LYN Guitar Phreaks Club v8.1, 8 string madness but a string broke

gapnap
post Jul 9 2008, 10:37 PM

1,782 posts

QUOTE(SHOfrE3zE @ Jul 9 2008, 08:11 PM)
guys i need your opinion, i'm currently looking to add another boss stompbox or probably 2. i've got the metalzone already and what should i get? i'm more into all genres of rock and a bit on metal.
1.Volume pedal
2.Clean Booster
3.Delay

gapnap
post Jul 12 2008, 09:29 AM

1,782 posts

QUOTE(SkylineFreak @ Jul 11 2008, 11:39 AM)
Hi guys, I wanna ask. How do you get feedback from your guitar other than turning the amp real loud and putting it in front of the amp?
hey mate ..you can try hunting for this pedal

BOSS DF-2
gapnap
post Jul 15 2008, 09:40 AM

1,782 posts

QUOTE(blacktrix @ Jul 15 2008, 04:10 AM)
Couldn't make Guitar Center today. Will try tomorrow. Wish me luck!
But I DID buy a ton of t-shirts from Hot Topic and Spencer's gifts..... including some kick ass BLS and Dragonforce T-Shirts.

Will check out a DVD store tomorrow if I have time.
when you going NY ?

remember to try the KEBABS and sausages selling on the streets smile.gif

oh..and chinese buffet ..!! wooo
gapnap
post Jul 17 2008, 01:44 AM

1,782 posts

QUOTE(blacktrix @ Jul 16 2008, 10:09 PM)
Ok. Got back from Guitar center. didn't buy anything except for the MXR Carbon Copy and Schaller tuners. No guitar. didn't find the one I wanted..... but trying another guitar store today, so keep your fingers crossed.

Lots of killer guitars and FINALLY got a chance to play a proper Gibson Zakk Wylde LP custom. It's pretty much similar to the Epi, but of course the added weight and the neck is just beautiful to play with. tempted to buy a Gibson LP Standard with 60s neck for USD 1599..... but decided to get the razorback 255 from singapore if there's nothing good.
that is really cheap for a Gibson LP standard..but be careful ..cause guitar center does sell USED guitars ..so you make sure the whole thing is clear-lah ..
if it is used ..not worth it lor ...

anyway ...you sure anot ..Epi ZW similiar to Gibson ZW .. cannot be lah ..tongue.gif
gapnap
post Jul 19 2008, 11:44 AM

1,782 posts

QUOTE(shauno @ Jul 19 2008, 10:25 AM)
hey guys, i understand that there are teles and strats that come with 22 frets..am i right? if so, which models are those?
jap models you mean ?

i think ST 54 , basically , 22 frets are higher ends for mij ..
gapnap
post Jul 19 2008, 05:23 PM

1,782 posts

QUOTE(fatboythin @ Jul 19 2008, 03:26 PM)
Yeap, but those MIJ Strats are quite hard to come by. Ebay is your best friend in this case. biggrin.gif
you are right...it doesn't come by ..cause

the high end jap strats ..are almost same price with MIA ...people always think fender MIA is superior than fender MIJ .

.but i disgree smile.gif

so high end jap strats are super hard to sell .
gapnap
post Jul 21 2008, 10:48 PM

1,782 posts

QUOTE(enteryourusername @ Jul 21 2008, 09:50 PM)
at singapore the deal. hehe.
gotta go test it 1st, as i heard another bad things bout K orville, a low end MIJ guitar, and the sound is more or less the same as MIK epi les paul.  rolleyes.gif

nice? hehe.
do you have a link to the sale page ? pm me please...

it looks like a guitar that i sold few months ago ..back then i was listing it @2450 ..so if its 1.6 ..you should get it ..trust me it is good stuff..

the part about K Orvilles is low end is bullsh*t..i sold plenty of Orville / OBG ...imo the only difference is the pickup , Orville is some buff ass company that is very consistent with their production ..

if you notice ... the price difference of OBG and a normal Orville is the cause of internet sites.. ebay ...I think it is just a Hype created by many OBG users to bring up the resale value of OBG ....

so i am like WTF man ..get from SG ..come Malaysia..now travel back to SG again ?

