NETWORK ATTACHED STORAGE (NAS), old thread closed. please open a new one

wildwestgoh
post Nov 14 2012, 09:26 PM

2,215 posts

QUOTE(jchue73 @ Nov 14 2012, 08:22 PM)
So from my rough estimation, changing the file format made your NAS transfer close to 75 - 100MB/s?
From his statement, he transfer his file to the HDD using EXT3 formatted on his PC and then just slot into the NAS for permanent application.
Well, this works if you don't transfer huge files that often, I just don't like detaching my PC chassis.. so much trouble, hehe tongue.gif
Atom is pricey.
Is RM300 board + RAM expensive? I think those synology and other branded one is much more expensive IMO, plus I can plug-in another PCI SATA and expand my HDDs, well that's me anyway.
wildwestgoh
post Nov 20 2012, 09:07 AM

2,215 posts

QUOTE(ronaldjoe @ Nov 19 2012, 11:48 PM)
Seems like TP LInk 3210 is a good choice for startup. I could source from newegg. I am running the NAS for devices at home: HTPC, BD player, PC, laptops, iPad and iPhone and security monitoring and media streaming.

I have checked synology forum, seems like it's dying just there. The Wikipedia on synology seems useful to some extent.

On another note, I am selling off my used HDD (around 15pcs of them, ranging from 1.5TB to 2TB))
http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=2595991
Curious to know what's your NAS setup, is it a Synology or other branded NAS? Or a PC NAS?
I don't see anything that would require that much speed (>106MB/s), and especially at home, only few devices that I see benefit from your requirement, media streaming and HTPC.
If all your devices is getting or putting data into that single NAS at the same time, doubt even the HDD can sustain such intense IO, not to talk about the speed, yet.
wildwestgoh
post Jan 29 2013, 08:39 AM

2,215 posts

QUOTE(moiskyrie @ Jan 28 2013, 11:32 PM)
do i need client license if using window server?
QUOTE(aneip @ Jan 29 2013, 08:03 AM)
usually 5 CAL license in included with windows server. But really, I never understand their licensee thing.. Only thing I know, cannot connected to remote desktop of the server when a few people connect and the same time..
A very good explanation on the Windows Server CAL.

Forgot to add... doh.gif sweat.gif
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Client_access_license

This post has been edited by wildwestgoh: Jan 29 2013, 02:36 PM
wildwestgoh
post Jan 29 2013, 02:40 PM

2,215 posts

QUOTE(wildwestgoh @ Jan 29 2013, 08:39 AM)
A very good explanation on the Windows Server CAL.

Forgot to add...  doh.gif  sweat.gif
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Client_access_license
QUOTE(moiskyrie @ Jan 29 2013, 01:52 PM)
5 cal mean 1 times only can have 5 user access the server?
mean if got 10 user, at 1 times only max 5 user can access?
if want more cal mean need to purchase?
Yes and only if you need 10 simultaneous access at a single time.
Some users does not need to access the file server at any given time so you may want to plan out your CALs carefully, it's expensive, after all. wink.gif
wildwestgoh
post Feb 4 2013, 04:55 PM

2,215 posts

QUOTE(eric_tan @ Feb 1 2013, 08:46 PM)
How many User can a normal Windows 7 support?

I have been sharing files and there doesn't seem to have a limit (no of users.
Windows 7 does has a limits.
For my case Windows 7 Home Premium.

CODE

Server hidden                         No
Maximum Logged On Users               20
Maximum open files per session        16384

Idle session time (min)               15
The command completed successfully.

Open Command prompt on Administrator mode then execute command "net config server", it should show something like above.
If you sharing among small amount of users and don't mind the network bottleneck then you may go ahead, Windows server has better control, "almost" unlimited (depends on CAL license), and has better network performance. wink.gif
I'm able to transfer at maximum hard disk speed on Intel Atom N230 + Dlink gigabit network card using Windows server, from Samsung HD203WI to my PC (C2Q 9550)'s WDC 3TB Green, maximum obtainable 80MB/s. thumbup.gif
wildwestgoh
post Feb 5 2013, 04:51 PM

