QUOTE(iwan6996 @ May 13 2009, 12:04 AM)
hi guys
Savvy n Proton fans
planning to buy savvy for my wife

as experienced savvy user
wanna ask about savvy FP=fuel efficiency
is it save gile,normal or mentekak darah
TQ...
our legendary TS can get 21km/l if not mistaken. sweat.gif we normal people here (me) can get around 16/17km/l. highway with fully load 4 person can get around 18km/l.

but when i 1st got my car, my fc damn terrible. sweat.gif still, depend how u drive ur car though. laugh.gif

if u want super duper fc, take viva. icon_rolleyes.gif
death_nite
post May 18 2009, 02:06 AM

Lossless Land...
2,366 posts

QUOTE(dawghause @ May 18 2009, 12:50 AM)
sorry to say that, i know that it will hurt many here in the savvy thread but its the truth. But then again the '05 models is the best for the manual buys.

this is because when you buy a car always buy the 2nd generation version, this is when the manufacturer improves some flaws over the 1st generation.

in Proton's case, always buys the 1st batch of models (ie SGti, Neo, Putra, Wira), this is because the quality is still good, Proton will always screw up their cars on the subsequent batches.
yes. i do agree about that. especially for savvy model. i heard 1st batch got TUV certified. which mean ur car wont have normal tak tak tak dashboard sound like normal other proton cars do. laugh.gif

the following batch doesnt have any tuv certified. owh well, so does the sound exist. damn! shakehead.gif

btw, for manual model like u said, it its the best! unless u want amt, please avoid 2nd hand. scared owner sell due to AMT kaput edy. sweat.gif

the only unsolved problems with savvy is the AMT robotic things inside. Which cannot be fix diy. sweat.gif sommore parts very expensives. sweat.gif shakehead.gif the rest, thumbup.gif
death_nite
post May 18 2009, 12:00 PM

Lossless Land...
2,366 posts

QUOTE(lazogirlz @ May 18 2009, 10:24 AM)
yeah.. 2nd hand outside is cheaper alot bcoz of the gearbox problem i heard ppl said.. especially that amt lol..
wan buy savvy then go for new 1 lah.. buy full spec 40k+ only ma.. got airbags&abs.. somemore new engine can tapau many original 1.5below cc car.. haha
oi. 2nd hand one oso can tapau if u say like that. y? bcos its the same engine laa. doh.gif unless the owner didnt take care his car properly. nod.gif
death_nite
post May 18 2009, 01:37 PM

Lossless Land...
2,366 posts

QUOTE(Junyen @ May 18 2009, 12:16 PM)
Can tapau 1.5... seriously, wira city all can play... but lose to satria T.T straight road or corner also lose... sad

The dashboard tak tak sound i have it too... i wonder what's tht... really annoying...
i think city idsi only can tapau la. vtec cannot woo.

some cable. u need to tie it up. so it wont knock the dashboard. sweat.gif

just renew my roadtax + insurance. cant believe my car 1 yo edy. thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by death_nite: May 18 2009, 01:37 PM
death_nite
post May 22 2009, 07:11 PM

Lossless Land...
2,366 posts

yes. trust me. ur car wont overturn unless u hit smthing or road got lubang smthg like that or <fill in blank>

why? hahaha. cos i edy did stun ma. my car turn 360degree spinning. huahahahahaha. oversteer while cornering.
death_nite
post May 23 2009, 08:25 AM

Lossless Land...
2,366 posts

QUOTE(Junyen @ May 23 2009, 05:26 AM)
Yeah and i think it's easier to overturn a myvi, viva, kenari than savvy and kelisa... I mean, among these small hatches... but the most important thing is, do not do a high speed cornering when u're not familiar with the road and the traction level is very low (sloppy areas and raining)
too late. i learned my lesson. sweat.gif
death_nite
post May 24 2009, 11:41 PM

