4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Bottom

ACCA (V4), Accountants

karhoe
post Jan 25 2009, 09:30 AM

6,238 posts

QUOTE(HiddenTrap @ Jan 23 2009, 08:52 PM)
Hi. Is CAT easy? Is it easy even if I didn't learn accounting in school.
Easy if you are consistent, if you didnt learn accounting in school, your friends who have done accounting will have advantage, but only for the first T1, T3 and T6 papers which are linked. You start from T1, then do T3 and subsequently T6. All 3 are easy papers. By the time you reached T3, if you are hardworking enough, the advantage your friend had over you is gone.

There are other papers such as T2, T5, T7, T8, T9 where it really doesnt make a difference whether you did learn accounting or not back at school. T2 might have some SPM stuff, but just minimal.

SPM is just about accounting 'principle', all those double entries, very calculation based.
karhoe
post Feb 14 2009, 11:19 PM

6,238 posts

I attended the ICAEW interview with a firm mind that I would not do ICAEW, and Dato Gan and others of BDO Binder make me think again LOL

This post has been edited by karhoe: Feb 14 2009, 11:21 PM
karhoe
post Feb 15 2009, 12:00 PM

6,238 posts

QUOTE(coolly @ Feb 15 2009, 11:57 AM)
Think again about doing ICAEW? tongue.gif  tongue.gif
Damn pening la LOL sweat.gif

One of them mentioned this "if you work now, when your ACCA grads friend graduate join you, they would be reporting to you"
karhoe
post Feb 15 2009, 09:24 PM

6,238 posts

Usually after 10.30am
karhoe
post Feb 16 2009, 11:11 PM

6,238 posts

Well my results

Damn disappointed man

Added on February 16, 2009, 11:13 pm
QUOTE(Raymond_ACCA @ Feb 16 2009, 10:09 PM)
I think Mr.Akbar is new to F5, and never really heard any good comments bout him. Since u already failed twice, why not try some other place.
I was under Akbar before, and nope, he isnt new to F5, he is a damn good lecturer, he teach without referring to anything

This post has been edited by karhoe: Feb 16 2009, 11:13 PM
karhoe
post Feb 16 2009, 11:43 PM

6,238 posts

QUOTE(acca_newbie @ Feb 16 2009, 11:24 PM)
If I'm not wrong, F5 was being taught by Ms Voon Sia all this while. Mr Akbar came along recently in Jan 09. Did he teach F5 in some other college before? I thought he was teaching CAT in Sunway right?
Hmm, no idea, I heard he had taught F5 before this. And VS is currently teaching me
karhoe
post Feb 21 2009, 01:43 PM

6,238 posts

QUOTE(yhtan @ Feb 21 2009, 12:58 PM)
i heard sunway platinum status is gone because p2 passing rate not up to requirement hmm.gif
Nope, I heard it was up to requirement, instead better than that.

IINM, Dec 08, all the passing rates were above world rate
karhoe
post Feb 22 2009, 05:04 PM

6,238 posts

QUOTE(carlosandy @ Feb 22 2009, 12:00 AM)
Another Sunway supporter, no point to argue with So Hai ppl like you.

Continue support your Mr Teo la. He will more happy when so much So Hai like you.
It's a shame, that some of us, the future ACCA affiliates, or current ACCA affiliate/member cannot act in a professional manner in this forum

This post has been edited by karhoe: Feb 22 2009, 05:05 PM
karhoe
post Feb 22 2009, 05:23 PM

6,238 posts

QUOTE(enson1985 @ Feb 19 2009, 11:03 PM)
P3 Business Analysis BA(3.5)
Wong Siew Choo (FTMS)
Martin (FTMS) *RI only

Anyone attended Wong Siew Choo class b4? Pls advice?
I attended her T5 class before, she is a damn good lecturer thumbup.gif She managed to deliver the lesson well
karhoe
post Feb 25 2009, 04:14 PM