2,215 posts

QUOTE(Lord Red @ Feb 5 2013, 04:01 PM)
Wow.  Too fast.  Really 80MB/s or 80mbps?  I can only get max 60-80mbps on my WD Mybooklive 3TB over 150mbps wifi.  And max 120 mbps over a Gigabit ethernet port.  Thats from my ultraportable to Mybooklive.
Before I switch to Windows server, Windows 7 after services optimization can't even reach 50MB/s, Windows server is better at handling network, it's designed for that purpose.
And for your case, WiFi & WD (NAS?) is the bottleneck.
If you're serious about performance, QNAP/Netgear top of the line product can provide you the speed with price, if you're like me whom want to squeeze every drop of $ for performance and don't mind DIY on hardware and software, DIY NAS is the best. thumbup.gif
Full specs of my NAS:
Intel Atom N230 @ 1.6GHz (first gen... yea~~ tongue.gif )
2GB DDR2 RAM (recently upgraded from 1GB, improve GUI performance a bit blush.gif )
DLink DGE-530T Gigabit network card (Special driver optimization 4MB buffer)
Seagate 500GB + Samsung 2TB

Simple, yea? Powaa of Windows Server... brows.gif
wildwestgoh
post Feb 6 2013, 10:17 AM

2,215 posts

QUOTE(CocoMonGo @ Feb 6 2013, 08:29 AM)
Wouldnt it be a waste to buy a Windows Server license just for a 2 HDD server?
If moiskyrie's boss wants just a regular file server with multiple users why not just any box with either Ubuntu server or and of those free NAS OS (FreeNAS etc, etc). I do not see a need for Windows as Samba can in all cases manage user authentication and access limitation.

THe one problem with getting QNAP/Syno is that there is no room for future expansion (physically( if say a new drive needs to be added. If you have a Atom board for example, you can add a RAID expansion card and add many more HDD assuming you get a casing big enough.
I got my Windows License from office's server upgrade whistling.gif so basically it's free.
There's plenty of choice out there, Windows server is just an example, but maybe the Linux can does it better, I don't know since I don't use Linux. sweat.gif
And as far as I know FreeNAS network performance is still slow, in my case, the driver is optimized, not sure if Ubuntu (server edition?) can do the same. hmm.gif
So far I only uses Windows applications, switching to another platform is... too tedious sweat.gif blush.gif

If Expansion is required, I won't recommend using Intel Atom, too little power and slow PCI(-E) slot, best is getting a full pledge system where there's plenty of PCI-E x8 (and above) for better performance on RAID card.

My next aim is AMD APU board which has 4x SATA + Gigabit network so I won't need the PCI Gigabit network card anymore, can probably add a SATA card (2x SATA port) up to 6 HDDs. Maybe can try other OS... but I still need AIO box doh.gif bah... probably will still sticks to Windows... sweat.gif
wildwestgoh
post Feb 6 2013, 03:38 PM

2,215 posts

QUOTE(CocoMonGo @ Feb 6 2013, 02:55 PM)
true, but you can actually get away with it if you get a RAID card as most have their own processor to compute the RAID. My recommendation would be not to use Atom as most like u say have PCIe x8 only  and only 1 slot.

If you can try to look for MB with dual GNIC. Do fail over configuration.
hmm.gif Well, if one can get a RAID card, I don't think he'll use Intel Atom anymore, most probably the RAID card can buy few pcs of Atom board doh.gif
Dual GNIC sweat.gif I don't think I would need such setup for home usage only, for the kiasu only whistling.gif

But for Office, yes those RAID and Multi GNIC is a must for critical application system.
wildwestgoh
post Mar 22 2013, 10:33 AM

2,215 posts

QUOTE(aneip @ Mar 20 2013, 10:57 AM)
Make sure you use cat6 or cat5e cable.. Don't use blue cable (4x) coming with dlink router. That's cable connect be used for gigabit. If you see the cable you can see there only 4 pair or wired instead om 8.
Correct a bit, no offence.
Pair = 2x, so 4 pair = 8 strands.
Those manufacturer like DLink uses 2-pair Cat5 cable on cheap modem, but some do supply full 4-pair.
But as suggested, buy a cheap TPLink Gigabit switch and the speed will fly~ thumbup.gif
wildwestgoh
post Jul 30 2013, 02:35 PM

