Bank Loan

muscaa
post Jul 15 2008, 09:10 PM

1,232 posts

QUOTE(ed0gawa @ Jul 15 2008, 05:46 PM)
WOW ... sure or not 90k loan can get -2% all the way?
Actually can. The bank loan market is very competitive now. I just got my bank loan at BLR-2.3% 220k
muscaa
post Jul 16 2008, 11:53 AM

1,232 posts

"a lot of local banks are still offering blr - 2%. if the blr goes up, these banks are going to need bank negara bailouts."

Bank won't die if BLR goes up, only those house buyers with bank loan will suffer, unless you take fix interest rate. The bank are not stupid. They have clauses in the loan contract saying that they can revise the interest at any time if the BLR < 2% blink.gif

Added on July 16, 2008, 11:56 am
QUOTE(cblau @ Jul 15 2008, 10:10 PM)
May i know which bank ?
Maybank - depends on the package they offer on various housing projects
I saw one with 1st year 2.88% then BLR-2.3% throughout whole tenure. Very attractive drool.gif

This post has been edited by muscaa: Jul 16 2008, 11:56 AM
muscaa
post Jul 17 2008, 08:03 AM

1,232 posts

QUOTE(Errie @ Jul 16 2008, 11:27 PM)
Standard chartered bank is start from the date of Letter Offer...As i know others bank almost is start from 1st dibursement...  but maybank is start from full dibursement smile.gif
Maybank give me lock in period 4 years from full disbursement. But I'm buying a property which is almost 95% completed. So not much of difference.
muscaa
post Jul 28 2008, 08:29 PM

1,232 posts

QUOTE(ed0gawa @ Jul 28 2008, 08:01 PM)
first disbursement, which normally will be the MRTA
Erm... some stupid disbursement fee.
Cancellation of facility fee
Validity past but facility not used, any fees?
Early settlement fee
Any service charges
How extra prepayment are made. Any written notice needed etc...
Processing fee
Current account charges etc (cheque book blablabla)
[/b]LATE PAYMENT FEES , RM5 or RM10 for how many days... after certain days it will be based on the interest charged per day... if you wanna be a arse... ask the banker to calculate it for you[/b]

Ai.. can't remember any more charges or fee la.....
Only remember late payment, redraw and early settlement.. since that is what my bank usually charge only.... whistling.gif
Try make standing instruction to deduct money from your account for the peace of mind thumbup.gif
muscaa
post Jul 28 2008, 08:57 PM

1,232 posts

QUOTE(ed0gawa @ Jul 28 2008, 08:31 PM)
Yes and no lo...
since we still need to topup the bank account. Mana tau biler lupa topup ... tarak duit dalam
I use my account which salary was bank in for standing instruction lah, kena charge once RM10 for that cry.gif

muscaa
post Jul 29 2008, 07:57 AM

1,232 posts

QUOTE(ed0gawa @ Jul 28 2008, 10:30 PM)
Yo? Sure?
Hmm... reallllly?
Hmm....

Was told that someone got BLR -2.5% yo.. for a measly 600k property...
i'm using maybank BLR-2.3%
muscaa
post Jul 29 2008, 02:02 PM

1,232 posts

QUOTE(ychwang @ Jul 29 2008, 09:28 AM)
How much you had loan?
230k lock in period 4 years from date of full disbursement
muscaa
post Jul 30 2008, 12:39 PM

1,232 posts

QUOTE(johnsonm @ Jul 30 2008, 10:35 AM)
he has finally narrowed down to 2 banks, and you people are suggesting more banks. i tell you.... smile.gif

unfortunately, none of us have a crystal ball to tell if blr is going up or down. i was paying 6.15% for my AIA loan for quite some time, which worked out to a good rm250 per month extra, and was extremely pissed off about it. but now i am glad i have at least 1 loan that is certain. if blr does go up, then i pay up my other loans faster, and keep the aia one there to enjoy the hopefully then low rates.
Very true, with the current loan interest rate BLR-2.3%, 6.15% fixed interest rate is extremely high. Sometimes we shouldnt be fooled by the so called "fixed interest rate" as we may end up paying more to the bank.

You have to do a study on the different packages offered by different banks. You can even ask different branches for the same bank, as their branch manager will offer you a better interest rate after negotiation.

Added on July 31, 2008, 8:16 am
QUOTE(jtmy @ Jul 31 2008, 01:25 AM)
You quoted recently as per posts below that you managed to secure a Home Loan deal with Maybank from as low as BLR-2.3% throughout whole tenure. Was it a deal given on the spot or did you had to really negotiate further for it?

I am planning to secure my very first Home Loan with Maybank at the given advertised rate of 1st year 2.88% then BLR-2.2% throughout whole tenure at the moment.

I did asked about negotiating it higher to BLR -2.3%, since its quite a pricey 385K loan, however the banker insisted that unless I can actually present an offer letter from another bank with better rates to match up to them, they can only stick to BLR-2.2% for now.

To me, since this is going to be a 40 year loan tenure, even the slightest 0.1% makes a whole lot difference in the long run.

