WTA>Is it worth buying a skyline r34 gt-t

Gouki
post Jul 8 2008, 10:05 AM

Live Life Cool
6,659 posts

Geee, from the posts in the 1st 3 pages, i wonder even half of the posters know what they are talking about, and even half of them posted actually drives a R34 GTT. RB25 cant churn out more power? The GTT cant drift well? and yada yada yada? Come on, give me a break. Do you guys even know that the S15 6-speed gearbox is kinda fragile if to be compare with the GTT or GTR gearbox? rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by Gouki: Jul 8 2008, 10:05 AM
Gouki
post Jul 8 2008, 12:44 PM

Live Life Cool
6,659 posts

QUOTE(advocado @ Jul 8 2008, 12:04 PM)
TS Said "HE DON"T MIND IF HE HAS ALOT OF MONEY", he did not say he has alot of money, please Read properly guys... He is giving himself a time to reach his target and is asking for opinion. I believe this is a genuine thread.

Skyline GT-T is good enough, all you need is to remove the speed limit and it's a great car. It's still a good car now, but don't know how many years you are giving yourself. Maintenance cost will be high due to the big turbos. Parts will be expensive compared to Evolutions as they are rarer.

Price differs alot for GT-R & GT-T, unless you have that extra cash or hardcore fan GT-T is good. Since you are a Skyline fan, I wouldn't bother comparing other cars.

But the new Skyline V36 2.5 NA, abeit lost it's traditional senses is a nicer looking car. It only has 220hp and not as sporty but it's a Skyline so I recommend it if you can find one. But it would probably cost more than a GT-R.

The main problems with sports cars is the high maintenance cost. Most of the famous JDM sports cars are good enough each having their own characters. Except the Mazda 8, other than it's looks, doesn't have any character at all. Sorry Mazda 8...

*P.S: Go for the manual version. Sports cars are meant for manual. or Dual Clutch for modern ones. Saves more fuel too!

(BTW nice Skyline tailview sig)
You would be surprise if the GTT cost much lesser to maintain than an Evo in the long run. Parts are cheaper too, and no, its not rare. rolleyes.gif
Gouki
post Jul 8 2008, 09:49 PM

Live Life Cool
6,659 posts

QUOTE(oscarsmh @ Jul 8 2008, 04:52 PM)
Lol,it depends how u drive and all gearbox have its own lifespan,if breaks down then give yourself a reason to buy a nismo close ratio gearbox,i have a S15 my friends too only they bought 2 years earlier than me,t hardcore driver worn out faster cause he ram liked nuts everyday,t other 1 ram once a while until now still haven't replace his gearbox yet,but we decide to upgrade to close ratio type to have more fun.since this topic not about s15 so i din mention much abt s15 here but TS decidin to get gtt auto version so i dun tink gearbox not an issue to him kua....cheers!
I know the theory of wear and tear behind the trashing of mechanism but if you wanna make comparison among the nissan. The 6-speed from S15 aint that strong coz its developed under Nissan while the 6-speed in the GTR is from Getrag. Cheers. smile.gif

Added on July 8, 2008, 9:50 pm
QUOTE(mylpjsmy @ Jul 8 2008, 06:16 PM)
would like to know, does any1 of u know is it easy to find replacement gearbox for the auto version, especially it's using the tiptronic technology. Just afraid after so many yrs on the road, 1 day the auto gear might suddenly break down.
Get the car 1st then we are talking buddy. wink.gif

This post has been edited by Gouki: Jul 8 2008, 09:50 PM
Gouki
post Jul 9 2008, 04:11 PM

Live Life Cool
6,659 posts

QUOTE(advocado @ Jul 9 2008, 02:33 PM)
Dude I believe before buying it's a good thing to know about aftermarket parts. You don't wanna buy a Volvo to find out later that the suspension cost 10k right?

Try be more helpful.
I understand that, but if you have read the whole thread, TS is having a vision to get the GTT thru his business in MLM. Now i am not trying to attack him personally or the ideology of MLM, but i can guess he doesnt have the budget now thru his posts. So why dont he wait till he has the actual budget and intention to get the car? and i guess its not too late to open another similar thread by then. No point we are being helpful if he cant afford one yet. Although i know its good to dream or set a goal for owning such sportscar. Aftermarket parts for JDM sportscars aint cheap, that is for sure. smile.gif
Gouki
post Jul 9 2008, 04:15 PM

Live Life Cool
6,659 posts

QUOTE(advocado @ Jul 9 2008, 03:45 PM)
Nissan parts are everywhere? Are they interchangeable?

What about new car parts like GT-R, Infinity & Fuga?

What about Nissan President?

Sorry I always though only local officially available models have many parts. Time to get a Nissan!
My close friend bended his GTT's front lower arm, and he bought it for 90 bux from halfcut shop for replacement exclude the workmanship. Well, personally i think its dirt cheap, where else i cant get such price for my Honda's lower arm from the halfcut shop for sure. smile.gif
Gouki
post Jul 9 2008, 04:28 PM

Live Life Cool
6,659 posts

QUOTE(-JfD- @ Jul 9 2008, 04:19 PM)
Not easy finding a genuine R32 GTR. And if u do, costs a bomb.
The last time i saw in motortrader is 60k or 80k for a 1990 model. Yeah, pricey for a 18 years car. lol. tongue.gif
Gouki
post Jul 10 2008, 11:04 AM

Live Life Cool
6,659 posts

QUOTE(dirsly @ Jul 10 2008, 08:25 AM)
yes ...how can it bso cheap..  drool.gif  btw its all depends on ts.. buying or not v stl happy..
You'll be surprised sometimes how cheap this JDM cars parts are. Even the Toyota Altezza's front new wheel bearing per side is around RM150, while Jazz's rear wheel bearing easily cost close to RM300 per side from HM. sweat.gif

0.0163sec    0.46    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 06:00 PM