to finance the deal. Maybe thats why there was no provision to pay any instalment in the last quarter. The financing rate will be crucial to it's level of returns. Hopefully can strike a good deal. Senoko just completed theirs at 325 basis points. Can someone interpret that please. sweat.gif
325 basis points above? SIBOR? LIBOR?
htt
post Aug 28 2009, 01:01 PM

4,305 posts

QUOTE(darkknight81 @ Aug 28 2009, 10:36 AM)
Which means 3% only??!!  unsure.gif
SIBOR a bit lower than 1%, so should be at the region of 4% +-0.25%, for now.
htt
post Sep 8 2009, 04:20 PM

4,305 posts

QUOTE(skiddtrader @ Sep 8 2009, 01:13 PM)
Chill out guys. No point arguing over something not so important.

Anyway, YTLPOWER fans will always be fans until something drastic changes.  tongue.gif
I think the Wimax thing is drastic... I am thinking of offloading...
htt
post Sep 13 2009, 10:12 PM

4,305 posts

QUOTE(simplesmile @ Sep 13 2009, 09:00 PM)
This Wimax issue will tell us if YTLP is a "well managed company".
Same thinking like you...
htt
post Sep 14 2009, 01:03 PM

4,305 posts

QUOTE(simplesmile @ Sep 14 2009, 11:49 AM)
This is something I don't understand. How did Green Packet raise enough capital to roll out Wimax? Was it through borrowings, or raising equity? Why can't YTL Communications do the same? Why need to tap into YTLP's cash?
If you are banker, will you loan them money? If I am, I won't...
For equity, someone have to buy the equity also, who are the someone?
A. You?
B. Me?
C. YTLP?
D. A, B & C
tongue.gif
htt
post Sep 16 2009, 08:44 AM

4,305 posts

QUOTE(calmwater @ Sep 16 2009, 02:13 AM)
YTL POWER one of four shortlisted for Bangladesh power plant

In the re-tendering process of the Bibiyana power project, the Power Cell upon taking nearly five months on Sunday prequalified Malaysian YTL Power, a consortium of local Summit Mercantile Corporation (lead bidder) and GE Energy of the USA, consortium Meiya Power of Hong Kong (lead bidder) and local Shasha Denims and consortium CMEC (lead bidder) and Shenzen Shenwan Power of China and Asian Entach and Otobi ltd of Bangladesh.

25% chance for success rclxms.gif
That's not buying Toto leh tongue.gif
htt
post Oct 2 2009, 04:31 PM

4,305 posts

QUOTE(GoldenRain @ Oct 2 2009, 04:28 PM)
Yes u r right! biggrin.gif

Been buying bank shares and have no idea everytime I guy it will dropped significantly on the next day. damn it..

Well all the best in playing shares!
Next time when you want to buy, please inform us tongue.gif
htt
post Nov 18 2009, 11:43 PM

4,305 posts

QUOTE(SKY 1809 @ Nov 18 2009, 08:54 PM)
Sounds like they partner to kill one enemy first.

Afterwhich, they fight among themseves.

the current trend is unity first, fight later.
Haha... you infected by the MCA virus liao tongue.gif
htt
post Nov 20 2009, 10:32 AM

4,305 posts

QUOTE(darkknight81 @ Nov 20 2009, 10:12 AM)
i have raised a question on the payment of seraya power loan. Is it due to the loan payment? But we cannot see it from this report. Seraya power financial report? How can we see the amount for the loan payment?
Go to their Annual Report, Page 137, 32(a)(iii), there is lump sum payment on 2012, no installment. The other S$250M is assumed from Power Seraya when purchase.
You can see from the schedule of repayment also.
htt
post Nov 20 2009, 12:48 PM

4,305 posts

QUOTE(skiddtrader @ Nov 20 2009, 11:17 AM)
I don't think it means must pay everything on that day itself. As I remember reading they already paid 300 mil when the syndication of the loan was finalized. So I think it is just that the settlement must be done before 2012.

Added on November 20, 2009, 11:19 am

Uhmm you worried about the dividends or something else in those words?

As long as it doesn't say its "final" dividend, we should be ok.  tongue.gif
Some business don't treat debt like layman (like us) do, we want to pay up the loan asap but they don't. To them, the best thing is to operate solely on creditors' money, the least the shareholder need to fork out the better it is. But in reality, that's virtually impossible, that's why the need to maintain an optimal equity:debt ratio. I think (think only tongue.gif ) YTL Power is more to that type of business, I don't think they will slowly pay up the money, but they will refinance the loan if better deal comes (means forever the deal will be ,mostly funded by debt, if possible). Nothing wrong about that, as they are trying to maximize the return.

Just my 2 cents.

6 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 >Top

0.0224sec    0.62    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 11:41 AM