RPG [PC] Diablo III, Release Date: Whenever it's finished :p

subimpact
post Jul 2 2008, 02:29 AM

402 posts

the art direction for diablo III doesnt give the diablo universe feel

please petition and save this franchise!!!!

http://www.petitiononline.com/d3art/petition-sign.html

example

OMFG WHY DIABLO III GOT RAINBOW?!?!?!? its so like my littlepony shiat

Added on July 2, 2008, 2:35 am

Added on July 2, 2008, 2:37 amCommon arguments:

Q: The game is still under development, it's on pre alpha stage, we only saw the first act, much can change.

A: True, the game is still under development but the artistic direction isnt since it's one of the first steps in the development of a game, until you have a fully developed artistic direction and concept you cant easily move on with the development of the game, the artistic direction will tell the artists (modelers, texture artists, etc) how the game elements shall look and feel. Since this artistic direction is already fully and happily developed (words from Blizzard) this cartoon'ish and colorful style will be present in the whole game.

Q: Being less cartoon'ish and more realistic would make the game heavier on computers

A: False, there's a lot of techniques like bump mapping that help developers give a realistic look to textures, any recent graphic card with less than 8 years support bump mapping, there's a lot more techniques that can help giving that realistic look, being 3D doesnt mean it should look cartoon'ish.

Q: Diablo 3 happens 20 years after Diablo 2, the world is peaceful and the evil is gone, that's why the scenarios are colorful and vivid.

A: That doesnt mean forgotten dungeons should be clean and shinny, looking like a team of house keeping maidens spent hours there cleaning and making everything clean and shinny, without any trace of dirt, dungeons are supposed to be creepy and scary.

Diablo 1 Tristam also looked evil and scary before the evil was unleashed, check this picture of Diablo 1 Tristam and compare it to Diablo 3 Tristam: http://img126.imageshack.us/img126/5194/tristram2jh.jpg find the differences.

This post has been edited by subimpact: Jul 2 2008, 02:37 AM
subimpact
post Jul 2 2008, 09:54 AM

402 posts

then diablo 3 will be a let down for diablo fans .. then the game will flop... when release.. u just cant WoWfied some stuff. each game franchise must have their own art direction... i say diablo 1 ftw biggrin.gif
subimpact
post Jul 2 2008, 09:55 AM

402 posts

i feel its gonna be like titan quest biggrin.gif but im gonna play just the fun of it.. prolly will test it out since i can test retail games for free

Added on July 2, 2008, 9:57 am
QUOTE(Fatimus @ Jul 2 2008, 09:54 AM)
*sigh* some people, what do they expect ? Trolls gang hump a corpse ? Jeez....XD

The dungeon still diablo-ish, dark corners and more chests, infact many of the nostalgic sounds (especially the book shelves) remain the same.

Anyone still remember Izual ? I beleiev he has the best looking armour, well mix of deep blue and gold.
your dead wrong on the dungeon tongue.gif

in diablo 3 we see color shading aura in the dungeon.. where else in d1/d2 is pitch black wif out any colorful shades lolz... except when u meet catwarrior holding torches..

Added on July 2, 2008, 10:00 amuser posted image

the dungeons so resembles WoW raid instance... and its pretty clean and cartoonish like WoW

This post has been edited by subimpact: Jul 2 2008, 10:00 AM
subimpact
post Jul 2 2008, 10:03 AM

402 posts

coz we got used wif WoW art direction from blizzard >_> which also touched on starcraft 2...

dont get me wrong that i dislike the art direction... its just that .. its gonna be another game which doesnt feel like its goth, eerie, dark, gloomy era, evil days.....

subimpact
post Jul 2 2008, 10:06 AM

402 posts

QUOTE(mikelee @ Jul 2 2008, 10:04 AM)
I think the change of direction is because many developers from previous Diablo franchise have left Blizzard and went to create Hellgate: London.
yea i guess but they never even bother to try something more darker, gloomy or goth, evil ? instead they just WoWfied it tongue.gif
hehe
subimpact
post Jul 2 2008, 10:09 AM

402 posts

QUOTE(GameFr3ak @ Jul 2 2008, 10:07 AM)
"DIE I WILL" "OWNAGE THIS GAME IS" "GONE DOTA SHALL"
"stay a while and listen..."
subimpact
post Jul 2 2008, 10:10 AM

402 posts

QUOTE(Fatimus @ Jul 2 2008, 10:08 AM)
Perhaps Blizzard thinks that the WoW art direction is quite successful. Okie the comparison is OT but similiar situation, Transformers Animated's art similiar to Teen Titans' it's anime-ish but nonetheless the "in" thing.

