University -+-+- Universiti Sains Malaysia (USM) -+-+-, Now with PIX on 1st page!

lyianie
post Aug 13 2015, 10:07 PM

Hi, any seniors from the main campus lurking here?
I got offered for Pharmacy and so I've been surfing the blogs for the last couple of days(basically anything that has to do with USM ;__; )
I would really appreciate it if there's anyone here that is willing to answer my questions icon_question.gif

1. In the jadual I printed out in the buku panduan, there's pendaftaran for sesi pagi and sesi petang(with different desasiswa). Also since they also included in a map for all desasiswa, does that mean we are able to choose our hostel according to the sesi?
for example SESI PAGI : Saujana, Indah Kembara and Fajar Harapan
and SESI PETANG are the rest.
2. Which hostel is considered pretty good, location and room/facility wise?
3. Is the hostel rules super strict? I read that we can't bring any sort of electrical appliances so is water heater an absolute NO-NO?
4. If really can't bring anything electrical...I still want to bring my own iron LOL Will they check our bags for prohibited stuff?
5. Lastly,(for now haha) I also heard about something called kem pimpin siswa? But I don't see it in the jadual so is it canceled or done much later on, like after the orientation week?

Thanks in advance! notworthy.gif

Agent 45
post Aug 14 2015, 08:37 AM

934 posts

QUOTE(lyianie @ Aug 13 2015, 10:07 PM)
I got offered for Pharmacy and so I've been surfing the blogs for the last couple of days(basically anything that has to do with USM ;__; )
I would really appreciate it if there's anyone here that is willing to answer my questions  icon_question.gif

1. In the jadual I printed out in the buku panduan, there's pendaftaran for sesi pagi and sesi petang(with different desasiswa). Also since they also included in a map for all desasiswa, does that mean we are able to choose our hostel according to the sesi?
3. Is the hostel rules super strict? I read that we can't bring any sort of electrical appliances so is water heater an absolute NO-NO?
4. If really can't bring anything electrical...I still want to bring my own iron LOL Will they check our bags for prohibited stuff?
5. Lastly,(for now haha) I also heard about something called kem pimpin siswa?  But I don't see it in the jadual so is it canceled or done much later on, like after the orientation week? 

Thanks in advance!  notworthy.gif
1. You cant choose which hostel to stay, they already chosen for you. If i'm not mistaken, they will send you admission letter, then you can know where you will be staying from there.
2. For me, I would say IK, clean and quite new, 2 people in 1 room. Worst one should be aman and fajar.
3. Not really, after some time, you will see people bringing in all sorts of things into their room.
4. Can bring la, but better bring it few weeks later. Iron will be provided for you in the hostel.
5. Yes, after orientation you will go through kem pimpin siswa, batch by batch. A lot of students don't like it, but just enjoy yourself smile.gif

Welcome to USM icon_rolleyes.gif
Krevaki
post Aug 15 2015, 04:37 PM

1,282 posts

I would really appreciate it if there's anyone here that is willing to answer my questions  icon_question.gif

5. Lastly,(for now haha) I also heard about something called kem pimpin siswa?  But I don't see it in the jadual so is it canceled or done much later on, like after the orientation week? 

1. No.
2. See 1.
3. No.
4. No.
5. After.
geforce88
post Aug 23 2015, 05:56 PM

2,841 posts

1. nope. pagi means u go on pagi, petang means u go on petang. hostel name already written in letter.
2. IK, new and peaceful. facility wise, i guess they are all similar.
3. some students brought air cooler, iron, tv, even some pandai one brought in whole aquarium to bela ikan. sweat.gif
4. just bring lah, nobody is going to check your bag on hari pendaftaran. but anyway, iron is already provided for sharing (eg. 1 level 1 iron).
5. heard that this batch onwards no more pimpin siswa, u better double check.
cnvery
post Sep 26 2015, 07:15 PM

1,831 posts

USM will have new hostel soon!

Sponsored by Koon Yew Yin in total of RM50 million

For more details, please visit https://www.malaysiakini.com/news/313582
cnvery
post Nov 2 2015, 11:21 PM

1,831 posts

Toyohashi University of Technology Universiti Sains Malaysia Technology Collaboration Centre in Penang (TUT-USM Penang), an overseas education base of the Toyohashi University of Technology (TUT), opened at Penang, Malaysia, on December 4, 2013.

