Subwoofer Discussion Thread, A thread for things that go BOOOOMMM!!!
mys_terious
Dec 3 2008, 10:20 AM
QUOTE(callmevil @ Dec 3 2008, 07:16 AM) ill take screenshots when its all here lol ill be adding a 2nd SVS next year i thinkkk then arrange it on each opposite corners of the room.. Top Left n bottom right.. lol dunno yet.. cuz im still talking with Mike on shipping cost to get their speakrs here.. did u see the speakers?? top of the line tweeters.... aaah~~ bro r u sure u wanna spend so much on something u havent heard b4.. subwoofer is 1 thing, speakers r totally diff.. what if the speaker r not your taste? sell cheap cheap to us?
mys_terious
Dec 4 2008, 09:42 AM
QUOTE(pierreye @ Dec 4 2008, 08:31 AM) Wait until you watch Dark Knight. The bass is crazy. I think I developed permanent ear damage after watching 2 1/2 hours of batman  . with the monster subs like u n callmevil own, i think its more likely u two will get brain damage if u watch batman 3 times in a row:)
mys_terious
Dec 29 2008, 09:52 PM
QUOTE(BassHead2 @ Dec 29 2008, 07:40 PM) My NHT SW10 already kaput. Need immediate replacement. 3 choices : - Velodyne CHT-12R - Velodyne CHT-10Q - Velodyne MiniVee 10 Which one give bass that can shake my floor? I want real powerful earthquake shake but don't want spend so much money. bro i think u need to state how big is the floor area u r planning to shake, the height of your ceiling then the velo sifus can help u
mys_terious
Feb 9 2009, 11:52 AM
QUOTE(edwintey @ Feb 8 2009, 06:22 PM) May be some one want to try this  Added on February 9, 2009, 1:51 amIt's MK MX250, 1000w, dual active woofer. I am just open box & burning in, wait for another 1~2 weeks, I will give a report. got that plain jane no nonsense look...
mys_terious
Feb 16 2009, 01:44 PM
QUOTE(butter finger @ Feb 11 2009, 02:34 PM) for example bought Black Rhodium Rhapsody less than RM150, whereas Amcorp Mall sells for RM180. Was quoted Q1010 for RM670 and Hiwaylaser is higher than his. Wonder same case with Velo. i bought q1010i rm690 from hiwaylaser
mys_terious
Feb 17 2009, 11:36 AM
QUOTE(slicardo @ Feb 17 2009, 11:12 AM) Same is true with me. I requested for a quotation for svs for a 2400 cu ft area of listening/viewing room but I did not get a reply from them. So I settled for the velo CHT 12R and was deeply satisfied with its performance. You just dont hear the bass but you actually feel it. The sound vibrates into your body. If given another opportunity to buy a 2nd sub, I will go for the 12R again. the fella will miss out some mails once awhile but definately not becoz your area was too small.. just resend your email.. if u r asking for quotation it will take 2 or 3 days coz he needs the shipping co to quote him 1st... anyway now usd rate 3.6 vely pricy to buy svs
mys_terious
Feb 17 2009, 12:57 PM
QUOTE(gtafan @ Feb 17 2009, 12:44 PM) me too! been 2 weeks! wonder wat had happen to their top-notch cust service? maybe had a staff cut? heh email n *** him.. i did it b4...
mys_terious
Feb 18 2009, 08:48 AM
QUOTE(ronnt88 @ Feb 17 2009, 08:34 PM) sorry guys... i know i probably made an impression that i wanted to get a great sub but.... due to impulse type nature, i auditioned and brought home a CHT12Q for RM2.8k from hifichoice to be honest, when i auditioned the sound wasn't great... better than current 9" sub but still not great. I tried my best to describe the sound I wanted and apparently I needed a 15" driver sub for the sound I need and not recommended for condo so....... also influenced by tough times, i cut short budget and got this instead  thought the price was fair though err..... i don't know how to give FR ler but i tried transformer opening scene & ironman mark 1 coming out from cave scene and the CHT12Q did ok la... no distortion of any sort so.... overall value over price ratio is very high if u asked me  bro your 9inch was what sub?. anyway congrats n enjoy!!!.. cht12q in a condo will shake some S when your neigbours r pangsaing
mys_terious
Feb 18 2009, 08:37 PM
QUOTE(ronnt88 @ Feb 18 2009, 09:36 AM) my 9" sub was Canton (German)... interested? i willing to let go cheap cheap. FYI, u can check the price at hi-way laser SS2... comes with 5yrs warranty. about 6mths young only.. see pics below. P/S: a few days ago I met my neighbour (directly under my unit wan) and asked if i was too noisy when i watched movies but they said they didn't hear anything  wonder if they'll say the same thing now with new 12" subby no thanx bro.. i was just curious coz i saw 9inch thought it was scanspeak.. anyway will ask around n see any1 interested in your subby or not.. trust me your your neighbours cant pangsai in peace now
mys_terious
Feb 19 2009, 11:18 AM
QUOTE(geforce1999 @ Feb 19 2009, 10:57 AM) Just a silly question, anyone of you using the powerful sub having cracks on tiles or walls of your hourse/apt? As I my house has some cracks but I don't know if they were because of the volume turning too high or just the developer's fault. Been moving in for 8 years and without the crack initially but my wife upstairs would always come down to from master room asking me to turn down the volumne while movie watcing at the living room as she claimed the door of our master room upstair was shaking.... hairline crack is possible but they r not dangerous.. just ugly...