pics of the one i sold

This post has been edited by gapnap: Jul 21 2008, 10:53 PM
gapnap
post Jul 31 2008, 03:22 AM

1,782 posts

QUOTE(sean392 @ Jul 30 2008, 11:38 PM)
eh?
haven't even got to the good part yet

its MIJ, its for the UK market, sure there are differences in the headstock

I'm not sure wat model is it, cause i seldom look at custom models but
from what i know, custom models might not have a maple cap, IE an all mahogany body
but if it does have a maple cap, it'll have a cap lah, tone wise, only if you're an absolute tone-wh*** you'd be able to tell the differences in the higher registers else they both sound great.

You might wanna try out the neck, this should follow a Gibson 50's neck quite closely, having quite a thick neck and an even thicker neck joint.
but it's quite a good guitar.
I don't see fret edge bindings, and the truss rod cover, so i'd guess it's an early 90's tokai LC-60
genereal specs would be all mahogany body and rosewood fingerboard

should be a great guitar, tokai makes very very good lp copies
the Tokai Les paul is from the mid 80's ...with a long tenon neck (it seems like the most important thing for me eh? tongue.gif ) ...

uhhh..can't remember about the maple cap ..so long ago ..

but , i remember the pearls on the headstock were amazing...pics ..***digging hard drive pics****

gapnap
post Jul 31 2008, 10:55 AM

1,782 posts

whats with everybody and "IIRC" ...kena influence by Everdying ?

oh yea..you can never settle down for 1 guitar .. nod.gif you will always want some sex variety
gapnap
post Aug 3 2008, 10:48 PM

1,782 posts

QUOTE(SweetTooth @ Aug 3 2008, 09:25 PM)
i myself am using an ltd ax-50 with emg hz's in them and im pretty satisfied with it. i think a big part of your sound comes from your amp, not just your guitar(very debatable subject).

about the 22/24 fret thing, i think its more of getting used to rather than playing with the extra 2 frets. how many songs actually go up to the 23rd or 24th fret? its more of a preference because if you're used to playing with 24 frets(like me), you'll find it awkward with the different fret positions on the 22 frets because the position of the 12th fret will be closer to the body of the guitar.

and yes dead eye, the 22/24 frets problem with the rr3 and alexi 200 still giving me headaches till this day tongue.gif
i've tried his guitar..surprisingly not bad for a mii ..the workmanship is definitely better than other MII that i tried before ..

never heard of 1570 being MII ..if that is true ..i think its a stupid move for ibanez to make a MII prestige ..

s392 : got lah..early september in ! ..woot
gapnap
post Aug 3 2008, 11:53 PM

1,782 posts

QUOTE(fatboythin @ Aug 3 2008, 11:43 PM)
Are you sure? I don't think there are MII Prestiges, hence PRESTIGE. Unless Ibanez want to intentionally throw away the reputation of their Prestige line. tongue.gif
well..actually it is possible lah ...

not all PRESTIGE are MIJ ...

Ibanez SA2020 prestige is MIK
gapnap
post Aug 6 2008, 01:44 AM

1,782 posts

QUOTE(Everdying @ Aug 6 2008, 01:22 AM)
funny thing about caparison tho...
when i was at tham's place...he was talking bout the 2-3 caparisons that came in for service and he said all of them had some sort of problems with the fretwork...
confirm Harbinger's guitar tongue.gif rich kid kena con eh ?

the one with John is really nice..tried it

This post has been edited by gapnap: Aug 6 2008, 01:44 AM
gapnap
post Aug 6 2008, 11:35 PM

1,782 posts

QUOTE(fatboythin @ Aug 6 2008, 11:20 PM)
I get lost at their U-Box, haha. And gappy is bringing in some Stars? Guess i'll just wait for him to bring them in then. smile.gif
And i really want to find a used Jackson Professional or San Dimas Rhoads from the 85-95 era. If i get my hands on one of those, i don't think i'll ever see sunlight again. biggrin.gif
actually ..end of the month ..

but thing is ..i am not bringing any RR ..i am trying out super strats first ...

