All these talks about upgrading are actually downgrading...
MORE NOISES, guys!!! Let's be heard!!!
Wireless Broadband Celcom Broadband Thread V3, Wireless Connection up to 3.6Mbps
Nov 17 2008, 09:39 PM
299 posts Joined: Nov 2008 |
Honestly this is scam!!! How can this be a broadband service when we are capped to 128kbps? Guys, lets make some noises. Lets make Sialcom BB sales plummet! Shout! Scream! HELL, CRY IF WE HAVE TO!!! They have salesmen lying through their teeth claiming how quick and convenient using the service. We shall make them pay.
All these talks about upgrading are actually downgrading... MORE NOISES, guys!!! Let's be heard!!! |
Nov 17 2008, 10:17 PM
Wow! 26 kb/s? That's slow. But if u r okay wif it, u probably best use ur monthly payment as extra allowance. I do use uni's wireless too to download 00 but it is extremely slow in my uni. They capped everything and used deep packet analyser to see wad and where u have surfed. Which is one reason I depend alot on this crappy BB.
Nov 17 2008, 11:08 PM
Exactly! They just wanna make sure that they deceive you for the first 7 so-called "cooling-off" days. Then that's where 5GB quota come in. Every new subscriber will be "Holy ****! This is faster than streamyx!". They let you laugh for awhile and after that, they slap you with a speeding ticket. Opps! I forgot to mention they are currently upgrading the state-of-the-art highways from 8 lanes to 1 lane. And offers free upgrade from a jet-powered car to a bicycle...
I hope Maxis 3G salesmen reading this and used this 5GB fair-usage policy to muscle their campaign and hopefully, win ex-Sialcom customers. Well, I dont know how good is Maxis 3G since there is any coverage in my area. Down with Sialcom!!!! DOWN!!! |
Nov 18 2008, 11:49 AM
The speed seems to be better now. not blazing fast but still better than past 10 days. not sure if it is the after-"upgrade" effect or just another trick to soften our hearts and silence our dissatisfaction. the speed now averages at 20+ KB/s. better than <10KB/s i've been getting but nothing worth bragging about, i guess. probably because of lots of users around. only hope it doesnt get worse and no more "upgrade" along the way. how about u guys? i am interested in D68 users' since 20KB/s is still achievable using 384Kbps. after all, i am paying for D98 but rarely gone beyond 45KB/s. only at the first week of the billing cycle. sure sounds like i am paying for hybrid package. up to 3.6Mbps for a week and up to 384Kbps for the rest of the month... oh well, hybrid is the big trend nowadays rite?
Added on November 18, 2008, 11:55 amWow! lucky u, anarchy04. either it is ur start of billing cycle or ur network is on steroid. enjoy ur speed while it lasts, bro. This post has been edited by mar_ware: Nov 18 2008, 11:55 AM |
Nov 18 2008, 01:47 PM
True if we utilize it fully, it would probably last for awhile. But at least we dun have to turn on 24/7 just to get a single large file. Been trying whole afternoon to get latest PB but the bad news is my speed is further cut down... Back to <10KB/s again. Good job, Sialcom!!!! U almost had me thinking u getting better. Probably the head of "quality" service or whoeva responsible is having fun with us all.
Nothing good lasts forever. Only Sialcom lasts forever*. Subscribe to us NOW and enjoy your lifetime wireless broadband. *terms and conditions apply For us, the only thing lasts forever is dissatisfaction... |
Nov 18 2008, 02:16 PM
My speed....
![]() Well, this is better now. But has been fluctuating alot. Sometimes just about 100kbps. If lucky, 300+. Wad a bummer! I wanna my PB... Perhaps it is even faster to have fruitie burn it in CD and mail it to my home... This post has been edited by mar_ware: Nov 18 2008, 02:17 PM |
Nov 18 2008, 07:58 PM
I sure hope there is another alternative in my area. DiGi 3G would be good in competing with current providers. Hopefully there will be price wars and better, more consistent service. Sialcom is fast ONLY for the first 5GB but after that, worst than any other BROADBAND services. Especially with recent downtime, inconsistent speed, untrustworthy "care"line, misleading advertising campaign and *list goes on and on*. Once there is another provider around my place, I would definitely jump ship. At the moment, I can only complain with their "care"line and MCMC but let's hope for the best.
