Food Fine Dining Recommendations, Romantic, Birthday & special occassions

samlee860407
post Oct 11 2011, 12:33 PM

4,631 posts

QUOTE(shortleg88 @ Oct 11 2011, 12:01 PM)
How long you all receive your Starwood Privilege Card? I've applied (with payment done) on 30th Sep, until now I'm not given the card.
not even 14 working days, wait a bit la

u shud get urs maybe next week
samlee860407
post Oct 12 2011, 05:10 AM

4,631 posts

QUOTE(deodorant @ Oct 11 2011, 05:52 PM)
you paid without finding out how it works? hmm.gif

All restaurants in those 3 hotels (westin, lmkl, sheraton imperial), only you eat free. that means 1-2 pax = 50% off, 3pax = 33% off, 4pax = 25% off. they won't allow you to use multiple cards per table, so the best is to go eat 2-3 pax only.

there are certain times/promotion periods where you can't use the card.

(if you go eat in group ... use the group dining 50% off vouchers lor)
1 person go eat is 20% discount nia, hence 1 person go not really worth IMO

Certain period like Christmas/ new year surely can't use. And the card discount not valid for wine

Prego Sunday bubbly lunch u are only entitled to 10% discount. Others u can get discount as usual unless like special occasion

If 7 ppl I think is 25% discount only or like deo say, use voucher.

samlee860407
post Oct 13 2011, 07:46 AM

4,631 posts

QUOTE(shortleg88 @ Oct 12 2011, 05:39 PM)
Thanks for the reply. I only know can use for restaurant in Westin, LM, Sheraton. 50% is for any time right, dinner included for 2 pax? Receive the card this morning , haven't see what is it though since it was delivered to home while I'm working.
not ANY time, like christmas , new year all you can't enjoy 50% for 2

but maybe around 10% only

yes...dinner included
samlee860407
post Nov 30 2011, 10:18 PM

4,631 posts

QUOTE(deodorant @ Nov 30 2011, 05:19 PM)
Boss, your understanding of "fine dining" a bit ... different than what's generally accepted.

i gona bet that, there are more people that think's victoria station is a fine dine place, if compare to those who know it's not biggrin.gif
samlee860407
post Dec 6 2011, 05:14 PM

4,631 posts

Oops post wrong place tongue.gif

This post has been edited by samlee860407: Dec 7 2011, 11:36 AM
samlee860407
post Jan 18 2012, 12:00 AM

4,631 posts

QUOTE(luvimp @ Jan 17 2012, 02:38 PM)
PJ ok?
Favola - Le Meridien
Senses - Hilton
Sage - Garden Residence
i don't really like favola

went there twice, once ala-carte and once for their buffet hi-tea (mainly pizza and spaghetti) and i dont really like it. their squid ink risotto is gooding though

ambiance is nice btw
samlee860407
post Jan 20 2012, 12:13 PM

4,631 posts

QUOTE(luvimp @ Jan 20 2012, 10:51 AM)
I do agree with Konichiwawa for what you have mentioned.
I've been to his/her blog and i was not really convinced by his/her's review.
But reviews are very subjective.
I think he/she should just talk about the food rather than giving our scoring which is pretty bias and inconsistent.
reviews are definitely subjective, and 1 man's meat is another's poison

anyway, i like to read blogs that give score (i myself is doing too)

coz well, most blog, they only mentioned good. everything is good, how can i know how good is that ?

however, if scoring is given, then when i went to that particular restaurant, then more or less i will know is my tastebud the same with the blogger, if yes, then i will trust him more, hehe

samlee860407
post Jan 20 2012, 07:19 PM

4,631 posts

QUOTE(UpCar @ Jan 20 2012, 03:52 PM)
scoring is subjective la, nobody knows how u score or whether benchmarks are used in comparison durng the scoring process also.

i have no idea what boscailo sauce is, heck i dont even know what bernaise sauce is. i only know kicap masin and maggi cilli sos and probably lee kum kee oyster sauce.

everything about food, is justifiable to that person who's dining. but for others reading. like myself, who dun know nuts about anything, we can only tell whether it is suitable for our appetite or pleasing to our tastebuds on our own.

so the scoring part will probably and most likely be used as a tool to justify whether we should go there and try or not. that said, it has always been taken with a slight bit of optimism. not concrete data.
1 of the reasons i like scoring is:

I follow a blogger name ABC, he rate some food that i loved so much at 8.0/10.

If that particular restaurants I went before, then more or less i know how much the score of 8 means to me. Then next time i will focus more on those score from 7 to 10

HOWEVER,

for a blogger that only rate good and bad, or heck, some blogger never blog about bad food, and every food he will rate as good ( I Know, bad food doesn't deserve to be bloged about, unless those with extreme bad service or famous but actually sux to the max), then how can i know which is actually the better one?

I will be more sceptical on which restaurants to visit.

again and again, we are way out of topic here biggrin.gif

samlee860407
post Jan 20 2012, 09:00 PM

4,631 posts

QUOTE(UpCar @ Jan 20 2012, 08:17 PM)
nonsense la, i can see through u liao. u like looking at scoring because u lazy to read walls of text nia. lol....
LOL i do agree with that biggrin.gif

i love blogs with great pictures (yes i know picture main tipu one, guna dslr, edit sikit become super cantik) and score biggrin.gif
samlee860407
post Feb 2 2012, 02:23 PM

4,631 posts

QUOTE(deodorant @ Feb 2 2012, 02:08 PM)
How "not too expensive" are you looking at? Valentine's Day is the worst possible day to try to save money. Almost every "romantic" restaurant will be serving some variation of a V-Day dinner that costs double what a normal dinner would cost.
and quality might not be the same coz everyone wants to splurge on that day, hence the restaurants might have to handle more customer than usual
samlee860407
post Feb 10 2012, 04:24 PM

4,631 posts

buy him the starwood privilege card lol.

RM680, inside got 3 voucher, each is worth RM200.

remember if they give you 2 card, keep 1 card for yourself biggrin.gif
samlee860407
post Feb 28 2012, 08:25 PM

4,631 posts

la bodega and daroae mana ada fine dining? =.='

This post has been edited by samlee860407: Feb 28 2012, 08:26 PM
samlee860407
post Mar 2 2012, 08:14 PM

4,631 posts

title a bit misleading liao la

this is for fine dining, romantic dinner, or celebrate birthday with the other one

not big big birthday party or Christmas party
samlee860407
post Mar 3 2012, 07:18 AM

4,631 posts

party can be categorized under special occasions

hence, thats why this thread title is a bit wrong coz party does not means fine dine
samlee860407
post Dec 4 2012, 10:28 AM

4,631 posts

give wrong info liao. salah liao. so edit post liao

This post has been edited by samlee860407: Dec 4 2012, 12:29 PM
samlee860407
post Dec 4 2012, 12:28 PM

4,631 posts

QUOTE(deodorant @ Dec 4 2012, 12:26 PM)
bang, this is PJ hilton, not KL Sentral Hilton. PJ hilton tepi is that Armada hotel.
ohhh yessh...sorry liao. that one is kl.. haha
samlee860407
post Dec 21 2012, 12:36 PM

4,631 posts

abit dark leh the photo, but the food does looks good in pictures haha

3 Pages < 1 2 3Top

0.0242sec    0.34    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 06:25 PM