GeForce 177.39 PhysX-enabled driver now available
k!nex
Jun 24 2008, 08:21 PM
i downloaded the inf from here : http://www.overclock.net/attachments/softw...sp_vista_32.zip and i extract it to a folder.den i copy tht nv_disp(2).inf to C:\NVIDIA\WinVista\177.39 ( default directory, i din change anything).den i click 'run as administrator' on setup.exe. ok. it runs and install everything bla bla bla.den it ask me wan reboot system or not. i press YES. fine, rebooted.but then the 177.39 drivers was not installed. den i deleted my old 175.16 driver and repeated those steps again. cant work. fine.den i go to msconfig and prevented rivatuner from loading during windows startup. still the same. anyone can tell me wats the problem ? my steps? or my OS since i'm using vista 32bit service pack 1.
k!nex
Jun 24 2008, 09:00 PM
QUOTE(Demonic Wrath @ Jun 24 2008, 08:47 PM) Are you getting "System is not modified" when it asks you to reboot? If yes, then download the driver again from here:- http://www.laptopvideo2go.com/forum/index....showtopic=19109i din get anything weird.just tht after reboot, ntg happens even though installation was smooth. shocked me also.i used the have disk method tht they taught in forum.it gives me error. tht driver is 177.35 rite? i downloaded it directly from nvidia.but i downloaded the inf from tht page u gave me.its not working either.i'm using vista 32 bit ultimate service pack 1. is it the service pack 1 fault?
k!nex
Jun 25 2008, 10:09 PM
now i got 177.35 installed.and its being detected in gpu-z. but the new problem is, how do i noe whether my physX is working? i'm using 08.06.12 nvidia physX drivers tht u put in the first page.in the info tab,its written 'no ageia physX processor is installed'. but in settings tab , inside hardware device selection, GeForce PhysX option is being selected by default. means???
k!nex
Jun 25 2008, 10:24 PM
QUOTE(D-Zire @ Jun 25 2008, 10:23 PM) i think the physx 08.06.12 is not compatible with older cards....latest for our range of card is version 08.04.02 UPDATE: dl-ed 177.35 and tried to install....installation was ok but after booting up gpz-z still show is 175.70...sigh did u replaced the modded inf from the same website tht demonic wrath gave? i did it. and it installed successfully for me. cant be like dat i guess.it says G92 shud work and i'm using a 8800GT
k!nex
Jun 25 2008, 11:44 PM
QUOTE(Demonic Wrath @ Jun 25 2008, 11:27 PM) It depends. On UT3, only PhysX maps show improvement. Besides that, nothing much. Also, it seems that 177.35 fixed the DX10 performance for a few games - I've tested Crysis and UT3 only, and they seem to run just like how it ran in XP. thanks alot. i dun play crysis actually. now i downloading 3dmark vantage. slow dl speed. the only dx10 game i play now is lost planet:extreme condition.the UT series also. i only have the first version of unreal tournament back in P3 days using direct x 7
k!nex
Jun 26 2008, 07:45 PM
i got quite low score for 3dmark vantage actually. 3dmark score: P6419 GPU score: 5091 CPU score 29571 <-ppl say dis is freaking high? using 177.35 driver+ physX 8.06.12 This post has been edited by k!nex: Jun 26 2008, 07:45 PM
k!nex
Jun 27 2008, 02:22 PM
QUOTE(low98944 @ Jun 27 2008, 08:27 AM) Mine 3DMark Vantage score: ..........................177.35+PhysX........175.19 Total score................P11731..............P9920 GPU score...................9710................9695 CPU score...................31250..............10662 smtg strange here,both of us using the same Q6600, frequency also shud be the same.mobo and ram different le.but his GC is a 9800GX2. compare CPU score using PhysX, i get 29.5k like dat,his one 31.2k.means even if u hv a much more powerful GC,it doesn't affect much CPU score using PhysX? This post has been edited by k!nex: Jun 27 2008, 02:22 PM
k!nex
Jun 27 2008, 07:52 PM
now i OC to 3.2Ghz(356X9) CPU score rise to 30669. when its 3.0Ghz (334X9) CPU score is at 29571. simple hypothesis for my rig,every 200 Mhz increase in proc will produce roughly 1.1k CPU score in 3Dmark vantage. 8800GT of coz can use 177.35.its not bad at all