6,238 posts

QUOTE(Xyclopse @ Feb 24 2009, 04:20 AM)
Dear ar...how can u call me yong sui wan...i heart broken de lo...
I am taught by dinesh before but not P3. I think he is ok ok only lo...
I still think Marcus is the best for P3. Wonder why he left for Inti, maybe salary there higher? Wakakaka!!
Anyways, u can still give dinesh a try ya! Good Luck!
I mentioned about it before LYN server got divided by zero, he set up his own ACCA/CAT course in Inti, basically he is da boss now, that's what I've heard.
karhoe
post Mar 5 2009, 01:36 AM

6,238 posts

QUOTE(Topace111 @ Mar 3 2009, 11:55 AM)
You can't really blame the director for want of publicity.
Prize winners are dropping & lecturers are leaving, they really need some sort of revival scheme to boost the morale around.
When CKF comes it gives him the oppurnity to pull the strings to attract more students and he did "for now".
Luckily acca market is not as volatile as share market / politics or everyone will react accordingly with the news.

One more thing I heard about sunway which also needs clarification.
I am also curious why sunway passing rate is so high compared to others & I can't help but wonder whether student performance is the only factor behind it. I discovered that sunway practice a policy of "selecting" students for exams.
- your choice of taking no of papers depends on the director (If take 4 he will evaluate whether can you pass all not student choice)
- got some sort of internal exam which (3 times ?) that if you fail all 3 you will be "delisted" from sunway as student.

I think there are others policy but this is the one i am quite sure, is it true ?
1) Well, I guess the PT plays a factor in the students success, ensuring that students revise constantly and of course peer pressure plays a role.

2) Yeap, it's in the students rule book, if you get miserable marks, i.e 30 and below in your PT, they will ask you to defer the paper, as they believe you will not make it through. If you are forced to defer, I think you don't lose much of your fees. But if you have confidence in yourself despite getting 30 and below in your PT/Mock, you can sign up for the exam online. If you pass, you are safe, but if you fail, the college has the right to remove you from the course.

3) I have never heard of "you fail all 3 you will be delisted kind of thing.
karhoe
post Mar 11 2009, 12:13 PM

6,238 posts

Guys, I just received a mail from ACCA for registration to ACCA (transfer from CAT)

It's mentioned there that I am not opted into OBU, is it normal? Cause I clearly indicated that I want to be automatically enrolled into OBU during my CAT registration.

And when I accessed 'Enter for Exams', it showed this

Isn't it that the checkbox for F6 and F4 should be on MYS?

This post has been edited by karhoe: Mar 11 2009, 12:18 PM
karhoe
post Mar 12 2009, 07:47 PM

6,238 posts

QUOTE(jayreekazin @ Mar 11 2009, 10:42 PM)
It is normal that u're not opted into OBU, because you need to pass your f4 prior to be opted in (unless u have other certs to certify your english language profiency, eg IELTS, MUET, etc). When you have passed your f4, then you should be opted in automatically. If not, you can send a simple email to the UK ACCA to ask them to opt you in. Or you can consult your college for further assistance.

Remember that to qualify for the OBU, you need to pass f4 prior to attempting any paper of f7, f8 , f9. Means you need to clear f4 before passing any one of paper f7, f8, f9. If lets say u passed f7, but failed f4, you can no longer take OBU at all forever, do u get it? smile.gif
There's no problem with it.

Check for this:
Below the "Update centre selection"
Above the "Section B"

It should state that:
Your variant selections are:Law:  Malaysia (MYS)
Tax:  Malaysia (MYS)

Then there is no prob at all. I hope it helps. Any other questions, you can ask me smile.gif
I see this above the posted pic

Your variant selections are:Law: Malaysia (MYS)
Tax: Malaysia (MYS)

But just curious why the checkbox is not placed under MYS column
karhoe
post Mar 13 2009, 02:54 PM

6,238 posts

QUOTE(nothing_nth @ Mar 13 2009, 12:14 PM)
can u guys help me?
i juz gt my spm results, n i wonder to  further my studies, should i get a degree 1st then get ACCA or CAT then ACCA?
did TARC offer degree in accountancy ? help plz!
Up to you

1) CAT->ACCA, do in Sunway or KL colleges, both got pros and cons, but I am currently in Sunway doing this option, now at ACCA already - 3 years

2) TARC, the pathway is -> Diploma, Advanced diploma, Degree - ACCA - 4 years

For option 1, it is faster provided you don't fail at all, because it is very exam orientated, and you study to pass the paper. Sad to say, most of the people in this course have terrible communication skills because this course does not require you to do a single presentation at all. It's all external exams.

