post Dec 27 2013, 12:47 AM

598 posts

I'm doing research on washers, cos need to get a new one soon,
have been using top loaders for over 30 years,

i wana ask front loader users,

how long does it take for your washer to finish a normal moderate load
using cold water?
ie program cotton, cold water, using quick option ( if available )
H2D
post Dec 28 2013, 02:26 PM

598 posts

QUOTE(wdarke @ Dec 27 2013, 06:06 PM)
Every brand and model is different.
For Panasonic, medium load, cold water takes about 1.5 hours.
Full load, with warm water takes 2+ hours.
There is a quick wash option, 15 mins but I doubt that would be very clean.
thx,

i'm just wondering, wouldn't front load energy consumption be equivalent to top load if not more,
since it takes longer to wash, means motor needs to run longer... hmm.gif

tho top load uses more water.. water is cheaper than electricity....

have anyone come across any front loader that has user customisable washing,
means user can control how long it washes, when rinse, spin....
H2D
post Dec 29 2013, 08:07 PM

598 posts

QUOTE(wdarke @ Dec 29 2013, 12:48 PM)

For me, the real advantage of FL is it's much gentler on clothes. Clothes are not cheap tongue.gif

which f-loader u are using?, age?

any issue with cleaning the rubber gasket? to prevent mold?
H2D
post Dec 29 2013, 11:48 PM

598 posts

warranty wars..

panasonic offers 12 year warranty for washer motor ( 8kg n above)

electrolux states 10 year warranty effective from 2nd August 2013 - 31st Dec 2013..
then 2014 what happens? increase or decrease warranty period?
H2D
post Dec 30 2013, 10:25 AM

598 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Dec 30 2013, 12:18 AM)
You suck into this warranty? They are warranty the motor only.

By the time 9yrs, you're already throwing out your WM. Others parts spoil is killing you.
i merely state only, i din mention suck into or otherwise... biggrin.gif

yes i know it is for motor only.

this warranty period for motor is of course marketing strategy to attract buyers.

since motor is reliable, whts wrong to give long warranty...?

if they can give 10 years for motor in the USA etc, why can't they offer in Msia,
its good to know here we get the same warranty as well ( at least for motor )
unlike other devices like power tools.

for consumers, of course longer warranty is better, if they are confident on their product,
y are they afraid of giving long warranty?

so far for washer, I found out Hitachi give 10y for motor, 3 year for panel, 2 year for general...

LG on the outside have very impressive features, all seems to be +++ point compared to the competition,
but they only give 1 year for general ( other parts except the motor )

i'm sure washers nowadays don't last as long as those made 20-30 years ago.

This post has been edited by H2D: Dec 30 2013, 10:38 AM
H2D
post Dec 30 2013, 12:31 PM

598 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Dec 30 2013, 10:57 AM)
I m not sure you realize that. If you looking for some electrical applicance, (example WM) the saleman will bla bla bla to you some story to the model they want to sell to you. Than will tell you 10yrs warranty on the motor !

You get hypnosis from their talking. Than you hear 10yrs warranty!. Straight away you interest and get it. You won't think detail about the con side. Your mind don't have the time to think this at all. You will still holding this point till somebody get you out from the trance.

This 10yrs warranty is not new thing. I brought a LG WM/dryer also state 10yrs warranty on the motor. Way back 2009.
Nowadays, i don't think it is easy to find out the con side of washing machine.

what most consumer can do is,

inspect each model at the shop,
compare spec given by manufacturer,
compare warranty,
compare price of diff model by diff brand

no way we can see all the washers in action..

asking for user opinion, n reviews, the most can get is a few out of thousands of users of that model...

read, understand n compare the user operation manual of each targeted model ...
H2D
post Dec 30 2013, 02:20 PM

598 posts

QUOTE(halcyon27 @ Dec 30 2013, 01:07 PM)

1. Map out the service center from where you live and also ask around that should it break down how long before a repairman comes. It's the cost of having a washer out of action. All this is relative to where you live.

very good point.

most others are using 3rd party technicians maybe...

i will b having 2 washers ( 1 old ) at home, unless both kaput at the same time...
H2D
post Jan 1 2014, 04:35 PM

598 posts

all will say front load saves water cos the way the machine operates.
but FL will have a longer normal wash cycle.

some old folks say if u use less water, it won't be clean enough, n will smell..
so front loader will have extra rinse function.

FL have this door gasket which u need to wipe it dry after u stop washing.
so an extra step of maintenance.

i'm switching to front load washer..
will pick either electrolux, lg , samsung, panasonic, hitachi...

warranty can only claim once. hmmm.. should be true for most.. will have to find out.
H2D
post Jan 1 2014, 10:24 PM

598 posts

QUOTE(fkinmeng @ Jan 1 2014, 04:00 PM)
ok, so overall, which one saves more in terms of water usage and electricity consumption? front load or top load?

different shop assistant gives different opinion, so confusing.  rclxub.gif

then next is which brand is reliable? been using panasonic, was wondering if other brands are better.
your washer is front load?
H2D
post Jan 2 2014, 10:26 AM

598 posts

QUOTE(halcyon27 @ Jan 2 2014, 10:03 AM)
Nowadays, there's Electrolux steam clean, LG 6 method wash, Hitachi has its own, Samsung ecobubble, etc, etc.

