WORLD OF CG ver 1, cg & concept art

GeneWiz
post Dec 11 2008, 05:27 PM

61 posts

QUOTE(cymon @ Nov 20 2008, 03:36 PM)

DICE puts faith in NVIDIA PhysX technology for Mirror’s Edge to take gamers over the rooftops.

In the videogame Mirror’s Edge, DICE, an EA studio, introduces players to a new heroine named Faith. Faith belongs to a network of couriers called ‘runners’ who use acrobatic moves to transport confidential information across the cityscape of rooftops and aerial skyways to avoid being detected. To deliver this never-before-seen sense of movement and perspective, DICE has turned to NVIDIA PhysX technology to give gamers an eye-popping experience on the PC.
the PhysX technology is embedded into latest graphic cards? or is it comes with a special GPU?(duh i hate to buy GPU again). i'm using 9800GT, am i able to get all those effects? i'm a big fans of Mirror's Edge, cant accept myself to play it without full features cry.gif
GeneWiz
post Dec 11 2008, 11:16 PM

61 posts

QUOTE(cymon @ Dec 11 2008, 05:36 PM)
how about invest into pro card?

i personally invest on nvidia quadro.
i customise all my dell precission workstation series with quadro.
they give me more power and work flow i need.

so far i have 2 nvidia quadro fx4600, 1 nvidia quadro fx3500 and 1 nvidia quadro fx470.
all of them give me the real work flow of i need.
nope, its too expensive and unaffordable for me currently, i wanna have a pc for surfing net and games, if wanna do work, might as well go studio work, can let boss see how hardwork i am summore , all i need is a machine tat ngam ngam can play latest games, den oni upgrade it when neccessary, liddat my wallet wont hurt so much...
GeneWiz
post Dec 12 2008, 12:33 PM

61 posts

QUOTE(cymon @ Dec 11 2008, 11:36 PM)
laugh.gif  such a hardworking...  rolleyes.gif

so what you plan now for cg industry? smile.gif
i'm still a student now, still doing my FYP currently, after that, might be back to my previous studios to work while waiting chances for singapore there loo... or if i lucky enough, i might wanna go to singapore and work right after graduate, hoping to step in game industry or VFX by next year, ha ha am i dreaming? tongue.gif
GeneWiz
post Dec 12 2008, 11:47 PM

61 posts

QUOTE(onscreen @ Dec 12 2008, 09:34 PM)
You dont need any new GPU for it. Current drivers for Quadro and Geforce have physX drivers included and will use the GPU for processing. Only the latest, Quadro FX 4800(?) and the current top of the line geforce have build in physX processor (correct me if i am wrong). So your 9800GT is on the safe side.
Start your portfolio early, if you are interested in animation, start practicing on the rigging and expression setups..if you are into modeling, start practicing your modeling in nearly all fields eg. hard modeling, organic.. etc..make sure you know the fastest way to deal with tedious UV mapping. IF you are in to post production, start understanding matte painting and so on..

Split your time between your assignments and personal projects, sacrifice abit of your holidays instead of online games addiction or hanging out with friends, start on your portfolio.

biggrin.gif Just like what cymon says but what i commented above is what i did 3 years back.
many many thx sifu! ha ha i admit i do play games and hanging around with friends, well, time for me to pack up my attitude and move forward loo...
GeneWiz
post Dec 15 2008, 06:28 PM

61 posts

the steam punk competition? was thinking over and over and wanna join! too bad i'm stuck with FYP... ha ha can i join u guys? tongue.gif
GeneWiz
post Dec 16 2008, 12:20 AM

61 posts

QUOTE(onscreen @ Dec 15 2008, 10:58 PM)
To whoever participating the CGSociety Steampunk challenge, i highly recommend an anime, Steamboy to be part of your inspiration material. It have some basic overview of how steam engine works and what you need to make your finish believable.

I am in the challenge too, for still image biggrin.gif so good luck to all wink.gif
yes, i like steamboy a lot and i like their style a lot... last exile also...

0.0155sec    0.70    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 11:53 AM