7 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 >Bottom

Financial Is property going to drop?, General property price discussion

Pai
post Sep 17 2010, 09:34 PM

~ Billionaire in training ~
3,318 posts

QUOTE(Onemorething @ Sep 17 2010, 07:13 PM)
come on guys, get with the meaning, you need to sell the property first, find a buyer!  This is not liquid when it's a buyers market only when it's a sellers!  Ask California residents who are now taking a 60% hit on million dollar mcmansions as there are NO buyers and actually as I stated two weeks ago, in the month of July, there was not ONE transaction in the USA of greater than 500K.

Stocks, PM's even Currencies - Equities - Bonds can all be sold quickly if needed.  Your house, car, boat and antique Ming Vase, NOT!
Chief, you need to understand that you DONT need a buyer n sell your props to liquidate your gains from props.........and I believe thats the message that Bobby here trying to convey.................

Pai
post Sep 19 2010, 04:50 AM

3,318 posts

QUOTE(Onemorething @ Sep 18 2010, 08:03 AM)
Yes Pai, agreed but what avg. malay is going to know how to do it!  There loss becomes someone else's gain.  They will never know the liquidity we are talking about here.

You keep coming at this from your highly knowledgeable position but one liners arent helping your fellow man invest in RE with options.

There are extreme pitfalls for the novice RE investor in a good market.

What is the purpose of this blog if not to assist the group with strong explanations rather than subtle soundbites!
Mate, here's my take and I've got some questions for you :

1. The uninformed investor should never invest until they've invested in educating themselves with the right knowledge.

2. The informed investor will ALWAY make money at the uninformed ones expense.

3. If you wanna compare MY VS US, then do a proper comparison for everyone's sake. Right now it seems like you are saying that just because it rains in the US, it will rain here as well. Compare unemployment rates, savings rate, property price growth in 2000-2007, how many banks oliberated etc.... THEN compare regionally. Then tell us if you still think our props prices will drop by 60%............ like in California. If not then perhaps you shaould use a more relatable comparisons instead of California.

4. There are extreme pitfalls for ANY novice investors, not just RE. In your last few post you recommended silver, swiss currency, USD, Yen, Gold etc. What are the chances a novice investor here can master all these "investments" in the next 30-90 days VS learning picking good cashflow property?

5. Like everything else, property market follows a cycle. Eventually, a crash will happen and you'll be proven right. When it does, majority of the properties will drop in prices. This we all know. But there will be some properties resilent enough, and resist the drop. So since this is a property investors forum and not a "bad news" forum and since your goodself is also an investor..............care to share which properties you think will be worth holding through out the drop?

Anyone can point out problems..........but only few can come out with a solution to a problem.......

6. IMHO, anyone who is trying to time the market is a speculator. You keep on saying prices will drop. Eventually, you'll be proven right. (again its a cycle). But can you ABSOLUTELY 100% SURE that when the drop eventually happens............. will the property prices then will be cheaper than property prices today?

wink.gif

This post has been edited by Pai: Sep 19 2010, 04:51 AM
Pai
post Sep 20 2010, 01:18 AM

3,318 posts

QUOTE(Onemorething @ Sep 19 2010, 10:58 AM)
Thanks Pai, strong response and worthy for those here to view.

As for the US comments, I only use these as an example of speculation, emotion and yes how the US woes have an ultimate effect on global investors.  The US coughs, other countries seem to get a cold.  I could have used the UK or EUROZONE as same example.

For the record, I have never said properties on KL could drop to the levels of 60%, I have maintained a correction of 10-30% based on those areas and types of props, landed or not which have had run up due to speculation only.  You will see significant drops in China, HK and SING.  Malaysia will be okay.

My point on investing is an important one, at no time should your total investment in any one asset class be too high.  In this case I use a 40% of my assets in RE as a max.  RE is easy to invest in, and in a downturn not easy to sell unless you drop your price quickly and grab some wanna be vultures before the sellers dry up and play the I'll wait for another 10% down game.

