Photography Panasonic LX-3 King of the King of digicam Updated, LEICAF2.0,1/1.63 sensor,24mm,HD,hotshoe

scripted
post Sep 3 2008, 10:39 PM

608 posts

just got a lx3 today to pick up photography

aiya doesnt fit
scripted
post Sep 4 2008, 02:45 PM

608 posts

QUOTE(chuanchuan90 @ Sep 4 2008, 09:00 AM)
that case not suitable for LX3 at all blink.gif  i think u should looking for another one... brows.gif
brows.gif

Too bad this one cost a bomb but looks really good
scripted
post Sep 4 2008, 04:12 PM

608 posts

looking at the picture i assume you can still shoot with the lower part on the camera but i wonder how is it going to stay on

edit:

yup says so on panasonic's site
http://panasonic.net/pavc/lumix/lx3/option...ccessories.html

This post has been edited by scripted: Sep 4 2008, 04:29 PM
scripted
post Sep 4 2008, 11:00 PM

608 posts

did you use a tripod for that shot ? was reading alot of site seems that either you must have a tripod or super human abilities for taking picture like those
scripted
post Sep 4 2008, 11:47 PM

608 posts

hahaha maaf im still new tongue.gif

i read can put on solid surface then active the timer thing so that we wun shake the cam tongue.gif
scripted
post Sep 5 2008, 12:12 AM

608 posts

but to carry a tripod with a compact defeats the purpose of the compact being a compact =x
scripted
post Sep 5 2008, 11:32 PM

608 posts

Any tips for taking pictures of puppies at night ?

kinda had no choice but to on flash

scripted
post Sep 6 2008, 12:15 AM

608 posts

QUOTE(PCHo @ Sep 6 2008, 12:01 AM)
Moving subjects are always hard to capture.
Puppies run around too much so u have not much choice but to either flash em, or use a fast shutter speed to freeze the action. But of all times, u pick night time to photograph ur puppy....which requires:
  1) the biggest aperture on ur LX3 = f/2.0
  2) raising ur ISO settings (introduces noise)

Suggestions:
1) photograph em during the day.
2) provide ample external lighting at night so that u can use slower shutter speeds.

I personally don't like flashing my subjects.
Makes em too bright.
Therefore the reason for the 2 suggestions i gave above.

Just my 2 cents  tongue.gif
PS: your puppy's face is out of focus.

Added on September 6, 2008, 12:05 amKing of king's doing HDR!!
hahaha.... laugh.gif

Thanks!

Yeah out of focus, wish i could just tie them to a rope doh.gif

Guess i should bring out all the table lamps heh. tongue.gif

since they are already leaving tommorow

Interesting picture thumbup.gif
scripted
post Sep 8 2008, 07:18 PM

608 posts

was trying to do the light streak effect
scripted
post Sep 9 2008, 01:24 AM

608 posts

QUOTE(RoxyGal @ Sep 8 2008, 08:39 PM)
please post the shutter and aperture thanx
~_~

Exposure: 6 sec (6)
Aperture: f/5
Focal Length: 5.1 mm
ISO Speed: 80
Exposure Bias: 0/100 EV
scripted
post Sep 9 2008, 08:20 AM

608 posts

QUOTE(bellerophon @ Sep 9 2008, 07:30 AM)
is tis camera worthwhile buying?
got tis orthodox thinking bout panasonic n cameras..
despite using Leica 2.0 lens...
http://www.google.com.my/search?&q=Panasonic+LX3+Reviews

here are some light graffiti i was trying out tongue.gif

just got curious after seeing these
http://abduzeedo.com/awesome-light-graffiti-pictures
scripted
post Sep 12 2008, 04:47 AM

608 posts

QUOTE(chuanchuan90 @ Sep 9 2008, 10:00 AM)
F2.8
1/160sec
ISO80
How to do that ar ? bluring the background :/

i saw some interesting shots here

http://www.mir.com.my/rb/photography/fotot...tmls/depth.html

but i never got to figure out how to do it :/

edit: while not shooting macro

This post has been edited by scripted: Sep 12 2008, 08:49 AM
scripted
post Sep 15 2008, 02:52 PM