For option 2, life would be more relaxed, but studying in TarC, you got to ask those who study there on the environment.

Btw, there is also another option, that is to do a business foundation course, then degree, and subsequently ACCA.

Oh btw, Option 1 - life would be hell tongue.gif

This post has been edited by karhoe: Mar 13 2009, 02:55 PM
karhoe
post Mar 30 2009, 08:22 PM

6,238 posts

LOL, you guys can spent days arguing over which college is better.

Well, for those who want to take up the course, just have to read on what we have to say on the colleges based on our experience

So let me say what I want to say

Sunway college is good, they provide you good and experienced lecturers (ok, fine, might not be as experience as SOME of the KL colleges lecturer), most importantly lecturers who can deliver the knowledge to the students

Your college life, studying ACCA won't be boring, you get to mix around with other students, there are activities, clubs, societies.

Sunway has also retained its platinum status, a prove that the students performance during the exam is above the rest as a whole.

Some of you might argue that Sunway ban students who failed the progress test and mock exam from sitting in the real exam, that is why those bad apples are filtered out and only good ones are sent to the battle field to retain Sunway platinum status.

But think of it this way, if you have been failing the PT and Mock, what are the chances of you passing the exam, you would be walking in the exam without knowing everything about the paper, would Sunway want to produce such ACCA grads?

Apart from that, the PT and mock serves as a benchmark, the students are extremely competitive in the college, so the fear of being barred from the real exam coupled with peer pressure actually induces the student to study consistently since the PT are held every few weeks.

I really hope no one say that I am being paid by Mr Teo, that would be as if you are saying Sunway do not deserved to be praised and any attempt is probably because I am being paid sweat.gif

This post has been edited by karhoe: Mar 30 2009, 08:25 PM
karhoe
post Mar 30 2009, 08:29 PM

6,238 posts

QUOTE(smartlike @ Mar 30 2009, 08:25 PM)
i would like enquire about the ptptn loan for sunway college.Does sunway college for ACCA courses are applicable for ptptn loan or if there is other loan that can be apply??
i need a reply soon as i m havin financial difficulties~!!thank you!
I heard before, that ACCA and CAT is not being offered PTPTN because it is difficult and involves alot of administrative job when students resit, students taking different paper combinations, etc.

But someone told me its being offered, though I have not seen it in newspaper anywhere yet.

Did you just finish SPM? What's your SPM result, there's entrance scholarhsip
karhoe
post Mar 31 2009, 06:34 PM

6,238 posts

QUOTE(carlosandy @ Mar 30 2009, 10:17 PM)
I'm not agree with this statement. Do you know how part time student study ACCA? Part time student every week work 5 to 5 1/2 days and during peak period they don't have time to study, how to attend and pass the mock exam? But why they still can pass the ACCA exam even they study last minutes.

I got one friend study part time P2 in Sunway last sitting, she was not happy with arrangement for too many class and mock exam in Sunway as she was part time student. Finally she fail mock exam and Sunway want to ban her from take exam. She was very angry for this arrangement, how come paid so much money, but college still want to ban her take exam. Finally, she register as private student to take P2 and pass the exam.

I got a lot of friend (including me) study all paper part time and full time in KL, don't have much chance to attend mock exam. Even attend mock exam, but also fail in low marks. But in real exam, they still can pass. I got one friend from TARC, she is just attend P2 & P3 revision class in KL college and just use 2 weeks to study, but finally she can pass this 2 paper.

From my opinion, Mock exam is good for student. Attend mock exam can help student know the mistake, but if you fail doesn't mean you will fail in real ACCA exam.

