QUOTE(Cheesenium @ Aug 31 2010, 12:50 PM)
Though I'm aware of this, you'll have to take into consideration if This post has been edited by talexeh: Aug 31 2010, 01:40 PM
RPG [PC] Diablo III, Release Date: Whenever it's finished :p
Aug 31 2010, 01:39 PM
3,101 posts Joined: Dec 2007 |
QUOTE(Cheesenium @ Aug 31 2010, 12:50 PM) Though I'm aware of this, you'll have to take into consideration if This post has been edited by talexeh: Aug 31 2010, 01:40 PM |
Sep 27 2010, 01:28 PM
QUOTE(Deimos Tel`Arin @ Sep 27 2010, 01:13 PM) So far there are witch doctor, barbarian, wizard & monk.http://us.blizzard.com/diablo3/characters/index.xml EDIT: And I just realized that they've changed the wizard's avatar. She's no longer holding an orb. And oh, they've included the opposite gender in the individual character pages. The female witch doctor looks like a digitization of Calypso from Disney's Pirates of the Caribbean. Male wizard doesn't look appetizing enough but I like the way Blizz presents the female monk... if only she's topless. This post has been edited by talexeh: Sep 27 2010, 01:33 PM |
Oct 22 2010, 12:51 PM
Oct 22 2010, 02:01 PM
QUOTE(Azurues @ Oct 22 2010, 01:55 PM) At least a date is more promisable cause u probably know it won't be too long by then. Let's face it. Even if Blizzard give you a date, there's 99% chance they're not going to be able to adhere to it. A date coming out from their mouth is going to get your hopes high up before they crash it down to earth, splattering it everywhere & makes you rage more.It is far better than telling u summer 2011 or fall 2011. SPECIFIC DATE DAMN IT I still remember how many gamers bought their gaming rig in advance, only to get told that StarCraft 2 was delayed & deferred. Sure, they still can use their rigs when StarCraft got released but the $200 graphic cards they got themselves were 50% cheaper when StarCraft 2 was finally released. Date -> expectation -> disappointment. |
Oct 22 2010, 06:57 PM
QUOTE(snowfire64 @ Oct 22 2010, 06:48 PM) good story there dude, I am so hoping it would be paladin or some holy knight. We need a gentleman in the party! All classes have both genders.Also, prospects are quite high on the ranged class. Since there is only one female class which is the wizard(not sure if the witch doctor's gender), high chance the next would be some light armored class. We'll see. Who knows they will reveal 2 new ones. Hehe. |
Nov 27 2010, 08:01 PM
QUOTE(Blackheart_2009 @ Nov 27 2010, 07:43 PM) Oh, I already know this a long time ago. I just bring this up to say that its unacceptable that Blizzard did this. I bet that they will lose a lot D3 players because most of them prefer to play through LAN because its much smoother that playing on the net. You might lose the bet. Many people were talking about the downfall of StarCraft II when it was announced that it has no LAN capability but as you can see, StarCraft II sold like hotcakes. |
Nov 28 2010, 05:40 PM
QUOTE(yimingwuzere @ Nov 28 2010, 03:55 PM) Didn't WC3 and SC:BW and Diablo 2 sell millions despite being overly easy to crack back then (and has no DRM now)? Yup, I gotta agree that both games you mentioned there were hot cakes but in Kotick's eyes, selling well don't cut it anymore since he can (and he SHOULD) earn more from those who actually pirated the games & enjoyed the same privilege as an original copy owner. You did read about how StarCraft 2 actually placed in the very first ranking for the most downloaded torrents? Yes, Kotick was laughing his ass off when he read about it. |
Dec 9 2010, 10:30 AM
QUOTE(Blackheart_2009 @ Dec 9 2010, 09:46 AM) See? I knew it. With LAN, your life will get much easier. You will have no life, no real friends if you insist on going online. LOL at no life, no real friends if you insist on going online. That's only applicable to students. Once you start working / start a family, going online is a lifesaver. |
Jan 13 2011, 01:51 PM
Aug 3 2011, 08:29 PM
