[Q&A] PS3 Price Thread | V2, discussion on local PS3 pricing, etc
pysh
Aug 12 2008, 01:22 PM
QUOTE(hezda @ Aug 11 2008, 01:43 PM) Look elsewhere, you could easily save RM100 if you know where to shop and bargain hard. Of course if you want the 0% installment service, only GH has it. PS3 - RM1350 HDMI - RM20 USB Cable - RM10 DS3 - RM150 (bundle price of course) Game - RM180 (Pretty old titles, you can find those titles on the 2nd hand section, can save another RM50 - RM70 if you want) lol.. why USB CABLE RM10? i tot its bundled?
hezda
Aug 12 2008, 01:34 PM
40GB version does not have a USB cable bundles... stupid Sony. I don't know they include it now or not. I bought a 10ft long one from Play-Asia, good for playing while you recharge the controller. Added on August 12, 2008, 1:36 pmQUOTE(grimmjaw @ Aug 11 2008, 11:51 PM) hai need some advice from expert.....i'm planning to buy a PS3.but i'm currently studying in germany,just come bak for holiday....should i buy the PS3 here or in germany?its cheaper here....but is there any region problem? and any1 knows any good deals for ps3 in ipoh..? truly preciate it.thanks  Get a Asia or US console. Much better for BR movie. This post has been edited by hezda: Aug 12 2008, 01:36 PM
Cyphereza
Aug 12 2008, 01:46 PM
Jedi Catâ„¢
I got it bundled together. I have an Asian version. Weird if it's not bundled...
earthdome
Aug 12 2008, 01:51 PM
QUOTE(grimmjaw @ Aug 11 2008, 11:51 PM) hai need some advice from expert.....i'm planning to buy a PS3.but i'm currently studying in germany,just come bak for holiday....should i buy the PS3 here or in germany?its cheaper here....but is there any region problem? and any1 knows any good deals for ps3 in ipoh..? truly preciate it.thanks  better buy it here..far more cheaper..ps3 price in germany cost like a bomb..439euros for mgs4 40gb bundle..lol.. no region problems for games..
allen96713
Aug 12 2008, 05:03 PM
whether the usb cable is bundle or not bundle. you can check on the ps3 box there.
everything is state on the ps3 box. i guarantee the usb cable is bundle.
cause i selling R2 R3 ps3 , any colour.. it is come with USB cable together.. .
hezda
Aug 12 2008, 06:32 PM
My bad... it does bundle with a USB cable. Anyway, it is still too short to play and charge at the same time. So a 10ft one is pretty good.
grimmjaw
Aug 12 2008, 06:41 PM
QUOTE(earthdome @ Aug 12 2008, 01:51 PM) better buy it here..far more cheaper..ps3 price in germany cost like a bomb..439euros for mgs4 40gb bundle..lol.. no region problems for games.. ic..how bout the warranty?it will be sucks to get refurbish ps3 that cost 400 euro=rm 2000 if bought in malaysia...how much is mgs4 limted edition ps 3 here thanks
earthdome
Aug 12 2008, 08:13 PM
QUOTE(grimmjaw @ Aug 12 2008, 06:41 PM) ic..how bout the warranty?it will be sucks to get refurbish ps3 that cost 400 euro=rm 2000 if bought in malaysia...how much is mgs4 limted edition ps 3 here thanks the 40 gb grey ps3 with mgs4 (japan) bundle costs around rm1800++ n 80GB black around rm2200.. the good thing buying ps3 in germany is warranty.. in malaysia u have to send it all way back to singapore for rm300..
mr_boonez
Aug 13 2008, 07:57 AM

anyone know where can get best deals for PS3 around USJ/Subang area? thanks in advance!
wayneson
Aug 13 2008, 09:16 AM
guys i planning to buy a ps3 at Singapore, the thing i wan to ask is is there fake lens ps3 on the market now? this matter really make me worry. As the price i got from Singapore is only RM1050 40gb set ps3. Do u think this is the fake lens ps3. Please let me know, i really appreciate.
This post has been edited by wayneson: Aug 13 2008, 09:22 AM
apamacam
Aug 13 2008, 10:28 AM
QUOTE(wayneson @ Aug 13 2008, 09:16 AM) guys i planning to buy a ps3 at Singapore, the thing i wan to ask is is there fake lens ps3 on the market now? this matter really make me worry. As the price i got from Singapore is only RM1050 40gb set ps3. Do u think this is the fake lens ps3. Please let me know, i really appreciate. huh? where u get this price in sg??
manchild
Aug 13 2008, 11:34 AM

