CLOSED

kaiserreich
post Sep 26 2008, 12:48 AM

Pendekar Papan Kekunci
4,234 posts

QUOTE(viperiii @ Sep 25 2008, 09:10 PM)
how much it costs??

Added on September 25, 2008, 9:11 pmbetul..
1st you said it's expensive, then you asked how much it cost? doh.gif doh.gif doh.gif

Added on September 26, 2008, 12:52 am
QUOTE(Eoma @ Sep 25 2008, 10:23 PM)
Hmm, no offence taken, as you said I merely pointed out the facts of watching SD content on HD screens. (i.e it will appear blocky if stretched to full screen).

If you bought a Full HD display in the 1st place, it's because you want to enjoy Full HD material correct ? The downside of this though, is you will find your SD content looking blocky. So what would you do now ? enjoy Full HD (whenever you can, games, videos etc) and tolerate blocky SD video, or return the HDTV for a lower res monitor, so that the SD content displays better ? With a 24" LCD, you can afford to sit further than 1.5m. smile.gif

"Most contents are SD" would be valid a few years ago, but now, even the TV shows floating for free are encoded in 720p (or higher). The only deciding factor to me would be the price of the display itself. Not the content.
Yeah, but hey, we are running on screamyx, so, gotta prioritize in the files that you want SD and the files you want to be in HD.

Nowadays, I mostly obtain HD content, but there's still anime that comes in SD, and the fact remains, HD movies are slow in their release, which would make the experience...less enjoyable, or "delayed"

This post has been edited by kaiserreich: Sep 26 2008, 12:52 AM
kaiserreich
post Sep 26 2008, 12:27 PM

Pendekar Papan Kekunci
4,234 posts

QUOTE(Barricade @ Sep 26 2008, 07:04 AM)
heard of bluray? and the release of bluray movies is the same as dvd release date
Hmm....I might have got my facts wrong then. I was of the impression that BD release is about 2 - 3 months after the movie release. Which I regard as slow anyways.

As to the other issue, there is ahem BD, and those 8GB+ 1080p are just blu-ray rips that if you don't stare and look hard enough, you probably wouldn't notice any difference between it and the real BD, unless you compare side by side.
kaiserreich
post Sep 28 2008, 05:51 PM

Pendekar Papan Kekunci
4,234 posts

doh.gif doh.gif

You don't know about them, and you implied that you've never seen them but then you said they suck?

I never saw you but i think you look very lengcai, is this same analogy?

Why do people comment about things they don't know about anyways?
kaiserreich
post Oct 5 2008, 10:01 AM

Pendekar Papan Kekunci
4,234 posts

QUOTE(Skylinestar @ Oct 5 2008, 09:54 AM)
i went to LYP on saturday. samsung T220 RM9XX only drool.gif
May I ask which shop?
kaiserreich
post Oct 5 2008, 09:18 PM

Pendekar Papan Kekunci
4,234 posts

To viperiii, I don't care how big you want your monitor to be, what are the resolutions they are and such, and I know you are a big fan of 1080p content.

But most of us I assume would have download mostly 720p programs and on 1680x1050, it display finely. Thing is, you keep shooting people down and asking them to buy 24" whenever someone asks about any monitor at all. Over the past few pages, you've been "GET A 24" Monitor", I get it, and anyone who wants to buy a monitor would actually look past a few pages and get that you have been promoting 24" Monitors.

Why don't you put that in your Sig or something, hurts my eyes keep reading that every few posts.

This post has been edited by kaiserreich: Oct 5 2008, 09:23 PM
kaiserreich
post Oct 5 2008, 11:06 PM

Pendekar Papan Kekunci
4,234 posts

QUOTE(viperiii @ Oct 5 2008, 09:35 PM)
Do you want us to use phased out technology??
I'm just asking you to tone down your promotion of 24" monitors with most of the replies you have. and if you really want to, put it in your sig and blog about the benefits of 24" and such or join the people at the blu-ray discussion forum, where they can afford 1080p content and all the accesories that is required to play such content.

Here we discuss about monitors, and even though to such an extent, you are discussing it, I don't it's right to just shove it into someone's face about 24" like some annoying credit card sales person you meet outside, everytime someone asks about what kind of a monitor they should buy when their budget doesn't allow it. If you want to talk about stretching the budget, I'm sure most people are stretching their own budget to buy that bigger sized monitor.

