Sony-Ericsson Sony Ericsson [C702] - Cybershot, Iron Man Phone - Water & Dust Resistant!

iRonTech
post Sep 1 2008, 02:16 PM

Access Denied
8,621 posts

QUOTE(gaigene @ Aug 31 2008, 10:58 PM)
Just had the chance to play around with this baby. I love it so much. The SE shop in Pavillion had it. They told me it was RM1599 for an ori set. Can someone please let me know how much is an Ori and AP set?

Not every shop carries this model. Can anyone let me know where to get it?

blink.gif what?! with Rm1499 = C902 orig pricing already.. don't kena con bro sweat.gif sweat.gif
iRonTech
post Sep 1 2008, 10:52 PM

Access Denied
8,621 posts

QUOTE(gaigene @ Sep 1 2008, 09:02 PM)
Didn't buy yet. I thought it was too expensive. So today, the wife and I went to Low Yat Plaza. Went to our normal hp dealer. He told me the price is RM1080 for ori and less RM100 for AP. He told me to get ori set.

I'm still trying to decide if I should get the C702 or the P1i. I'm currently using a E71 and a HTC Touch. I want to replace the HTC. So not sure which one to get. My hp guy told me to buy the P1i as it is a better phone. He also told me that the 3.2mp camera on the P1i is better than the one on the C702. Can anyone confirm this?

Any opinions or suggestions on which phone to get is most welcomed....  icon_question.gif
yup, P1i built with a pretty good camera since P990i

P1i better, as if you don't need anti water splash/dust + a bit cacat GPS

Added on September 1, 2008, 10:58 pm
QUOTE(DunkyKung @ Sep 1 2008, 10:16 PM)
ive play p990,so slow,then when decide to buy P1i,my fren said is just a liltle bit faster than p990,izzit true??bcoz,while searching for new SE phones,found tat newer phones slower la..e.g w910 compared to my w610,y ar???immature firmware?
same CPU speed but P1i double the ram size on symbian OS, it does made the big different.

W910i using J8 A200 (allow more features for future phone, eg: screen touch function, WiFi on non OS phone) newer platform while as W610i JP7 older platform (same like K750i, but twice the CPU speed) thus u feel W610i faster (although both W910i & W610i same CPU speed)

This post has been edited by iRonTech: Sep 1 2008, 10:58 PM
iRonTech
post Sep 3 2008, 10:40 AM

Access Denied
8,621 posts

lack of sensitive + slower laugh.gif

also J2ME GPS app only Google maps & WayFinder available
iRonTech
post Sep 4 2008, 10:28 AM

Access Denied
8,621 posts

QUOTE(gaigene @ Sep 3 2008, 12:36 PM)
Hi all,

Thanks for the replies. Let me add that the reason that I'm thinking of the C702 is because I dun fully ultilise my HTC anymore. I only use it for calls, sms and a little photo taking. Nothing more than that. My other business functions are now with the E71 (emails, etc...)

So I'm actually thinking of getting just a normal phone to use on a daily basis as a personal phone. At almost the same price, the P1i is very tempting. I'm just wondering if I will under utilise the P1i. One of the main things I like about the P1i is the keyboard. I'm so use to sending messages using a keyboard rather than the normal phone pad.

So am really confused ......  rclxub.gif which one to get.....

Anymore inputs to help me decide would be greatly appreciated......  nod.gif

Thanks in advance.... thumbup.gif
in this case P1i is good choice for you

QUOTE(LittleCow @ Sep 3 2008, 10:40 PM)
cry.gif

i got big problem with my original C702...today it was automatically "OFF" a few times..
and the contacts menu was lagging....

will try bring to the sunway service centre...tommorow...hopefully i don't need to leave
my phone there  for repair !
wow...the firmware so fast given problem? do update here after repair from SC
iRonTech
post Sep 5 2008, 08:34 AM

Access Denied
8,621 posts

QUOTE(LittleCow @ Sep 4 2008, 09:58 PM)
How to back-up the data such as phone book to my computer ?

(will bring it to sony service centre to update the software....i was told by the SC that the problem of auto shut down may also due to
the sim card problem...they told me that some sim cards need to be changed...to resolve the problem)
by SE PCsuite or MyPhoneExplorer (backup contacts/sms)
iRonTech
post Sep 9 2008, 12:33 PM

Access Denied
8,621 posts

QUOTE(uk19xx @ Sep 6 2008, 12:34 PM)
Got the phone today as a gift. anyone try it out with the GPS yet?

as far as i known, GPS did not need to pay for it? y this need GPRS r?

so strange.

Can i install route66, or mapking on it? or i use an external GPS through BT and it should be free of charge right?

tq
Yes, it required some GPRS data packets to help up since its "Assisted-GPS.

if there is any java J2ME route66 version yes. so far only Google Maps & Way Finder available at J2ME platform as i know.

yes you can use external GPS via BT.

