RPG [PC] Diablo III, Release Date: Whenever it's finished :p

neoengsheng
post Nov 29 2010, 05:07 PM

261 posts

QUOTE(temptation1314 @ Nov 29 2010, 11:06 AM)
looks like GW style. LOL

Added on November 29, 2010, 11:10 am

You should learn how to find a good server to host for your games.
We've been playing for years and versus for this few weeks.

No lags or whatever, only for each to their own connections problems.
Don't you think this is the biggest problem we have in Malaysia right now?

If you live in KL, the Internet connection quality is still acceptable.

If you are like me living in Seberang Perai, home town in Kedah, then I can guarantee that you won't be able to play even a single session on battlenet.

Blizzard is taking a bad move trying to force the "No LAN to curb piracy" talk down their customers throat when they are just trying to promote Battlenet and maybe charge a monthly subscription fee to use in the future just like what Microsoft is doing on the Xbox.

Also, why do I have to learn to look for servers to host my game when I'm playing with my friends and brothers in the same house?

A single copy pirated does not equal to a single sale lost and pirates will keep pirate with or without LAN as long as the single player is still playable, that is the fact.

Why I know? Because I played a pirated copy Diablo 2 for years without even playing multiplayer. I too torrent games to try it before I make a purchase.
neoengsheng
post Nov 30 2010, 09:29 AM

261 posts

QUOTE(yamato @ Nov 29 2010, 09:42 PM)
believe it or not, LAN is fading out especially on rpg or mmorpg.
LAN is just a tiny community comparing to the bnet which u can find anyone, anytime, from anywhere in the world to play with u. not just 3 or 4 of your college friends.

bad connection or dc issue? blame it on Msia government, blame it on TMnet, blame it on your ISP, blame it on where your are staying; but not blizzard, they do not contribute in making the game laggy.
Have you used Battlenet before?

That thing is bugged to hell and back and is created for the sole purpose of making your life miserable.

I still remember using the integrated Battlenet friends list on World of Warcraft, the list would often show up empty or showing a friend is offline while he is standing right in front of me in game talking to me. Whenever this happens, you won't be able to send message, add or remove your friends and no amount of relogging and restart will fix the problem and it often goes on for days and some times weeks. Some times it just keeps notifying you that your friend is going offline and online over and over again when in reality your friend is playing side by side with you. That is just the problem with the friend list alone.

LAN is dying on RPG game?

Of all the games from year 2008-2010, show me how many games that come with multiplayer support do not have LAN support.

And MMORPG?

Need I say more?

As a developer, it is always a good practice to allow the users to have choices on how they want to use the software or in this case, play the game. Just like Microsoft Word allows you to use a shortcut key (Ctrl + C) and select from menu to use the copy function, Blizzard should allow the players to have choices whether to play the game on LAN or on Battlenet. Like is said before, if I play regularly with my brother and friends who stay in the same house connected with Gigabit LAN, what is the logic of having to host the game on a server that is half way across the world instead of my i7 with 16GB RAM?

If Blizzard makes it a requirement to log in to Battlenet to authenticate before starting a LAN game to stop pirates from playing multiplayer games, I can accept that. Totally remove LAN, no.

And I bet Blizzard will ban anyone using editiors in Diablo 3 as well seeing what they have done on Starcraft 2. So gone are the days of using an edited character for fun in single player game and playing with friends.
neoengsheng
post Nov 30 2010, 11:35 AM

261 posts

QUOTE(FarCry3r @ Nov 30 2010, 11:29 AM)
angrytriplepostingfanboidetected.jpg laugh.gif
Sarcasm is hard to understand yo!
neoengsheng
post Nov 30 2010, 11:44 AM

261 posts

QUOTE(TiF @ Nov 30 2010, 11:38 AM)
How can I not be angry??
Without Blizzard, we don't have MMORPG already!
Without Blizzard, we don't have RTS game to play already!
Without Blizzard, we don't have RPG game to play already!