But then I am not speaking for Blizzard, nor I am right.
Now you remind me of it.
well time will tell lo.. see if the hardcore diablo fans wrath get to reach blizzard before the game go gold hahahaha....

but dun care la... i just want to see the storyline ... if the storyline can make me feel like the good old diablo days.. then im sold biggrin.gif
subimpact
post Jul 2 2008, 10:14 AM

402 posts

hahah now we have to wait till blizzard hear em.. or shut their ears hahaha

Added on July 2, 2008, 10:18 amdiablo 3 will be like just another mythos clone

This post has been edited by subimpact: Jul 2 2008, 10:19 AM
subimpact
post Jul 2 2008, 10:21 AM

402 posts

lol some hardcore diablo fans art direction

Added on July 2, 2008, 10:26 amcurrent state of game

saturation reduced

saturation and brightness reduced

This post has been edited by subimpact: Jul 2 2008, 10:26 AM
subimpact
post Jul 2 2008, 10:29 AM

402 posts

kekekeke maybe u not hardcore diablo fan haha like some ...

i know some ppl play diablo 2 grind feast like mad cow lolz... on the b.net ladder haha

Added on July 2, 2008, 10:30 amThe Battle.net Forums Are Currently Down
Please try again later.

This post has been edited by subimpact: Jul 2 2008, 10:30 AM
subimpact
post Jul 2 2008, 11:01 AM

402 posts

emo slider.. the more u drag towards emo.. the more emo the game becomes haha
subimpact
post Jul 2 2008, 11:06 AM

402 posts

QUOTE(kenji_britney @ Jul 2 2008, 11:02 AM)
lol that's gotta be FREAKING interesting!!  rclxms.gif kinda like an mob aggressiveness level adjuster.
ya u can see your character slit his/her wrist during battle
subimpact
post Jul 2 2008, 11:27 AM

402 posts

lol hellgate london was fun while it lasted la.. singleplayer nice biggrin.gif
but they drag their patches so it became www.flagshipped.com
subimpact
post Jul 2 2008, 05:32 PM

402 posts

hope Blizzard does add Rainbows, gnomes and little cute bunnies, just to piss off the fanboys.

Added on July 2, 2008, 5:34 pm
QUOTE(Moogle Stiltzkin @ Jul 2 2008, 01:29 PM)
My real concern is the armor. Don't you think it takes too much from warcraft ?

In Diablo II they never had such bulky stuff did they  hmm.gif  It feels too much like warcraft.
Environmental changes i am ok with something new, but their armor model direction seems to be too boxy, big and clunky doh.gif
hahah they gonna have legendary set and tier 1 till tier 5 armor sets biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by subimpact: Jul 2 2008, 05:34 PM
subimpact
post Jul 3 2008, 10:16 AM

402 posts

LMAO
subimpact
post Jul 3 2008, 10:38 AM

402 posts

~_~ lolz

Added on July 3, 2008, 10:52 am

This post has been edited by subimpact: Jul 3 2008, 10:52 AM
subimpact
post Jul 3 2008, 11:00 AM

402 posts

dungeon siege ahhhh memories

This post has been edited by subimpact: Jul 3 2008, 11:00 AM
subimpact
post Jul 3 2008, 11:04 AM

402 posts

QUOTE(SilverCrimz @ Jul 3 2008, 11:02 AM)
This bashing on the art direction is getting silly  doh.gif

anyways,
from the words of D3's lead producer
Source

and i have to say he raises a good point and i have to agree with him sleep.gif
yea the bashing is getting way out of hands la.. hahaha jebus those fanboys

but i want secret carebear lvl.. where u can amputate them haha
subimpact
post Jul 3 2008, 12:08 PM

402 posts

aiya.... wait till the game come out , we play it then only judge la... lolz... stupid fanboys

0.0475sec    1.33    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 09:19 PM