Need help on installing Installer on 1.1.4
Jul 11 2008, 01:16 AM
3,657 posts Joined: May 2005 |
How can we unlock an iPhone without jailbreaking first? This is an interesting scenario.
Jul 11 2008, 01:34 AM
QUOTE(nokia2003 @ Jul 11 2008, 01:19 AM) Errr let me rephrase dat ... Is it possible to unlock an iPhone thats not been jailbroken?Unlock = enabling the phone to accept any sim from other telcos other than on the intended telco. Jailbreak = opening the phone system to user to access all the system files and lift up any restriction on it. |
Jul 11 2008, 06:16 PM
QUOTE(Seaedge @ Jul 11 2008, 07:39 AM) byte... that scenario i kena ler... I assume your phone was jailbreak by ziphone. iPhone thats been jailbreak by ziphone will face this issue coz it did not enable a service (AFC2 or AF2C if not mistaken) to run. This only happen if you use iphonebrowser, it will show that the phone has not been jailbreak. If u use SSH, u can view all the filesytem. To overcome this, install ZiPhone iBrickr fix from iClarified (or was it i.unlock.no ... err mana mana la). This fix will enable the service and iphonebrowser will detect it as jailbroken.i bought my iphone unlocked and supposed to be jailbroken, but when i use iphonebrowser.. it shows not jailbreak, but it is unlocked. so i download iliberty+ and try to jailbreak without restore... jailbreak successful... but then got a bit problem. so i full restore and do the whole process all over again. Last time u got problem coz u jailbreak an already jailbroken phone. Of couse la kaput. |
Jul 11 2008, 06:20 PM
And to answer my question back ... no its not possible to unlock (software based unlock) an iPhone without jailbreaking it first.
Added on July 11, 2008, 6:21 pm QUOTE(Corvinux @ Jul 11 2008, 06:20 PM) Waaa ini org lama tarak nampak ... sekarang masuk buat kacau aaaa. This post has been edited by frozzbyte: Jul 11 2008, 06:21 PM |
Jul 12 2008, 11:59 PM
Sorry lukasl. Seems like we were discussing about something else that we've forgotten about your problem.
Ok here goes. Seems like we/you don't know what kind of jailbreaking method was used, its not safe just to assume whether it was with ziphone or iliberty. So here is my suggestion. Just wait for a week or so since FW2.0 is already out and the means to jailbreak/unlock it is almost done. But there's a trade off with this, most of the existing app from installer are not compatible with FW2.0. All or most of the developers will port existing app to work with FW2.0 but it may take some time (for testing purposes). The other option would be pwning it with winpwn. This would be the best tool (for windows) at the moment. It would also be a good choice to restore back since you don't know what kind of application was used the last time it was jailbreak and start evereything fresh. The plus point to this, you get to enjoy the abundance of app from installer or cydia. But remember one thing, the developers are gearing up to embrace FW2.0 and they might not support 1.1.4 and below anymore. If you are not that interested with the new firmware than just use winpwn and restore back to 1.1.4. (Please read more and ask about winpwn) If you are interested with FW2.0, wait for it and u just have to live without installer for few weeks. Its your call. p/s - running iliberty now when you don't know what method/application was used before would cause undesirable consequences. You might end up restoring it back. |
| Change to: | 0.0148sec
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 01:35 PM |