4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Bottom

NETWORK ATTACHED STORAGE (NAS), old thread closed. please open a new one

denhock
post Aug 11 2010, 12:11 AM

469 posts

QUOTE(ruffstuff @ Aug 10 2010, 07:59 PM)
yeah, not many here interested on building their own NAS.  I also found that ready made nas is too expensive and it also came without hardrive.  And also most of ready NAS are using modified linux os and charge us more expensive than a decent laptop with windows on it.
for synology DS410j only RM 1350 ( without HDD)

the price u pay for synology is 20% for hardware and 80% for software.

they keep on release new firmware + new feature : min 2 major upgrade on march and sept every year.

the next DSM 3.0 will be release soon, the official DSM 3.0 will be release by Sept 2010.

if you are looking for NAS which will still working with new NB ( like u buy new NB in next 3 years: PC /MAC : Windows or OS x ) than with the new firmware upgrade/ release from time to time, this will make sure you NAS still about to communicate with you new NB.

and one more item: it save your electric bill : less than RM 100 per year ( if you turn on 24 hours x 365 days) vs if you use PC which may cause up to RM 1K per year.

denhock
post Aug 11 2010, 09:57 AM

469 posts

QUOTE(zsnipes @ Aug 11 2010, 12:27 AM)
Oh, I thought the Synology DS411+ is cheaper than TS410 (as quoted by supplier)
I just compare the feature on QNAP has more things & connections on it. I didn't compare its processor. I didn't know what's is important to compare.

I just saw a review on QNAP TS410 RAID is using software based, so is slower than hardware based RAID.
How to see is the Synology DS411+ is software or hardware RAID based ?

I'm planning to get one for office use.
My budget can buy Synology DS411+ or QNAP TS410. Or price around it also can.
Please recommend. Thanks.
Normally, NAS using software RAID. so until today, synology also using software RAID.

if for office use, Synology DS411+ is better than TS410 in term of the speed and can handle more request.

the similar to Synology DS411+ is QNAP TS-459PRO
denhock
post Aug 12 2010, 09:40 AM

469 posts

QUOTE(zsnipes @ Aug 11 2010, 11:57 PM)
Thanks. In that case, i think i go for Synology DS411+.

By the way, is there any NAS has USB3.0 now ?

I just went to check the specs for Synology DS411+, is does not has Hot Swappable HDD, but DS1010+ has it.
If no Hot Swappable HDD, in RAID-5, 1 HDD Spoil cannot replace on-the-fly ? How it work RAID-5 if no Hot Swappable HDD ?
so far USB 3.0 not available for NAS yet... I think this will happen after most of the NB/PC / external casing come with USB 3.0.

as this model is not hot-swapable model, u need to power off the NAS and replace the HDD , power on again.

1. Remove the crashed hard disk (icon with exclamation mark) as indicated in the disk status of the page, and replace it with a new one.
2. Click Manage.
3. Select Repair.
4. Follow the wizard to repair the volume.

to prevent HDD spoil, one of the best way is to use APC UPS 650VA ( RM 3xx) ,

Enabling UPS support can prevent data from being loss when an unexpected power failure occurs

Under the default settings, the system will enter Safe Mode* when the UPS reaches low battery (local UPS), or when the UPS server enters Safe Mode (network UPS). You can specify the amount of time that elapses before system enters Safe Mode after a power failure, but if UPS reaches low battery or the UPS server enters Safe Mode before the time you specified, the system will enter Safe Mode immediately.

Safe Mode*

When entering Safe Mode, the system will first stop all services and unmount all data volumes to prevent data loss, so that when the UPS shuts down, the system will be turned off safely. If the Power Recovery function has been enabled, the system will restart automatically when power is restored. You can go to the "System > Power" page to enable the Power Recovery function.

denhock
post Aug 13 2010, 09:29 AM

469 posts

QUOTE(raist86 @ Aug 12 2010, 04:49 PM)
any idea where i can get mini itx mobo for those low powered amd or intel proc? Most mini itx only has 2-3 sata ports right? Or am i looking at micro atx if i would like to build my own nas system.