Apparently, my IP sticks with .34, maybe that's for those caught beyond 5GB. This morning's speed was probably to compensate for 3 days downtime. Now back to 8-10KB/s again. Didnt even manage to get series I want. Fair Usage Policy, miass. This is only to ensure enough bandwidth for maximum users and minimum investment. Dirty money swindlers. This post has been edited by mar_ware: Nov 18 2008, 08:19 PM |
Nov 18 2008, 09:20 PM
I feel u, bro. Honestly, there have only been 2 cases where I got more than 1Mbps for this billing cycle. The first 3 hours of Sialcom 3G and one fine morning for about 2-3 hours. Did I always get more than 1 Mbps before I reached 5GB quota? NO. Plain and simple. But surely my speed has crawled ever since I hit 5GB limit. I would also like to kick all Sialcom salesmen I meet. I know that their bonus and promotion depend on their sales number but winning people over using empty promises is unethical. And the worst thing is that most of them are clueless when it comes to specific info about Celcom 3G. One occasion, I wanted to register the service with this salesman. It was Sunday. I asked him how long does it take for service activation. He promised me in an hour tops. I walked around, clearing my head before making the huge decision. I stopped by another Sialcom booth and asked the same question. 3 out of 4 salesmen were clueless. Only this one guy said that Celcom point is closed on Sundays, so no processing for new registration until Monday. He promised me it would be done latest by Tuesday if I signed up with him. He indeed did not make any empty promises like fast speed and unlimited quota like the scumbag did. So I signed up. I am honestly dissatisfied with the service but he is at least decent.
All in all, this does not change the fact that I have been getting shitty speed!!! |
Nov 19 2008, 12:40 AM
Rub me silly... Hell, I gonna polish my SIM card all the time if it helps getting faster speed. Polish till it shines! Really, wad common sense is that? That's wad happen when you hire high-school graduates to answer phones. Next they will suggest you buy an extremely long USB cable and climb up to ur roof to get maximum speed.
Nov 19 2008, 01:27 AM
Same here, 256Kbps maximum I have gotten today. But it never is consistent, averages about 190Kbps. This maybe a sign that they are under pressure from customers and MCMC. I cant recall how many times I filed up complaints to Sialcom and MCMC.
Rubbing SIM card is silly idea. I am certain that the modem is not built-in with "shininess" sensor or anything of that sort. BUT! But I will give it a try if my patience ever runs out. Currently it is at threshold limit. Perhaps another 2 or 3 "therapy" sessions with Sialcom careline officers. Hell, I might even put my SIM card under my pillow and wish SIM-card fairy to repair and enchant it with super duper fast magic. Abracadabra! |
Nov 19 2008, 05:03 PM
October was a better month. The speed was decent. Still far from achieving 3.6Mbps. But less problems and more consistent speed back then. This month is terrible and looking from past few months, the quality has, no doubt, decreased gradually. Out of 19 days, 9-10 days of downtime in my place. A week due to sudden decrease in signal and 2 days of "connection interrupted"... Perhaps, there are more users now with the same amount of bandwidth allocated. Or Sialcom just wanna earn more profits. Either way, it is bad for us. However I noticed that Sialcom has geared up the 3.5G campaign despite of these problems. More salesmen running around saying how fast the connection is... How wide the coverage is... Sure, it is faster than dial-up. Is it faster than theoretical 3G connection? NOPE! Rarely ever get beyond 384Kbps and I am paying 98 a month... I been considering to downgrade but afraid the speed will be as FAST as the dial-up. (minus the annoying dial-up tones...)
Nov 19 2008, 06:18 PM
Sialcom CS just called me awhile back, confirming the "restored" service. I filed the complaint on Saturday since there were constant "connection interrupted" errors. Guess wad? They just managed to read my complaint form after so many days. Either they take their time reading through the forms or they get millions complains each day. Inefficient! My speed is currently freefalling. From 200Kbps yesterday to 100Kbps today. I cant wait to see wad they have in store for me tomorrow... I wonder when the CS will call me again for my latest complain form. Clock is ticking, guys!!!
Nov 19 2008, 08:42 PM
Well, 250Kbps may sound good for D68 users. My line is D98. And it is now around 120+Kbps. Browsing is still ok but sure is painful to download stuffs. Imagine turning on ur comp for hours just to finish a single download. Add into the equation the high probability of getting disconnection, it sure doesnt look good enough for a broadband service.
Nov 19 2008, 09:32 PM
Not worth it, true. But consider this... I subscribed for D98 yet received lower speed than D68. Sure, it means I am being involuntarily capped. And if I am using D68, they gonna cap me to 64Kbps? Just 8Kbps faster than dial-up??? I wont be able to even browse properly then. So what am I gonna pay 68 for? 5GB and 100MB for the rest of the month? Honestly the capped speed is pathetic. 128Kbps? Say, 30-40Kbps for IM... Remaining is hardly even for anything at all. Surf? Sure, if u dun mind waiting a little longer. Download? Dream on. Streaming? Keep on dreaming, boy. Hell, I cant even download Windows update without spending weeks... Or update for my antivirus, spyware and other softwares...