QUOTE(evolance7 @ Aug 3 2011, 08:09 PM) I like how you guys noticed that Blizzard is changing for the worst, but i still hate the fact that millions of others, will buy D3 and thus encourage Blizzard to screw older fans more. Wow... I've been reading all the negative sentiments building up in this thread in silent but this is totally new. It's all fine & dandy for me that you declare to the world how you're gonna avoid playing this game & criticize all the features that have been revealed so far. Blizzard is no longer the same post-W3? Blizzard will go kapoot in 2011? StarCraft II is major phail, plain, boring, has high skill ceiling, requires major time investment to get good at (tic tac toe, anyone?)?*sadface.... Meh... this is nothing new but to actually push all the blame to the rest of us who are really looking forward to the game? What next? I wonder if anyone has ever heard of the phrase "one man's meat is another man's poison"? Older? I guess you're assuming that all of us who had seen the days of WCII are on the same side as you eh? Oh well, haters gonna hate anyway. This post has been edited by talexeh: Aug 3 2011, 08:33 PM |
Aug 4 2011, 02:29 AM
QUOTE(evolance7 @ Aug 4 2011, 01:04 AM) Talexeh, what you said is true, I am sorry that I blame all who are really looking forward to the game(including myself). While you have your own reasons to demand for offline singleplayer mode, I'm afraid that the same discussion had been widely debated prior to the release of StarCraft 2. Now, before I go any further, I'm gonna use a few games as reference in the later part of this post, so don't go "TF2 is a FPS noob!" on me.I just wish that the millions that I referred to earlier would scream out "put Offline option in the game Blizzard!!!" instead of saying "just get the game out!!!" (that is what i hate about the millions). I'm neither a Blizzard employee nor a diehard fan but I can kinda understand why Blizzard is doing... what they're doing. Let's take for example what happened to StarCraft 1. Korea hijacked it as their national e-sports & Battle.net was left to rot while competitive games were being held in iCCup instead. What about WarCraft III? Garena anyone? Notice any similarity here? Pirated games. As you can see here, Blizzard totally lost control of their intellectual properties & this of course translates to lost revenue that they would have accumulated if only all these games were actually original copies. All these factors point to the need for an online DRM to be implemented, which we've seen in StarCraft 2. Put yourself into Blizzard's shoe & let me know what you would do. QUOTE(evolance7 @ Aug 4 2011, 01:04 AM) By the "Older" sentence, I meant that game aren't as flexible as it used to..... Sure, you can say that it's like a punishment to us genuine copy owners but would you agree that the broadband penetration in this world is increasing by leaps & bounds with every passing year? Yes, I'm totally aware of how pathetic, unreliable & expensive the broadband in our country is but if you were to take the entire world into account, Malaysia is a like a tiny lil' dot among all the gamers in the world. Blizzard can't please everyone at the same time & simultaneously risk having their hard work benefiting pirates again. What they can do though is to minimize the damage by striking a balance between fulfilling the gamers' requests & at the same time, avoid history from repeating itself again. Case in point, they actually set up a server for the SEA region when StarCraft 2 was released.Nowadays playing video game is like a gay person who paid the police to send himself to prison for free butsek. he enjoyed it but felt constricted. Please don't hate me for what I have to say for god sake.... It is Singleplayer, dont torture me, an old fan who don't have the leisure of fast internet..... This is my situation and i beg you to please understand my situation. My internet if quite bad, you can see me @ TF2 right? high ping and all.... Flexibility, constriction & mobility. With the advent of gaming laptops & wireless routing pints all over the places these days, I think Blizzard is wise enough to realize that gamers are no longer geeks who only stayed in their home 24/7. Oh & I'm actually a 512Kbps Streamyx user by the way. I believe it's not what you've assumed. QUOTE(evolance7 @ Aug 4 2011, 01:04 AM) I am willing to sell my kidney just to buy diablo 3 and i have to sell even more organs just to play the game online (internet subs)... This is my current situation, this is why i never had a chance to enjoy WoW or SC2 or any Blizzard's current game. Steam requires Internet connection. While you can opt for the offline mode, Steam actually forces you to go online once in a while or you'll have problem starting up your games. No matter how we see it, it's still a DRM, a mechanism that attempts to protect against piracy & abuse by irresponsible