Trying to build a 4 disk system below 2k... the cheaper the better..
if u want cheaper... I still have 2 units leave of DS407e ( low spec) , we can offer @ RM 999.00 ( without HDD, come with 1 year limited warranty)

so if you use 4 x 1TB HDD, total cost should be less than 2K. if 2TB , price should over 2K

denhock
post Aug 14 2010, 09:32 AM

469 posts

QUOTE(zsnipes @ Aug 14 2010, 12:52 AM)
if i choose the QNAP with Hot-Swap feature, if one drive spoil & I replace it next 2 days, can it Automatically build it back the RAID-5 without click in the management ?
as per what I know, it will auto but please make sure your new HDD is same size or bigger and same speed or faster speed.

if you slot in old HDD (with data) than you old data will gone. please take note.
denhock
post Aug 14 2010, 01:55 PM

469 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Aug 14 2010, 11:49 AM)
Hot swappable and non hotswappable, the HDD still can replace and rebuild.

Is there any advantage beside that?
yes. with or without HS, HDD still can replace and rebuild.

the main difference is non HS, you need to power off your NAS and replace new HDD. this may take about less than 10 mins ( depends on your skill)

if HS, than u can replace the HDD without power down your NAS.

if you are use for personal, this will be no a big deal but for some company, they want to make sure the NAS must be always on than this will useful for them
denhock
post Aug 18 2010, 11:00 AM

469 posts

QUOTE(guestx @ Aug 18 2010, 07:07 AM)
Does anybody knows how to move up or down queues in synology ds110j?
so far , still cannot, but today Synology just release DSM 3.0 beta, we are downloading now, will try and update later..