608 posts

Got a bit of oil on my lens from my stupid self touching the it by accident a few days back, just got a pack of lens tissue to wipe it but then macam can't wipe of the oil smudge, any advice on what to do next ?
scripted
post Sep 15 2008, 03:41 PM

608 posts

i showed my friend who is into photography too, he say i rub like sissy wahahahah i sayang my LX3 mah now i add a bit more pressure its like new now biggrin.gif
scripted
post Sep 20 2008, 06:10 PM

608 posts

I'm thinking of letting go my LX3, hmm anyone interested ?
scripted
post Sep 20 2008, 07:06 PM

608 posts

wahahah yeah thinking of "downgrading" to dslr, just that i wanna try a few stuff seems that compact lens is too small for like those awesome bokeh shots.

still LX3 is really good i wouldnt let go if i had the money lar tongue.gif

This post has been edited by scripted: Sep 20 2008, 07:08 PM
scripted
post Sep 20 2008, 09:21 PM

608 posts

looking at 1000d
scripted
post Sep 21 2008, 03:24 AM

608 posts

QUOTE(PCHo @ Sep 20 2008, 10:08 PM)
I am not sure why u r not satisfied with LX3's bokeh la.  shocking.gif
Bokeh depends on 3 very important things:
1) The aperture (a bigger aperture i.e. f/2.0 gives you more bokeh).
2) The focus area (where or which subject area u are focusing esp during auto focus)
3) A bigger zoom might help

You need loads of practice to get the right bokeh.
I have used a EOS 400D before, and believe me, it is not so easy even with a DSLR if you don't have the right concepts and settings.  sweat.gif
Try to search online for bokeh tutorials.
One good way to practice bokeh is to use a long ruler.

My advice for you, to avoid disappointment when u really do swap for a DSLR....
is to borrow a DSLR from a fren for a few days and practice your bokeh with it.
You might not find it that easy if you have no idea what aperture, shutter, manual focus, etc does to your photos.

Share some of my better bokeh style photos with everyone.
Just to let you know how much bokeh you can get with the LX3 with what settings.  laugh.gif

Aperture - f/4.0
Shutter - 1/800
ISO - 80
Focus - Auto

Aperture - f/2.6
Shutter - 1/20
ISO - 400
Focus - Auto

Aperture - f/2.0
Shutter - 1/30
ISO - 200
Focus - Manual

In case you do plan on letting go of your LX3, let me know the price.
Maybe I can help you to find a potential buyer  rclxm9.gif

PS: All the photos above are UNEDITED, except for the little signature at the bottom  wink.gif

Most of my knowledge of basic photography is from here from what i've experience with my friend's nikon f70 (none of them own a dslr this is closest wub.gif ) it was easier to get a shallow dof, have to get really near to my subject on the LX3 to get besides slr way can swap lens later even tho prices are like 1 to 5k tongue.gif

nah here's the link to my 19 days old baby wub.gif http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=796390

i don't deny the lx3 is one of the best camera i've used
scripted
post Sep 21 2008, 03:50 AM

608 posts

heh the initial range of comparisons on which i finally decided to pick the LX3 due to its superiority was all compacts, haha LX3 memang king need to compare with DSLR! muahahahha i will play as much as possible with this baby dulu this few days tongue.gif
scripted
post Sep 21 2008, 12:55 PM

608 posts

I guess somethings i just have to experience it myself, the woes of dslr shooters on having to lug so much stuff around tongue.gif also cause the lx3 isn't very pocketable to begin with, usually i put it in my sling bag, so a dslr might not be much of an issue with bringing it around, just maybe stand out a bit more

Added on September 21, 2008, 12:56 pmbtw daruma is your avatar the one with the guy who put the camera below the showgirl's skirt wan ? can i have link to the full picture biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by scripted: Sep 21 2008, 12:56 PM

0.0503sec    0.58    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 07:01 PM