9,495 posts

QUOTE(gtoforce @ Jul 13 2008, 01:10 AM)
err...seriously wat attitude?
im just giving away opinion...
wat if i try rippetoe and it didnt work
lets just say that is the case...then where do i go
Rippetoe'll work relatively well with most people, at the beginner levels. Problem is at higher levels, it becomes ridiculously difficult to complete a beginner's routine because the weight progression pace has increased to a level that's only adaptable to beginners or genetic freaks. Can't understand?

For a beginner who just started with 100LBS, it's much easier for him/her to progress to 200LBS;
Compared to a veteran trainee who's been lifting 500LBS to move to 600LBS.

See what I'm getting to? If you can complete a beginner's routine (which is incidentally or IRONICALLY, what you'll notice in more advanced training progs, it becomes more simple, with either higher volume or more weights) you'll find yourself breaking a tremendous plateau.

Get me?
pizzaboy
post Jul 16 2008, 10:10 AM

9,495 posts

you........have a phenomenal bench compared to the rest of your lifts.
pizzaboy
post Jul 17 2008, 10:14 AM

9,495 posts

QUOTE(veekster @ Jul 16 2008, 07:33 PM)
hahaha maybe i didnt attempt to try more weight on squats
but you see, i've been benching once a week for almost 6 months.
i'll try more on the squats tmrw
as of today, i went for a short arm and ab workout
Hammer Curls 5x10, 20 lbs

Standing DB Curls 5x10, 25 lbs

Tricep Pullovers 5x10, 35 lbs

Tricep Pushdown 5x10, 60 lbs

Decline Ab Crunches 5x12, 25 lbs

Leg Raises 5x20
Yoh...so many isolation exercises....why you want the pump is it?

It's not really necessary. Furthermore the concern will be more about, how well can you perform next in your upcoming workouts?
I'd rather not go about more isolation workouts, maybe just a few bicep curls and dumbbell pullovers, won't hurt but that's about it.
Pull-ups are okay though tongue.gif
pizzaboy
post Jul 21 2008, 09:36 AM

9,495 posts

QUOTE(veekster @ Jul 20 2008, 07:47 PM)
well, back to rippetoe's workout program tmrw

Gonna start on Workout B

anyways i have a question, can i use the smith machine to do my standing military press?
I explain to you how this works alright?

Your delts is meant to move 360 degrees. Try rotating your shoulders, see they move in a full circular motion right?

But the smith machine, only moves up and down.

Restricting isn't it if for your delts?
pizzaboy
post Jul 24 2008, 11:08 AM

9,495 posts

I'm gonna be a b**** tongue.gif

My bro who was 16, did deadlifts 3x5 @ 135LBS, 5x5 squats @ 115LBS and benched 95LBS at a bodyweight of 154LBS, first time he lifted weights. tongue.gif

Better bust your ass
pizzaboy
post Jul 24 2008, 03:32 PM

9,495 posts

QUOTE(Desvaro @ Jul 24 2008, 12:41 PM)
Everyone has different genes. Your brother is very lucky and blessed to have good genes.
Tell me about it. Bloody mesomorph kid can run 40 in 5 seconds and doesn't even train! Blooody kicks a futsal ball into my face from the other end of the court and it'll still come flying faster than a plane. Thank you dad for the genes! biggrin.gif brows.gif
YEH!!
pizzaboy
post Jul 24 2008, 05:12 PM

9,495 posts

it's actually pretty fast...but maybe some people can do better lah.

This post has been edited by pizzaboy: Jul 24 2008, 06:58 PM
pizzaboy
post Jul 31 2008, 08:30 PM

9,495 posts

Can you power yourself over the pain in the quads?
I really don't recommend people that just start, to reduce weights.....if possible that is.

You'd be very surprised to know that you can actually push through the pain. Depends on whether or not you want to and dare to. Your body definitely can.
pizzaboy
post Jul 31 2008, 09:45 PM

9,495 posts

He has improved a tremendous amount. However, if you constantly listen to your mind speak, and not your body speak, you end up cutting yourself short of what you can really do.

And when you do that, you can't progress. Pain is the first hindrance. Break that and you're on the second level. And then progression comes. If one doesn't increase weights, fight past pain, increase reps, increase intensity, there will be minimal if any improvement.

0.0201sec    1.15    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 06:47 PM