if anyone want to try : Synology DSM 3.0 beta link

below is some info about DSM 3.0 beta

New Features

1. Personalized Web Desktop1 :
* The new DiskStation Manager Desktop is redesigned to provide an easy-to-use and intuitive user interface. The personal Desktop keeps users' applications and functions easily accessible. Besides, it's customizable so that users can change the wallpaper and background color on their own preference.
* Main menu is comprised of control panel and all applications, from which users can freely drag the icons to Desktop, or remove it at a later time. The application icons in main menu are available to users at all times.
* Control panel consolidates all system settings where users can easily modify both software and hardware settings. Home button on the navigation bar provides instant access back to the homepage of control panel.
* Help browser is added to provide direct access to a comprehensive library of all functions’ introduction and instructions. Home button on the navigation bar provides instant access back to the homepage of Help.
* Search field on both task bar and navigation bar on Control Panel helps users to look through applications or Help at the same time.
* Search field is added to task bar on User, Group, and Domain Privileges to assist admin locating the user accounts and group with ease and efficiency.
* Uploading queue on task bar provides quick information of the latest uploading tasks.
* File task monitor allows users to check the progress of all uploading and background tasks.
* System Information and Resource Monitor help users to track the health status of their DiskStations.
* Storage Manager is added to help users easily organize their hard drives and volumes, as well as iSCSI LUN and target.
* Backup and Restore is added to provide centralized management for all your ongoing backup tasks.
* Package Management allows users to quickly enable or disable any service provided by quick install applications packed and tested by Synology.
* Notification window on task bar alerts users when a background task is completed.
* Show Desktop button allow users to minimize all application windows to the task bar, and provides instant access to restore all running applications.
2. Multitasking: Users can run multiple applications simultaneously on Desktop and switch between them instantly. Multitasking support saves users from the constant wait of refreshing the whole webpage. All running applications are placed on the task bar.
3. File Browser:
* File Browser provides easy file navigation on Desktop.
* Drag-and-drop between two different file browsers to copy or move files is now supported and provides easy file management.
* File uploading in the background is supported therefore allows users to switch to another application without interrupting.
* File browser now replaces File Station of the default management UI port. File Station on the customized port remains the same.
4. EXT4 (not available on 7-series, DS108j, DS109j, and DS209j):
* EXT4 file system is now supported to allow volumes with sizes up to 1 Exabyte and files with sizes up to 16 Terabytes.
* The number of subdirectories that a share folder can contain is up to 64,000.
5. Linux Kernel (not available on 7-series, DS108j, DS109j, and DS209j): Linux Kernel is now upgraded to 2.6.32.
6. Windows Access Control List2 (not available on 7-series, DS108j, DS109j, and DS209j):
* Windows Access Control List (ACL) is now supported3 to enhance data security and the compatibility with Windows®. Users can easily set up the Windows ACL privileges on share folders and files on DiskStation in a Windows environment.
* Allow access permissions to be granted or denied for every file object, providing much finer-grained access control and a greater degree of selectivity.
* 13 security attributes are supported to offer a variety of security levels.
7. iSCSI Enhancements:
* LUN mapping support allows multiple LUNs to be mapped to each iSCSI Target.
* iSCSI Target masking support provides access control for each iSCSI initiators. (not available on 7-series, DS108j, DS109j, and DS209j)
* Multiple iSCSI Connections per iSCSI Session (MC/S) support allows iSCSI initiator to use multiple connections for storing data to or fetching data from a Synology DiskStation to prevent single connection failure, it also provides load balancing. (not available on 7-series, DS108j, DS109j, and DS209j)
* SPC-3 PR module is implemented to provide failover clustering support in Microsoft® Windows Server 2008. (not available on 7-series, DS108j, DS109j, and DS209j)
8. Surveillance Station 5:
* 253 more IP camera models from Sanyo, Toshiba, Cisco, AirLive, Messoa, TP-Link, Etrovision, and other brands are now supported. View the complete list here.
* ONVIF and PSIA support provides the compatibility between Surveillance Station 5 and ONVIF and PSIA compliant IP cameras.
* The whole user interface is revamped to provide easy navigation and easy-to-use user experience. Larger viewable area is available in Live View and Timeline.
* 25 channels & 36 channels layout are now added in Live View to offer users who utilize the centralized management on Surveillance Station with more options.
* Non-sync mode in Timeline event player allows users to view events from up to 4 IP cameras simultaneously in a more efficient way.
* Time slicing is now added to Event Player to split the playing event into four equal-length clips to help users quickly glance through the whole event.
* Guard wizard is added to guide users through the process of setting up the patrol and Guard tasks with the IP cameras.
* Event filter is enhanced with new layout to help users locate the events within a timely fashion.
* Log filter is now added to help users quickly spot the log event they are looking for.
9. File Station Enhancements:
* File operations including move, copy, and delete in the background is supported to allow users to continue their work without waiting.
* Upload files with size over 4GB is now supported4.
10. iPhone App (Free download on Apple®App Store):
* DS photo is enhanced and renamed to DS photo+. It allows users to easily browse through photos and videos on Photo Station with the thumbnail slider on the go, including interactive with friends through the photo or video comments in real time. Users can easily find out the location where the photo is taken with the built-in Google map, and they can download and store the pictures onto their iPhone/iPod touch and enjoy the flashbacks anytime anywhere. In addition, users can upload photos and videos from their iPhone/iPod touch straight to Photo Station with DS photo+.
11. Android Phone Applications5 (Free download on Google® Android Market):
* DS cam allows users who own an Android phone to live view IP cameras managed on Surveillance Station, take snapshots, and view recorded events stored on their Surveillance Station whenever network connection is available.
* DS photo+ allows users who own an Android phone to easily browse through photos and videos on Photo Station with the thumbnail slider on the go, including interactive with friends through the photo or video comments in real time. Users can easily find out the location where the photo is taken with the built-in Google map, and they can download and store the pictures onto their Android phones and enjoy the flashbacks anytime anywhere. In addition, users can upload photos and videos from their Android phone straight to Photo Station with DS photo+.
* DS audio allows users who own an Android phone to stream their own music stored on DiskStation on the go. Besides, the Remote control feature provides intuitive interface to browse through Audio Station music tank, it allows users to remote control Audio Station music playing on the attached speakers conveniently.
12. WebDAV: Web-based Distribution Authoring and Versioning is added to allow users to manage and edit files on DiskStation remotely with the support of content metadata and overwrite protection. It helps a disperse group of users around the world work on the same project as a team, which will greatly increase the effectiveness of group collaboration.
13. IPv6 (not available on 7-series, DS108j, and DS109j):
* Internet Protocol version 6 (IPv6) and IPv4 networks are now both supported.
* IPv6 Tunnel is supported to encapsulate IPv6 packets for delivery across an IPv4 infrastructure.
14. EZ-Internet Router Support6: More than 60 router models from Netgear, Buffalo, TP-Link, DrayTek, and other brands are now supported. View the complete list here.
15. PHP Upgrade: PHP is upgraded to 5.3.2.
16. openSSL Upgrade: openSSL is upgraded to 1.0.0.
denhock
post Aug 18 2010, 01:29 PM