Lossless Land...
2,366 posts

yes. savvy will mostly understeer only. but under certain condition, it will oversteer. especially when the road is wet + stock tyres. sweat.gif
death_nite
post May 27 2009, 11:23 PM

Lossless Land...
2,366 posts

QUOTE(mutt @ May 27 2009, 11:07 PM)
170kmh also still stable. some more the engine can tahan high speed for long time. im very heavy footer. the FC very reasonable (around 370km/RM50) even my driving style very bad tongue.gif that's why i really love my savvy  wub.gif
IIANM, the rules now is no more engine transplant from other car maker into Proton. can convert Proton to Proton only.
well, make sure at least u use semi synt oil.
death_nite
post May 30 2009, 01:03 PM

Lossless Land...
2,366 posts

QUOTE(RedSox2004 @ May 29 2009, 08:51 AM)
The price difference of Syntium 800 and Mach 5 is almost rm40. Is it recommended to use Syntium 800 for savvy and change every 5000km instead of the recommended 10k?
QUOTE(Junyen @ May 29 2009, 03:32 PM)
I think if u're using mach 5, better service every 5k... using syntium 800 then can service every 10k
yerp, mineral service interval should b 5k. semi should b 10k. fully oso 10k.

but bear in mind, for long distance travel, if wanna drive high speed all the time, at least make sure u use semi instead of mineral.

This post has been edited by death_nite: May 30 2009, 01:03 PM
death_nite
post Jun 3 2009, 10:35 PM

Lossless Land...
2,366 posts

lately my fc damn poor la. no more 16kml. but admit i become heavy footer + traffic jam everyday. sad.gif
death_nite
post Jun 4 2009, 06:04 PM

Lossless Land...
2,366 posts

QUOTE(JusTea @ Jun 4 2009, 12:44 PM)
Hey guys,

It took me two days to read thru all 94 pages. Fuh! that were lots of info. Anyway, I started doing survey on Savvy only less than a week ago coz currently, lookin for a car within my RM25k budget. At first I thot of goin for the cheapest new Kancil (RM22k) but now after reading all the posts I gettin excited over a Savvy instead.

Initially, I was really interested with the AMT but after reading, Im really scare of the extra costs needed to repair the problems. Afterall my budget is like I said above so do not want to spend any more than that.

So, although my heart really, really, really want the cool & fun AMT but don't think the pocket is willing. So manual is the only alternative.

Im hoping for a newer model but it seems many of you suggested the 2005 model instead coz of the TUV or something. Now, really, really confuse. Btw, I've done a bit research and RM22k can get the 05 model while, RM24 for either 05 or 06.

Btw, I also like the orange version, is the older Savvy has this colour?
QUOTE(JusTea @ Jun 4 2009, 04:34 PM)
Anybody knows whether the older manual versions come in orange colour?
sadly to say that, orange colour only come in hiline specs. and i do believe only facelift version got hiline spec? notworthy.gif

QUOTE(RedSox2004 @ Jun 4 2009, 01:22 PM)
If u use the renault original transmission oil for ur amt, change engine oil every 8-10k...blablabla do the rest as required..ur gearbox won't hav problem. This technology has been used for very long dy..not really a new technology except for us kampung malaysia of coz.  whistling.gif

I know guys who hav driven their amt for more than 80k dy..everythin still tip top. thumbup.gif
haha. i do believe the amt parts still depend on ur luck 100%. yea, this technology has been used long time ago, but i believe not in malaysia. malaysia have diff climate. the pump can easily heat up. gearbox wont easily kaput. what can easily kaput is the pump@accumulator what ever u guys call it.

my solution right now, i set my aircond max cold on hot blazing day to keep the radiator fans spinning. to make sure the air inside the engine bay keep ventilated, hopefully can cool down the amt pump.

so far i can see, in savoc.net, more owner coming out complaining their amt is dying. i only know 1 or 2 people where their amt still survive after 80k km.

which meant the ratio of dying amt is higher than survive one. sweat.gif owh well, i dont have the real data. just my opinion.