The prices of lower end 24" monitors are comparable to the much expensive 22" and I'm sure most of us are aware of that but the fact that if their GPU cannot drive such a high resolution nicely, what's the point of buying it then. Imagine running a 24" with say....a HD2400pro, heck, even the 4850 can't really do 1920x1200 nicely for games. And what's the point of driving SD content on 24". Yes 720p are available to download no doubt, but that's 1080p, how many 1080p full movies you want to download with Screamyx?

All in all, bigger is better, most people know it, I think they don't need you to remind them everytime they or somebody ask about some lower sized monitor.

kaiserreich
post Oct 8 2008, 12:23 PM

Pendekar Papan Kekunci
4,234 posts

I have friends who still thinks that 5:4 is the best and refuses to upgrade to 16:10 because he says 5:4 is the best. And he went around asking for the any 5:4 larger than 19". doh.gif

So, it's user preference, 16:10, 5:4 etc. as long as it rocks your boat, anything goes.

This post has been edited by kaiserreich: Oct 8 2008, 12:23 PM
kaiserreich
post Oct 19 2008, 08:45 PM

Pendekar Papan Kekunci
4,234 posts

I went to Genting and saw their Roulette tables all use LCD monitors to display the winning numbers. All if not most of them uses the Dell Ultrasharp series and some even uses the 24" Ultrasharp, not sure which version it is. When I saw it, I was like, wtf??!!!!! Though one thing for sure, the 24" looks a lot more better than the TN 22" monitors they used to display the results.
kaiserreich
post Oct 19 2008, 08:54 PM

Pendekar Papan Kekunci
4,234 posts

But the wtf moment was when I realize they bought the whole set with core 2 duo just to run a winning number display board....on a 24" ultrasharp sweat.gif doh.gif
kaiserreich
post Oct 19 2008, 09:38 PM

Pendekar Papan Kekunci
4,234 posts

Standing at circus palace staring at the 24" thinking why did they use a 24" to display stuff. And then I found out the Poker tables uses cheap 17" TN Acer Panels and some uses IBM panels.

Those were crap. They could make the money back for the stuff in about a day per table, maybe less.

Gosh....and some people thought using a C2D rig to do torrent stuff is overkill, this Genting thing is way way overkill.
kaiserreich
post Oct 20 2008, 03:55 PM

Pendekar Papan Kekunci
4,234 posts

QUOTE(Ree73 @ Oct 19 2008, 11:30 PM)
I puchase sumsung 226BW today... Only RM747... Great bargain.
What panel?

What does it say behind the monitor, "A", "S", "C", which one?
kaiserreich
post Oct 23 2008, 12:59 AM

Pendekar Papan Kekunci
4,234 posts

If 22", you've stuck with one choice.

24", it's about RM50 difference and the s2409w you get more real estate.

Anyways, the Samsung T220, is it glossy or matte screen? With the prices of 22" monitors dropping so much lately and 21.6" cropping up, it's really hard to make a choice for the 22" segment isn't it?
kaiserreich
post Oct 23 2008, 01:12 AM

Pendekar Papan Kekunci
4,234 posts

Funnily, the prices vary from shop to shop, these 22", as much as Rm100.

The T220 as a matte screen made it harder for me. Previously I was considering the 2232bw vs 226bw vs Dell e228.
I can't swallow the fact that I'm picking the T220 for it's bezel even though that's the only thing, IMHO good about it, and the price is way higher.

Added on October 23, 2008, 1:13 amFunnily, the prices vary from shop to shop, these 22", as much as Rm100.

The T220 as a matte screen made it harder for me. Previously I was considering the 2232bw vs 226bw vs Dell e228.
I can't swallow the fact that I'm picking the T220 for it's bezel even though that's the only thing, IMHO good about it, and the price is way higher.

This post has been edited by kaiserreich: Oct 23 2008, 01:13 AM
kaiserreich
post Oct 23 2008, 10:06 AM

Pendekar Papan Kekunci
4,234 posts

Well, if you are doing console gaming, 1920x1080 is the way to go, since you can eliminate the black bars on top and bottom. Honestly, that's all that I can think of. The G2400W is indeed tempting as well, but I haven't done much research into 24" as much as I did with 22's
kaiserreich
post Oct 24 2008, 03:16 PM

Pendekar Papan Kekunci
4,234 posts

Firstly, the T220 is not full HD, it's 1680x1050. It's the BenQ T2200HD that's running on 1920x1080.