For the platinum status, I don't think this is very important for ACCA student. If you are good student, you go to anywhere also can study. Just like you drink coke in 5 star restaurant, that is no difference for the taste if you buy coke in 7-11.
That's the good thing about Sunway, offering you extra classes, it's for students benefit after all. If she just failed her mock exam, Sunway won't ban her just like that. Sunway will check her track record, the other subjects that she take, as well as her attendance. Good that she pass, but it doesn't mean Sunway is wrong in barring people. When your friend is barred from taking the real exam, ask her how many % of the fees is carried to the next semester.

And Sunway usually bar if you fail MISERABLY.

Well, obviously the status, be it platinum or gold does not have anything to do with the students, it's just indication on the college performance, prove that Sunway has churned out good results.

The truth and fact is Sunway is a good college for students to pursue ACCA & CAT, you can't deny it. Yes, I am a Sunway supporter, Yes I am promoting Sunway because I am currently studying there and I am totally satisfied with everything, and hence there is no reason why I shouldn't promote Sunway.

No, Mr Teo did not pay me any single cent, I have not spoken a single word with him before. If your friend is studying part time and can't handle the many classes in Sunway, then obviously Sunway is not the place for her to be in, she should just attend KL colleges which could help her pas by attending the 'P2 & P3 revision class, just use 2 weeks to study'
karhoe
post Mar 31 2009, 06:37 PM

6,238 posts

QUOTE(carlosandy @ Mar 31 2009, 08:53 AM)
Very funny. A lot of lecturer also know how bad about Mr Teo. In commercial, a lot of lecturer also hate Mr Teo. If u don't believe, go to ask the lecturer already left Sunway. A lot of the Famous & experience lecturer already left Sunway, this is also true, just u don't agree and go to promote Sunway. Btw, may be still got some good lecturer, but not much lo! 

Sorry lo, u are now keep on to hate other college, is you keep on to fire. If you want to stop, then please don't reply me. I won't stop if you still continue said other college bad thing.

Added on March 31, 2009, 10:01 am

Total agree with your statement.

As a senior, we can try our best to give the recommendation for the lecturer, tell the student pro & con for that lecturer or college. But the best recommendation is student try out first and he/she will know better.

And not like that fellow, keep on to promote Sunway and keep on to said "other college lecturer spotting question rather than making the students understand what the syllabus is about". In chinese word, it means 抬高自己,踩低别人 to promote Sunway!
Who are you to define a good lecturer or not? I dare to say all Sunway lecturers are good, good to the extent if you follow them closely, you can pass the papers.

Define hate? Hate because of what? Hate because they are not getting paid enough? Isn't it known that the reason lecturers left Sunway is because KL colleges offered them higher pay?

Tell me one lecturer in Sunway whom you think is not good? Do you know?
karhoe
post Mar 31 2009, 06:48 PM

6,238 posts

QUOTE(Topace111 @ Mar 31 2009, 01:23 AM)
I agree with your statement here & i like the coke analogy.
I think every individual deserves the right to exam & any sort of ban is nothing short of infringement of human rights.
I also like another post above mentioning something about battlefield. I perceive acca as something in opposite actually which i will not mention here.
The funny thing about mock is that I always tend to achieve better in simulation compared to than actual one. How ironic it seems.
Perhaps failure in mock can drive that particular student to even greater hight (a sort of motivation speech I read somewhere).

Finally I can conclude my findings about "Lecturers" after few months of research which I dare not reveal earlier due to lack of data. Ok here we go.
The issue of experience , capability, qualification, popularity, pass rates, race, fees structure, location will have to take backseat to the ultimate factor, synergy.

Ok I will use 4 lecturers for 2 different papers tested with 4 different students to illustrate :
First theory paper so I use P3 : Parmindar & Michael Mainwaring
Both lecturer are have proven track record with heavy pedigree as well. However both of them have a very distinctive way of lecturing.
After hanging out with several friends (for P3 its mostly girls) I have encountered some of them cannot adapt to parmindar style of giving several model as an answer to a question. The linkage use between model also confuse them as well. Boys (em hem) whom majority have good memory power doesn't find these a problem so they are comfortable with it but majority of the girls find it rather cumbersome.

