May 19 2009, 09:07 AM
75 posts Joined: Nov 2007 |
i was at Pets Wonderland on Sunday... saw a poor hedgehog scratching himself away the moment he woke up... drink water also keep scratching...
May 19 2009, 01:57 PM
is there any difference in keeping male or female hedgehog? I read from internet that female hedgehogs do not have menstrual cycle like humans.. so is it confirmed that they only bleed if there is a male hedgehog with them?
May 19 2009, 04:38 PM
if my room has aircon switched on through the night, ok for hedgehog ah?
May 19 2009, 07:59 PM
umm.. the temperature on the aircon remote is 21 degrees.. and yes, got ceiling fan on... still need fleece inside hide box?
May 20 2009, 09:58 AM
what do they mean check whether the hedgehog "clicks"? u mean they really make "clicking" sounds?
Added on May 20, 2009, 2:08 pmhow often do you all change the bedding? for example, if i were to use breeder's celect, i have to change it everyday? also, if i need to go on a short holiday, is it safe to let others take care of the hedgehog? will the hedgehog bite? This post has been edited by runner999: May 20 2009, 02:08 PM |
May 20 2009, 05:55 PM
ah.. so how to know if the hoglet clicks?
umm... i mean when it bites, will we bleed? hehehe... |
May 20 2009, 09:37 PM
if container have open top, hedgehog can climb out? they can climb vertically ah?
what kind of wheel to buy? those with gaps can hurt hedgehogs, rite? anyone bought the cage that muchan mentioned earlier like got 2 levels with wheel inside already? anyone got tunnels for the hedgehog? |
May 20 2009, 10:17 PM
Wah.. Falling wheel quite kesian ah.. She din say the name but only mentioned it is in sunway pyramid.. Gonna check it out this weekend.. If the bottom of the cage got no gaps, then it is suitable for hedgies?
For the hidebox, can it be transparent? Or that will make the hedgehog insecure? Thought of transparent so can see what the hedgehog is doing.. Haha |
May 20 2009, 11:09 PM
Big container with wheel? So meant for animals? Which part of Jusco?
May 20 2009, 11:18 PM
If the cage got gap at the walls, may I know what is the max size allowed for the gap?
Wat do u guys do for the hedgehog if u and your whole family needs to go outstation for a week? |
May 21 2009, 06:52 AM
QUOTE(changan_vesuvius @ May 21 2009, 01:55 AM) alrite. planning to get the new zoozone. saw one at sunway piramid last week. not sure if it's zoozone 1 @ 2. no.2 is larger than no.1, right? meaning longer and higher? correct me if i'm wrong.. Nice work there!! Btw, your wheel also DIY? Look very nice :-) yeah... I also hope others will post their hedgie's housing :-Deric, if u open the top cover ur hedgie won't climb out? does ur silent wheel can fit ur hedgie? the surface is not flat, right? like half round? Guys, post some pics of ur hedgies and their cage setup. might share some ideas to others. here's mine.. at present i DIY the cage using coroplast and plastic clips. simple wan only.. [attachmentid=976137] can see my hedgie feet sleeping inside the wheel? Added on May 21, 2009, 6:56 am QUOTE(empty_reg @ May 21 2009, 06:17 AM) I've never observe mine biting or eating the newspaper. But they do scratch it. So it won't last long. Even tunnel, I only see mine sleeping inside only.. Haha, definately not like toilet roll where they play with it. Thank u for the clarification! Will go housing hunting this weekend :-)@ runner999 A week is too long, you'll need at least someone to help you look after it. You can change the bedding before you go on vacation, then pass it to someone. So all they need is to make sure there is food and water for the hedgehog. Also big container with wheels.. What eric138 meant is the storage box, with wheels or rollers at the bottom of the bottom. So we can push or drag it around. Also eric138 mentioned it cost RM 80, which I think is the huge one. I'm only using the RM 30 (on discount) felton storage box. So RM 80 one will be huge enough for everything. All you need to do is get some cable 'Dawai' to hang the water bottle. Gap at the walls, should be no more than 1cm I think. I've no experience with this, just scare they'll get stuck there when they poke their head thru. Overseas ppl do use fencing (playpen) to keep them. Saw some YouTube hedgehog clips.. Very cute la.. Platinum colour looks really nice.. Too bad Msia do not have.. This post has been edited by runner999: May 21 2009, 06:56 AM |
May 21 2009, 10:39 AM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HK0l2tqFDvM
guys, check out the link above... i saw hedgehog swimming!! haha... so cute!! i din know they can swim.... so when bathing, is it ok to put the hedgehog in the sink filled with soapy water until at the neck level? i saw someone doing that in youtube. Added on May 21, 2009, 11:03 ami understand most people say the hedgehog will poop a lot while running on the wheel and it can smell quite bad... what if we put breeder celect on the wheel as well? will it help? Added on May 21, 2009, 11:59 amhttp://www.petshack.com.my/webshaper/store/viewProd.asp?pkProductItem=792 anyone tried this food? is it supposed to be better than RC? This post has been edited by runner999: May 21 2009, 11:59 AM |
May 21 2009, 02:39 PM
anyone here knows how to do the DIY bucket wheel? can help me to make one? i don't mind paying... i see the instructions, seems mechanical for me... plus i dun have driller
Added on May 21, 2009, 3:22 pmdo we need to put anything in the litter tray? This post has been edited by runner999: May 21 2009, 03:22 PM |
May 21 2009, 08:32 PM
@eric138
hedgehog can climb out of zoozone if top cover not closed? |
May 21 2009, 08:43 PM
Oh.. So meaning whole day open top, no chance of prison break? That is quite nice..
May 21 2009, 08:56 PM
Like that, toyogo storage box also cannot prison break right? How I read that pol still say make sure storage box deep enough?
May 21 2009, 09:14 PM
Thanks eric138!
What kind of water bottle that is suitable? Also for the food tray, the normal clay type will do? |
May 22 2009, 04:15 AM
QUOTE(changan_vesuvius @ May 21 2009, 11:02 PM) i bought from carrefour subang. about 30 x 20 inch. got other colours too. i used 4 of them. can make 1m x 15 inch x 12inch. depend on how u DIY it. The base for your DIY is also coroplast? Mind showing how u join the pieces and the paper clips is for what?@runner999 make sure the food bowl not very tall for hedgie..especially for the young one. or else hedgie cannot reach food inside. heavy enuff so that hedgie won't spill the food. the one eric use good for hedgie! Added on May 22, 2009, 4:27 am@eric138 How do u hang the water bottle in zoozone? Also, if u open the top cover when u put the wheel, how u put the water bottle? Added on May 22, 2009, 4:50 am@changan Your DIY looks wide and big.. How come u want to get zoozone? Added on May 22, 2009, 8:28 amcan a hedgehog be kept at a balcony? my mum insist i put the cage at the balcony... This post has been edited by runner999: May 22 2009, 08:28 AM |
May 22 2009, 09:22 AM
i'm monitoring today to see if got sunlight... otherwise i could put just outside my house door under a big wide bench... there very shady..... but is hedgie safe outside ?
Added on May 22, 2009, 10:41 amwill it get the fly larvae infection thing? This post has been edited by runner999: May 22 2009, 10:41 AM |
| Change to: | 0.0391sec
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 02:33 AM |