Blizzard not only define this 3 genres, but also the only company that develop good MMORPG, RTS, and RPG!! And yet some haters bashed it just becoz it doesn't support LAN!! What is wrong with them?

Blizzard is GOD!!!!!!
No, Im serious!! You haters!!!
Oh Mighty Blizzard, please have mercy and forgive me for commiting heresy and blasphemy.

I promise I will pray to you everyday once in the morning and once at night before sleep for forgiveness and to prove my loyalty.
neoengsheng
post Nov 30 2010, 11:54 AM

261 posts

QUOTE(TiF @ Nov 30 2010, 11:47 AM)
That's more like it.
May Blizzard be with you.
Praise you my lord.

Praise you for your mercy and kindness.

I vow to be the servant of Blizzard until the end of time.
neoengsheng
post Nov 30 2010, 12:33 PM

261 posts

QUOTE(FarCry3r @ Nov 30 2010, 11:58 AM)
LOL. Without Blizzard, we still have MMORPG.
LOL. Without Blizzard, we still have RTS.
LOL. Without Blizzard, we still have RPG.

They're right though. Not all peoples have the privileges to have good Internet connection and just like to play LAN, and since LAN functionality was like been there forever on other games, why the change? Combat out piracy? Less likely since peoples (read: hackers) can develop offline server emulator anyway.

Since I already have a GOD to worship, so no, Blizzard is not a GOD (not mine anyway). Plus why would you prefer a human, which is the same as you, as GOD? Because he/they can develop games? whistling.gif
Blasphemy!!!

Blizzard is the truth.

Blizzard is the only way to enlightment.

Blizzard is the creator of humanity.

Blizzard's word and will is absolute and sure and worthy of absolute trust and obedience. Anyone who says otherwise will be smite by the wrath of Blizzard and burn in hell.

neoengsheng
post Dec 9 2010, 04:34 PM

261 posts

QUOTE(temptation1314 @ Dec 9 2010, 11:43 AM)
The point now is LAN and no-LAN.
Whether the game is cheap/free or got a lots of updates or freebies doesn't mean that the game will last longer.

The statement he make "Without LAN, the longevity is short is nonsense when you look at games like Team Fortress 2.

PS : Almost want to scold dotards btw. LOL
And you are asking for the factor that enables TF2 to survive without LAN.

So it is a valid reason.

Valve adds free contents and updates every few months.

Activision-Blizzard on the other hand asks players to wait for an expansion that "is done when it is done" and will be released soon™ to add content to the original game.

Obvious enough to see how 2 different company keep their games alive isn't it?

A lot of people might actually agree if Activision-Blizzard justify that playing on BattleNet allows Blizzard to more easily give out free content updates frequently instead of trying to justify that LAN promotes piracy.
neoengsheng
post Dec 22 2010, 02:40 PM

261 posts

If Blizzard is to control the armor and weapon type that can be used by a class based on class and level, does this means no more sword and board sorceress in heavy armor?

Not to mention Diablo 2 sword and board shuriken assassin.

neoengsheng
post Dec 22 2010, 05:45 PM

261 posts

QUOTE(sai86 @ Dec 22 2010, 03:05 PM)
This will become bored for me and every1 is using d same stats doh.gif wats d fun of it icon_rolleyes.gif
in ur idea, u juz wan it to b auto-increase stats for u and juz grind for level instead of finding the suitable combination of stats to ur preference.
Good for some n bad for some. I still prefer trying out the best combination for myself instead of Godlike tongue.gif
What's wrong with people nowadays doh.gif

People don't know the meaning of "sarcasm" anymore?
neoengsheng
post Dec 24 2010, 12:45 PM

261 posts

OK, lets make some assumption.

Lets assume that what type of armor you wear is determined by Defense.

The type of melee weapon you use is determined by Attack.

Type of ranged weapon used is determined by Precision value.

And type of orb, staff used is determined by willpower.

So what's there to stop people from simply put the minimal points required and then dump everything into Attack or Life?It will be just like Diablo 2 all over again.