469 posts

QUOTE(guestx @ Aug 18 2010, 07:07 AM)
Does anybody knows how to move up or down queues in synology ds110j?
tested with DSM 3.0... still the same...
denhock
post Aug 21 2010, 03:28 PM

469 posts

QUOTE(Kelv @ Aug 20 2010, 02:27 PM)
DSM 3.0 can run on ds110j already? Can it revert to previous 2.3 if I install this new beta version?
yes.

Availability

The Synology DSM 3.0 beta is free to download for users who own a DiskStation x07 series and onward. The supported models are:

DS411+, DS1010+, RS810+, RS810RP+, DS410, DS410j, DS710+, DS210+, DS210j, DS110+, DS110j, DS509+, RS409+, RS409RP+, RS409, DS409+, DS409, DS209+II, DS209+, DS209, DS209j, DS109+, DS109, DS109j, DS409slim, RS408, RS408-RP, DS508, DS408, DS108j, RS407, CS407, CS407e, DS207+, DS207, DS107+, DS107, DS107e.

this mean, who own a DiskStation x07 series and onward can use. FYI, X07 series mean this product sold at year 2007 ( mean this product had been in market for about 3 years + to 4 years old)

all Synology NAS firmware upgrade is not downgradeable.

denhock
post Sep 10 2010, 11:24 AM

469 posts

QUOTE(yushin @ Sep 10 2010, 06:32 AM)
After solving the my unifi router problem, next step would be upgrade of the NAS.
Now I am looking at these 2 Synology models, DS410 and DS410J.

Besides the faster throughput for DS410, what else I get from DS410 comparing to DS410j for paying extra rm650?
1) faster speed
2) Max Concurrent Connections(SAMBA, FTP, AFP) : 256 vs 128 for DS410j
3) have eSATA port which can be link with DX510 to have another 5 HDD space
4) faster photo convert speed

Windows Upload/Download(1) (5GB File)

Photo Converting(6) (54MB of Photos)

denhock
post Sep 13 2010, 08:50 AM

469 posts

QUOTE(yushin @ Sep 12 2010, 04:27 PM)
Finally got the DS410. Formating RAID5 with 4 x 1TB hard drives takes so long...
I believe you are using complete mode. this mean Synology DSM will check all the HDD first before it start to build the RAID.

This is slower but will be more safer as this will make sure you HDD is ok and don;t have bad sector.

after this process finish, you can check the system log to see is there all bad sector or not.

if have than u better to change to another HDD.

anyway synology will auto remap the bad sector to another location. so u still can use your HDD but normally we will more prefer to change new HDD.

Form time to time, you also can use the SMART test in this Synology DSM to test your HDD.
denhock
post Sep 15 2010, 10:05 AM

469 posts

QUOTE(g-string @ Sep 15 2010, 01:16 AM)
need to ask for advice from all the sifus.

I want to build a NAS for my home, but need some advice on how to start. I currently have a PC with 2 X 1TB HDD which is almost full.

my goal is to build a home media server, that I can stream to my PC wirelessly and is able to torrent independently. and a NAS that I can daisy chain with other NASs for future expansion. Hot swap would be a nice option

2 or 4 bays is fine, but something that is easy to setup. Price wise, something affordable, under RM1000 maybe?

anyone can point me in the right direction? many thanks for the help smile.gif
below 1K budget .....