gamers.Valve did somethings right, that's why you can see me on steam. ( they don't force you to be online to play singleplayer)... Please talexeh tell me what you think... While I don't want to go in depth on all the rantings in this thread, I can safely tell you that it's pretty much the same for StarCraft 2. When Blizzard announced that StarCraft 2 is in progress, people were jumping in joy everywhere. Then came the dreaded news that user authentication is required before you can play the game, all hell broke loose. Some declared how they were gonna boycott the game. Some claimed that Blizzard is no longer the same company. Others questioned the rationality of having no LAN for RTS where the setup for a big clash could take hours. Some said Blizzard is greedy & how StarCraft 2 would fail so hard & so on & so forth. All these mumbo-jumbos even before the game was released & no one even knew anything for sure back then. The 1 thing I learned from this episode was that people tend to pass judgement too fast too early. If you ask me, I would say that StarCraft 2 is pretty successful & it's truly a game that will replace & take over the popularity of StarCraft 1 worldwide. StarCraft & WarCraft III didn't gain fame due to their singleplayer mode. It's the competitive aspect of their multiplayer games that helped spread the fever all over the world & got them where they are today. Therefore, I can see why Blizzard is gearing up Diablo III as an online game instead of the ol' singleplayer hack-n-slash type of games. If you actually follow the trend in this thread, you can see that whenever Blizzard announced something new, people tend to take it negatively instead of the other way around. For example, the recent revelation of items trading / selling. MMORPG? What about Team Fortress 2 where people were trading left & right everywhere? It's still a FPS game at its core & the trading aspect is still secondary to the gameplay & I don't see the game failing anytime soon. EDIT: I just read an article in Kotaku where they interviewed a game developer (Bastion, a game that I personally look forward to & it's pretty similar to Diable, albeit cuter). The full article can be access here but I would like to quote a few things since they also mentioned about Diablo III. QUOTE ...In a very real way, games play us. We may hold the controller, but often it feels as though the games—through their systems, design, and pacing—hold most of the cards. And as game developers cotton to the specific design elements that compel us to play (and keep playing), many of them are reaping financial gains by capitalizing on video games' inherent persuasiveness... ...Contrast that with Facebook and iOS games like CityVille and Tiny Tower. Through cleverly designed, schedule-based systems, those games have successfully hooked a huge number of players into organizing their daily routines around gameplay. Meanwhile, their publishers have reaped massive financial rewards by throwing roadblocks in players' paths and charging money in order to remove them. Many a FarmVille player has put in hour after hour of low-reward grind only to finally throw his hands up and drop $20 to hurry things along. Blizzard announced that Diablo III will feature an in-game auction house that will allow players to buy high-level items, effectively trading cash to bypass the hours of grinding that it would otherwise take to acquire them... ...I feel as though time is the biggest premium for players these days, rather than money. You have these Steam sales, for example, where you can buy fifty-hour games for $2. What I really value in games these days is when they provide an interesting experience without wasting my time, without making me feel like I'm going through a slog or a grind or anything like that... EDIT2: Oops... here's the link: http://kotaku.com/5827051/an-argument-for-...-waste-our-time This post has been edited by talexeh: Aug 4 2011, 11:48 AM |
Aug 4 2011, 11:37 PM