This post has been edited by death_nite: Jun 4 2009, 06:06 PM
death_nite
post Jun 5 2009, 12:46 AM

Lossless Land...
2,366 posts

QUOTE(NOX @ Jun 4 2009, 08:31 PM)
omg.. mosh, why there are still some people without otak one to throw rubbish from up above flet? didnt they use their head? please la malaysian, our land is not rubbishland.. update us on the price to change it ok..

junyen, u lesen L ka? aiyoo.. byk kesian oo.. scratch can use sticker to cover.. if kemek, then its hard to cover..

bout the amt issue, i think proton should already done some research on the amt but they still wanna try it before people complaint maybe..

savoc already meet face to face with proton regarding amt problem but the solution yet to know.. we can only try to pre-long lifetime not totally solve the problem..
kemek then hantar ketuk then repaint la. laugh.gif

done some research? huhu. but i bet, they didnt change anything. yes. already met. and u know what they say? live with it. mad.gif

QUOTE(Yzarc @ Jun 4 2009, 10:34 PM)
waa...scary. I also driving one.  cry.gif

so far yours got any issue? reached 80k km already?
mine not yet 80k la. sweat.gif 26k only. baru 1 year. right now no probs. before? yes. first 3 months, my gear jam at gear 3 once. auto to manual. suddenly turn to N from D. sweat.gif send to sc. they reset. then give some advice. if happened again, need to send to bigger sc. but lucky after that nothing happened.
death_nite
post Jun 5 2009, 07:22 PM

Lossless Land...
2,366 posts

QUOTE(RedSox2004 @ Jun 5 2009, 08:19 AM)
I might be wrong about this..this D4F engine is the same in Renault Clio n Twingo right? So it has been used for quite a while say..singapore or thailand ? Climate issue? hmm..u guys sound like we live in a freakin sun. haa  laugh.gif
QUOTE(NOX @ Jun 5 2009, 09:27 AM)
yes D4F = clio.. well, the problem not from the engine.. its from the robotic arm/accumulator@bomb.. with our superb traffic jam this "special robot" cant withstand our hot climate n without proper cooling make it also jam n suddently cant change gear thats all..

well, if driving in highway all the time sure no problem one.. but driving in kl during rushhour @ 2 hour everyday (go and back from work) sure the system will fail on you sooner or later..
well bro redsox, nox edy say it. its not the engine. its the robotic parts that give us headache right now. smile.gif pls dont confuse. the engine and the gearbox is proven good i guess. but not the amt system. smile.gif

QUOTE(RedSox2004 @ Jun 5 2009, 09:33 AM)
hmm..especially this car only functions on one Hugh fan instead of 2..
Luckily i only drive LDP non rush hour.
Let's pray for AMT... notworthy.gif
waa. ldp non rush hour. lucky la u. notworthy.gif

QUOTE(NOX @ Jun 5 2009, 02:22 PM)
bro mutt.. thats why i said some lucky one.. some not.. depend on how u use.. the heat problem can be solve just by u alway on your aircond to cooldown your engine bay (i dunno how this work)..

lucky u use 70k km++ not yet problem.. savvy is really one good rally car i think.. so nice handling.. mine already clock 119k km, hopefully no problem engine..
the pump are located near the radiator/air-cond fan; since both share one single fan.

if u turn on ur air-cond, ur radiator fan will keep spinning. thus the air inside the engine hood will be circulated. this will help cooling down the pump especially when u stuck in traffic jam.

when u stuck in traffic jam, if u didnt turn on ur aircond, the fan will rotate in less frequency. hot air will accumulated inside the engine hood, thus ur amt pump overheated.

hope u can understand my explanation. blush.gif

QUOTE(RedSox2004 @ Jun 5 2009, 03:05 PM)
no no no..becoz of the notorious proton power window always fail...cant roll down.  tongue.gif  happen to my savvy few times dy... rclxm9.gif
savvy wont have power window probs like waja; but instead it got power window SWITCH problem. sweat.gif owh well, can be fix using DIY. wink.gif but if got warranty, just change new switch!
death_nite
post Jun 6 2009, 10:59 PM

