how to change file permission w/o wifi?, cable method pls

TSuniquexme
post Jul 3 2008, 11:43 AM, updated 18y ago

839 posts

m on 1.1.4, so no way i can change file permission with mobile finder or squid. googled, it says its possible to use iPhone PC Suite, but then when i right click -> properties, it says failed to load properties, so i can't change it.

then i tried using term-vt100. i m not sure why it pop up with mobile$, there is no asking for password (which it shd), so even though i type chmod -R 755, it return to the prompt, which shd change it, but then when i check again with squid, its not 755.

so guys, pls help me out on this. have been searching on google for the past few days but still no luck.

i dun have wifi access at home. ok, lets say i do have (might head to some wifi place), the only method to do it tru SSH rite? i m running windows, so i think it shd be winscp or something like that. ?
nokia2003
post Jul 3 2008, 11:52 AM

5,786 posts

QUOTE(uniquexme @ Jul 3 2008, 11:43 AM)
m on 1.1.4, so no way i can change file permission with mobile finder or squid. googled, it says its possible to use iPhone PC Suite, but then when i right click -> properties, it says failed to load properties, so i can't change it.

then i tried using term-vt100. i m not sure why it pop up with mobile$, there is no asking for password (which it shd), so even though i type chmod -R 755, it return to the prompt, which shd change it, but then when i check again with squid, its not 755.

so guys, pls help me out on this. have been searching on google for the past few days but still no luck.

i dun have wifi access at home. ok, lets say i do have (might head to some wifi place), the only method to do it tru SSH rite? i m running windows, so i think it shd be winscp or something like that. ?
bro uniquexme, im not an expert when it comes to, typing the commands via terminal etc; frozzbyte can testify to that statement.

but as an iphone user, having a wireless router is a must i have to say - not a luxury. to access the installer (or cydia) is one matter but shh gives you much more freedom when it comes to, accessing your iphone or creating folders internally etc. furthermore since you are using such a posh phone, i guess investing a bit more for a wireless router (you dont need a linksys) wont harm and a used one will not cost you a bomb. start from LYF garage sale perhaps?
TSuniquexme
post Jul 3 2008, 01:46 PM

839 posts

i m thinking of having a wife. oops type, wifi at home, but just that i didn't subscribe to land line in my house, so its rather troublesome since i will be moving to a new house next year. so normally i gain access to internet using other ppl wifi near my house. do u think i can SSH like that? but i read tat u need the IP of the router.

beside, my wife shop is in a shopping mall, which provide free wifi, so i normally go there to install iphone app and games. keke.... i wonder how much to setup a wifi at home and to register a tel line. hiaks.

oh, guys, 3G phone expected to be USD599 outright. i have copy and paste on the 3G site. muahhaa...... is about the price of our current iphone, but reseller of course have to earn like RM500 rite? (based on our current USD399, we are buying at about RM1850). so no need to wait and get 3G, i think i would cost like 2500-2800, and it wouldn't be that easy to JB.
TakanoKyohei
post Jul 4 2008, 12:24 AM

959 posts

QUOTE(uniquexme @ Jul 3 2008, 01:46 PM)
i m thinking of having a wife. oops type, wifi at home, but just that i didn't subscribe to land line in my house, so its rather troublesome since i will be moving to a new house next year. so normally i gain access to internet using other ppl wifi near my house. do u think i can SSH like that? but i read tat u need the IP of the router.

hmmmm, as far as i know we dun neewd the router ip, we only need the iphone ip address, then with your laptop and iphone connected with the same network, you can use winscp to browse iphone system file...

as for iphone pc suite, its really cannot change the file permission, even if can, somehow will make application crash ( i have encountered 1 when my iphone no sound after i copy paste some "things" in my iphone). so as a advice, better not use pc suite, use winscp better...

but sometimes, i also cant connect to iphone using winscp, need to do 2/3 times to connect using winscp... smile.gif

This post has been edited by TakanoKyohei: Jul 4 2008, 12:39 AM
nokia2003
post Jul 4 2008, 12:27 AM

5,786 posts

perhaps i can recommend you trying creating an ad hoc connection?
TakanoKyohei
post Jul 4 2008, 12:56 AM

959 posts

QUOTE(nokia2003 @ Jul 4 2008, 12:27 AM)
perhaps i can recommend you trying creating an ad hoc connection?
can do using ad hoc connection..? i don't know how to do it, as i know, we need to have a router so that those to device will connect each other, for example riding a bus, as a person A and B want to meet each other, they will need to ride a bus ). but if ad hoc, that should be great then..anyone can try it and confirm it, i, cannot since i don't have laptop, and my house only using modem+router+switch only, no wireless.
frozzbyte
post Jul 4 2008, 01:44 AM

Feeling butthurt lately? Like I care
3,657 posts

I've already tried ssh with ad-hoc mode and its working. Try to google on how to set up ad-hoc mode. Its just a few steps and u r done.

Good luck
TSuniquexme
post Jul 4 2008, 08:27 AM

839 posts

ha. tried ad-hoc connection last nite, but haven't download that winscp, it really can get connected, will try tonite

Added on July 4, 2008, 8:28 amguys, do we need to install SSH in our iphone if we use ad-hoc winscp?

This post has been edited by uniquexme: Jul 4 2008, 08:28 AM
TakanoKyohei
post Jul 4 2008, 11:49 AM

959 posts

QUOTE(frozzbyte @ Jul 4 2008, 01:44 AM)
I've already tried ssh with ad-hoc mode and its working. Try to google on how to set up ad-hoc mode. Its just a few steps and u r done.

Good luck
wow, nice and thanks, will googling it round and try it..:0 it should be nice then since can ssh using ad hoc connection.

@uniquexme: yes, wee still need the SSh in order to get through the iphone system file, CORRECT me if im wrong, thanks.smile.gif smile.gif
TSuniquexme
post Jul 4 2008, 11:54 AM

839 posts

regarding ad-hoc, i have search, there is a video on how to do it, i watch it yesterday. but if u are running vista, its very easy, just add new network (computer-to-computer), tick on the share box, and u are done.
nokia2003
post Jul 4 2008, 11:56 AM

5,786 posts

QUOTE(uniquexme @ Jul 4 2008, 11:54 AM)
regarding ad-hoc, i have search, there is  a video on how to do it, i watch it yesterday. but if u are running vista, its very easy, just add new network (computer-to-computer), tick on the share box, and u are done.
sry yeah? i was very lazy to type so much last night, but i thought typing ad hoc connection is enough to trigger your interest.

but im happy that it is all good for you.

but a wireless router is still recommended honestly.

This post has been edited by nokia2003: Jul 4 2008, 11:56 AM

0.0154sec    0.59    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 11:55 AM