QUOTE(Cheesenium @ Aug 4 2011, 10:34 PM) It is because Blizzard is not the same old Blizzard that i love in the 90s. The new Blizzard feels like a cold heartless corporation. Their games no longer evolve, as all they want now is just money due to that fact that Activision's shareholder just want to rip as much profit as possible. IMO, games should be constantly innovating from the previous game, not remain stagnant. Did Starcraft 2 innovate? Did Diablo 3 actually changed something? You want the same old Blizzard yet you expect something truly refreshing from their new games. I don't really see how you can judge how a corporation is doing since all you ever mentioned was that they're greedy, money-sucking corporation these days, especially after Kotick stepped in. Same old excuse you mentioned during the StarCraft 2 days but the last thing I remembered, Blizzard is not a corporation that's famous for their charity.That StarCraft 2 is not innovated up to your standard is your expectation. You're just expecting a complete overhaul or some major changes but you failed to take into consideration that while it's something that you want, it's not something that _EVERYONE_ wants. What you're hoping for is akin to Portal 2 with no portals. Changes are good but there must be a limit or else you're gonna draw flaks from left & right. You want example? Welcome to Command & Conquer 4. QUOTE(Cheesenium @ Aug 4 2011, 10:34 PM) No, they did not iterate, as all i see so far, its the same thing i have played 10 years ago. I played SC1 countless times since 1998, when i got SC2, i stopped after 2 months of laddering. Why? It is because it's the same thing i played in 1998, without anything new at all. Except some minor tweaks. I have no problem if it's a fun to play time sink (like the incredibly grindy NFS World), but in the end, i did not have any fun with SC2, compared to any games i have. It's just SC1 in 3D for me. Refer to bolded sentences. Nothing new _EXCEPT_ minor tweaks. You're contradicting yourself. Perhaps you should let us know what you're actually hoping to see in StarCraft 2. IIRC, you complained that the lore in StarCraft 2 sucked as well, so I don't see how Blizzard is gonna connect the dots if there are too many changes in the game. Another contradiction.QUOTE(Cheesenium @ Aug 4 2011, 10:34 PM) Blizzard fanboys can argue with me as much as i want, but at the end of the day, SC2 just do not have the same addictive experience i had or changed from SC1 much. It's like how Black Ops is similar to CoD4, Transformer Dark of the Moon is similar to War for Cybertron or the first Guitar Hero to the last one before everyone got fired due to Activision's greed. I did have fun the first time round, but getting the largely the same thing again in the sequel after sequel is just get really old for me. Yes, let's blame everyone who don't share your view as Blizzard fanboys. And yeah, like I mentioned earlier, Portal 2 shouldn't have portals, Half-Life 2 should be a RTS & Command & Conquer 4 is the best game EVAR! QUOTE(Cheesenium @ Aug 4 2011, 10:34 PM) I am expecting the same thing again with Diablo 3's gameplay largely similar to Diablo 2. I made my decision of not buying Diablo 3 mainly because of that. My other reasons of not buying Diablo 3 are: 1. The game has yet to be released & already you're making conclusion that the game time is too short & doesn't worth the moolah you're gonna pay. Hmm... sounds pretty similar to what I mentioned in my previous post, something about people passing judgements too fast, too early?1. The game is incredibly expensive for the content and game time it will provide me 2. Auction House, as legalizing gold farmers is just completely unethical. 3. Always online, because my internet isnt the most stable connection out there. And why should the internet connection stability affect my ability to play online? I dont mind the idea of needing to login to their servers sometimes, as long as they could provide a reasonable offline mode. At the same time, Starcraft 2's DRM is incredibly annoying. Lets say i temporarily lost connection to the internet and i manage to complete an achievement, the game will not record the achievement i got when i reconnect to the internet seconds later. Just to clarify, i am not an achievement whore or anything, it just feel like they are punishing you for not connected to their servers. Not to forget that when you connect back to the internet, it takes longer than Steam to connect back to Battlenet. On Diablo 3's case, why cant they give an offline mode for Diablo 3 with the offline characters could not go online? Sure it's far more fun to play with people, but it does not hurt if one chooses to play offline alone, knowing that they will never be able to take the characters to go online. 