As for these other investements listed, these are the liquid ones I tend to use and with a good mixture can net an avg. of 12-15% return but still stay ready for any volatility which is what the next decade is all about....globally.  I like you around 2007 used the Buffet model but saw the bubble forming and had to learn quickly what other asset classes were needed for balance and in some cases to some heavily weighted in RE, survival!

I have been a avid RE investor for years and have done extremely well however may I subscribe that this is the first time in history where I see a very unique trend occuring which mates credit expansion with demographics.  The boomers, gen x and gen y's are all in trouble and being in one asset class such as RE is already shown to be troublesome.

The problem is simple IMHO, our people are partying and drinking from the punch bowl similar to those in the rest of Asia and world and to the point in which the RE market is defined as UNAFFORDABLE.  This is where the trouble starts and eventually ends.

The solutions as I have posted before:

1. Dont buy what you cant afford thus keeping the 40% rule in RE investments. 
2. If you can meet this criteria then it's all about location and future trends in KL and KV.  I see a highest correction in KL with affluent areas as trends (cheap borrowing/relaxed banks) driving up these the most in the last few years along with the new speculative group who have bought into new developments in these areas.
3.  If you have bought previous to 2002, no problem!  If you have purchased 2003-2004, with the run up of 50% then fine but if you purchased 2006 to now, take a look at recognizing these nice gains and sideline yourself with liquid assets ready to re-invest.
4.  RE is an emotional game right now.  The wrong trigger can turn it to negative!
5.  If the Articles in the MSM are talking about a bubble or potential for it, the position is already there and it's just a lagging response to try and curb it via measures on speculation.
6.  Industry professionals when asked to comment on the perceived formation of a bubble are all neutral to positive means they hope they can ride this one out.  You dont have an industry professional, who's livelihood depends on the health of RE this question and expect them to be bearish even when the writing is on the wall.

There are two types of people on this blog, invested and not invested.  You can guess which one I am right now.  I am not counting on the fundamentals this time as there is a massive disconnect between what is truely happening and what is perceived.  I have been there before, have won and lost but know the new game to be a divided one between the afluent and not, just like the middle class disappearing in the western world, the same will occur everywhere.

As for location, I am looking to purchase next only for personal use!  This is in these affluent areas that are most bubbled, hence my position!  As for investing, looking for land, land that can be worked with minimal infrastructure for local and export purposes.  30-60K per acre on outskirts of KV. 

That is all I can share for now!
Chief, I reckon you dont buy REs for passive income?

Added on September 20, 2010, 1:19 am
QUOTE(allyche @ Sep 19 2010, 01:19 PM)
We believe Malaysian property market is currently at the general recovery stage.
what a BS........... shocking.gif

This post has been edited by Pai: Sep 20 2010, 01:19 AM
Pai
post Sep 21 2010, 02:09 AM

3,318 posts

QUOTE(Onemorething @ Sep 20 2010, 10:04 AM)
In the past yes, moving forward no!  I believe the age of the house is over but will invest in a home during the correction.

People still have to rent though so there would be opps I might look at but with rental returns very low now and I believe in future, I will put my liquidity to work searching for higher yields and what I believe will be some rare opportunities in the sectors I follow.
Now I know why your views on our RE market is often so gloomy and why you placed utmost importance in timing your entry. Anyhow Im a yielder n I believe in buying golden goose that caters for the mass. These props IMHO are recession proof props wink.gif

Pai
post Sep 22 2010, 07:26 PM

3,318 posts

QUOTE(hakon @ Sep 22 2010, 05:20 PM)
but it seems that this cycle is very very long... when did the up-swing start? it's been a long while and has not shown serious signs of reversing... smile.gif

also, bubble or not, it will only burst if majority of buyers are speculators who cannot hold... i think there are some such speculators around but i also think a huge portion of buyers are investors who can also hold if prices drop...