QUOTE(LittleCow @ Sep 6 2008, 04:06 PM)
thanks a lot.... have back-up my phone book.... and updated to the latest software at ericservce Armcorp Mall...

thumbup.gif

how long they took to flash your phone FW?

QUOTE(yngwie @ Sep 9 2008, 11:31 AM)
no xenon flash and red eye reduction functionality?  shakehead.gif
gps is no big deal.

i'd rather stick with k810i.  sweat.gif
the phone design not focus at camera smile.gif
iRonTech
post Sep 11 2008, 08:03 AM

Access Denied
8,621 posts

QUOTE(tsunade @ Sep 10 2008, 10:34 AM)
Love my phone!  biggrin.gif  but the processor memang cannot handle the A200 system ler. Too lag. Hope newer revesions will be more efficient  sad.gif

btw, what's the max M2 size that we can use? according to SE, is only up to 4GB  unsure.gif
SE phone's processor too slow for newer platform biggrin.gif

QUOTE(LittleCow @ Sep 10 2008, 09:46 PM)
really fed up...shut down a few times today... any other C702 user experience the same problem ?
or maybe I got a lemon ?

will bring it to sony Service centre to check....  mad.gif

Added on September 10, 2008, 9:49 pm
since C902 using the same platform as c702....but i don't recall reading auto shut down problem on C902 !
what firmware built inside your phone?
iRonTech
post Sep 11 2008, 11:09 PM

Access Denied
8,621 posts

QUOTE(uk19xx @ Sep 11 2008, 09:59 PM)
I got a Holux 236b BT GPS receiver, could i use it on the 702? if yes wat map should i install? would it still charge me for data usage?

tq

really need to figure this phone out.
try install google maps. bluetooth both, run google maps. data charge base on your service provider, normally 10KB=Rm0.10

QUOTE(LittleCow @ Sep 11 2008, 10:05 PM)
my software 1202-6821 R3CA037 080712

i was told be one service centre guy that this problem may be due to my sim card....

currently i am using a 3G Celcom SIM card...the technician told me, it could be due
to the sim card...and ask me to try the phone with another SIM card...

i just put in my Digi (normal, non-3G) to see if it still auto-shut down  smile.gif
hmm.gif sim card cause the problem? seem like the only way to find out is from your usage/feedback...
iRonTech
post Oct 20 2008, 08:25 AM

Access Denied
8,621 posts

QUOTE(layeylay @ Oct 16 2008, 08:52 PM)
c702 can support up to how many gb memory card ?
16GB

QUOTE(LittleCow @ Oct 19 2008, 11:31 PM)
i bought my originial C702 a few months ago,...got auto-shut down problem...
sent to ArmCorp mall SC to update the software...but still facing same problem...
then someone suggested that the problem may be due to my Celcom 3G sim card
problems.... so i switched...and used my Digi sim card on it...so far no auto-shut down...

but don't know it is the phone problem or the sim card !!! otherwise is a good phone!
sweat.gif 1st time heard sim card cause the SE restart problem.. but as long solution there smile.gif
iRonTech
post Nov 25 2008, 08:09 AM

Access Denied
8,621 posts

simply use windows paint create pure black pic jpg file to browse from the phone
iRonTech
post Dec 1 2008, 08:03 AM

Access Denied
8,621 posts

QUOTE(muqaddam @ Nov 29 2008, 12:32 PM)
I kinda disappointed with my C702. the picture quality is below average. it's not like K800i or even K770i. it captures false colors. i tried to update the firmware but it seems to be the same.
the only way is mod the cam driver.. (but still not available ATM)

QUOTE(unnamed_kc @ Nov 30 2008, 09:41 PM)
juz bought a c702 2 days ago.. dont the phone hv face detaction's function? i discover whole day oso cant get my cam to hv tat function even i had set the funtion d(hv displayed function but don hv real effect).  is't coz of my is AP??
help!!
face detection only available at c902
iRonTech
post Dec 3 2008, 07:57 AM

Access Denied
8,621 posts

the old 200Mhz arm CPU not fast enough for the new A2 platform...thus its a bit lag. lets hope SE will put in faster cpu on 2009 phones
iRonTech
post Dec 9 2008, 07:45 AM

Access Denied
8,621 posts

QUOTE(supernick @ Dec 6 2008, 02:25 PM)
nope
face detection available at c702 oso
my c702 function quite well
n detect face sensitively

Added on December 6, 2008, 2:32 pm
have the latest firmware solve the sms problem?
erm..i mean whn sms the words come out quite slow
sweat.gif ic...i must b read wrong infor..thanks for correction smile.gif

3 Pages < 1 2 3Top

0.0318sec    1.01    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 09:09 AM