Some of them tried out michael mainwaring for revision & find out he is completely different as he teach 1 model for 1 answer instead of parmidar way of giving as many examples as possible. One of them also point out m.m use a more direct & simple approach which suited them more. So after few more narration it erupt into lecturer war which I am stuck in the middle. Support the girls the boys branded me a traitor, supporting the boys the girls branded me as "ungentleman" whtever that means so i left after reconcile.

Next on calculational paper so I use P2 : Haneef & Yap Kok Wah.
Both are very experienced lecturer but have different focus & style. Haneef is more interested in the theoretical part & lecture based on Int stream.
Yap is more interested in calculational part & lecture based on MYS stream. In the past i will quickly recommend the former lecturer but after some few discussion with another group of friends I have also arrived at the synergy conclusion.

These time I start from 2 different girl. One who fail under Haneef but passed under yap while the other one is the opposite.
The first girl have studied under haneef for quite some time but still fail with reasons unknown to her (she is quite hardworking too). Then she just decided to follow another lecturer & decided to join her close friend who attend yap class. After that she passed the exam. It seems that although Yap is not perfect but the methods suit her more than the previous lecturer.
Another girl whom is also smart & harworking also failed but under yap she finds the method quite inadequate for exam purpose. So she decided to follow haneef & finally pass the exam with flying colours as well since she finds haneef method fills the gaps of her previous lecturer methods.

Ultimately the choice of lecturer lies on the student itself. There will be never one universal lecturer whom suits all expectations & needs.
If you want the best recommendation try out the lecturer yourself and make your own review. Thats thousand times better indicator compared to experienced lecturer notworthy.gif  or world class university. notworthy.gif
The policy is simple, if Sunway ban you, they do not want you to sit for the exam, if they do not enforce this, students won't be bothered studying for the internal exams at all.

It's already in the rules book, if the college bans you, you can't go for the exam, but ACCA did not forbid you, you just have to sign up via ACCA and go for the exam, prove to sunway that you can do it and you can pass. If you subsequently fail in the real exam, then you won't be allowed to study in sunway anymore.

Also, majority of students who are stubborn enough to register for the exam despite being barred from the real exam, subsequently fail, so it's a gamble here.

karhoe
post Apr 1 2009, 10:50 AM

6,238 posts

QUOTE(carlosandy @ Mar 31 2009, 08:58 PM)
This is first time I see ppl support college too much. Ban student to take exam also say is correct. Ha Ha, very funny.
I thought I already said that Sunway has its own way to ensure students get prepare early, by ensuring they perform in the tests and mock exams, with the threat that they might be barred if they consistently failed miserably.

I support my college because I am there and I enjoy studying there, it is not like I am supporting it blindly. If Sunway simply bans students from sitting in the exam without allowing students to justify themselves, then I myself would also not support it blindly, you get what I mean?

QUOTE(carlosandy @ Mar 31 2009, 09:10 PM)
If KSA or Mc Orange ban student to take exam, this 2 college also can get Platinum status. Forgot to tell you also, Kasturi didn't ban any student to take exam, but also can get gold.

I agree Sunway is a good college for students to pursue ACCA/CAT, but NOT ON LECTURER lo. Ya, Sunway oso got good lecturer but not as per you say 'all lecturers are good'.

And every college also got pro & con, you only look at good thing about Sunway, but never look anything not good. That is no perfect in the world, young man.
The percentage of students getting barred from real exam is not significant, not like 50% of sunway students get barred every sitting.

If you insists that not all lecturers are good, can you name any? Or just by word of mouth?

How do you define a lecturer being good or not in the first place? Why do you say that KL colleges are much better off? Is it because the lecturer has more years or teaching? Is it because the lecturer can deliver the lessons well? Is it because the lecturer understands the students pace?

Each of us got different way of defining a good lecturer.

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0748sec    0.68    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 09:12 AM