2 bays : Synology DS210j @ RM 850 ( but this unit cannot be link to DX510)
or QNAP TS-210 @ RM 999 or RM 1050 ( with 1TB HDD) or RM 1200 ( with 2TB HDD) ( offer valid while stock last)

denhock
post Sep 16 2010, 12:49 AM

469 posts

QUOTE(g-string @ Sep 16 2010, 12:04 AM)
thanks....i just checked the specs of the qnap ts-210. does it allow me to daisy chain to other ts-210's for future expansions??
No. this is entry level.. don;t have this feature

denhock
post Sep 16 2010, 11:52 AM

469 posts

QUOTE(khyron @ Sep 16 2010, 01:40 AM)
I'm having a problem on the DS410j. I set it up with 2 x2TB hdd on it. Insert the disk and install the Synology assistance. Change the ip address, region settings, etc. When the installation starts, it will start applying the network settings and i saw a tick beside it on the progress screen. After this i'm not sure what is the unit doing?  rclxub.gif As there is no indication or progress bar whether the unit is it formatting the hard drive or doing something else.  doh.gif

At the same time on the progress screen i got this message "Failed to create connection" 

The status light of the DS410j keeps on blinking in amber light.

What does it mean?

I need help here?
Normally how long does it takes to format the 2 x 2TB hdd?
u can get more info:

http://forum.synology.com/wiki/index.php/P...gy_DiskStations

http://forum.synology.com/wiki/index.php/Q...Synology_Server

few Q:
1) are you using new HDD or old HDD?
2) are you using lan cable or wireless?
3) can you log into the admin page?
denhock
post Sep 16 2010, 06:02 PM

469 posts

QUOTE(khyron @ Sep 16 2010, 12:52 PM)
Problem solved already by changin to another ip address.  doh.gif
Now its working.  laugh.gif

Added on September 16, 2010, 3:35 pmBtw what wireless dongle are compatible with the DS410j? Looking for compatible N network adapter for it. Any recommendation?
so far , synology had tested below model ( apply to DS1010+, DS109, DS109+, DS110+, DS110j, DS209, DS209+, DS209+II, DS209j, DS210+, DS210j, DS409, DS409+, DS409slim, DS410, DS410j, DS411+, DS509+, DS710+, RS409, RS409+, RS409RP+, RS810+, RS810RP+ )

AboCom WU-5204
AirLink101 AWLL6090
Asus USB-N13
Belkin F5D8053 v3
ConnectGear WU260N
D-Link DWA-140
DrayTek Vigor N61
EDIMAX EW-7711UAn
EDIMAX EW-7711UMn v3.0
EDIMAX EW-7711USn
EDIMAX EW-7717Un
SMC WUSBS-N3
Sparklan WUBR-501
TRENDNET TEW 664UB
denhock
post Sep 20 2010, 12:33 AM

469 posts

QUOTE(g-string @ Sep 17 2010, 02:50 PM)
thanks...then which one is able to daisy chain for future expansion? which model can allow future expansion to other NAS units???
for synology all the model which have eSATA can be link to another Synology DX510 to have another 5 HDD to add to the exiting HDD space, like

DS1010+ with DX510, total can handle up to 10 HDD (20 TB)
denhock
post Oct 3 2010, 11:26 AM

469 posts

QUOTE(guestx @ Oct 3 2010, 02:44 AM)
can other than rapidshare can be download by synology ds110j ?
raphidshare as well as megaupload

Added on October 3, 2010, 11:34 am
QUOTE(zsnipes @ Oct 3 2010, 10:16 AM)
approximate how long do you take ? i've planned to get these model too, but not yet ?
U using this model now ? This model has no hot swap. can u live with it ?
Can these model connect to another NAS to expand the storage space ?
THe NAS will be in the office server,
Is there a device to Backup / Image the whole NAS every months by simply connects a cable to the rear of the NAS, then it run the backup/Image, after an hour or two, I can bring back the Backup NAS Device to another location for safe keeping ?
Is there such device ? or other device can act this purposes ?
DS410j is not hot swap model, u just need to power down the unit and replace the HDD. and than power on + repair the RAID. it take about few mins.

DS410j didn't come with eSATA port unless u use DS410 which can be link with DX510 to total have 9 disk ( 9 x 2TB HDD)

you can have few ways to backup your NAS data:

1) backup to another Synology NAS ( local or remote)
2) backup to another rSyn compatible NAS/PC (local or remote)
3) to external HDD ( USB or eSATA [if any])

the total time to take to backup will depends on your DATA size. for example , if you take external USB disk (2.0) it may take about 1 hours + to backup 10GB data.

synology just release the Time BackupBeta Package ( beta version)

Release Notes of Time BackupBeta Package

Version: Time BackupBeta -1.0.34

(2010/09/20)

About This Package

Synology Time Backup package is an add-on for Synology DSM 3.0-1334 or above. After installing this package, you will have a quick and flexible way to backup and restore shared folders on your DiskStation in multiple versions. "Snapshot" technology allows Time Backup to capture the status of data within seconds. You can create back up tasks to back up data into different versions from one volume to another or to an external hard disk. What’s more, you could easily browse and restore the data of any specific time by just a few clicks.