If they decide to limit armor type to be class specific, then even if you got all the stats, you will still be 1 sorceress in robe with orb in hand instead of in plate armor with sword and shield, no customization and fine tuning there.

If they decide to do away with all the limitations on armors and weapons, it will be Diablo 1 all over again with people wearing anything that have the most defense and weapon with the most damage they can get their hands on.

And from the stat change, we can see that 1 single stat increase both magic and physical damage as well as Defense which increase both magic and physical defense, there is no fine tuning and no sacrifice has to made here. Imagine the damage a class with both magic and physical damage will be able to do as the class don't need to make sacrifice between physical and magic damage. Also a single stats that increase both magic and physical defense and damage just don't fit too well into an RPG game.

Runes as I read will only modify the effect of our skills, mean extra damage, extra hit, additional effect etc, not our stats unless something changed when I'm not paying attention.
neoengsheng
post Jan 3 2011, 12:30 PM

261 posts

QUOTE(WintersuN @ Dec 28 2010, 07:11 AM)
All RPGs are like that. Nothing u can do about it. Thats just common sense to dump things into the most usefull skill/stats u find
Problem is, in other RPG game, you make sacrifices while doing that.

Dump everything into Strength for ability to do higher physical damage and wear better armor but sacrifices magic damage and defense.

Dump everything into Intelligence for more magical attack power, more mana and more magic defense but sacrifices pyisical damage and defense.

Dump everything into Stamina/Vitality/Constitution for more life but sacrifices damage.

With Diablo 3 system, no sacrifices need to be make.

Dump all into Attack for more magical and physical damage.

Dump all into Defense for more magical and physical damage.

So what is there to sacrifice except choosing between more damage or more defense?

You get both magic and physical damage and defense with just 1 stat.
neoengsheng
post Jan 10 2011, 01:57 PM

261 posts

QUOTE(hfi @ Jan 10 2011, 12:38 PM)
I think you are nickpicking something that is actually quite minor (although essential) in the world of diablo. Even in Wow, no one cares about how much stat points you gain in each level in fact its something done automatically for you. The customizations has never been in the stats but rather the skills and gear bonuses. These 2 elements are the ingredients that you use to build your character. The stats, eventho minor, are actually there for you to fine tune your character.
True, the stat points get allocated automatically and you have no control over it but you can control your gear and stack the #$$# out of it just like how arms warrior used to stack crit for Deep Wound proc, resto druid used to stacking spirit for higher spell power (still do) and 270% Innervate, shaman stacking intelligence for more spellpower and regen and now hunter reforging every mastery points the can on their gear to agility and crit. The difference is we only have to stack 1 single stat for better damage in Diablo 3 instead of agility, strength, intelligence, spirit.

Getting both magic damage and physical damage in 1 stat is like giving people the ability to play a mage that can do 7k damage with fireball and 5k damage with a sword swing, a feral druid that can Shred for 9k damage and at the same time throw Wrath for 5k damage.

And getting both magic and physical defense in 1 stat is like allowing the mage to have high resistance against magic and physical damage with their mage armor or allow the protection warrior to have high defense against physical damage with their plate armor and at the same time having the same amount of resistance to magic damage.

Of course Blizzard can implement something like putting different physical and magic defense on different type of armor (plate=high physical defense low magic defense, cloth the other way around) and limiting the type of armors (and weapons perhaps) to certain class only but we never see how the stats on gear looks like and it never is Diablo's tradition to do this.