With the money you have, I'd suggest you buy a new computer all together, it'd be pointless to be running games on 1920x1080 with that PC of yours. By the way, the 1920x1080 is good for movies and with the budget most Malaysian have you'd be getting choppy frames running Crysis on 1920x1080 even with a HD4850. Don't say you weren't warned
kaiserreich
post Oct 26 2008, 11:49 AM

Pendekar Papan Kekunci
4,234 posts

QUOTE(viperiii @ Oct 25 2008, 11:41 PM)
get ready for the future..
HD 1080..
By the time HD broadcast comes to Malaysia, the monitor we are buying now also koyak already.

RTM is talking about shifting to Digital Broadcast in about 4 years time, that's Digital, not HD. Anyone ever heard Astro talking anything the sound of HD broadcast? The only thing I ever read is more channels and and higher price.

TM is experimenting with 8MB IPTV, but HSBB is expected in about 4 years time, and I doubt things looks good on a 8MB/s speed given how 'reliable' TM is.

My take: If you do console gaming, or buys loads of Blu-ray stuff, or you have a HD4870/2 60GTX or above, 1920x1080 is the way to go. At 22" running 1920x1080, they look gorgeous since the pixel size is smaller. All you need is more screen real estate and the most thing you do is do word processing and web surfing, then get a 24", they suit your purpose very well.

Else, if you have lower GPU, not thinking of upgrading, has just bought a laptop and need an external display, downloads mostly 720p content, and so on, 1920x1080 makes stuff looks bad. 22" on 1920x1080, you'll need to squint when you are surfing since they look quite small, 24" is great but 720p on 24"? get a "HD ready" TV, they'd look way better.
kaiserreich
post Oct 26 2008, 05:03 PM

Pendekar Papan Kekunci
4,234 posts

QUOTE(ben3003 @ Oct 26 2008, 04:03 PM)
Anyone know if dell RMA need how long?

Added on October 26, 2008, 4:09 pmBUt normally those high end laptop like VAIO 10k+ only 17inch or even 15inch sports a 1900x1200 reso. I like the sharpness of the screen. Should be depends on u like sharper screen or not. I dont like pixelated thing like LCD TV. I went to watch a PS3 on a 42inch LCD TV 1080p and trust me, it looks HORRID due to pixelation. Anyhow, it came down to personal preferences la.
Next Business Day warranty, never fails. Dell is great in these. Call them today, provided tomorrow is a working day, then it'll be sent to your house.
As to your case, 22" sporting a 1920x1080 might be a good choice for you.
kaiserreich
post Oct 26 2008, 11:37 PM

Pendekar Papan Kekunci
4,234 posts

QUOTE(karhoe @ Oct 26 2008, 02:11 PM)
Guys beside the reduction of 0.4 in size, what's the difference in 2253BW and 2253LW? The latter is so much cheaper !
I don't think so. Based on what I read, both even has the same issue, whereby when the brightness is set below a certain level, there are sounds coming from the monitor. That alone should imply that both are almost similar, maybe they use the same panels and manufacturing tech, but don't take my word for it. Best is still to put both of them side by side to see.
kaiserreich
post Oct 28 2008, 01:06 AM

Pendekar Papan Kekunci
4,234 posts

QUOTE(kylinlee @ Oct 27 2008, 09:38 PM)
Don't be fancy with HDMI; If for long term usage, you should find device with DisplayPort, it's future connection for display.
Meh, don't bother. GPU's of the future will still come with DVI, like it or not. They can't risk selling DisplayPort only GPU's.

There's even HDMI to DisplayPort adapters, or the other way around. So, I think everyone is covered.

If you can afford it, by all means, embrace the new tech, if you can't, DVI and VGA are readily available and will be available for the forseeable future.
kaiserreich
post Oct 30 2008, 11:55 AM

Pendekar Papan Kekunci
4,234 posts

???Dude, do you even know what you are talking about?

HDMI is a connector. The availability of it depends on whether the manufacturer decides to include it or not.

A higer resolution and getting a higher HDMI (whatever it is that you meant) has no correlation and that statements only makes it more confusing since it means nothing.

3 Pages < 1 2 3 >Top

0.0461sec    0.44    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 01:48 AM