which brake pad perform better?, bendix? mentix? ferodo?
evolutionize
Jun 28 2008, 07:38 PM

currently using ferodo zero on my ride... bites very very well when hot.. good if u drive aggressively... based on my observation, brake dust accumulate more on the rims compared to stock brake pads..neway no hassle washing them off.
TSnorthiswara
Jun 30 2008, 11:01 AM
so in summary ferodo bites well when it is hot.
paperboi
Jun 30 2008, 11:12 AM

ok sect 8 spare parts shop is opposite Hilton Hotel. There is a KFC on the corner take that road in and turn left. shops its on the left hand side, happy shopping.
zeist
Jun 30 2008, 01:17 PM
Yee haa, next change Ferodo brake pads.
paperboi
Jun 30 2008, 02:15 PM

another brans u can try is trestor........... this 1 my fren recommend 1 i haven't try b4!
bling*2
Jun 30 2008, 10:06 PM

ferodo at rm75 per set....wow cheapler...
metal king is good but bite disc rotorlah.
ferodo my next change then
Vervain
Jul 1 2008, 02:34 PM
guys, what about those ceramic brakes? saw one advert by autogen. Is it ok?
minikar
Jul 3 2008, 12:11 AM

QUOTE(paperboi @ Jun 30 2008, 11:12 AM) ok sect 8 spare parts shop is opposite Hilton Hotel. There is a KFC on the corner take that road in and turn left. shops its on the left hand side, happy shopping. Thankssssssss
iRonTech
Jul 6 2008, 01:05 AM
OT: about the rotor, is bosch brand rotor good? I'm looking pair for city front pair as my rotor is bit uneven ready..  it will vibrate when hit the brake at speed 90km/h above..
IceCube
Jul 7 2008, 08:14 PM
My vote for Ferodo too. Nowadays hard to find .
Normally i bought around rm100 for my kenari.
the_catacombs
Jul 7 2008, 10:13 PM
QUOTE(iRonTech @ Jul 6 2008, 01:05 AM) OT: about the rotor, is bosch brand rotor good? I'm looking pair for city front pair as my rotor is bit uneven ready..  it will vibrate when hit the brake at speed 90km/h above.. uneven adi den send it for skimming lor... dun need to change new rotor each time mah....
zeist
Jul 8 2008, 12:08 AM
QUOTE(IceCube @ Jul 7 2008, 08:14 PM) My vote for Ferodo too. Nowadays hard to find . Normally i bought around rm100 for my kenari. Authorized dealer or something... Just like Q8 engine oils, not all spare part shops selling them.
crazeeclan
Jul 8 2008, 01:34 PM
ferodo is good...but when the pad is still cold...drive slow abit...no so bite...but when hot...it bite kao kao....bought it for rm65...for kelisa use...
This post has been edited by crazeeclan: Jul 8 2008, 01:34 PM
iRonTech
Jul 9 2008, 07:15 PM
QUOTE(the_catacombs @ Jul 7 2008, 10:13 PM) uneven adi den send it for skimming lor... dun need to change new rotor each time mah....  the mechanic told me can skim once only as its getting thinness QUOTE(crazeeclan @ Jul 8 2008, 01:34 PM) ferodo is good...but when the pad is still cold...drive slow abit...no so bite...but when hot...it bite kao kao....bought it for rm65...for kelisa use... how about Bosch brade pad?
jacek
Jul 10 2008, 10:34 AM

QUOTE(iRonTech @ Jul 9 2008, 07:15 PM) the mechanic told me can skim once only as its getting thinness how about Bosch brade pad? it depends on how bad it was when u go for the 1st skim. there's no particular rule stated that only can skim once for any disc. ask ur mech to check on the disc cond and then decide whether to go for 1nd skim. another opt is, just go for the 2nd skim (if u have extra budget), and then try again to brake at 90km/h, feel the difference. anyway, it is just RM50 for skimming. worth trying, rather than changing the disc.
TSnorthiswara
Jul 10 2008, 10:45 AM
i skim mine rm30/disc.
wai_w3ng
Jul 10 2008, 11:16 AM

ehh..airline selling my iswara front disc for 55 only ma..if so why go skim leh...zzz
-JfD-
Jul 10 2008, 11:54 AM
QUOTE(northiswara @ Jun 24 2008, 03:59 PM) hope everyone that has experience with bendix metal king titanium, mentix, ferodo brake pad can give some feedback on those pad in terms of the braking grip good or not and will the pad makan the rotor as claim by some users? i driving sentra B14 auto. i find out that my fornt brake is not so makan like vios. hehe........... so plan to upgrade the pad. Havent had experience with those pads. But basically i was experiencing the same feeling (as you) with my Nissan S15 4pots. I then did a full overhaul, serviced the calipers (weren't in good condition), changed brakepads (RS pads from Automotive Genesis) and a set of stainless-steel braided brakehoses. Now brake pedal feels very firm and the bite/force is what i expect from a 4pot.  Hope it helps. This post has been edited by -JfD-: Jul 10 2008, 11:55 AM
TSnorthiswara
Jul 10 2008, 02:30 PM
QUOTE(-JfD- @ Jul 10 2008, 11:54 AM) Havent had experience with those pads. But basically i was experiencing the same feeling (as you) with my Nissan S15 4pots. I then did a full overhaul, serviced the calipers (weren't in good condition), changed brakepads (RS pads from Automotive Genesis) and a set of stainless-steel braided brakehoses. Now brake pedal feels very firm and the bite/force is what i expect from a 4pot.  Hope it helps. the caliper also can service?
malyadayada
Jul 10 2008, 02:41 PM
QUOTE(northiswara @ Jul 10 2008, 02:30 PM) the caliper also can service? yes there is am O-ring inside the caliper can be change and align back the caliper piston.. while at the brake system better check your master brake pump, ur rear brake pump(drums)/ rear disc service the caliper n align back the piston. if wanna better brake change to a bigger servo used afi, trestor, don 3 star, stock proton pads all used on a cross drilled rotor n got a very effective brake... hope tis helps ya..