Renovation costs? How much now?, Estimate cost 2 renovate 1500sqft condo?

cheer83
post Aug 4 2008, 12:41 PM

223 posts

QUOTE(scorgio @ Aug 2 2008, 02:05 AM)
Two questions. How free you are? How well you know the work?

Frankly speaking, for renovation, if u're employing a contractor, u're paying a person to supervise the work on ur behalf.
If u employed an architect/designer, then it's their responsibility to supervise the contractors.
Is ur time valuable? Do u have time to supervise and can tell whether the workers are doing a decent job?
If u're really free, then by all means proceed and be ur own contractor.

Ppl think it's an easy job being contractor, just show up for 30-60mins per day, point here point there and off he go to another site.
Well, if he can settle everything within less than an hour, then he's really experienced.
Roughly RM15k.

It do not reqired much time, nowadays the indons are more advance...just the architectural work, very easy , just want "nice work"

Do you think the contractor supervise the work? i doubt it, they just let the indon do their work on their own. We do not need to supervise them full time.

Laminated floor is the flooring with full of cons

scorgio
post Aug 4 2008, 07:13 PM

4,694 posts

QUOTE(cheer83 @ Aug 4 2008, 12:41 PM)
It do not reqired much time, nowadays the indons are more advance...just the architectural work, very easy , just want "nice work"

Do you think the contractor supervise the work? i doubt it, they just let the indon do their work on their own. We do not need to supervise them full time.

Laminated floor is the flooring with full of cons
Like I said, if you think you can handle it.

By all means, go ahead.

dragony
post Aug 7 2008, 04:17 PM

167 posts

depend what you renovate lah. can be from 10k to 100k....
a6meister
post Nov 17 2008, 11:47 AM

462 posts

well, actually, i quite some enquiries through PM regarding the kitchen cabinet. For those who wants to renovate their new house, please just call me at 0124272637.

before you want to get a quotation, please do some following thing -

1. use a measurement tap to measure the length of the desired renovate area.
2. for kitchen cabinet, make 3 different measurements -
a.) WALL CABINET = ___ ft b.) UNDER CABINET = ___ ft c. KITCHEN TABLE TOP WITH UNDER CABINET = ___ft.

For those provided measurements, you will get a quotation from me.

P/S, I STRONGLY SUGGEST THAT YOU GET A FEW QUOTATION FROM OTHER RENOVATORS BEFORE YOU REACH ME IN ORDER TO GET A COMPARISON.

myhat
post Nov 17 2008, 11:55 AM

804 posts

good one bro....

still open for request for quotation...
lately...i found out that some contractors dun wan to simply give quotation anymore if they know that the requester just wan to compare prices....
they will only give quotation if the requester seriously wan to hire them....

bad boy!!!
li_ping
post Nov 18 2008, 05:49 PM

670 posts

The contractor with a show house at my condo quoted 40k-50k for all the things you listed.
Anyway, he's popular with overcharging... so I guess normal price should be 30-35k lidat ba smile.gif
overfloe
post Nov 19 2008, 10:44 AM

Ain't nothing but a thang..
2,208 posts

QUOTE(shadowz @ Jul 27 2008, 06:36 PM)
I was just wondering, now with all the material price increases and some such - how much would renovations for a condominium which is roughly 1500sqft cost? This means kitchen renovated with cabinets, built in wardrobe for 3 rooms, 2 bathrooms redone, plaster ceiling, light fixtures with dimmers placed accordingly, etc.

A few years ago I would guess all the above would cost maybe 40K-50K? Now I dont know. Everyone, home owners and contractors say prices have risen and are there to stay. :/ economic instability and whatnot. Aihs... Can anyone give me a ballpark figure to play around with? Thanks.
sky is the limit! i think if you put aside Rm20k also can go for the minimum.. that means.. you'll get not so nice kitchen!

this is a rough guidance:
kitchen: RM7k
wardrobe x3: RM7.5k (2.5k each)
bathrooms retile x2: RM3k
plaster ceiling: RM2k
lightings + fans + wiring: RM2.5k

total: RM22k

this excludes furnitures, big electrical appliances.. etc.

kitchen will be the most variable amount coz it can be cheaper than i mentioned and could be quadruple the price.. for example: initially i orderd my kitchen (12'x6') for RM7k.. but after I added soft-close hinges, aluminium handles and extra cabinets for ducting the price goes over to RM9k.. this is with ABS material and solid surface. if i chose 3G high gloss the cost will be close to RM15k! and if I add pull-out trays, imported solid surface and other fancy gadgets it may cost as much as RM20k!

i did my plaster ceiling (13.5x 13.5' + 14'x2') for RM1.3k. wiring and lights installation for 25 points about RM1.1k.. lightings and fans for RM2k.
samquah
post Nov 19 2008, 11:56 AM

603 posts

what do u mean by bathrooms retile x2: RM3k?

change the bathroom floor tiles?

so cheap?
a6meister
post Nov 19 2008, 12:05 PM

462 posts

QUOTE(overfloe @ Nov 19 2008, 10:44 AM)
sky is the limit! i think if you put aside Rm20k also can go for the minimum.. that means.. you'll get not so nice kitchen!

this is a rough guidance:
kitchen: RM7k
wardrobe x3: RM7.5k (2.5k each)
bathrooms retile x2: RM3k
plaster ceiling: RM2k
lightings + fans + wiring: RM2.5k

total: RM22k

this excludes furnitures, big electrical appliances.. etc.

kitchen will be the most variable amount coz it can be cheaper than i mentioned and could be quadruple the price.. for example: initially i orderd my kitchen (12'x6') for RM7k.. but after I added soft-close hinges, aluminium handles and extra cabinets for ducting the price goes over to RM9k.. this is with ABS material and solid surface. if i chose 3G high gloss the cost will be close to RM15k! and if I add pull-out trays, imported solid surface and other fancy gadgets it may cost as much as RM20k!

i did my plaster ceiling (13.5x 13.5' + 14'x2') for RM1.3k. wiring and lights installation for 25 points about RM1.1k.. lightings and fans for RM2k.
your estimation is just too rough. in renovation, feet and inches that speak the loudest. for example, the kitchen as u stated, which cost 7k, how big will it be ? 20 ft of wall cabinet, and 20 ft for door cabinet ?

as i always stated, do not roughly quote an uncertain price, it need a measurement to quote.

overfloe
post Nov 19 2008, 02:27 PM

Ain't nothing but a thang..
2,208 posts

QUOTE(a6meister @ Nov 19 2008, 01:05 PM)
your estimation is just too rough. in renovation, feet and inches that speak the loudest. for example, the kitchen as u stated, which cost 7k, how big will it be ? 20 ft of wall cabinet, and 20 ft for door cabinet ?

as i always stated, do not roughly quote an uncertain price, it need a measurement to quote.
yes. rough guidance.. estimation for an average cost of reno in condo of 1500sqf.

thread starter needs to give exact measurements of the kitchen, bathrooms, bedrooms, etc.. otherwise if go ask contractor also won't give the quotation.

kitchen will rely partly on the materials selected and the configuration. a 5'x'5' l-shape with wall cabinets may cost as low as rm3k or as much as 10k rclxm9.gif changing of the cabinet materials will drastically change the price.

0.0182sec    0.93    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 02:32 PM