The gasket now has drainage holes, so this is less of a problem.

out of the 5 brands of fl washer i've checked, hitachi seems to be the one that offers the least 'fancy'? features.

and only LG has a visible drain hole right at the bottom of the door gasket....

the LG 6 motion thingy for front loaders...

at first it seems fancy...

but after I have watched a few more youtube videos showing FL washing, looks
like if u load the FL over a certain amount , this '6 motion' thing can't work, and
LG program probably won't turn it ON, cos the drum is just too full for the content to do fancy movements,.,,, biggrin.gif

notice the LG demo video, they only put in a few pcs of clothes...
which is way way below the 50% and above capacity of the washer...

this is a vid showing samsung ecobubble 8kg fl washer being stuffed with 5kg of load.
inside the drum looks kinda packed.
a load like this in the LG 6 motion will be = 1 motion... biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by H2D: Jan 2 2014, 10:33 AM
H2D
post Jan 2 2014, 01:22 PM

598 posts

QUOTE(halcyon27 @ Jan 2 2014, 10:42 AM)
From what I experienced since I own one, Hitachi
great,
i wana find out from you, how does ur hitachi fill the drum with detergent water and during rinsing?

does it have a nozzle like LG?

or the water just flows from the the holes of the drum from top? bottom?

This post has been edited by H2D: Jan 2 2014, 01:22 PM
H2D
post Jan 9 2014, 12:19 AM

598 posts

QUOTE(fkinmeng @ Jan 8 2014, 01:47 PM)
my current washer is TL. planning to get a new one.
im also getting a new one..

thinking of front load, but still undecided...

now seems like jap brand hitachi, panasonic, toshiba offers 3 years control board warranty,
where as the koreans only one year.... doh.gif

jap brand market is so small.. only some SEA countries.. vs korean selling worldwide...

can't even get any hitachi n panasonic user manual online... at least toshiba can download.
email hitachi cs, no response, panasonic responded less than a day...

LG's latest top load model, available in msia, but this vid is on the saudi arabia LG site.

heater function is for stain care n allergy care course and tub clean only, other than these,
heater is not used.

can't wash full load when using heating functioning course.

steam function... not sure how it is produced.. ( gimmick ?)

full ss tub, LG tub is full ss compared to others which has plastic parts, but i think
the pulsator is not ss.. they paint it to look like ss...

anti slam lid... will slowly close..

auto lint remove.. not sure how effective this function is...

the outside really look modern n stylish.. compared to big 'cheap looking' plastic tub frm jap brand...
the inside components... ?? biggrin.gif

samsung eco bubble...

arent we suppose to use low sud detergent for FL washer?

can bubbles/foam/suds be created by eco bubble using low sud detergent?

This post has been edited by H2D: Jan 9 2014, 02:30 AM
H2D
post Jan 9 2014, 05:01 PM

598 posts

after watching many vids of washers in action...
and reading ppl's comment...

the conclusion is...

mostly you will never be able to wash up to max weight...
say FL 8kg, if u wana put in 8kg of shirts into the drum...
it is not going to fit...
the vid in my post earlier... tht guy says 5kg and the drum is almost full..
and the clothes in the middle can hardly move out at all...
even if it takes 2-3 hours to wash...

if u look at the drum size of most 8kg FL washer.. it is not very big at all.
to wash effectively, load until it is half or a bit more...
n tht amount of clothes might not even be 4kg.. i think...
H2D
post Feb 7 2014, 04:33 PM

598 posts

QUOTE(jienfung @ Feb 7 2014, 04:23 PM)
Hi all sifu,

Need some advise, I am planning to get one LG WF-HX140GV type of WM. That how the sales person advise me to take this.

It this WM ok? Any other shop can recommend in Puchong/PJ, they charged me around RM2449.00.  rclxub.gif
I Not sifu, but bought the 12kg version, arrives trow. will write more later, 14kg is rm3xx more than 12kg,
Rm 1700 for 12kg.
H2D
post Feb 8 2014, 03:24 AM

598 posts

QUOTE(jienfung @ Feb 7 2014, 04:50 PM)
Please update us about the performance later, where did you bough it, mind to share with us!! I find it kinda price competitive as compare to me.

Thanks H2D
wf-hx120gv rrp = rm1999

quote from some shops...

