Household [Home Appliances] Water Filter, for drinking water purpose

kamion
post Nov 21 2011, 06:39 PM

327 posts

I bought the 3M filters. Outdoor AP-902 (RM900) and indoor AP Easy Complete (RM650), inc. installation. I asked the installer to do the bypass piping for the outdoor unit, add RM80 pay to installer. Next time I know anyone going to US, will ask them to buy the filters. biggrin.gif

kamion
post Nov 22 2011, 03:24 PM

327 posts

QUOTE(@Adele @ Nov 21 2011, 10:11 PM)
kamion, hey where did u buy the 3M filters from? need to find a salesman who really know the product to explain to me..
Bought from World Perspective in Taman SEA (No. 10 Jalan SS23/11).

QUOTE(weikee @ Nov 21 2011, 09:47 PM)
Hmm, mine did foc for the bypass.
So good..... how did you manage to wrangle that one out of them?

This post has been edited by kamion: Nov 22 2011, 03:25 PM
kamion
post Dec 1 2011, 11:48 AM

327 posts

Report back on the 3M outdoor (AP-902) and indoor (AP Easy Complete) after one week of usage.

Before installing the water filters, my drinking water (after boiling) will have a funny smell after a couple of days.

After installing, the water seems like no more smell even after a couple of days in the water container. Not very scientific, but taste/smell test. haha.

Some pics:

Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image

This post has been edited by kamion: Dec 1 2011, 11:49 AM
kamion
post Dec 1 2011, 07:05 PM

327 posts

Chlorine will give bad smell only after a couple of days? I don't think so.

Outdoor unit got it for RM900. Filter change is RRP RM399.

AP Easy Complete RM650. Filter change RRP RM180.
kamion
post Dec 2 2011, 12:35 PM

327 posts

QUOTE(cvshi515 @ Dec 1 2011, 11:52 PM)
So the complete set cost you RM1299 (outdoor unit) and RM830 (indoor unit)? Are these prices inclusive of installation?
No, it's RM900 + RM650 = RM1550 including installation.

The RM399 and RM180 are for the replacement filters as and when you need to replace them. Maybe in a year or so.

I considered Bacfree, but they told me it cost RM4000++ for their outdoor filter. Compared to 3M with NSF certification, Bacfree apa certification pun tak da. I also like the idea of just swapping out the filter for RM399 every year. I imagine there can be stuff growing in the sand filter after a while, even with back wash, sure cannot get everything out.

As for the cost, maybe 8 years or so before the cost of the 3M outdoor unit will equal the Bacfree unit. If I know of anyone going to the US with luggage space, can just order online from the US to bring back. I think the replacement filters are a lot cheaper over there. wink.gif
kamion
post Dec 2 2011, 04:34 PM

327 posts

There are so many water filter brands and models to choose from. I think it will be hard to find one that everyone is happy with. Just go with whichever one you fancy. smile.gif They can claim filter down to how many microns or even nanometres, shine ultraviolet light, release ions, or whatever, but at the end of the day, who can really confirm it? Hence, certification adds some credence to the claims. But still, who knows? smile.gif

QUOTE(cvshi515 @ Dec 2 2011, 04:21 PM)
kamion, thanks for confirming.

Would you mind to let me know where you got the filter from?
Bought from World Perspective in Taman SEA (No. 10 Jalan SS23/11).
kamion
post Dec 6 2011, 10:31 AM

327 posts

QUOTE(ssshk @ Dec 5 2011, 10:46 AM)
3m indoor water filter need ele socket?
No need electrical socket.
kamion
post Dec 8 2011, 07:18 PM

327 posts

QUOTE(@Adele @ Dec 8 2011, 06:38 PM)
not considering 3M water filter dy...coz cannot drill hole at sink la..

my sink build in one sad.gif
What do you mean your sink built in? Where does the water tap come out from? Surely can drill, even on tiled concrete top can drill. I got Unity Kitchen to come back to drill a hole in the already installed quartz top. They were very obliging.
kamion
post May 29 2012, 08:50 PM

327 posts

QUOTE(venzonic @ May 7 2012, 11:44 PM)
Hi guys...after a long reading on your guys post, learning from all guru advices here; finally I have got this for my home....TADA!!!

[attachmentid=2829786]

Looks a lot like my installation. haha!

This post has been edited by kamion: May 29 2012, 08:53 PM

0.0172sec    0.44    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 12:28 AM