Financial Is property going to drop?, General property price discussion
Jan 6 2011, 03:58 PM
242 posts Joined: Oct 2006 |
Inflation has arrived.... oops I mean, intensity of inflation has arrived.
Jan 7 2011, 10:33 PM
At the height of the tulip bubble, no one knew it was the peak.
Each time the tulip scenario is repeated and repeated. Each time human nature said its different. Each time, its no different. Its only the human nature which has not changed. Oh btw, I do play stocks, etc. Just dont chat. So, to those property speculators, you re not the only ones around |
Jan 9 2011, 12:37 AM
Tulip has its value - ie decoration LOLz
Anyway, the tulip story had other side of it, ie, demand from the royal family, rare breed etc. They have their hype. Property wise indeed has an intrinsic value - ie shelter. However, when its trumped up hype, etc. then there is a danger. Property risk is that it is long term ie liquidity risk. One cannot just dispose it as easy as stocks. Paperwork, finding the right buyer, etc. Perhaps more like those illiquid counters some which do not even have any shares traded for days/weeks. One cannot say such counter = 0 value. The value is there. Just need to hold on, put queue, wait for the bait to be eaten. The tulip is a good lesson for mania herd mentality. Thats about it. Replace tulip with dot com. You get the dot com boom and bust. And while tulip never regained its past glory, some dot com company did survive. New ones like Google & Facebook did emerge. So what about property? My opinion, some are really hyped up. Location x3? Yeah indeed. Prime area vs non prime vs "future" prime. This may be the distinguishing factor. When the bust cycle comes, future prime may be really a distant future. One may be stuck with it with no gains in the future (inflation adjusted and taking into consideration of interest payments). Prime areas wont be affected? Or only slightly affected? Doubt so. A bust cycle will bust everything. Only the degree. Perhaps prime area would not be affected as much as other non prime but even this is uncertain. Prime today, may not be prime tomorrow. 2 yrs since this thread started, any drop ar, someone commented. Timing is another uncertain point. That said, once again, the fear is the illiquid part of it. If a bust cycle does come, all the gains which are not locked are merely paper gains. That said, no one knows when the bust cycle would indeed come. Current property market if using stock terminology - overbought. Can it be even more overbought? Can, why not? Often happen in stocks, dont see why not in properties. But speculating in stocks in a sense is easier due to the liquidity. That said, if several session of limit downs, tu pening jugak. LOLz! |
Jan 9 2011, 12:48 PM
Nah, I didnt say the bust is now
Only mentioned its overbought. And yes, its about risk management due to the liquidity issue. Say, bull run trend. At beginning of the trend, its weak. Its strongest in mid of the trend. At end of the trend is begins to weaken again. Has the trend ended? Nope. Did I say it ll end soon? Nope. When will it end? Well, once again I didnt say when. LOLz! Only mentioning that caution is to be taken since this is comparable to illiquid counter. Its easier to execute exit/stops with liquid counters compared to illiquid counters even when bust cycle comes. Again, I reiterate - the difference in risk management |
Jan 9 2011, 04:08 PM
LOLz... no worries on my stock speculation. Live by the sword die by the sword.
Anyway, doubt helicopter Ben will wait 5 yrs to raise interest rate oh. |
Jan 9 2011, 10:26 PM
SHIOK!
LOLz! |
Jan 10 2011, 11:28 PM
QUOTE(Onemorething @ Jan 10 2011, 10:07 AM) May I quote from a book written by Carmen M. Reinhart & Kenneth S. Rogoff. Exactly my point. The books title is THIS TIME IS DIFFERENT. Eight Centuries of Financial Folly. I will quote just one paragraph. THIS TIME IS DIFFERENT SYNDROME. The essence of this-time-is-different syndrome is different is simple. It is rooted in firmly held belief that financial crisis are things that happen to other people in other countries at other times; crises do not happen to us, here and now. We are doing things better , we are smarter, we have learned from from past mistakes. The old rules of valuation no longer apply. The current BOOM, unlike the many BOOMS that preceded catastrophic collapses in the past (even in our country) ,is built on sound fundamentals , structural reforms, technological innovation, and good policy. Or so the story goes. There you have it. 8 centuries of the same old crap. Read the book and see what you think. Sounds like the same old FOOLS PARADISE. Each time its different one... they say. Whats not different is the stupidity of human nature |
Jan 13 2011, 12:15 AM
100bps is not small.
I d expect smaller than 100 bps. 100bps may have bigger impact. |