2,215 posts

QUOTE(AMDunFreak @ Jul 29 2013, 11:15 AM)
Dlink DNS-320L can download torrent or not?
what's the different between a NAS and an old CPU like p4 2.0ghz setting up a windows with 4 HDD in it?
That's one heck lots of different, one is a working PC and another is a NAS only purpose without direct control (only through web browser).
With a PC you can do much more things than just sharing your files/folders, you can install almost anything as OS and/or software goes and configure it to any environment that fits, not easy as plug-in, power-on and able to start using it right away (NAS with pre-configured software).
But of course if you want to save the space, NAS is great as the built is rather compact compare to even the most compact PC chassis out there.
It's up to you to choose either one that suits you, whether you can pay higher to gain compact, easy to use, worry-less setup or go full DIY with smaller chassis that can be get complicated but you get as flexible as any other form of desktop PC, any OS, any software as you like, and it's cheaper to do so. nod.gif
wildwestgoh
post Aug 3 2013, 01:03 PM

2,215 posts

QUOTE(war3boy @ Aug 3 2013, 06:31 AM)
No one can help me?  sad.gif
You're asking the wrong question at the wrong place doh.gif
hmm.gif Never see "server" sub-forum before, maybe you can post at technical or Q&A sub-forum see if there's any answer.
Or just ask those branded retailer, Dell, HP, IBM, etc. wink.gif
wildwestgoh
post Aug 5 2013, 07:32 AM

2,215 posts

QUOTE(war3boy @ Aug 4 2013, 09:42 PM)
Because the server i'm planning to use as NAS.
I tot here will get some respond.  sweat.gif
Erm, it'll be very expensive and you need a rack to hold it, the only thing I know about this server is it's one darn heavy thing and it's super expensive, not worth the money spent. shakehead.gif
Almost every branded retailer (IBM, HP, Dell, etc.) has it, you can just head over their website to seek their customer support. wink.gif

wildwestgoh
post Aug 16 2013, 02:15 PM

2,215 posts

QUOTE(mintgadget @ Aug 10 2013, 04:34 PM)
HP Microserver N40L (RM599) & N54L (RM749).

The probox is just an external case NO OS which means its no different from buying a USB box for your hard drive but this supports 4 or even 8 too.
Isn't HP Microserver just a normal PC with the ITX chassis?
Are you sure can access the hard disk like a normal USB?
Unless there's a software which can work like USB storage controller that I'm not aware of? hmm.gif
wildwestgoh
post Aug 16 2013, 02:27 PM

2,215 posts

QUOTE(mintgadget @ Aug 16 2013, 02:24 PM)
Yes HP Microserver is a normal PC

AC Ryan already have an USB Host Controller so will work with the Pro box (plug and play).
Pro box? Can you show me link to the software/OS? Kinda interesting. brows.gif
wildwestgoh
post Aug 16 2013, 02:49 PM

2,215 posts

QUOTE(shadowblack @ Aug 16 2013, 02:45 AM)
Anybody can suggest me NAS that is cheap and reliable so I can transfer file even if I am outside and use it to play file on my media player with using wireless? One more, If I have NAS on my house A and have a media player on my house B, can I play the movie using the media player from house A and NAS from house B? Sorry,just started to learn about NAS
I may have another suggestion, just grab a normal NAS, subscribe a high speed broadband (UNIFI?) with high upload speed, and of course your mobile device must have good wireless Internet connectivity to be able to enjoy the speed.
You should be able to stream just as normal video from any website, as NAS probably has some media streaming features built-in.

Another case is you want to share your media centre (house A) with your media player (house B), may I know which of this option describe between your house A and house B?
1. Your house A and house B is just next to each other, or easily within sight, within 30 meters.
2. Your house A is much further away from house B, more than 50 meters.

For 1) Wireless N bridge is your solution, might be expensive but you can actually share to even your neighbours provided only 1 or 2 streams it at the same time. This is even easier if house A and house B just next to a wall, just provide short outdoor LAN cable link to each device and you're set to go.
2) Slightly tedious as you might spend more on wireless solution, good directional antenna is expensive unless you willing to fork them out. sweat.gif There's another solution if both house is really far away, UNIFI could be another solution, with the unlimited bandwidth still impose.

All of these require some form of set-up and little knowledge to network solution. Or just cut all the chase and bring huge external HDD. whistling.gif
wildwestgoh
post Aug 19 2013, 10:06 AM

2,215 posts

QUOTE(arslow @ Aug 19 2013, 12:23 AM)
Hmm, thats weird because using my iTouch 5 I could use SMB on certain video players available on the  app store, but then again, they are not as reliable as plex though, so I guess you  are right.