And about me nitpicking, go to Diablo 3 forum and look around, its a major concern, not me nitpicking on minor issue.
neoengsheng
post Jan 10 2011, 06:01 PM

261 posts

QUOTE(hfi @ Jan 10 2011, 03:16 PM)
See you cant really make a direct comparison like saying a mage can make the same amount of damage with both magical and physical attack. A mage will never be able to land a physical hit like a warrior without making adjustments that will affect their magic attacking abilities. A glass cannon fodder mage will not have the resilience of a tanking warrior because he has not invested as much points in vitality and defense as a warrior tank would have. This new changes are supposed to be more role/build friendly (high crit or damage build, pvp high resilience build etc) rather than the old system which was more class archtype based i.e. mana or dex or strength class types. In the old system, a lot of the stats are near useless to certain archtypes. Strength in particular was only used to meet certain gear requirements, and then it becomes completely useless. Now if defense is required to unlock armor, its not completely useless even after you have unlocked that particular armor. It still provide some benefits to your character.
Like I said, Blizzard never revealed how they itemized the armor and weapons and they never revealed whether all those will be class specific or not, so if we are to assume that they stick to the old Diablo 3 rule of wear anything as long as you fulfill the requirements, then it is going to be a problem especially with mages when they can have the best of both world.

Its not a good thing too if pure classes such as mage, barbarian that are limited to doing damage in physical or magical becoming less desirable because they they have less choices to tackle a challenge compared to hybrid classes such as demon hunter or maybe monk that can do physical and magic damage since this change benefit hybrid the most in my opinion. Its just not enjoyable to play a game when 70% of the population plays the same class.

Asking Blizzard to implement a hybrid tax like in WoW is a workaround but just not a good one.

Thats why I prefer Blizzard to split up the stats and let the players decide what they want.

This post has been edited by neoengsheng: Jan 10 2011, 06:02 PM
neoengsheng
post Jan 13 2011, 03:55 PM

261 posts

QUOTE(TAGreptiles @ Jan 13 2011, 02:48 PM)
Buying a game during steam sales is cheaper then buying a pirated disc. Respect the developers and learn to play original. No money = don't play. Its people like you that's bringing down the gaming industry. People like you, causes original games to be expensive here, and its because of people like you, MS din't release the x360 here. The list goes on.  yawn.gif I do not have the problem with whatever DRM Blizzard comes out with but the stronger and the more complicated it is, the better, because i do not want pirates like you to enjoy the game simply because i butthurt i bought it for Rm2XX, and you got it for free. Its not fair to original gamers, its not fair to the publishers, its not fair to the developers. Not when the ones reaping the profit from a game is a bloody yellow spiky haired lala ah beng that talks like he owns the world..
You don't have problems with DRM does not means other do not have problems with it.

Most if not all DRM hurt genuine players more than pirates. In case you don't know, I can get pirated Starcraft 2 with RM30 at my place. The only difference is there is no multiplayer.

You might see this as a winning situation but, tell you something, if I am to pirate a game I won't bother about multiplayer, I am satisfied with just being able to play the campaign, some skirmishes and maybe download a few maps to play against the AI. In the end, I as a pirate enjoyed the game like normal, play it for 2 maybe 3 months then move on to another game while the genuine players have to take all the problems with DRM up their rear.

I do support original games and I agree that good developers deserves to get rewarded for their effort but when it comes to DRM, it is always the genuine players that got hurt the most.
neoengsheng
post Jan 13 2011, 03:58 PM

261 posts

QUOTE(ashx @ Jan 12 2011, 12:12 AM)
They did kinda tell us there will be class specific items. It's also stated in the post about the huge attr changes. Affixes.
You're forgetting stats progression. Mage will not have the same resilience as e.g. Barb even with the same gear. Also fight mechanics/monster attributes.. iron maiden/ immunes anyone? biggrin.gif Fine, mages grabs same +Attack gear as a  barb now who'd you think will last assuming they both got hold of the same set/runes/what nots that throws 100 DPS for both. You still have yet to take the consideration of builds.
If all teh items are class specific, then it is understandable how they are going to balance the game.

That leave the skills/talents and runes as the only customizable part in the game.

This game is so much like World of Warcraft now.