QUOTE(wayneson @ Aug 13 2008, 09:16 AM) guys i planning to buy a ps3 at Singapore, the thing i wan to ask is is there fake lens ps3 on the market now? this matter really make me worry. As the price i got from Singapore is only RM1050 40gb set ps3. Do u think this is the fake lens ps3. Please let me know, i really appreciate. That sounds like Sim Lim Square trickery. Read this: http://reviews.ebay.co.uk/PS3-Purchasing-i...000000006165336
wayneson
Aug 13 2008, 11:39 AM
i donno the actual place coz i asked my relative in sg to ask for me. soli i cant access to the link coz my office block the ebay website. maybe i check when i back home.
by the way, i juz wan to know will it possible a fake lens ps3?
This post has been edited by wayneson: Aug 13 2008, 11:43 AM
manchild
Aug 13 2008, 12:00 PM

Normally in Singapore it's not fake lens. They will start off with very low price and then say doesn't include GST and credit card charges plus u will have to buy additional games at normal price. Some more they will say it's region coded and u have to buy different set which is region free and u end up paying more or same price as sony centres in Spore.
wayneson
Aug 13 2008, 12:12 PM
QUOTE(manchild @ Aug 13 2008, 12:00 PM) Normally in Singapore it's not fake lens. They will start off with very low price and then say doesn't include GST and credit card charges plus u will have to buy additional games at normal price. Some more they will say it's region coded and u have to buy different set which is region free and u end up paying more or same price as sony centres in Spore. but i hv read from the 3rd page of this thread, they said that there are some irresponsible shop which will change the fake lens to the ps3. So it mean that it is potential buying a fake lens ps3 which will spoil in a short period. 2 months ? 1 months or maybe 1 week? who know?
GamersFamilia
Aug 13 2008, 05:09 PM
finally got my playstation 3 yesterday at gamers hideout...but the usb cable too short meh....need to find longer once while charging the controller..anyway i spend 5 hours playing ps3 last nite...niceee
Kyoyagami
Aug 13 2008, 05:16 PM
KyoYagami-myed
QUOTE(wayneson @ Aug 13 2008, 12:12 PM) but i hv read from the 3rd page of this thread, they said that there are some irresponsible shop which will change the fake lens to the ps3. So it mean that it is potential buying a fake lens ps3 which will spoil in a short period. 2 months ? 1 months or maybe 1 week? who know? If ur really scared of the warranty and fake lens issue, best place is still Sony Style at Singapore. As long as it is official distributor, there shouldn't be that problem of fake lense. but u won't get 1050 over there. but then again, warranty and peace of mind is perhaps will always be a good deal.
juine
Aug 13 2008, 05:30 PM
If want to buy at Sg, don't buy at sls.. you probably want to avoid that place at all cost. If you happen want to shop at sls only.. then there is Sony Square at 3rd floor or Tec Drom at 5th floor. Other than that want to be safe just go Sony Style , that's where I bought from.
grimmjaw
Aug 13 2008, 09:55 PM
is there any way to find out which ps3 that have fake lens?...any1 know any realiable store in Sg wang
GOodMaNn_haha
Aug 14 2008, 12:26 AM

non ori lens....old story d this issue...
like i always said,if some1 offer a price at rm1200 + / less...for a so called Brand New console...u're probably buying a PS3 that has non ori lens..or worst still,a RECON unit
caz as a seller,i would say it's really impossible to sell at this price,unless the shop doenst want to earn any profit..which is impossible..
current std price is around rm1350..
and my advice is always buy from a reputable seller...