2. Refer to my previous post again, the one at the end with a link to Kotaku. At the same time, unlike WoW, gold farmers will have no impact to your gameplay... unless you're jelly that some rich kids get to buy pimped avatars without breaking a sweat. If that's the case, get your ego checked. 3. The release of StarCraft 2 also marked the new Battle.net. I'm not sure if you're actually aware of this but these days, social websites & apps are mushrooming everywhere. Facebook, Google+, Steam & many more. It's a sign that people are now much more connected in cyberspace & this is what Battle.net is trying to capitalize on. Heck, even EA is coming up with Origin & GamersGate just did a complete overhaul of their system as well. If people can get on Facebook all the time & chat non-stop in MSN, then it's a good sign that broadband penetration has gone up to the level where disconnection / service outage is something abnormal these days. Again, referring to my previous post, these days most games are being developed with the big focus on the multiplayer capability since it's this aspect that contributed most to replayability points. Singleplayer mode can only bring you up to a certain point, perhaps with multiple endings but at the end of the day, it's having friends fighting along / against you that bring out the fun & LOL'ness. Borderlands, anyone? QUOTE(Cheesenium @ Aug 4 2011, 10:34 PM) Piracy, you can never prevent piracy, as Gabe Newell said: "Pirates are just customers that you havent met yet". If the game is popular enough, pirated servers will appear sooner or later. Have you even heard of Alternet for MW2, where they even have dedicated servers for pirated copies? Or those pirated Ubisoft games works better than original? Instead of punishing the genuine owners by forcing them to go online, why cant Blizzard attract the pirates to buy their games, like those SC2 time cards? While it's pretty debatable on the possibility of preventing piracy, I don't think it's a wise move to ignore it. There are ways you can control it & we've seen how the whole DRM thingy has evolved over the years. Even Ubisoft has soften down on their "MUST ONLINE ALL THE TIME" DRM but again, _MOST_ of Ubisoft games are more on singleplayers. Before you counter me with "See, even Ubisoft DRM no longer require you to be connected all the time", Ubisoft doesn't have a dedicated portal to bring their gamers together like Battle.net.Like I said in my previous post again (phew~), broadband penetration is considered high these days. If you bring the argument of Blizzard punishing genuine copy owners like 10 years ago, I would totally agree with you but c'mon, these days we have UNIFI & high-speed broadband. Yeah, they're expensive in Malaysia but if you look at the other part of the world, 1Mbps is pretty much history now. I'm a 512Kbps user though but have no problem whatsoever in StarCraft 2, albeit some hiccups at the early stage due to the buggy new Battle.net server in Singapore. QUOTE(Cheesenium @ Aug 4 2011, 10:34 PM) Ultimately, Blizzard just want to control the contents, your access to your game and your save on their servers, at the same time, hope you use their Auction House to provide them a long term steady income, not because they want to prevent pirates, people hacking their characters or modding their games. Thats just some PR talks to cover their ass. Err... who doesn't want to after all the ruckus & lawsuits with Korea's television network operators? About the Auction House, you're just being adamant that it's something to bring more profits to Blizzard even though you've been presented with points on why it's a logical move by Blizzard. Again, I don't see how that will affect your gameplay and oh wait! You're also against trading in Team Fortress 2 & also its shop selling overpriced in-game items which consists of nothing but pixels & polygon counts. Again, it's not like you're being forced to buy them so it's just you being a hater of this new feature.PR talk? Yeah, I guess you're the caped crusader or some consumer association rights rep who's supposed to guide us to the right path. QUOTE(Cheesenium @ Aug 4 2011, 10:34 PM) Added on August 4, 2011, 10:36 pm Even in Blizzcon, there are barely anything new about their games. Maybe some ugly CG videos using their in game engine or just a couple of bad gameplay videos. This post has been edited by talexeh: Aug 4 2011, 11:41 PM |
| Change to: | 0.0226sec
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 09:22 PM |