I would really like to seek your kind advise on this since you were lucky enough to secure such a good deal with them. Would you be able to introduce the banker who provided the package to you?

Any help/ideas would be much appreciated as I would need to sign my SNP by this weekend
jtmy,

Where are you planning to buy the houses? The developer have their own panel bank list for house loan (usually the deal is better and disbursement is faster)

1st year 2.88% and then whole tenure BLR-2.2% is a good deal if you are taking the zero entry plan (mine is non zero entry so i got BLR-2.3%)

I find it even though maybank is giving a good interest rate, it has a lot of clauses in the loan contract eg. lock in period starts from date of full disbursement etc which i really dont like it.

Can do survey in other banks if you are not happy with maybank. I think Ambank, UOB and OCBC also not bad with their offer

This post has been edited by muscaa: Jul 31 2008, 08:16 AM
muscaa
post Jul 31 2008, 01:10 PM

1,232 posts

QUOTE(jtmy @ Jul 31 2008, 12:28 PM)
Hi muscaa,
I'm planning to buy my first house in Puchong. The developer indeed have their own panel bank list, however after doing some research and comparisons, Maybank seems to be offering the most attractive rates so far with NZEC Package 1st year 2.88% and then whole tenure BLR-2.2% which is similiar to your package but you manage to get better BLR-2.3% as mentioned. At this point, covering the legal fees on my own is not an issue.

My OCBC ZEC Loan has already been approved as well. They are currently offering me ZEC Rate of BLR -2.05% for entire 40 years tenure during their so-called promotion period. But looking at it from the different point of view, I would prefer sticking to something where I can save more in the long run in term of rates since this is all dependent on the current non-fixed BLR rates and I am confident in being able to settle it off earlier without much clauses involved.

Currently my mind is set on Maybank, but just wanting to negotiate further on getting the BLR -2.3% rates which would be great. Any advise would be much appreciated.

Thanks!
ok. If i'm not mistaken the new project you mentioned is bdr puteri? I think they put maybank puchong jaya branch as their panel bank. U can try to contact the jln klang lama branch (near Tmn Desa), they r the one gave me the best rate.
muscaa
post Jul 31 2008, 01:36 PM

1,232 posts

QUOTE(jtmy @ Jul 31 2008, 01:31 PM)
Hi muscaa,

The project mentioned is actually Taman Putra Prima Puchong by Developer Plenitude Permai Sdn Bhd which is just after Bandar Puteri, if I'm not mistaken Maybank wasn't listed as their panel bank the last time I checked.

Do they normally only give those rates if they are the panel banks of the developer or should it depend on the negotiation with banker/branch itself?

i think the panel bank will give u a better rate
usually we go for other banks for flexi package/fixed interest rate home loan
muscaa
post Aug 6 2008, 01:54 PM

1,232 posts

QUOTE(kevyeoh @ Aug 5 2008, 11:20 PM)
bro...
can share what are the hidden charges and TnC for Maybank loan? with such a good rate, i think sure a lot of clauses...like cannot pay off 50% of your loan within 5 yrs...this is one of 'em which i remember...
It's a Non ZEC home loan BLR-2.3%
- can put extra money into the account to reduce interest, cant withdraw
- lock in period start from date of full disbursement, 4 years(but the houses is going to be completed soon in a mth or two, no big deal)
- no hidden charges so far (but I gotta pay the legal fees RM3000+, non ZEC)
basically it is a good deal by maybank

i heard HSBC is offering flexi loan (BLR-1.95%)
lock in period 6 years
It is like current account
can completely settle the loan early during lock in period but must maintain the account with monthly charges minimum RM10/mth till 6 years

muscaa
post Aug 6 2008, 04:33 PM

1,232 posts

QUOTE(kevyeoh @ Aug 6 2008, 03:40 PM)
for HSBC it's 5yrs for that rate...i just ask about one week back i think..unless the rate just change again this week to 6yrs lock in period...
i'm very doubtful how 'flexi' is those flexi account like. The only flexi account i would probably recommend is nova scotia
muscaa
post Aug 9 2008, 09:20 AM

1,232 posts

QUOTE(kevyeoh @ Aug 8 2008, 11:09 PM)
eh...that scotia bank...actually is it reputable?
in penang only saw one branch... at i-avenue... dunno can tutup kedai anytime or not
hehe

Added on August 8, 2008, 11:31 pmanyone tried the standard Chartered KLIBOR home loan?
nova scotia always promote their flexi loan in newspaper, should be good lah thumbup.gif
citibank have not many branches but still do well in msia
muscaa
post Aug 29 2008, 03:24 PM

1,232 posts

QUOTE(ahkeong82 @ Aug 27 2008, 10:27 PM)
Today spoke to the Maybank agent

He only tell me that I cannot pay more than 6 months installments in lump sum, or there will be a penalty of 1% on what you pay
just saw the ad in newspaper
maybank are giving home loan to I&P project purchaser
ZEC BLR-2.1%
Non ZEC BLR-2.25%
Good rate! rclxms.gif

0.0292sec    0.40    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 05:56 AM