LYN Guitar Phreaks Club v8!, 8 Strings? Now? Is this madness????!!!

TSblacktrix
post Jun 27 2008, 12:09 AM, updated 18y ago

Scott Pilgrim Vs The World!
13,063 posts

v8 Time!

and to see who spamm... er...... contributed the most:

blacktrix 529
Everdying 290
echobrainproject 157
sean392 144
don8ld 106
Rossie 101
SweetTooth 98
enteryourusername 91
led_zep_freak 84
quarantined 73
gapnap 55
freakfingers12 54
blackangel 39
nerd 38
RustReaver4D1 38
headhunter7 37
valkyrie1232 34
skindred 34
soulfly 33
devnaresh 30
hanhanhan 28
Equilibrium777 25
jejari7 22
zeroglyph 21
oxalato 20
mochamania 19
opfish 18
crazychris 17
bayrock 15
plankton 15
blademaster 13
hotfootpowder 12
Cello 11
asura_86 10
AlienProbe 8
winkybear 8
davidletterboyz 7
mingdynasty 7
PetroToxin 7
Mr. Z 6
strife01 6
js_big 5
QD_buyer 5
ffrulz 5
sirnanzy 5
+3kk! 5
Silver Isle 5
Namqul 5
bartimaeus 4
IpohBoY 4
320cbr 4
Kinova 4
Pix 4
iuhkok 4
EmperorMeng 4
state of abyssmal 3
lazo 3
Clavicus 3
shauno 3
SihamZhai 3
metalhead 3
jackwylde 3
Beatmasta 3
suri 3
2kia 3
JamesWannabE 2
monosyllabic 2
zulzaraeen 2
atomicjelly 2
wKkaY 2
goldfries 2
SkylineFreak 2
Dead Eye 2
neomab 2
Mysterious X12 2
Vbs 2
liez 2
lightonokira 2
u-djinn 2
sagaranna 2
pleasuresaurus 1
shiinkuro31 1
darrencw 1
-Adrian- 1
BlueSilver 1
jedi_dc 1
Ah Shawn 1
strinq 1
scoop 1
Banzai_san 1
XP750 1
ristikol 1
leroy87 1
KoguraD 1
lencent 1
x_far_x 1
pokute 1
jackanory 1
Jemi 1
munky 1

This post has been edited by blacktrix: Jun 27 2008, 12:10 AM
TSblacktrix
post Jun 27 2008, 12:15 AM

13,063 posts

This time, will be better..... because will be in US again...... will keep you all in suspense of what I'm bringing home..... hahahahah.......

Remember the last "iPod vs Les Paul" incident???

hahahhahahahaha........
TSblacktrix
post Jun 27 2008, 08:43 AM

13,063 posts

And here's a pedal board that should interest duckie........

http://www.gibson.com/en-us/Lifestyle/Feat...edalboard-unve/

TSblacktrix
post Jun 27 2008, 12:18 PM

13,063 posts

A wall that is going to be larger in a month's time tongue.gif
I'm like Duckie at the moment....... contemplating on what awesome guitar to buy (graduation present to myself) even though I completely and utterly sux0rs at guitars.....
TSblacktrix
post Jun 27 2008, 05:37 PM

13,063 posts

QUOTE(don8ld @ Jun 27 2008, 01:44 PM)
are you looking for floyd rose system or a locking system?

if floyd rose go for the MKH , if locking go for mustaine AOD going for $11XX at musician friend biggrin.gif
Er, you don't mean STRING THRU?

Floyd Rose IS a locking system...... you have to LOCK the strings at the top so it won't affect the tuning when you dive bomb. A String thru is when you thread the string THRU the body (or in the Les Paul's case, via a tailpiece), usually passing a Tune-O-Matic or similar bridge.....

TSblacktrix
post Jun 27 2008, 09:51 PM

13,063 posts

String thru is based on the comment if he wanted the Dean Mustaine, which is a string thru body.....

Like I said, the Les Paul uses a tailpiece, hence fixed bridge, and the rest, like you said, is a string thru body.....

Added on June 27, 2008, 9:55 pmFor a 24 fret V, why not the new Razorback 255 V?
The explosion version looks freakin' amazing in real life.

This post has been edited by blacktrix: Jun 27 2008, 09:55 PM
TSblacktrix
post Jun 28 2008, 09:22 AM

13,063 posts

Upper fret access towards 17 and above looks quite difficult though.....
TSblacktrix
post Jun 28 2008, 04:30 PM

13,063 posts

The Corey Beaulieu sig is still awesome........

TSblacktrix
post Jun 28 2008, 06:54 PM

13,063 posts

Hmmmmmm...... gonna sound like duckie.... but right now, I narrowed my choices to 2 top candidates to bring back from the US......