Went and see the difference between the 213 and 213+, minimal difference with just the main difference in the type of CPU, so the 213 is a better buy, at least I still have the choice of Plex with it lol.

But, I accidentally found this while googling drool.gif

http://forum.synology.com/enu/viewtopic.php?f=200&t=69761

The atom CE5300 is said to be able to transcode multiple video files at once, so it sounds pretty enticing hmm.gif

I wonder when did the 213 enter our market? thing is it was available since August last year internationally, so the 214 may be launched anytime soon sweat.gif
I believe the "transcode" could have means it's able to stream multiple video files without actually lag, could also means the speed is quick enough to provide multi users access without much bottleneck, this is great under heavy business network environment where network accessibility is the working nature.

QUOTE(aerozs @ Aug 19 2013, 12:30 AM)
guys, noob question here. i'm plan to share/stream movies, photos, etc inside my house for my lappy and phone. at first i look at WD Book Live (about rm400++) and also Dlink DNS-320 (rm900 with 2x2tb disk)..

but i noticed dlink wireless ac (e.g: dir 820) also can do the same things. what i need to do, just plug the external disk through USB and i can share all my files through the network.

please advise...
Dlink DIR-820 is totally different from DNS-320.
DIR-820 is a wireless router, provide USB storage capability but the limit is the USB speed, possibly the best is only USB2.
DNS-320 is pure NAS capability, all things about NAS can do beside just sharing.
If you only needs to access the files through USB, does not mind the speed, then you can opt for the DIR-820 to access your USB storage. NAS can do more just file sharing, you can read through the capabilities by Google search. (Not to spoon feed but I'm kinda lazy to list it out)

wildwestgoh
post Aug 20 2013, 04:43 PM

2,215 posts

QUOTE(arslow @ Aug 20 2013, 02:22 PM)
hmm, but need to see budget also lol. If the price isn't too crazy, I might be able to go for it. But I will be changing router too, that's gonna cost about 500, so network purchases this year is gonna be pretty high sweat.gif
Even if I go for two bay, DS214, Im gonna have to ready about 2.5k sweat.gif
Ah, I'm running out of space as well, and tight budget lately, high commitment. cry.gif
Want to get the N40L but it's kind of hard to get locally here (Kuching, Sarawak), wonder if I purchase straight from HP, will it be cheaper? hmm.gif
Trying to find time to sort out some of my duplicate downloads as well shakehead.gif . Organizing several hundreds of volumes (Anime series, OVA, movies) is time consuming, even with the Gigabit network. rclxub.gif
wildwestgoh
post Aug 20 2013, 05:25 PM

2,215 posts

QUOTE(arslow @ Aug 20 2013, 04:47 PM)
Woah that's high end stuff! DIY route is pretty good these days, whatnot with the Synology firmware already ported for use on PC rclxms.gif

Ah yes, duplicate files everywhere is one of the reason Im getting this NAS, its really a mess now, some files on the laptop, some one ext HDD, some on the PC, until there have been times I thought I deleted something, only to find out I have a copy of it somewhere after redownloading it doh.gif

Must make sure that from the start I make sure theres no duplicate  bruce.gif
It's hard to keep track after a long years of downloads, and the downloads just keep on coming and... you know... they just never ends, LOL.... doh.gif
And to archive means I will compare qualities, keep only the best, so the size just keep on accumulating (obviously).
I wonder about the space in my room as well after another few years. doh.gif doh.gif
wildwestgoh
post Aug 21 2013, 09:36 AM

2,215 posts

QUOTE(shadowblack @ Aug 20 2013, 07:37 PM)
Synology
Single Core 1.2 GHz
512 MB DDR3

Thecus
Intel® Atom™ SoC CE5315 Dual Core(1.2GHz Dual Core )
1GB DDR3

Dont know which one should I take.People say that synology software is the best.Dont know about thecus
Yes, Synology & possibly QNAP has been known for their firmware support and each update bring some improvement and sometimes added features so it's worth pay for the extra $$. Lots of reviews/benchmark on most of their models as well.
Thecus hmm.gif , rarely heard name, lol.. guess I'm still beginner in the NAS section, I just uses PC as NAS only. sweat.gif

0.0436sec    0.12    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 08:39 PM