Home Theatre Blu ray players: Recommendations please, Blu ray players, which one ?

michaeltan1943
post Jan 29 2009, 08:24 PM

1,024 posts

QUOTE(overfloe @ Jan 29 2009, 09:00 AM)
eh, this year.. BDP price got come down or not?
I hope so as it is too inflated. My cousin bought one BDP-S350 yesterday in the UK for 199 pounds with 6 free bluray discs. Exchange rate is 5 now. So that is RM1000 only
michaeltan1943
post Jan 29 2009, 09:14 PM

1,024 posts

QUOTE(piscesguy @ Jan 29 2009, 08:53 PM)
Almost 2x the price selling here... doh.gif
Can ask ppl to bulk order from UK huh? count me in!!  drool.gif
somemore, the person bringing it back can claim 15% vat from the airport. So you get back 30 pounds back. So it is 170 pounds real price.
michaeltan1943
post Jan 29 2009, 09:24 PM

1,024 posts

QUOTE(rthj @ Jan 29 2009, 09:22 PM)
one can only get a VAT refund if he/she is visiting as a tourist. if the person is residing in UK, then the person is not eligible for VAT refund.
that is true. So good incentive for us to go for a holiday then!
michaeltan1943
post Jan 29 2009, 10:03 PM

1,024 posts

QUOTE(rthj @ Jan 29 2009, 09:28 PM)
actually if the person is residing in any of the EU countries...then he/she is not elligible for the VAT refund at all.....

to claim VAT, i think you can only claim the thing at the last port of departure from the EU area. e.g. if the person bought the thing in UK and go to France for extended trip and leave from france to msia...then the VAT refund would have to be done in france.....

plus the hassle of having the thing sealed and have to show it is not tampered with at the VAT refund counter.
Trust me, it is worth every effort. My good friend just bought a Bang and Olufsen system (beosound 4 and Beolab 3) and he carried it on board. Just the system and speakers alone, he saved like Rm30,000 compared to the Malaysian price.

I can tell you one thing, virtually every gadget in the UK is far far cheaper than Malaysia. Best advice would be, buy a few items at one go. Then at least your tambang is well worth it. Now Airasia, can do a return for RM1500.

If you get your handphone, handycam, digital camera, sound system etc, sure worth the trip.

Of course plasma and LCD TV cannot lah, it is just too big. Despite being able to claim VAT prior to sending it through luggage, I still think it is too risky to carry big items. Somemore, you know lah, all the thefts in airports.

Best to carry on board. And I think a Bluray DVD player is small enough to carry on board.

Btw, can you believe a Sharp Bluray player can be £99?

http://www.hotukdeals.com/item/326936/shar...blu-ray-disc-p/

Added on January 29, 2009, 10:13 pmAmazon is selling the BDP 350 for 169 pounds. what a shocker man! If you claim your VAT, it woul be £144 pounds.

http://www.amazon.co.uk/exec/obidos/ASIN/B...001DN1SP4304828

How much is it sold here?

We Malaysians sure kena tipu to the max

This post has been edited by michaeltan1943: Jan 29 2009, 10:13 PM
michaeltan1943
post Jan 29 2009, 10:28 PM

1,024 posts

QUOTE(ar188 @ Jan 29 2009, 10:18 PM)
yes, that's why we buy Hifi from uk when we were there..especially open box or demo stuffs dem cheap..  biggrin.gif 

but computer parts here cheaper so we go lowyat built computer system rm2k, take there and resell at 3+k..to flat mates (pay for tambang already)  tongue.gif
Lowyat generally chepaer for computer parts but for netbooks, UK and Australia much cheaper. I bought my MSI Wind with 6 cell battery for RM1000 Malaysian in Australia. Here it was shockingly sold for RM1699 then. Asus 901 is currently sold for £230 in UK but in Malaysia, it was 1699. Somemore, they bullshit and say it is no more in production globally and sell the inferior 900 with celeron.

michaeltan1943
post Jan 29 2009, 10:53 PM

1,024 posts

QUOTE(rthj @ Jan 29 2009, 10:36 PM)
my bd player is from UK....by the way...i dont think you can claim VAT back for these mail order stuff..at the store...the merchant will have to seal the product....dont think amazon does it...then again i might be wrong.

Added on January 29, 2009, 10:41 pmfunny you mentioned these....most of my audio stuffs are from msia....i moved them half way round the world because its cheaper in msia....then again...my stuffs are no bang&olufsen
bro, all mail order do the Vat. Just ask them prior to ordering. They will include the vat claim form for you to use at the airport. Amazon also does it.
I have done it countless of times, trust me.

you are right, hifi stuff cheaper in msia, I also don't know why. Even though made in England. Maybe 3rd world pricing. Cyrus, Roksan etc all cheaper here. But B & O far cheaper in UK

This post has been edited by michaeltan1943: Jan 29 2009, 10:56 PM
michaeltan1943
post Jan 29 2009, 11:24 PM

1,024 posts

QUOTE(rthj @ Jan 29 2009, 11:09 PM)
i cant claim VAT refund.

i guess one would have to coordinate these really well.....to order with VAT refund claim and get it on time before leaving europe.
they will include the vat claim form with the item sent.
michaeltan1943
post Jan 30 2009, 11:11 PM

1,024 posts

I am not sure if it is a taxable item, you need to check it out. Anyway, 99% of the time you can go through and not be taxed.

michaeltan1943
post Feb 2 2009, 12:07 AM

1,024 posts

most of the time, nobody is taxed anyway. and even if you get caught, one can always negotiate
michaeltan1943
post Feb 2 2009, 01:40 AM

1,024 posts

QUOTE(rthj @ Feb 2 2009, 12:40 AM)
just making sure uncle mike is not promoting something illegal...hehehe
nothing illegal. Mintak kurang saja. Can always bargain.
michaeltan1943
post Mar 19 2009, 03:18 PM

1,024 posts

i think can get lah, i saw a Sharp for 1299
michaeltan1943
post Jun 6 2009, 08:59 PM

1,024 posts

long time friend, where is Dune made?
michaeltan1943
post Jun 8 2009, 06:35 PM

1,024 posts

Is Israel quality good?
michaeltan1943
post Jun 29 2009, 11:41 AM

1,024 posts

eventually bluray players would be dvd players at around RM200.
michaeltan1943
post Jun 29 2009, 11:52 AM

1,024 posts

QUOTE(jchong @ Jun 29 2009, 11:44 AM)
While that would be good, what I'm hoping for is for BD discs to become much cheaper. biggrin.gif
It would. DVD was like that too. BD would drop even faster than DVD because of alternatives of getting HD like downloading mkv files and playing on WDTV.

It would be economically unviable to buy a Bluray player now as the discs are so expensive and not worth it.

I would say, in 3 to 5 years time, BD would become mainstream. I would then buy one. For now, if I want HD stuff, I rather download and save it into USB and play it straight.

Only Msia big conjob. Overseas BD players are so dirt cheap that people don't even think twice before buying one. The Sony BD350 is now 89 pounds lah. Here, still in the thousands.

Msians should just boycott and not buy at all. Those who buy BD are just feeding the crooks to keep the prices high.

This post has been edited by michaeltan1943: Jun 29 2009, 11:58 AM

0.0221sec    0.47    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 09:41 AM