so i personally think that there may be a small down-swing... but it will not be a crash.

wink.gif
Actually our prop market (KV)'s growth has been minimal for quite some time. The only real upswing we've seen from 2005 ............happens late 2009 to date. I reckon areas/development whereby prop prices has gone up above average by at least 20% in the last 12 months will be the worst hit in the impending correction. As they say, the faster you climb............the harder it'll hit you when it falls apart........ wink.gif
Pai
post Sep 23 2010, 06:15 PM

3,318 posts

QUOTE(BRAIBRISE @ Sep 23 2010, 05:16 PM)
I do found nowadays some subsale properties is cheaper than the new......
Just be mindfull of "artificial benchmark".... tongue.gif
Pai
post Sep 27 2010, 09:59 AM

3,318 posts

QUOTE(dreamer101 @ Sep 27 2010, 07:26 AM)
cranx,

The KEY to a REAL and SERIOUS real estate bubble is the abandonment of the 28% rule.  Aka, bank not allowed to make loan to people with the monthly repayment exceeding 28% of their income.  This rule was dropped in USA about 20 years ago.  Until this happened, the bubble in Malaysia will never be as serious as what is happening in USA...

Even in the 10/90 or 5/95 rule, I believe that the buyer still have to qualify for loan under the 28% rule...  Please correct me if I am wrong...

Dreamer
Dreamer, think some lenders now allow up to 50%-60%..... hmm.gif
Pai
post Sep 30 2010, 08:29 PM

3,318 posts

QUOTE(cherroy @ Sep 30 2010, 03:22 PM)
It is very dangerous to have this kind of mindset, aka try to time the market.

This is not called investment, it is purely a speculation mindset to start with.

100% agree.
Pai
post Oct 4 2010, 10:57 AM

3,318 posts

QUOTE(lowyat888 @ Oct 1 2010, 10:19 AM)
It’s getting way too costly to own a home

AS I will be getting married next year, I have been looking forward to owning my first home. However, it is really painful to witness the ever-increasing prices of houses which is outpacing my income growth.

Recently, I walked into the sales office of a new condominium project and the sales person told me the developer is giving a special eight per cent discount for units on the lower floors. The person told me that I only had to put down two per cent to secure a mortgage, as they will report to the banks the full price of the condominium, and give me the eight per cent discount without the bank’s knowledge.

Coupled with ever higher loan-to-value ratio, it sure is a sign that the market is now beyond the reach of most genuine home buyers. Otherwise, why resort to such tactics to entice buyers to sign on the dotted line?

This reminds me of the hey-day before the 2008 crash in Britain. Just before the crash, British banks were lending up to 110% of the value of a property. Any form of affordability test was circumvented by mortgage advisors who encouraged buyers to “self-certify” their income levels to declare an inflated income.

The whole of the UK was in a euphoria, and everyone was piling into the “sure-win” property market. Mortgage repossession in Britain has increased drastically in the past couple of years, probably causing ruin to the lives of those caught out.

After looking at the property market in the Klang Valley, I am now more inclined to rent my first home.

I can rent a nice house in a good area for RM2,000, whereas I would have to pay RM4,000 or more to the banks if I were to buy a similar property in the same area. Many people say renting is a waste of money. I don’t see how paying double the rent amount to a bank to service the interest is not a waste of money.

http://thestar.com.my/news/story.asp?file=...40931&sec=focus
This guy is an idiot sweat.gif
Pai
post Oct 4 2010, 02:53 PM

3,318 posts

QUOTE(eugene jk @ Oct 4 2010, 11:45 AM)
Maybe our friend need your guiding light in teaching him RE, mortgage, rental, etc ...  laugh.gif
teaching anyone who is ignorant but thinks they r dem smart is a tall order. tongue.gif

Anyhow, I'll be VERY, VERY happy if there are more idiots like this exists. Can quickly retire lioa........... brows.gif
Pai
post Oct 5 2010, 10:58 AM

3,318 posts

QUOTE(hakon @ Oct 4 2010, 04:42 PM)
kekeke... you are much more direct than me... at least when i replied to him, i was polite... smile.gif
What can I say, the best policy is an honest policy wink.gif

Added on October 5, 2010, 11:00 am
QUOTE(cody99 @ Oct 5 2010, 10:06 AM)
Site line a little....