Website: http://ignite.tut.ac.jp/cie/penang/english/index.html
wakaoman
post Nov 10 2015, 10:45 AM

49 posts

hi all the brothers and sisters from usm, i would like to ask about how much the range of cgpa(stpm) is required to be enrolled for electronic engineering course in usm kkj. erm, for a not bumiputera student, u know what i mean. i am from the batch of stpm 2015.
lulusantos
post Nov 11 2015, 06:50 AM

352 posts

was wandering anyone can share info about part time studies in USM...

Is it open to all? and when is the registration window... etc
normanJB
post Nov 25 2015, 03:37 PM

QUOTE(europology @ Jun 18 2008, 10:28 PM)
Calling all USM students! Please introduce yourself by stating your campus, course, academic year, hostel/dorm, what's hot and what's not!

Let me begin with myself...

I'm from the School of Housing, Building and Planning (HBP) of the main campus, and will be a Year 2 Architecture student come this July. I'll be staying in RESTU, same as my 1st year. smile.gif
4 Malaysian Public Universities Finally Enter Top 50 World Rankings http://ow.ly/V3geD
aBcD-|
post Jul 29 2016, 04:05 PM

935 posts

Hi there,
Currently I work in a logistics company as a diploma holder of information system engineering. As I read the unit exemption policy that offered to students who have diploma and 1 year working experience.
Do I qualify to get exemption of industrial training in degree level?
sea456hee
post Aug 17 2016, 07:48 PM

89 posts

dear seniors,
I would like to enquire what is the procedure to apply for not staying in hostel during orientation week?
Thank you
Agent 45
post Aug 17 2016, 08:37 PM

934 posts

QUOTE(sea456hee @ Aug 17 2016, 07:48 PM)
dear seniors,
I would like to enquire what is the procedure to apply for not staying in hostel during orientation week?
Thank you
no, u cant.
sea456hee
post Aug 18 2016, 11:40 PM

89 posts

QUOTE(Agent 45 @ Aug 17 2016, 08:37 PM)
no, u cant.
is it alright if I stay outside during the orientation week? What will happen if I get caught?
It seem very inconvenient for me to do breast feeding in the toilet……
Agent 45
post Aug 19 2016, 08:50 AM

934 posts

QUOTE(sea456hee @ Aug 18 2016, 11:40 PM)
is it alright if I stay outside during the orientation week? What will happen if I get caught?
It seem very inconvenient for me to do breast feeding in the toilet……
for special condition, u can talk to those facilitator. don't worry, they will assist u.
cnvery
post Sep 10 2016, 01:17 AM

1,831 posts

Source: http://www.usm.my/index.php/en/about-us-3/admission-to-usm

USM-KPT Architecture (PPD) Programme

USM is collaborating with the Port Dickson Polytechnic through the offshore USM-KPT (PPD) programme for the Bachelor of Science Degree (Housing, Building and Planning)(Honours)(Architecture). This programme is aimed at expanding the educational opportunities across the campus while at the same time realising the motto of the university, “We Lead”. This programme is open to students with a Diploma in Architecture from Malaysian Polytechnics. The period of study is 3 years at the Port Dickson Polytechnic in Negeri Sembilan and upon completion of their studies, students will be conferred a Bachelor of Science Degree (Housing, Building and Planning) (Honours)(Architecture).
blue litmus
post Feb 23 2017, 11:44 PM

47 posts

Hello seniors, may I know whether is english used by the lecturers when teaching? Is UKM the only uni that require students to submit thesis in BM? rclxub.gif
neuro4869
post Feb 24 2017, 11:22 AM

1,077 posts

QUOTE(blue litmus @ Feb 23 2017, 11:44 PM)
Hello seniors, may I know whether is english used by the lecturers when teaching? Is UKM the only uni that require students to submit thesis in BM?  rclxub.gif
Most likely 70% English. Fully English of there are international students in your class. I'm talking for most ipta in Malaysia
blue litmus
post Feb 27 2017, 01:23 PM

47 posts

QUOTE(neuro4869 @ Feb 24 2017, 11:22 AM)
Most likely 70% English. Fully English of there are international students in your class. I'm talking for most ipta in Malaysia

Thanks!
renzhang1212
post May 23 2017, 12:49 PM

Hi, anyone have experience in apply master coursework through usm online portal. Can i know usually how long does it takes to complete the review process?

I have been waiting for one month but it is still under review. I am asking this because i need to get ready and prepare few months before the first day of sep intake
renzhang1212
post May 23 2017, 01:07 PM

Hi gooddays,

Glad to know you. i also applied for master in data science. I guess we are going to meet in one day smile.gif

I applied at 20th Apr and i have emailed to dean_ips@usm.com.my last week. The person incharge only told me the application still under review by school, so i don't know the exact status of my application.

0.0279sec    0.63    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 06:55 PM