How good or bad the game will be, I will have to wait and see when the game is launched.
neoengsheng
post Jan 13 2011, 08:13 PM

261 posts

QUOTE(Cheesenium @ Jan 13 2011, 07:42 PM)
DRM hurt genuine players, i dont think so. If you are having problem with DRM, then, it's mostly on your side, like your computer or internet connection. Dont blame Steam/Ubisoft/GFWL(in some cases). Also DRM exist because of maggots like you who buy a RM30 copy of SC2. Game developers wants to protect their work, not being stolen by people like you. Thats why DRM exist, and no one actually like DRM, including game developers because it's wasting their money to get those DRMs. You are actually losing, because when you pirate games, developers get put off in developing games on PC. Then, they moved to console completely or you be second class citizen where consoles get everything first.

I have Starcraft 2, and tonnes of games on Steam. Both system rarely give me any problem, and im happily playing them with regular free content and update. Games like Supreme Commander 2, have a world of difference if you compare a pirated version and original. I bought Sup Com 2 for RM21, and im still playing it after 6 months because GPG gives some of the most fantastic patches i ever seen, where maggots like you, who play pirated would have a lot of trouble updating it. I dont play Sup Com 2 on multiplayer at all, but im very happy with it,even just playing against the utterly brutal AI which is fun compared to the brain dead 1.00 AI. At the same time, im glad my RM21 went to GPG, instead of some ah beng.

I can go on and on, like my copy of Dawn of War 1 has way more content that you can ever get on a pirated copy, Black Ops that does not lag so much, or Need for Speed Shift doesnt lag every 30 seconds, and it's filled with console exclusive DLC, also cannot be done on a pirated copy. Even i barely play my SC2, i bet im having more fun in it than you, because the online system is great. The custom maps are fun and creative and the automatch system runs like a dream. And the best thing is, i dont have to spend one hour just figure out how to install the damn game.

To be honest, i have this principle: "Dont think the game is worth it, dont buy it", because i believe developers who have worked hard for it deserves to get paid, even at 75% off from original price.
As I was typing out that reply, I said to my friend that someone is sure to label me as a pirate because I talked bad about the game and DRM, now behold.

Read again, since when I'm saying that I buy pirated SC2? I couldn't even be bothered to play or even try SC2. Its just not worth it to me.

When we talk about DRM that requires Internet connection, people are going to have problems with it sooner or later and more frequently when you are in Malaysia.

Remember the time when people can't log on to Steam to play their game and have to play offline instead? Yeah, that happened to me too.

So stop overeacting and the name calling. It doesn't makes you look cooler or greater.

This post has been edited by neoengsheng: Jan 13 2011, 08:14 PM
neoengsheng
post Jan 14 2011, 03:58 PM

261 posts

QUOTE(temptation1314 @ Jan 14 2011, 03:40 PM)
Then you're trying to say because of your family/housemate issue, Blizzard have to make it up to you and let the pirates loose? (Yeah i know the game will still be hacked/pirated anyway)

Oh btw, they don't care about Malaysia anyway. If you guys looking for pirating the game, Blizzard don't care anyway.
QUOTE(temptation1314 @ Jan 14 2011, 03:30 PM)
I'm still trying to figure out why is the hell being online is such a hassle for people nowadays? Are we still dialing 1515 to online? If yes, then the statement "being online to combat piracy is stupid" acceptable.
Try moving 4 times a year and traveling KL-Ipoh-Penang all the time and living at the northern region that the Internet line is as good as 1515.

Oh wait..... that is my problems right? Its not Blizzard's problems right?

So it is my problem to move so often, it is my problem to travel so often with no Internet conenction, it is my problem for living at place with crappy Internet connection and it is Malaysians problem to stuck with TM, not Blizzard's problem to requiring the player to authenticate online before playing and removing LAN right?

It is the problem of a country but not the problem of the DRM by Blizzard right?

So by having all these problems I am not a Blizzard's customer and don't deserve to enjoy the game fully even after I pay RM250 for it because it is my problems right?

So if Blizzard don't care for people pirating their game, I wonder why the force players to authenticate on Battlenet and remove LAN. Maybe because they are preparing to charge a monthly subscription fee for multiplayer like Xbox Live?

0.0464sec    2.15    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 23rd December 2025 - 05:32 AM