anyway , you can make your way to fatty & skinny music , taman bahagia LRT station ..
that day i saw a Grover Jackson RR , 24 frets ..and if i am not mistaken it was going for 1k+ ..
i saw a Grover Jackson Kelly too ..maybe you wanna check it out
gapnap
post Aug 7 2008, 01:56 PM

1,782 posts

QUOTE(Dead Eye @ Aug 7 2008, 11:58 AM)
y gapnap? bring la RR, its like already booking by 3 or 4 dudes in this forum tongue.gif
hahaha..dude..you bring lah ..i hunt for used ones ..Jackson stars not easy to come by lah smile.gif
gapnap
post Aug 7 2008, 04:07 PM

1,782 posts

QUOTE(Dead Eye @ Aug 7 2008, 02:28 PM)
haha... last time i saw this jackson stars RR exactly the same as the laiho jackson. damn cun, and was about RM3k only after conversion, 2nd hand la of coz. saw at ishibashi
lol..i think soon , ishibashi can start selling advertisement space to Malaysian companies ..Maxis , Digi or something..

since so many Malaysians stalking ishibashi now tongue.gif
gapnap
post Aug 11 2008, 12:26 AM

1,782 posts

QUOTE(sean392 @ Aug 10 2008, 11:50 PM)
Anyway, what do you guys think about the Marshall Guv'nor 2 plus?
I heard a quite few clips, and I find it to my liking, around the same tone as my UK model on the Vox AD.
I'll be leaving to study abroad, so I won't be able to bring my amp, so I'm looking for a Brit type distortion alternative and I want to be able to bring around with me.

@gappy
that guys crunchbox got prob =(
Guv'nor original UK and Bluesbreaker out of my budget
? crunchbox was going for RM500 rite ...

early september i will have some 3-4 marshall bluesbreakers coming in..gonna sell em @ 550 or round there ..still thinkin bout the price ..

its not super hard to reach lor

anyway , 008 gauge easy to snap ? funny ..

my 008 never snaps ..but my 010 and 009 snaps often ..
gapnap
post Aug 16 2008, 10:06 AM

1,782 posts

QUOTE(evalshtog @ Aug 16 2008, 12:25 AM)
as unreal as it sounds i actually found a  site that sells the peavey 5150 head and ships worldwide.plus its only like 3k.hope to get it soon=)
with 25% tax .......

actually ..i forgotten ..was it 25% tax + 10% sales tax

or

15% tax + 10% sales tax...

i know pianos are 35%
gapnap
post Aug 24 2008, 01:46 PM

1,782 posts

QUOTE(sean392 @ Aug 24 2008, 12:21 PM)
fake MIK epi?
aren't those also MIC
MIC pwn themselves arh?
nola..what he meant was copies that were made in korea ..

anyway , it is possible ..i dont deny it
gapnap
post Aug 24 2008, 04:26 PM

1,782 posts

QUOTE(oxalato @ Aug 24 2008, 03:23 PM)
ok guys i need some help here wink.gif

gonna go for my university hostel's band audition in two weeks time.

what kinda songs should I play to convince them to take me in?
should i choose something which displays different kind of skills like including tapping and such,

or play the songs that I'm comfortable with (classic rock and metal)

or learn some mainstream songs? since the band plays mostly for residence activities, i think the songs that they perform are mostly mainstream too.

advices please smile.gif
take a classic or a pop song and make it to a metal version ..

for example ..i will survive , opps i did it again , can't take my eyes of you .etc .etc...

since it is your own remix , you can lay some show-off solos in the middle too ..

do not 100% follow covers , people are going to compare you with the original ..following covers is only for event and pub bands.
gapnap
post Aug 30 2008, 02:36 AM

1,782 posts

QUOTE(echobrainproject @ Aug 30 2008, 01:24 AM)
wah everyone gigging tomorrow eh?
Gapnap with Emerge, me at the NECF closing, evalshtog with his metal show!

evalshtog, try lowering gain. i am not joking. with higher wattage amps and louder volumes, lower gain can actually result not only clearer, but heavier! *metal horns up*
yeah..1 day before merdeka ...good day for events i guess..people will come ..

all the best in your gig yea .. smile.gif

0.0214sec    0.64    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 22nd December 2025 - 11:15 PM