Since China & HK has set so many restriction on property investment, do you think mainland chinese will invest in Singapore and Malaysia?

or it is happening now?
SG is an international destination.... so yes. MY, not so much altho there's a small influx of them coming over simply bcoz they think our props is too cheap...... wink.gif

This post has been edited by Pai: Oct 5 2010, 11:00 AM
Pai
post Oct 13 2010, 07:19 PM

3,318 posts

QUOTE(suang @ Oct 12 2010, 02:39 PM)
went for a preview of one of these property gurus..
the actual course abt 5k..
is it worth it? ...any opinions from those whove signed up for such courses will be appreciated.thanks
never a big fan of paying anyone to learn something, but if one has money to spare but no time to self study I suppose one should put the following into consideration :

1. If what the fella teach can shorten your learning curve. Time is money after all. If u have the dilliigence n aptitude to really learn, you can definitely save the 5k and use it as a d/p instead.

2. Some additional benefits given on top of the learnings. (maybe network, deals, valuable contacts etc)

3. Make sure these so-called guru share with you their complete portfollio before you decide. This is to ensure that you learn from those who know their stuff, and the claims they make are genuine.

And lastly, must apply what you learn else the expensive fee will be a complete waste of money...... wink.gif

Added on October 13, 2010, 7:21 pm
QUOTE(xSean @ Oct 13 2010, 06:24 PM)
Malaysia is expected to adopt tighter regulations in the 2011 Budget to curb potential dangerous run-up in consumer credit card spending and speculation in the property market.
“We believe Bank Negara Malaysia (BNM) is focusing on tackling household debt in 2011 to promote healthy credit card spending,” said Kenanga Research.

In its 2011 “Wish List”, Kenanga said the central bank should consider imposing tighter borrowing limit for the property sector to avert potential over-leveraging on the household segment and speculations.

It said bank loans should be lowered to between 70 and 80 per cent value ratio for third mortgage, it said.

Bank Negara should also consider capping maximum of two mortgages for each borrower, it said, adding that such a rule would slow down housing price appreciation rate, going forward.

Should tighter borrowing rules be enforced in 2011, it would not have any impact on loan growth this year as borrowings are anticipated to remain strong till year-end, it said.

“But we are cautiously optimistic on business loans as businesses in the next six months may be negatively impacted by global economic turmoil and Malaysia''s economy is not immuned from moderating global growth,” it said.

The research house said it was cautious for the second half of this year due to healthy loan growth but increasing risk on slower growth in the business segment, namely manufacturing and exports.

"Profit margin squeeze is directly triggered by the wave of intensely- competitive pricing, moderate growth expectation and possibility of a slowdown on mortgages if 70 per cent to 80 per cent loan-to-value ratio (LVR) is implemented.

“We see the implementation of a blanket 70 per cent to 80 per cent LVR cap as a real challenge to the industry's loan growth next year and could put pressure on retail banks,” it said.

However, strong asset quality suggested lower credit charge-off, going forward, compensating net profit for the lower top line growth, it said.

As for credit cards, Kenanga said new measures should see tougher limits on the number of cards a person could hold and lower credit limit on each card.

Bank Negara should restrict a consumer to own only two credit cards from two banks of their choice and allow people with an annual income of above RM24,000 to own a credit card from the current minimum requirement of RM18,000.

The central bank should also reduce spending limit by 1.5 times their monthly salary (currently 2.5-3.0 times), set at the bank’s discretion for first-time applicants.

