Home Theatre Blu ray players: Recommendations please, Blu ray players, which one ?
richard912
Jun 25 2009, 02:24 PM
QUOTE(Lone*Wolf @ Jun 25 2009, 02:11 PM) This thread yes, all threads, numerous. Similarly, also noticed many are not opting for the BD60 as bundle, preferring to take only the TV. Why? No plans to watch BD? Already have a BD player? BD60 is crap? If not for the package, I would have opted for a DVD player with HDMI connectivity (DV410s rocks). So the way I see it, those who are now offloading their brand new BD60 players may likely be doing so more on the basis that BD software are still not cheaply available in MY and would like to stick to DVD. My current setup (BD60>Yamaha YSP-3000>S10K) is fully Viera-linked. How cool is that
richard912
Jun 26 2009, 09:45 AM
I agree that buying online does not pose any issues except for when warranty matters arises
richard912
Jun 29 2009, 11:44 AM
QUOTE(michaeltan1943 @ Jun 29 2009, 11:41 AM) eventually bluray players would be dvd players at around RM200. I agree....if anything, history has proven itself when you look at the case of VCD and DVD players' prices....oh how they fell when the "made in China" brands start flooding the market enmasse
richard912
Jul 3 2009, 08:59 AM
Considering "lanun" BDs are selling at around RM48, I find its better to pay a little more to buy ori especially from some of the LYN forummers who import them from the States.
Besides, most lanun versions don't contain everything ori have to offer especially in terms of the special features.
With UK expected to press out and retail BDs at GBP10, hopefully prices will drop further
richard912
Jul 6 2009, 02:43 PM
QUOTE(rthj @ Jul 6 2009, 02:26 PM) sounds like we're bunch of couch potatoes. hahaha...Sounds too familiar. In the past month, I've given away my old setup to my bro-in-law. In its place, here's my investment to-date: 1. Panasonic S10K with BD60 player 2. Yamaha YSP-3000 3. A pair of Monster M1000HD cables 4. 10+ BD titles (non-uncle Ho!) and a few more on order which should be arriving this week. Expect this is going to be a monthly thingy On my to-buy list, are a good media player, NAS to support it and I will need to throw away my existing 802.11b setup for an 11n
richard912
Jul 6 2009, 04:37 PM
Lucky for me, my HM is into "home improvement" projects I undertake, so long as I can afford it, GREEN LIGHT! Besides, she's as much a couch potato as I am
richard912
Jul 7 2009, 09:21 AM
dumb question: Is the panny BD60 player sold in Malaysia region free or region A? This post has been edited by richard912: Jul 7 2009, 09:22 AM
richard912
Jul 7 2009, 10:50 AM
htkaki
Thanks for the clarification
richard912
Jul 8 2009, 01:44 PM
QUOTE(rthj @ Jul 8 2009, 01:28 PM) why bother with 1.5TB....the 2TB is available already isnt it? 4TB also available liao....but it will cost an arm and a leg ATM
richard912
Jul 13 2009, 10:12 PM
QUOTE(Lone*Wolf @ Jul 13 2009, 09:52 PM) Dunno whether this is appropriate to ask here, but here goes anyway... Is it OK to play 90% DVDs in a Blu-Ray Player? Would it 'damage' the lens? Or would it be better if I invest in another DVD player? Lens damage would typically occur as a natural part of wear-and-tear from usage. If you use 90% of a BD player for DVD playback, its better you invest in a DVD player instead. This would definitely pro-long your BD player's lifespan
richard912
Jul 14 2009, 09:07 AM
QUOTE(mpyw @ Jul 14 2009, 08:51 AM) Anyone tested the New LG BD370? looks cool....and claim that can play mkv from external HDD through USB and watch youtube on the go..... Saw at HN...list price RM1799. Checkout cnet's review on it http://reviews.cnet.com/blu-ray-players-re...7-33485559.html
richard912
Jul 14 2009, 08:49 PM
QUOTE(ar188 @ Jul 14 2009, 07:28 PM) Aiseh...it should be private joke la
richard912
Jul 15 2009, 10:29 AM
QUOTE(ar188 @ Jul 14 2009, 10:55 PM) RICHard..so free ar? don't you have to take your wifey shopping for shoes and bags..  Need.....but not on a weekday
richard912
Jul 15 2009, 12:06 PM
I have read that the BD80 has divx function which is a nice to have for hooking up external HDD thru the USB port.
richard912
Jul 29 2009, 09:17 AM
QUOTE(jmdibr @ Jul 29 2009, 01:47 AM) thanks, just upgrade my bd80 to version 1.9  Any noticeable improvements? Am planning to do mine this weekend
richard912
Aug 10 2009, 10:40 AM
I have not even tried to configure my baby to my home network yet
richard912
Aug 10 2009, 10:53 AM
QUOTE(ronnt88 @ Aug 10 2009, 10:42 AM) BD live to me is a nice to have feature... but still, to me BD is all about the movie itself... & based on our slowmyx internet speed, i must admit that i tried only once BD live for transformers last yr and since then has always turned BD-Live off because I can't stand the loading speed so is it important?? to me... absolutely NOT!! I sokong that