mys_terious
Feb 23 2009, 09:15 AM
QUOTE(mpyw @ Feb 23 2009, 08:32 AM) i just unplug the main wall socket which connect to my Belkin Gold series  i also use belkin surge master.. advertised to give up to rm20k for repair cost right?
mys_terious
Mar 11 2009, 08:52 AM
QUOTE(logit85 @ Mar 10 2009, 03:11 PM) i dont like that subwoofer Velodyne DD 1812 becouse Frequency Response: 15-120 Hz, +/- 3dB that is no good music songs but movies theater good only but wont get boomy i think can get boomy like Frequency Response: 15-200 Hz +/- 3dB or 15-250 Hz +/- 3dB only so i like 1000 watts RMS and 1500 watts RMS 2000 watts RMS 2500 watts RMS above most powerfull can be louder i like louder boomy bass and big subwoofer Woofers dual or Woofers 12" or 15" or 18" above dual like explan first woofer 10" secand woofer 15" and first woofer 12" secand woofer 18" like this Velodyne DD 1812 i did see picture wow nice woofer dual bigger i looking other brand good for use music songs to play louder bro u already tried velodyne DD izt.. dont look at specs.. just use a good sub but place it at the worst placement so it will get boomy... n i dont know y u wanna get a sub to play up to 250hz .. This post has been edited by mys_terious: Mar 11 2009, 12:48 PM
mys_terious
Mar 12 2009, 10:17 PM
found this thread to be quite funny.. a lady needs to convince his partner to get a subby... how come malaysian wives r not like that:) http://www.xtremeplace.com/yabbse/index.php?topic=61575.0This post has been edited by mys_terious: Mar 12 2009, 10:17 PM
mys_terious
Mar 17 2009, 09:48 AM
QUOTE(nakata101 @ Mar 16 2009, 09:51 PM) Abang Mega just told me rm5k not enough to get sub, speaker and amp.... at least need 10k.... I heard the rm2k HTS already best ad..... hmm.. but only the expert like u guys here know the different lah. So i need more sifu give more suggestion lah.. If i got not more than 5k budget only to get the system i list below (at least 5.1 lah): 1.AMP: 2.Speaker : 3.Subwoofer: How about if i got rm10k Budget: 1.AMP: 2.Speaker : 3.Subwoofer: bro if wanna go cheap can always hunt for 2nd hand stuffs but for receiver if u wanna get 2nd hand make sure got hdmi
mys_terious
Mar 18 2009, 10:33 AM
QUOTE(nakata101 @ Mar 18 2009, 10:02 AM) R they provide carrier service direct to end user house door...?? How about i setup like below... : 1.AMP: Yamaha 663 = RM1900 2.Speaker : Mission M33i = RM1200, Mission MH3 Center + Surround = RM950 3.Subwoofer: velodyne cht 12Q=RM28xx Ok??? nakata u r from alor setar right? u can try those mission speakers in Sentosa shopping complex in jln putra.. just try there dont have to buy there... get your price quoted from else where then go back to the shop n ask him if he can match the price.. and pls close your ears whenever u r not listening to the speakers the salesman n the boss knows nothing n talk crap... This post has been edited by mys_terious: Mar 18 2009, 10:35 AM
mys_terious
Mar 18 2009, 10:59 AM
QUOTE(nakata101 @ Mar 18 2009, 10:34 AM) Thx, bro.... i m from ALor Star, just thinking if i got travel to PG maybe i can visit u or got any shop at PG got sell those system and for audition too?? Added on March 18, 2009, 10:37 amThx bro... i m really dunno the Sentosa also got for audition, i almost everyweek will go there to pickup my comic one... but really dint saw the shop b4. go to tingkat 3 ... i am sure they carry mission.. the rest i cant remember.. i think got AAD and infinity .. as for receivers they have alot of old models but they will tell u its the latest:) This post has been edited by mys_terious: Mar 18 2009, 11:02 AM
mys_terious
Mar 20 2009, 12:21 AM
QUOTE(nakata101 @ Mar 19 2009, 02:58 PM) Wah.. so stress lah like that, if i dint come then i will make u guys disappointed loh... Maybe i will direct get Klipsch HT ffrom Htkaki loh..... just worry the subwoofer not enough power if compare with SVS or Velodyne..  y dont u test in the shops and get the model number then buy from htkaki..
mys_terious
Mar 20 2009, 08:00 AM
QUOTE(nakata101 @ Mar 20 2009, 06:37 AM) Htkaki only sell Klipsch brand only.... i meant go the shops that sells klipsch then u would know u like the sound n whether the sub is powerful enuf for u or not... if ngam u then call htkaki to order la..
mys_terious
Mar 30 2009, 10:05 AM
QUOTE(Hwoarang45 @ Mar 30 2009, 04:09 AM) om ht kaki he always got kang tau offers, or visit subwoofer thread on this forumbro i thought this is the subwoofer thread liao ma This post has been edited by mys_terious: Mar 30 2009, 10:06 AM
mys_terious
Mar 30 2009, 04:55 PM
QUOTE(htkaki @ Mar 30 2009, 03:49 PM) We have actually proposed a few subs to logit85 but it seems that he is still asking. I shall make a pass for this. Maybe someone can help him out. he sounded like another fella in lyn.. the fella was looking for PA speakers.. also looking for boom boom sound This post has been edited by mys_terious: Mar 30 2009, 05:16 PM