“In our view, stricter credit card rules are prudent and limit the risk of rising household non-performing loans. It will curb spending-spree cultures that have surfaced in certain segments of the population recently,” it added. -- Bernama
Read more: Tighter BNM rules on property sector likely http://www.btimes.com.my/Current_News/BTIM...l#ixzz12EW1LxQ8
at 80%, it'll be BAU.

at 70%, wouldnt rule out a short term crash followed by stagnating prices for years to come.

This post has been edited by Pai: Oct 13 2010, 07:21 PM
Pai
post Oct 26 2010, 12:43 PM

3,318 posts

QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Oct 26 2010, 11:07 AM)
With all these crazy price increases, it is proof that the property bubble is already happening. As with all bubbles. it will burst and those who have bought at much inflated prices will pay a heavy price. Only upscale and stable areas will be safe. So please do not even consider buying properties in non - prime areas at these over inflated prices.
__________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Property investment in the new decade

The times have been good for property investors in the past couple of years. Prices in certain areas, particularly in selected areas of Kuala Lumpur and Petaling Jaya have risen significantly, some as high as 50 percent. And as a result of this rise, practically all property investors had made money. In fact, some people have seen their net worth jump up by 30 or 40 percent because of the price rise. For example, a young colleague who purchased their house two years ago saw the value of their house increase from RM950,000 to RM1.3 million today. Of course, the owner was all smiles when they told me the story.

I am happy for them. As an avid property investor, I have benefitted from the rise myself, so I am certainly not complaining. At the same time, I must admit that I have some reservation about the whole scenario. The price rise has distorted reality to many investors, including my colleague. Because the price climbed up as soon as he bought the property, and remained at a high level even today, his view on property investment is seriously distorted. He thinks that:

1. Prices will go up as soon you buy a property.
2. The gains will be in double digits per annum.
3. This is normal.
4. Prices always go up.
5. It is easy to make money in properties.
6. He is a super genius when it comes to property investment!

Long-term property investors will quickly point out that none of the above are true. That’s right – none! For starters, I can tell you the current situation is exceptional. It wasn’t like this five years ago, and certainly not ten years ago. I can also tell you that times are not going to remain this good forever. Prices do not rise to the sky, and interest rates do not stay low forever. In fact, interest rates has already climbed (or to use the toned down term of ‘normalised’) by 75 basis points already this year.

Why am I so sure of this? Simple; I have seen similar euphoria before (the first in the mid-1980s and then in year 1997 during the Asian Currency Crisis), and the story did not end well on both occasions. Like most bubbles, prices edged up slowly initially. The initial buyers made money and this attracted others to invest into properties as well. And as prices climbed higher and higher, the euphoria got to the levels that some people were rushing to buy because they were scared that the prices will spiral out of their reach if they do not act then. But when the market crashed, as all bubbles eventually do, a lot of people were seriously hit, a lot of money was lost, and that included seeing their properties being auctioned off by the banks.I see the same story being repeated today. On top of the ever present dangers, there will be massive challenges in this new decade. There will be much turbulence in the coming days, and some of them will be unlike what you and I have seen or experienced before. This may include double-digit interest rates, multiple bank failures, currency crashes and explosion of the derivatives market.

As a result of the new challenges, the investors using the current success formula of buying five properties at one go (by paying the minimum down payment and borrowing to the hilt) will be seriously hammered. They will experience much pain, to put it mildly. Some people will lose their properties, some will lose more than money and yes, some will become ex-millionaires.
This is Azizi's recent article rite? Few things :

1. He claimed to be an avid prop investor - Not so sure about this. His best purchase was during 97-98 crisis, and he only made 100% returns over 12 years. Can think of many others within my circle of frens who's done better, so technically they r more "avid" than him? This fella clearly makes more money selling books n seminar VS his prop investments.

