QUOTE(mikeymic @ Sep 21 2012, 07:16 PM)
Congratulation an enjoy your new toy. Going to get 2 x 8GB ram soon. And HDD most probably next year. NETWORK ATTACHED STORAGE (NAS), old thread closed. please open a new one
NETWORK ATTACHED STORAGE (NAS), old thread closed. please open a new one
Sep 21 2012, 09:26 PM
1,635 posts Joined: May 2005 |
Sep 22 2012, 09:41 AM
QUOTE(mikeymic @ Sep 22 2012, 02:53 AM) Thanks. Actually it was a long trip down to Lowyat KL, no more stocks & lucky the staff was very helpful to help me check which outlet has the N36L. Luck was on my side & found it at Digital Mall PJ then rush all the way there. What a round trip.... The promotion come with 2GB RAM, you should request from them.yeap.. gonna enjoy it man.. not as lucky as u.. i only got additional 1GB ram.. |
Sep 22 2012, 11:59 AM
Sep 22 2012, 04:38 PM
QUOTE(numbertwo @ Sep 22 2012, 04:04 PM) Anyone here wanna have my 2GB ecc RAM, you may have it for RM50/-. Going to run few VM and router simulation in my N36L, so I need more RAM. I run the N40L mainly for media & torrent server plus some background monitoring tools, I found that the 8GB (non-ecc) RAM is overly excessive .. Anyone flash the BIOS with the hacked BIOS on N36L/N40L? This post has been edited by loonsave: Sep 22 2012, 04:39 PM |
Sep 22 2012, 06:13 PM
Sep 23 2012, 01:04 AM
Sep 24 2012, 01:39 PM
QUOTE(mikeymic @ Sep 24 2012, 11:39 AM) I got my 4gb x2 non-ECC ram dee.. price different varied alot compared to ECC ram. Kingston Non-ECC (RM56) vs ECC (RM185) price from Digital Mall. Yeah, ECC RAM always more expensive. Usually it only use for enterprise server. For me, Non-ECC is more than enough. |
Sep 27 2012, 08:56 PM
QUOTE(ikkifujiwara @ Sep 27 2012, 03:30 PM) Hi guys... I think jchue73 answer most of your question. But how many fixed IP you have? BIZ package should only give you a fixed IP and it's not advise to place your storage server direct to the Internet.my boss company wish to setup a nas and he ask me to research for him... purpose of using nas is to store company web system, use as local web server and local office storage... my boss intention is to set user level to access certain folder (something like user permission i guess)... can any sifu suggest wat kind of nas is suitable for such activities. fyi, my company is using unifibiz and if possible, can i set the nas with unifi fixed IP and access via internet??? thanks in advanced |
Sep 28 2012, 10:29 PM
QUOTE(ikkifujiwara @ Sep 28 2012, 04:28 PM) my company has approx 15 - 20 pcs running from 3 different offices. definitely will do RAID 1 with around 750G - 1TB harddisk is sufficient enough. unfortunately my boss dun wan install OS coz it tends to easily corrupted... i did some research and D-Link DNS-320 looks promising to me... any idea on this device??? What kind of web system you are talking? Maybe you should consider NAT?yes just 1 fixed IP... my boss need to have full time access on our web system... that's why we need to put this storage to the Internet... and we actually have a local server and its too old to upgrade any hard disk due to motherboard limitation. so my boss decide to use nas right now. okay thanks will look around its products... any recommendation model? btw, any D-Link DNS-320 user here??? Never try the 320 before, but I have a very bad experience with D-Link. Very slow IO. |
Dec 3 2012, 06:33 PM
QUOTE(CocoMonGo @ Nov 23 2012, 09:15 PM) Hey guys want to ask. Are any of you running any VMs in your N36L/N40L microservers? What VMs are you all running? I am planning to get a multi port ethernet card to install in mine. I have already decided to run one VM already and thus need at least a dual port ethernet card. But looking that the expansion slots are so limited I am trying to find out scope out what other VMs are possible and decide if I will want them in the future - and get a quad port ethernet card instead. I am running 4 VM concurrently in my N36L. The base OS is Windows Server 2008 R2, and the VM are 3 Ubuntu and 1 Windows XP.While the 3 Ubuntu breakdown into, 1.) Cacti and smokeping 2.) Tacacs+ authentication server 3.) Staging server Why you require dual port ethernet card? Do you require high IO or vlan segregation? |
| Change to: | 0.0419sec
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 09:04 AM |