Official R700 (A.K.A HD 4870 X2) discuss section
LExus65
Jun 28 2008, 11:41 PM
the power delivery system is quite impressive on 4870x1. the 2nd generation plx chip should be generation, hopefully this would remove the pci-e bottleneck effect on 3870x2,
btw what cooler would amd provide this time.
LExus65
Jun 29 2008, 02:30 PM
2900XT is quite expensive but when compare to 8800GTS it is still cheaper though, but now AMD/ATI is aiming at mid range market, rest assure there would be a lot of affordable and powerful graphic card available to more end user........
Radeon i think slayer meant 4850CF, both have different memory architecture, in this case 4870X2 have some serious advantage here when compare to 4850 even in crossfire mode.
LExus65
Jul 2 2008, 04:55 PM
if it is price at RM1500, i better buy this babe compare to 4870 which cost already RM1000.......
x1900XTX is that expensive 3 yrs ago ? i remember i some seller introduce me x1950xtx for 1.5k around 2.5yr ago ? Shiock to heard that
LExus65
Jul 6 2008, 11:06 PM
i guess it's still limited to 512mb, but there is a 2gb version rite, so it a good hint there for workstation graphic card to be based on this card too...
LExus65
Jul 13 2008, 12:01 PM
i dun think RM250 goin to make a good dual slot cooler for RV700 looking at how hot is 4870 now..........
3870x2 heat sink is actaully quite simple design, only solid block with fins, hope they took Asus 9600GT matrix design to their 4870 X2 with all those heat pipe and may be saphire own vapour chamber thing to bring the temp down
LExus65
Jul 26 2008, 11:06 PM
metsatsu, basically it is more then enough basically,
LExus65
Jul 28 2008, 08:31 AM
i smell butthead012 is trying to sell off his psu......... haha
RM1700 is higher then what i expected, i tot the MRSP is USD450 ~ 500
LExus65
Jul 28 2008, 04:57 PM
i wander why 4850 so expensive compare to 2 x 4850 , should be usd400 only rite ? running on gddr5 too ?
LExus65
Jul 29 2008, 08:48 AM
sorry about that typo, i meant 4850x2....... compare to 2x 4850
LExus65
Aug 9 2008, 12:20 PM
wah retails version also black PCB nice............
i wander which cpu is suitable for this babe..........
LExus65
Aug 12 2008, 02:47 PM
haha so bad kah........ really need a 64bit OS then.......
LExus65
Oct 9 2008, 11:41 AM
hybrid cross fire only work on lower range of GPU if not mistaken for current generation of 4xxx series, so u will need 4670 or so to get it work