Lossless Land...
2,366 posts

^
how could i know. i only own savvy only. sweat.gif
death_nite
post Jun 7 2009, 07:05 PM

Lossless Land...
2,366 posts

amt user,

those having jerking at gear 1 when accelerating from still here is the culprit found by pesc juru technician. bravo! thumbup.gif

there is 1 type of jerking which only occured on 1st gear when accelerating from still . feels like the driveshaft & front tyres vibrating.

This jerk is caused by a Potentiosensor Meter at the Clutch. FYI savvy has 5 potentiosensor meter in the engine bay but only one causes this kinda jerk.

* Problem identified by the Tech Advisor Shukri and one mechanic, Fikri at PESC Juru. Solution is to replace the Potentiosensor Meter.

price : no idea smile.gif because the troubleshooting was done on a savvy with warranty.. need to check with their Store.

http://savoc.net/v2/viewtopic.php?p=298436#p298436

wait, thats remind me somehow, i got this probs but i ignore it. sweat.gif doh.gif

This post has been edited by death_nite: Jun 7 2009, 07:06 PM
death_nite
post Jun 7 2009, 09:46 PM

Lossless Land...
2,366 posts

QUOTE(Junyen @ Jun 7 2009, 09:11 PM)
From 1st gear? I rmb having it when i pull off hard from traffic light ( syok syok sendiri drag race~ biggrin.gif) and once when i pull off from a sloppy traffic light... I always thought it's clutch slip due to my bad driving skills...

Do u mean for amt only?
yerp. for amt only.
when clutch slipping happened the feeling is smooth. smile.gif the rpm will be high but ur car move at slower speed. no vibrate etc. or jerking.

death_nite
post Jun 8 2009, 06:35 PM

Lossless Land...
2,366 posts

savvy hiline where got audio control steering. iskh iskh. if got than that dude modified himself.

mine is hiline one.
death_nite
post Jun 8 2009, 11:13 PM

Lossless Land...
2,366 posts

Junyen,
i prefer blm rather than viva. nod.gif

QUOTE(JusTea @ Jun 8 2009, 10:38 PM)
So nobody wants to install rear wiper on their Savvy lite?

I think probably during heavy-duty rain one will need it otherwise, dont think will hv much use.
just go for it if u wanna install it. i think its possible to install rear wiper outside. heavy rain, i will turn on my rear wiper or else i wont b able to see anything behind my car. sweat.gif
death_nite
post Jun 16 2009, 07:24 PM

Lossless Land...
2,366 posts

QUOTE(padisawah @ Jun 16 2009, 07:11 PM)
non sloppy ground does not necessarily confirm can start as i had experienced it already. there were few of let say 2 hard starts out of 10. but on sloppy ground, confirm i experienced hard starting everytime....
guys, do u face problem where when your car's engine running but is idle (maybe bcoz of red light stop or jam) your rpm is hovering over 1.5k rpm. i know it's not normal...
yes. not normal. idle rpm normally around 900-1.1k rpm.
death_nite
post Jun 18 2009, 08:43 PM

Lossless Land...
2,366 posts

^
another one is.
if rpm meter suddenly zero. then engine feel no power. check ur gearbox sensor if not mistaken.

Added on June 18, 2009, 8:45 pmXelia

and if not mistaken. change new tdc sensor the probs will come back too. huhu. happened on mt and amt.

i think, if wanna drive savvy, we need to be mechanic la. huhu. everything need to know. haih. if drive other car easy. no need to think anything about it. i think. tongue.gif

This post has been edited by death_nite: Jun 18 2009, 08:45 PM

18 Pages « < 12 13 14 15 16 > » Top

0.0464sec    0.51    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 01:53 PM