You can easily run, stop, or uninstall the Time Backup package anytime by going to [Main Menu > Package Management] window in Synology DSM 3.0 management UI.

This post has been edited by denhock: Oct 3 2010, 11:40 AM
denhock
post Oct 4 2010, 01:24 PM

469 posts

QUOTE(zsnipes @ Oct 4 2010, 01:16 AM)
Thanks for info.
I probably get DS411+ or DS410.
Most probably I use method to backup NAS is, save to another External HDD using eSATA connection to the NAS.
Approximate how long to backup 1TB of Data from NAS to External HDD using eSATA connection ?

Secondly, how do these Backup NAS take place ? We control from the web admin page inside the NAS ?
Do it provide Sync type function ? I mean 1st Backup sure take very long time, 2nd Backup maybe my NAS updated some new files, then can the synology software inside do the SYnc, so it won't copy ALL OVER again....

1TB data use eSATA, eSATA have 3G/s , ~ 6 hours. but this will only for the first backup, the 2nd time backup will be incremental so should be ok.

all backup setting can be done in the admin page ( web page).

it support Rsync function. normally this function is to backup to/from others NAS/PC to Synology NAS.

more info:
http://www.synology.com/enu/products/featu...ckup_server.php

BTW, Synology just release new backup software:

Synology Time Backup Beta

Backup process can be time consuming. Sometimes you may also want to keep multiple backup versions just for reference. Synology Time Backup creates backup files in very little time. It also organizes your backup versions for easy management.
Quick Snapshot Backup

Stripped of the long waiting time for your backup to finish, Synology Time Backup significantly compresses the processing time to a fraction of the original time. Backup tasks can be set into schedules for auto processing. With all work processed in the background, you can continue to access and modify files while the system is at work.
Organize Your Backup Versions

It is often not easy to browse and manage backed up files, some people probably don’t know where the files are kept. To eliminate the inconvenience, Synology Time Backup provides a unique user interface for you to easily flip through all versions in sequence. This allows you to track the timeline to a specific version, or flip through versions to find your most recent changes much more quickly.
Instant Data Flashback

When you need to restore a file, you need it fast. Synology Time Backup helps you keep your cool with quick data flashback. Simply find the file in previous versions, and see them restored in a flash.
Optimized Version Control

Keeping multiple backup versions is important. However, knowing which versions to keep and managing them efficiently are crucial. Smart Recycle is the tool for optimized version control. It keeps the hourly backups for the past 24 hours, daily backups for the past month, and weekly backups for everything older than a month. You can also “lock” any versions to prevent it from being deleted by Smart Recycle.
denhock
post Oct 5 2010, 07:28 AM

469 posts

QUOTE(zsnipes @ Oct 5 2010, 12:54 AM)
Thanks. Very Info.
If synology got new software for backup. are we going to install it INTO the NAS itself ? and not like our regualar install into our C:\ , right ?
Do it work that way ?
this new Synology Time Backup is only work for Synology NAS.

for PC, they have Synology Data Replicator 3 which u need to be install in to your local PC.

Windows® user: Synology Data Replicator 3

Windows® users can use the Synology Data Replicator 3 to back up desktop data, Outlook®, and Outlook Express® emails to their Synology DiskStation with the flexibility of three backup modes: Immediate, Sync, and Scheduled. Data Replicator 3 is a free application provided for Synology DiskStation users
denhock
post Oct 6 2010, 10:53 AM

469 posts

QUOTE(zsnipes @ Oct 6 2010, 01:14 AM)
Wow, very excited on this features.
other than the files u mentioned it backup, Can we backup selected files we defines one ? blush.gif
in DR3, you can backup by folder or just single file ,

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0397sec    0.68    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 08:34 PM