HLK - 1699
TBC - 1720
TBM - 1750
Senheng - if member minus duno ? %
ESH - forgot, just call them
Onking - ?
Harvey - LG fler i met there said can get 1799.

these are my own assumption and opinion aft spending some time deciding/researching between fl tl...which brand... rclxub.gif

don't trust any advice frm sa, they will come out with any cock n bull when they want to dispose certain model....
today this good, trow that good... doh.gif

washers today the quality is not the same like 10-20 years ago...

any brand/model will have the tendency to break down... luck is important... laugh.gif
(maybe those expensive ones will have lesser chance)

For malaysia -
Samsung, LG - won't sell spare parts to consumers and dealers. ( called their cs to confirmed )
want to repair need to call them directly.

Pana, toshi, sharp, hitachi, electrolux - u can go there and buy parts on ur own.

LG is one of the world's largest washer manufacturer, top selling in US for several years,
their washer is sold in alot of countries.

Japanese brand mostly in SEA... can't even get/DL their user manual to study.

tbc....

This post has been edited by H2D: Feb 8 2014, 03:51 AM
H2D
post Feb 11 2014, 03:13 PM

598 posts

so.. i ended up with a LG tl...

wit a 3k budget n considered TL FL...

my own reasons..

FL
- way heavier
( need to move it, once a month to wash the floor n corner )

- more parts to remove, need more time to dismantle for servicing..

- risk mold, water leaking, spider corrosion ( rare )...

- nid to wipe rubber door seal, maintenance, leave a gap ( lotsa gecko at home biggrin.gif )

- can't tahan the longer washing time.

- pricier for same level of feature.

couldnt compare other jap brands, cos their user manual aren't available online for download...
except toshiba ( but older models )

I do not 100% believe LG's washer's features... 6 motion etc...

I believe that nowadays most brands will have the same risk of kaput etc..

there is no one well know brand which is very inferior compared to others...

never believe in SA's sales talks...

LG n samsung don't sell parts to dealers, so they ( SA ) will twist n say hard to get parts...
cos they ( dealers ) can't service ur machine.

I do not like plastic attachments in the washing tub, ie lint filters, pulsator, etc.

This post has been edited by H2D: Feb 11 2014, 03:31 PM
H2D
post Feb 11 2014, 03:28 PM

598 posts

QUOTE(jienfung @ Feb 7 2014, 04:50 PM)
Please update us about the performance later,
I still have 2 old TL Hitachi 1983 n 1996 washer at home.
both are working.

so i can't really compare this new LG washer.. cos those old flers
are from different league..

LG WF-HX120GV

most? top loading washer will include a 'rat cover' for the bottom opening.
I saw it is included for samsung.

For some LG model, this cover is optional.

for this heater series, rat cover is not included and it is not stated as optional.

For this 12kg model, the opening has 'bracket' and screw hole for rat cover.

I think, rat cover from model WF-HD110GV will fit .

nice space for geckos, roaches, spiders to hang out... etc... biggrin.gif

Does not have spirit level to aid leveling the washer.

Only the front 2 stand is adjustable.

First thing to test is the 'tub clean' function.

In the manual, duration of tube clean is not stated... ( LG trick? )

Water will be heated to 60C to wash the tub...so...

what happened is.. the washer will set water level to 1 ( out of 10 )

and slowly rotates to heat up the water.

Then it will spin n do its shaking thing to 'clean' the tub.

At 60c, there is water condensation everywhere.. ( might kill the electronic board early ? ) cos of moisture...

The total duration is 2 hours 33 min rclxub.gif

The heating time is about 33 mins.

Wattage during heater ON is about 15XX watt.

Power consumption for the whole tub clean process is about 1.4kWh

tbc...

This post has been edited by H2D: Feb 11 2014, 03:49 PM
H2D
post Feb 12 2014, 02:22 PM

598 posts

QUOTE(halcyon27 @ Feb 12 2014, 01:28 AM)
Yes, always wondering about that also for FL. Gecko droppings on my sink really irk me.  rclxub.gif
Wondering if mosquito net guy can custom made one with magnetic strip for it to adhere.
u can trap geckos using this,,,,

i only swear by this hoyhoy, others by family , ridsect all useless kenot harap ! biggrin.gif

H2D
post Feb 13 2014, 02:05 PM

598 posts

QUOTE(MELMEL2 @ Feb 13 2014, 09:23 AM)
How many kg for LG fler 1799?
it is the same 12 kg model wf-hx120gv
H2D
post Feb 13 2014, 02:08 PM

598 posts

QUOTE(MELMEL2 @ Feb 13 2014, 09:26 AM)
anyone using MIDEA (made by china biggest factory)? know the price from SA for 6.6 kg is 1050 and 8kg is 1100. Is good or not since is china brand? as usual 5year warranty for motor.
for LG WF-HD850WM, i got quoted for RM990(HLK), this is the direct drive inverter model...

0.1119sec    0.11    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 25th November 2025 - 07:02 AM