A Schecter Jeff Loomis (or C-7 Blackjack if I decide to forgo the Floyd) or a Jackson Mark Morton Dominion.

I figured the Razorback, I can get it anytime I want to from Singapore...... and I have set aside a small budget for that already, so I just resave abit more for that.

I might as well get something cool from the states I can't get here or Singapore.....

The other guitar on my list is the Ibanez S5470 Prestige if I can't find anything good in US.

The reason for a new guitar? Versatility. I'm going to sit for my guitar exams in November, might be teaching music lessons also, and I want to start doing more recording and composing........ so I'll need a guitar that can really cover a lot of genres.

The Schecter Loomis or Blackjack is really my GAS for a 7 String and figure with enough practice, can be a very deadly tool.... and I don't want to go for the other more common Ibanez 7 string guitars.

The Mark Morton Dominion is a really versatile guitar that can cover a wide variety, what with it's coil-tapping and the make of the guitar. But it's only 22-frets, which is probably the only factor.

And of course, if I try it and don't like it, will be buying either the Ibanez S5470 (to finally fulfill my Dragonforce cravings) or the Razorback from Singapore.

If anyone wants to chime in their 2 cents, I'm all open to ears.

(BTW duckie..... THIS is how you write a comparison)

TSblacktrix
post Jun 28 2008, 09:44 PM

13,063 posts

Yeah, but I really wanted a 7 string...... If I wanted a 6 String, I'd go for the S5470 or the Razorback already........
TSblacktrix
post Jun 28 2008, 10:52 PM

13,063 posts

Again, dunno about the trem.
Will see how much the guitar costs and see if I have spare change for the razorback or not.
If not, most likely will be taking back the Loomis with the Trem.

TSblacktrix
post Jun 28 2008, 11:07 PM

13,063 posts

Hahahaha...... sorry mate.
Right now, the Les Paul IS the versatile guitar in my arsenal.
But will be downtuning the Les Paul to Zakk's specs once I get my new guitar and make it the proper metal guitar that it was made to be.

Right now, I'm contemplating swapping the EMG81/85 for a pair of Seymour Duncan Alnico II Pros (ala Slash) or DiMarzio PAF Pros and bringing it in for a total overhaul. If I find a stetsbar in the states or the Fishman Tune-O-Matic Acoustic pickup, might install it into the LP-100.

This post has been edited by blacktrix: Jun 28 2008, 11:09 PM
TSblacktrix
post Jun 30 2008, 09:00 AM

13,063 posts

Sorry mate. I don't think you can JUST bolt on a 24 fret neck on a 22 fret neck........ right?
TSblacktrix
post Jun 30 2008, 09:59 AM

13,063 posts

Oh man, this guy is freakin' INSANE!

http://steampunkworkshop.com/steampunk-strat.shtml

TSblacktrix
post Jun 30 2008, 07:15 PM

13,063 posts

Oooookay. Going to US soon, and preparing my luggage.....

So if anyone has anything you want me to buy back stuff, let me know ASAP. Nothing too big or heavy, and I MIGHT say no, depending on the size, but ask anyway and I might accommodate.

Oh man...... Suddenly saw this and GASSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssss

Neck Thru, 25.5 Scale, 24 Frets, Mahogany Body with a maple neck, Gotoh trem and the new EMG 81TW coil tapping pickup.

Drooooooooooooooooollllllll

This post has been edited by blacktrix: Jun 30 2008, 07:19 PM
TSblacktrix
post Jun 30 2008, 08:59 PM

13,063 posts

Yeah, one of the guitars one my list is the 7 string version of the Hellraiser......... droooooooooooooooooooooooool
TSblacktrix
post Jun 30 2008, 09:07 PM

13,063 posts

Bents should look better in September/October.......... That's when their super shipment is coming in.

Added on June 30, 2008, 9:13 pmHighly doubt there would be a cheaper version of custom made guitars btw.

This post has been edited by blacktrix: Jun 30 2008, 09:13 PM
TSblacktrix
post Jun 30 2008, 09:15 PM

13,063 posts

Bents? Everyone is saying it lah. Just ask anyone there "when the new shipments are coming in".
TSblacktrix
post Jun 30 2008, 10:14 PM

13,063 posts

That GAS passed away along time away for me.........
I'm back on my quest for the all-purpose, all-versatile guitar.
TSblacktrix
post Jul 1 2008, 01:39 AM

13,063 posts

For price list, just consult Musician's Friend, Sam Ash or Zzsounds websites...... They're all about the same price as Guitar Center or a retail Sam Ash anyway.

0.0279sec    0.56    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 22nd December 2025 - 03:08 AM