Nov 19 2008, 10:51 PM
QUOTE(V3000 @ Nov 19 2008, 10:14 PM) Now i live at a place where no Streamyx and other's telco coverage even worse then Celcom.. Haha! Quite true but i would gladly pay extra 30 for a Ferrari rather than save 30 for Kancil. Wouldnt u, man? -So i opt for Celcom. Before i move to this place i got a not very good Streamyx connection; yet i can keep on downloading Worth it? Nope, never happen on this Barbarian Land.. -Most of the time what i get is empty promises.. when i take this plan (D68) i nvr hope much on the speed.. Just give me a speed that i can suft and IM; I'll be Celcom best customer. I do complaint sometimes but not on the speed.. I complaint cause i can't online at all for few freaking days p/s: Getting D98 plan on this Barbarian Land is like getting brand new V12 Ferrari stuck on Heavy Traffic; So i got myself 600cc Kancil and join in the crowd Living in this country (Magaysia), i don't dare to wish much! But please not until 'Take but never give' Cheers! Happy Life Continue~ |
Nov 19 2008, 11:24 PM
QUOTE(aeiou228 @ Nov 19 2008, 11:11 PM) For D98 users, Lets do something more constructive and effective actions to compensate our loss by paying a RM100 price but getting RM10 service. Good idea. Can be feasible but there is a clause in Sialcom 3G T&C that said they are entitled to cap the speed if any user passes 5GB limit. Hard to argue this. However, the term "unlimited" in Sialcom 3G advertisement is definitely misleading. Remember the occasion whereby AirAsia is forced to change their misleading advertising campaign? The lack of information a.k.a deliberate omission of important terms is seriously an offence in public eye. In US, this kind of thing is easily brought in courts. A felony in Malaysia? Not so sure. Not majored in law... We can fight from that point, perhaps. After all, whenever I go to a buffet, no one tries to slow me down after my third plate... Or no one gives me a smaller piece of chicken after my fifth piece... Just my two cents.I remember Shaziman once said ISP must achieve and deliver at least 80% of the promised service or they will lose license. Based on this ground, I think we can write in to Celcom to ask for monetary compensation for its failure to render at least 80% of the advertised speed. I wrote (by email) to TMnet twice last time to ask for compensation for my Streamyx account when my Streamyx line was down for couple of days on two separate occasions. TMnet refunded me on both occasions. This post has been edited by mar_ware: Nov 19 2008, 11:37 PM |
Nov 19 2008, 11:48 PM
Sadly, I am quite certain there is a clause in T&C within Fair Usage Policy section. At least, it was there the last time I looked. However, gotta say playing with fire can bring serious damage... May bring about stricter rules and more discomforts for us.
Nov 20 2008, 09:38 AM
Yeah, if any of u guys seek legal confrontation, perhaps best way is through lawyers. They would at least have a rough picture whether on not this "Fair Usage" can be brought to trial. As for me, I am not fond of suing anyone or anything. The legal procedure requires alot of time and money. If I file a suit against them, it may take 6 months to a year to clear up... And lots of money involved.
I would rather make more complaints directly and indirectly to Sialcom. Make noise loud enough that people notice it. Make it loud enough that people is aware that we are being cheated with empty promises by Sialcom. Make it loud enough that potential customers of Sialcom understand the "unlimited" situation and stay away from it. So here is it. To all people considering Sialcom 3G broadband, if u feel like getting capped speed and shitty connection, get it. Otherwise, stay away from it and get other connection if possible. To people with no other options since Sialcom is the only provider in ur area (like me), point ur finger to Sialcom and make noise. They promised unlimited broadband connection yet they cant deliver it. While the rest of the world is moving forward towards faster Internet connection, Sialcom promotes the broadband connection as 64-128Kbps. A job done too well, huh? I noticed that I have been disconnected several times each day. It is most likely a measure against people who leave their computers to download like I do. A loss of signal? Unlikely due to that, since I always got full bar. Anyone else experiencing same problem? Wad is so "unlimited" about this service? Unlimited yet restricted? Nice slogan, Sialcom! Now, gotta make another complaint to MCMC... I just love to see all of Sialcom top people and their families using this service and |
Nov 21 2008, 01:49 PM
Does anyone experience sudden switch from HSDPA to GPRS after few minutes of going online? Is this an additional measure to curb the bandwidth? Frequent disconnection is not enough??? The capped speed is not enough??? Wad else they have in store? Sending viruses throughout the network to cripple users who gone beyond 5GB???
Scr*w u, Sialcom!!!! |
Nov 21 2008, 10:28 PM
How is the connection today for u guys? My speed can hardly go beyond 90Kbps. It jumped to 200Kbps for a second and dropped drastically. Is it because is weekend and lots of people sharing the network? I am trying to get a music album and it gonna take me 3 hours... Kinda pathetic for a "broadband" connection. Might as well just call it Sialcom "3G" wireless dial-up!!!
| Change to: | 0.0409sec
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 04:29 PM |