2. Whats the point of predicting a downturn but dont share exactly when? Eventually he will be proven right but that doesnt make him a super genius investor? As an example, I could also predict that it will rain this week but that doesnt make me a genius weather forecaster right? Eventually it will rain, anyone can predict the same.

3. This guy, does he share his real portfoollio to public.......? A good author doesnt maketh a good investor............ hmm.gif
Pai
post Nov 10 2010, 09:20 PM

3,318 posts

QUOTE(kw_cheah @ Nov 10 2010, 04:41 PM)
Almost a week past after the 70% LTV policy announcement, can any agent or expert here point out the actual effect to the high end properties price?

Personally notice that price of some properties (landed) on advertisement has been lower this week. e.g semi-d from 2.4mil to 2.35 averagely. Could it be individual case?
Take a break for the next 6 months n if 70% LTV still around in April 2011, start hunting ........ wink.gif
Pai
post Nov 23 2010, 05:36 PM

3,318 posts

QUOTE(Veda @ Nov 23 2010, 02:03 PM)
Fortune favours the bold  laugh.gif
There's a fine line that separates the bold n the bodoh tongue.gif

Pai
post Nov 24 2010, 06:01 PM

3,318 posts

QUOTE(Veda @ Nov 24 2010, 11:40 AM)
Don't discourage her lah.  Must cheer her on. After all, people say: property prices in Malaysia always go up one ..... no bubble one .....we are still cheap compare to HK, Spore, Shanghai  one whistling.gif
Not discouraging, infact I admire people who takes WELL CALCULATED RISK. Basically :

1. The bold are an informed bunch who understands the risks & rewards, then proceed to buying.

2. The bodoh know half of the story or less but buy anyway driven primarily by the herd.

U see, both did the exact same action but one fella will suffer once the market heads south..............
Pai
post Nov 26 2010, 12:59 AM

3,318 posts

QUOTE(hakon @ Nov 25 2010, 10:33 PM)
err... if market heads south, both suffer la... the bold and well-informed who masuk also kena...  whistling.gif
I reckon the bold fella would have know what to do when market gone south......

Anyhow I think its rather ironic to see despite MY being a claimed "low income" country...........you can see ppl below their 30s yet already own a couple of props....................Also I personally know an employee here who own more than 50 properties currently.......think this is almost impossible to do in other high income countries like SG, Jap or HK............ wink.gif

Pai
post Dec 14 2010, 10:39 AM

3,318 posts

QUOTE(tzyyyang @ Dec 13 2010, 11:32 PM)
The price is really not encouraging for those youngster who wants to have their own house.. Not sure whether gomen can do something to assist lower income ppl to secure their house, especially in town area, things are too expensive..
Yet we have more youngsters (<30) owning more than 1 props nowadays............ price isnt the only factor that aids ownership..........

FINANCING is the key............. wink.gif
Pai
post Jan 4 2011, 05:30 PM

3,318 posts

QUOTE(value_investor @ Jan 4 2011, 03:03 PM)
Yes, i renovated it and rented it for 2 years at double the basic unit usual rental. I recovered my renovation cost within this 2 years, and the last 1 year choose to keep it empty as my vacation home in Penang. Before that, there was problem of strata title, bad maintenance, developer's bankrupt, parking problems, congestion. All these are now solved since residents form their own management committee after getting strata tittle. Also some new highway was building nearby. The price of the property gained almost 100% from my initial purchase price, all these without being a speculator.
this is what I term as the "accidental speculator"............... wink.gif

Pai
post Jan 4 2011, 11:41 PM

3,318 posts

QUOTE(value_investor @ Jan 4 2011, 07:09 PM)
I would define a speculator as someone expect capital gain from their investment rather than cash flow positive. In this case i do accidentally gained in capital though my initial intention is for cash flow.
Bingo wink.gif

7 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 >Top

0.0283sec    0.85    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 10:14 PM